It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
609 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure SW

Trip Duration 23 Days
 

Reviews for Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure reviews verified by Reevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cape Town to Victoria Falls AdventureScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Shirley

Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Charles and Ismael were terrific. I enjoyed that small group and the places visited.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 03 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Eleanor

Hampshire
This was our thirteenth trip with Explore & one of the best. Yes, the distances are long & dusty & it can be very hot, so come prepared & pick your time of year if this is an issue for you. It's hardly surprising if temperatures are high in November! in March/April, after the rains, it's cooler and the vegetation greener. Although animals are harder to spot then, we enjoyed wonderful views of groups of elephant in all the parks, lions in two, a cheetah with cubs in Etosha & herds of antelope everywhere. The birdlife was fantastic as were the families of hippo in Chobe. We were also enthralled when perhaps four hundred Cape Buffalo emerged from the forest to drink at the waterhole in front of Hwange Safari Lodge.

Although initially somewhat surprised at the large size of our truck/bus (Dugga Boy) it proved spacious & comfortable & was superbly driven by Ishmael throughout the 5,500 kilometre journey.

The group was great fun (12 of us) & Charles & Ishmael were always cheerful, patient, knowledgeable & informative on both the wildlife & the lives of the local people.

The accomodation was generally surprisingly comfortable and, eg, at Toshari Lodge, quite luxurious. Droksky's is also superb.The only disappointment was the rather noisy (road traffic) & less well run in Kwalape Lodge in Botswana.

Four countries in three weeks was a wonderful learning opportunity and in all four countries we found the people warm & welcoming.
Highlights were many & varied but Namibia stood out for its magical desert & coastal landscapes, interesting history from the ancient Khoisan rock carvings to the Herero march in Swakopmund & of, course the wildlife everywhere but perhaps especially in Etosha. As mentioned by a fellow traveller, the elephant experience while walking to breakfast at White Lady Lodge will live long in the memory. Victoria Falls (again do your research regarding water levels at different times of year) was quite simply breathtaking & tea at the Victoria Hotel a fitting end to a wonderful tour.

I think the itinerary would be truly excellent with a different hotel for the Chobe section & the addition of a cultural element, either with the option of visiting one of the cultural museums or possibly a visit to a village or even a homestay such as is on offer on some other trips.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Hemel Hempstead
I enjoyed the tour very much. It is quite fast paced as there are 5,500km to cover, but you get to visit four countries. At one point you have five consecutive one night stops! So you are basically living out of your suitcase!
For me there were many highlights to the trip. Encountering a family of desert elephants early in the morning trooping through the grounds of Brandberg White Lady Lodge was a magical sight. In Etosha National Park we saw a cheater and her two youngsters lying in the shade very near to our truck. Then later a male lion salivating over a half eaten zebra!
Clambering up dune 45 early morning in Namibia and of course the glorious Victoria falls.
Our guide Charles and driver Ismael were a great team. They provided us with good food, kept us well informed and their skill and organisation ensured the trip ran smoothly .
The accommodation, at times quirky and at others luxurious did not disappoint.
I would not hesitate in recommending this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 20 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Long drives on bumpy un-made up roads in a vehicle not particularly comfortable. The A/C broke down and the heat was colossal - on most days 108F. max. in the deserts. Apparently the heat was more than normal at this time of year. Saw plenty of animals and birds. The highlight was seeing Victoria Falls. The accommodations were, mostly, good and pleasant. Table Mountain off-limits due to inclement weather.
Confirmed traveller: 12 December 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

It is a long, dusty, often tiring adventure but ultimately a fantastic experience. Highlights would be Cape Town, Namibian desert, Etosha and Chobe national parks and an amazing finish in Victoria Falls. Also, the general camaraderie of the group around the campsite made the trip different to other trips - great fun.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jill

Welwyn
From Cape Town to Vic Falls in Zimbabwe we covered a lot of miles travelling in a truck along dusty roads. We got the hang of pitching and striking camp down to a fine art, eventually. Highlights were climbing the sand dunes in Namibia to see the sunrise, magical, and seeing the herd of elephants enjoying themselves in the Chobe river and the matriarch calling them to order.
The 4 Safaris were all different with lots of photo opportunities.
It's worth doing some research before you go, or at least taking a guide book, as information was sparse with our guide.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 18 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Daphne

Kings Langley
Despite the fact that we booked the camping version of this trip by accident we did enjoy our holiday very much. The company was good. Although it entailed a lot of travelling this was comfortable with good breaks for food and sightseeing. The tour guide, driver and cook were all experts at their jobs as well as being very good company. We saw great scenery as well as copious numbers of animals and the Victoria Fall were an amazing climax to the whole trip
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 17 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The waterhole at Okaukuejo campsite in Etosha provides a constant stream of entertainment. First visit is in the middle of the day when the pool is packed with herds of Springbok and Oryx, nervous and skittish, all chased away by the arrival of a small herd of elephants who lounge by the water nuzzling each other and slurping noisily at the water. In the evening it is the giraffe who are the stars, contorting their bodies to reach down to drink, though they hurriedly move off at the arrival of a pride of lions, approaching with the confidence born of their position as top predators. Overnight the waterhole is a place of silence and calm: elephant arrive silently, drink and move off with ponderous stealth, replaced by rhino who perform a noiseless slow-motion dance, pressing horns together in a contest of male superiority. Malven amazed us with his ability to spot wildlife with his naked eyes which we could barely see even with binoculars. He prided himself on giving us the name of every animal or bird we could point out to him, and took us for `nature walks` when he turned over stones and dug into the sand to show us insects, reptiles and fascinating desert plants. On top of all that, he produced amazing meals from pans perched on top of a blazing fire. And his advice kept us safe in matters ranging from basic health & hygiene to the occasion when elephants decided to graze on the trees above our tents.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

It was a new part of the world for me so it was with added excitement that I anticipated this trip. Had I known what I was in for I would have got even more excited at what we did see and experience. Overall it was a great trip. From the arid deserts of Namibia though to the Etosha NP, the Caprivi strip and the Okavango Delta in Botswana. Most days had a wow factor about them but I enjoyed the game drives most of all. I learned a tremendous amount and I got some great photos of animals and birds. Probably the sight that will remain with me was the three large herds of elephants that turned up at the waterhole near the site of our last camp in Zimbabwe. I had expected the Victoria Falls to be crawling with tourists, being one of the worlds major sights. There was hardly anyone there: we had the place almost to ourselves. Malvin was just great. He was well organised, enthusiastic, very knowledgeable about every thing, particularly animals and birds. He had eyes like a hawk and could spot things a great distances away that we could barely see. I need to include Ishmael the driver also: a great chap with a great knowledge and sharp eyes who knew when and where to position the vehicle when there was something to see. Next to note was Jean the cook: another great chap, he produced three good basic meals for us each day that we were camping. My enduring memory of him being breakfast he produced after we had strenuously scaled the dunes at Sossusviei to witness the sunrise; one of Namibia's classic sights. The three of them worked well together as a team
Confirmed traveller: 23 March 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Cath

Devon, UK
a wonderful variety of stunning scenery and exciting opportunities to view wildlife
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016