It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife OC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Hiking on La Gomera and Tenerife reviews verified by Reevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Hiking on La Gomera and TenerifeScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Lindsay

Thame
A good walking trip with interesting day walks and travel on two Canary Islands.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 01 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

Bedford
This is very much a trip for lovers of views and panoramas. Being a small mountainous island there are some fairly arduos ascents and descents, but nothing that goes beyond the moderate grading. All the paths are well maintained and are a credit to the tourist board. It is worth noting that the walk through the Garajonay National Park has prolonged periods of stepped descent that will bring out any knee problems in the group. Don't be afraid to use walking poles!
I would say that the hotels are fit for purpose and we were well looked after. The food was variable as might be expected given a policy of distributing the group's custom around the community. We were a large group of 16 persons and this meant that we experienced a few too many set menus to allow the small restaurants and bars to cope. Pre-ordering from a reduced menu the evening before might be a better option for Explore to consider rather than a set menu that struggled to accomodate differing dietary requirements.
The panoramic views across the sea to Tenerife and the varied lanscape from primeval forest to moonscape make this tour special.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Thomas

Sheffield
The trip is ideal if you like fairly strenuous hiking , and quiet evenings. The capital of La Gomera is small but has some very good restaurants, and is a pleasant place in which to stay for five nights. The hikes themselves offer some panoramic views, including that of Mount Teide, on Tenerife, on a clear day, some thirty miles in the distance. The first and last days of the trip are spent on Tenerife, with some excellent hiking at the base of Teide.
All in all, La Gomera is a pleasant place in which to avoid"mass tourism".
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Bedford
The highlights: the walks were planned, structured by tour leader (Bert), adapted to weather forecasts, walking conditions and abilities within the group - this worked out better than the printed Explore itinerary.
The scenery, restaurants, options for individuals, suggestions for the day off - all excellent.
Bert was a knowledgeable, considerate, encouraging and very patient tour leader. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
All transfer and transport arrangements - smooth and comfortable.
The hotel in San Sebastian (Torre del Conde - very good standard with helpful staff. Comfortable beds, lovely bathroom. Reasonable breakfasts. Convenient.
The hotels in Tenerife -
Royal Park Albatros - there was a mix-up over the room bookings. Eventually, when we were allocated a room, it was fine. Perhaps you need to confirm bookings with them. It seemed to cause a major annoyance to some of our party.
El Sombrerito in Vilaflor, although quirky, was significantly of a standard below the other two hotels we stayed in. A prior warning might have helped. Our room was basic, to say the least. The bathroom was very mildewy, with a curious method of ventilation - a drainage pipe stuck through the ceiling. The bed had no mattress protection, just a threadbare sheet. There was a lack of furniture - not even a chair.
Tips - take a travel kettle and cups, tea, coffee and powdered milk (makes a huge difference at the end of the day). Be aware of biting insects. Anyone with travel sickness really needs to be prepared (sea crossing, hairpin bends all over the island). Tap water in La Gomera - not recommended to drink.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Stourbridge
A good weeks walking on La Gomera and Tenerife. I personally would have preferred more up hill walking but the scenery was fantastic. Bert, the tour leader, was very helpful and enthusiastic.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Frances

Leamington Spa
We had an excellent weeks holiday. There was a good mix of people and our tour leader Maxi was excellent too. He had a great sense of humour and ensured everyone was having a good time. He took us to a different restaurant each night, all very characterful. The highlight of the trip without a doubt was the weather. Warm sunshine 25 degrees in January!The island of Gomera was stunning as was the Teide National Park on Tenerife. The walks were varied, but all involved some steep inclines and descents so it is a good idea to take trekking poles.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 23 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alan

Sheffield
wonderful walks, great scenery good group.

El Teide in the sunshine and blue skies is special.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 15 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Karen

Leeds
Fantastic scenery, variety of walks and the amazing light at Mount Teide in late afternoon.
Confirmed traveller: 26 December 2015
Published on: 04 January 2016
(7 out of 10)

Eileen

West Kirby, Wirral
The highlights for me were the trip up El Teide where we were literally above the clouds and in glorious sunshine. The lava landscape was stunning!

The walking on La Gomera was varied, although somewhat challenging in terms of ascents and descents, and the plants were particularly fascinating.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 19 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

On top of the caldera on La Palma above the clouds,with cloud pouring down over the coll below us, superb views. Good group, friendly people. Lovely walks in varied countryside. Enjoyed the three different islands. Plenty of time to stop and stare on the walks. Bert was knowledgeable, organised, good company, would like to travel with him again
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015