It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife OC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Hiking on La Gomera and TenerifeScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Nicky

Stoke-on-Trent
Excellent holiday. La Gomera is a lovely island to walk on, to the peak, down the valleys and by the coast. I liked the transfer and airport experience on return which ran very smoothly this time, unlike Peru & Cuba trips. The tour leader was very knowledgeable and marked the map I had bought with the routes we walked.
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 13 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Charles

Stone
La Gomera is a beautiful unspoilt island and is well worth visiting.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Surrey
This was another excellent Explore tour with a friendly, knowledgeable and fun tour leader. The walks were all very scenic and the accommodation comfortable and well located. The highlight for me was sitting on a rocky coastal cliff on La Gomera eating a wonderful paella packed lunch with clear views of Tenerife and its imposing Mount Teide in the distance. If you like good food, beautiful walks and warm winter sunshine then this trip is for you. Thank you to our tour leader, Max, for making this a very enjoyable week.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Leeds
The hiking is pitched at just the right level with enough challenging sections for fitter walkers and plenty of places to stop and admire the view, while you catch your breath.

The island of La Gomera is amazingly beautiful and still not too touristy, with the different landscapes and laid back feel it has a bit of class that some of the other Canaries can lack. No tacky resorts, just traditional Spanish culture...
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Claire

The trip was wonderful and included varied walks where we explored different parts of the island of La Gomera. As the island landscape varies quite a bit, each walk was different and all of them were very enjoyable. We also explored lots of local cafes and restaurants and had some lovely meals. Max is a great tour guide and made us all feel welcome, and he did a great job of adjusting the pace of the walks so we were all happy. La Gomera is a beautiful island and has fewer tourists that its neighbour, Tenerife. It was a lovely holiday with great hikes, lovely food and a fantastic tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Christina

Edinburgh
An experience to remember, definitely recommended!
Itineraries included unique and various landscapes, guided by a well organised and enthusiastic leader, with deep knowledge of the best local places for food and drinks at a minimum cost!
If I could change something it would be the hotel in El Medano (rooms are not in a good condition and of debatable hygiene). In addition, I would prefer to have been asked at the time of booking of issuing a permit to access the top of El Teide, it was a bit disappointing to realise this when it was too late.
Finally, finding the taxi counter on our arrival was a bit confusing due to the two arrival exits of South Tenerife airport. Having a driver waiting for us in a good spot, holding a label with our names is not only easier, but also feels much safer.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Derek

Dumfries
I did Explore's 'Moorish Trails' in September 2016, so this was my second outing with them. A simply fantastic week's walking on La Gomera with Max, our 'nothing is too much trouble' guide. Shepherding 16 people onto and off ferries and buses must be stressful but Max handled it all with consummate aplomb. The cloud forest is outstanding - shades of Jurassic Park with the clouds hugging the high tops and lush, almost jungle-like vegetation in the verdant valleys - a real variety in such a small area. I'm 59 and not in tip-top shape, so some of the ascents were a challenge for me first thing in the morning - but all do-able nonetheless.
Highlight 1: The decent to Chejelipes from the observation point (a little hair-raising but unforgettable).
Highlight 2: Max's local knowledge - cuisine, history and culture gave a real background to everything we were seeing and doing.
Tip 1: if you have a few beers at the end of a walk, check your kit BEFORE you leave the bar! Tip 2: If your knees give you bother, take care on some of the dramatic descents.

The local chickpea stew and the watercress soup are yummy - there's never two the same from one cafe/bar to the next - local cuisine by local chefs putting their own spin on recipes gives a real flavour of the place. The Cuban bar on the front in San Sebastian knocks out some powerful cocktails! Cuba Libre!!
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 23 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Maureen

Nottingham
Amazing walks , with quite steep ups and downs but stunning views. From our point of view at the top side of moderate. Excellent guide, whose love of the area, was evident during the tour. Nothing was too much bother for him. Take tea bags, if you like your English tea and even a travel kettle, as the Europeans don't do boiling water!
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lindsay

Thame
A good walking trip with interesting day walks and travel on two Canary Islands.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 01 April 2016