It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure SW

Tour Duration 23 Days
Reviews for Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure 4.5 out of 5 based on 11 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure tour available at present.

Please select a date:

5 Raymond, 30/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Superb holiday with many highlights. Game drives, Victoria Falls we perhaps the main things. The long days of travel were we'll split up with plenty of stops and some excellent roadside lunch stops put on by our leader.

Read more
5 Graham Clarke, 23/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

It was a new part of the world for me so it was with added excitement that I anticipated this trip. Had I known what I was in for I would have got even more excited at what we did see and experience. Overall it was a great trip. From the arid deserts of Namibia though to the Etosha NP, the Caprivi strip and the Okavango Delta in Botswana. Most days had a wow factor about them but I enjoyed the game drives most of all. I learned a tremendous amount and I got some great photos of animals and birds. Probably the sight that will remain with me was the three large herds of elephants that turned up at the waterhole near the site of our last camp in Zimbabwe. I had expected the Victoria Falls to be crawling with tourists, being one of the worlds major sights. There was hardly anyone there: we had the place almost to ourselves.


Read more
4 Heather Collins, 13/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

A wonderful experience covering 5,500 km of diversity from Cape Town to Victoria Falls. Amazing to climb the sand dunes to watch the sunrise and to visit the waterholes at sunset to capture a whole variety of wildlife feeding there. Every day had something different to offer. Daily pitching and taking down of tents became quite routine after a few days. The end to my trip was a helicopter flight over Victoria Falls and white water rafting experience in the canyon. Optional activities but amazing way to end a fantastic trip.




Read more
4.5 Rosemary Lee, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The waterhole at Okaukuejo campsite in Etosha provides a constant stream of entertainment. First visit is in the middle of the day when the pool is packed with herds of Springbok and Oryx, nervous and skittish, all chased away by the arrival of a small herd of elephants who lounge by the water nuzzling each other and slurping noisily at the water. In the evening it is the giraffe who are the stars, contorting their bodies to reach down to drink, though they hurriedly move off at the arrival of a pride of lions, approaching with the confidence born of their position as top predators. Overnight the waterhole is a place of silence and calm: elephant arrive silently, drink and move off with ponderous stealth, replaced by rhino who perform a noiseless slow-motion dance, pressing horns together in a contest of male superiority.

Read more
5 Glenn Gardiner, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The most memorable moment is flying to South Africa knowing you have 23 days holiday in front of you. Each day you will see amazing things from Namibian Desert, Cape Town, Botswana, Victoria Falls, and Amazing Wildlife like the Big Five, Cape Cross Seal Colony, and penguin all highlights plus walking up a Three Hundred Meter Sand Dune. I have been lucky to travel for many years but with this many highlights in one tour, I might book and do it all again.

Read more
5 John Corrie, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Almost too many to name, but special moments were the herds of zebra, antelope and elephants trekking to a waterhole in Etosha, sighting of a leopard in Chobe and the first view of Victoria Falls.

Read more
4 Andy Davis, 09/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cape Town, Victoria Falls, Game parks

Read more
4.5 , 27/11/13


Paul Dorrington

Tour Name

Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure

Tour Code


What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The whole experience!Ninth trip & the best!Camping by far best option. Unzipping tent and seeing wildlife, eyes in the night, tracks in morning and hearing the sounds of Africa make for unforgetable experience!Elephants a few metres away at waterholes at night, head standing beetle on the sand dunes, stunning malacite kingfishers in the delta & hump back whales in the surf!The group made the trip as everyone helped, shared, pointed out wildlife & allowed everyone to see & photograph even in tightest spots! 5000km of stunning Southern Africa!

Tour Leader Name


How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Thulani was excellent.He was well organised, his eyesite was super human & tracking skills had to be seen to be believed! He passed on his vast knowledge of the history, geography, politics of each country and he kept us amused each day with yarns about his time as a tracker in the bush!Thulani along with Innocent our cook & Jabalo our driver made up our memorable family! A great team!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring SA$ not US$, they are accepted in all countries visited apart from Zimbabwe (meals). Optional trips are few and can be paid by card. Namibia at night can be cold, bring layers. Washing dries quickly during day so don't bring too many clothes! Head torches essential, small hanging torch useful.Be prepared to help set up and break camp, load the safari truck, wash up etc. There are long drives and sand gets everywhere but is all part of the experience! Even most basic camp site not as basic as expected! Flush toilets & electricity!No problems charging batteries but bring extra memory cards!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The group are still in contact; all suffering withdrawal symptom after being so close for well over three weeks! Oli set up a flickr a/c so everyone has dumped their best photos to share and enjoy! Great idea for future trips as no one could capture all the memorable moments of the trip!

3 Glyn Davies, 07/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"1. sighting a Leopard within a couple of meters of the truck near the bush camp in Okavngo Delta
2. Namibia sand dunes 3. Victoria falls."

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your review. The comfort rating on this tour is graded as basic as we are in the remote areas of South Africa.  Many do however say camping is the best way to experience Africa.

The weather in Africa can be unpredictable, but we do state on our tour notes that seasonal summer rain starts around mid-November and usually ends in April.

0 Liz Caldwell, 27/10/11
This was my first camping experience ever and I have to say for the first few days I wondered if I would survive!! I more than survived; camping is the way to see Africa. The travelling is dusty, bumpy and very long but oh the countryside is great. The highlights for me were climbing the sand dunes at dawn, taking a microlight flight over the Victoria falls, white water rafting, seeing aardwolf, wild dogs, leopard (as well as many more animals including hundreds of birds!!) and the people I met. Travelling and camping alone was easy as everyone helped each other put up and take down the tents. Before starting this experience think about the dust – it gets everywhere and you are never really free of it. The Monster (our transport) is great; it holds tents, luggage, food, etc however it is always bumpy or very bumpy especially if you are at the back. The journeys are long but I loved them. This part of Africa is beautiful – especially Namibia. The people of Africa and the people who travel there are friendly, lively and well worth meeting. I enjoyed all aspects of the adventure and as someone who has had holidays in South America, SE Asia, China, India, Alaska as well as Europe I can say for the first time I have been travelling. Don’t expect a night life, take at least two torches, expect good food cooked at the roadside (no-one on our trip was ill) and accept what happens it will be great even if it is not quite what you expected. (SW -22nd July 2011)
0 Wolf, Winfried, 23/12/10
Highlights: Namib Naukluft NP, Sossusvlei; Cape Town; Victoria Falls and Game drives; unexpected: drought, dusty and sometimes windy; advice: do it and take it as it is. (SW - 16h October 2010)
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA