It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
611 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure SW

Trip Duration 23 Days
 

Reviews for Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cape Town to Victoria Falls Adventure reviews verified by reevooReevoo

38 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Cape Town to Victoria Falls AdventureScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 38 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Crickhowell
Overall the Tour was excellent, with such a diversity of epic encounters. There were many highlights, but for us the best was saved for last. Our visit to the Falls and helicopter ride were everything and much more than we had anticipated. For older travelers like ourselves the number of one nighter's was a bit tiring, but in order to cover the mileage it may be difficult to do otherwise.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Ivan

Vancouver
Great scenery, great game viewing. Our tour leader was the best spotter on the planet.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Pauline

Tynemouth
Challenging, very interesting and full of amazing highlights; scenery and animals.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 28 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Tynemouth
This was a really interesting trip, covering a huge part of southern Africa in three weeks. The camping brought us really close to African life, both human and animal. The highlights were undoubtedly the Namib desert and then Botswana and Zimbabwe in the rainy season. The rainy season with a lot of rain did make camping difficult for that part of the journey. The leader was brilliant and coped very well with the problems encountered because of the weather.

I think there were a few things that could be improved: Firstly it was more difficult than other moderate trips we have done - not in terms of walking but with the desert heat and the rain, and the camping was very basic. This did not cause problems but it would have been good to know in advance exactly what was involved, and be warned about the rain. Secondly the issue of money was not made clear: the trip needs mainly rands for SA and Namibia (ATMs in Namibia give Namibian dollars which are useless outside Namibia, and dollars for Zimbabwe where the ATMs are unreliable.

It was a very good experience and fascinating. I rate it highly and it enabled us to do something that would be very difficult without the support and expertise of the leader and driver.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sheila

Dublin
Fantastic trip which went from highlight to highlight.

Group encountered a difficult situation a week into the trip which was dealt with very swiftly by Explore and Jenman.

Camping was a brilliant experience, which I would highly recommend. Once in a lifetime opportunity to be so close to nature and animals. No prior experience required!

Some long travel days but not as long as expected. Plenty of breaks. No problem charging cameras etc but wifi was patchy.

Etosha watering hole and Chobe cruise were definite highlights as well as Vic Falls. Helicopter trip is a must.

Felix Unite and Gwungo campsites were favourites.

Special thanks to Paul Ngorima who joined as tour leader but special mention for Norbert Mahoza who survived 23 days with the scary six. His kindness towards us and for all the local people we met won't be forgotten.

Still waiting to see a leopard - next time!
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Michael

Hampshire
We were beginning to think we were a pair of 70+ wimps opting for the accommodated version of this tour but found it to be sufficiently adventurous and were rewarded with some beautifully located and well-appointed lodges. This is quite a journey clocking up some 3000 miles through 4 countries on sometimes very rough roads for many hours, but the beast of a truck was up to it, doubling as a superb game-viewing platform when in the national parks.

We chose to spend two prior nights at the first hotel for a more leisurely start to the trip and to be sure of ascending Table Mountain without being thwarted by changeable weather which can cloud its peak at times. Object achieved we otherwise found Cape Town very laidback and a delightful city to explore on foot.

I am not surprised many other reviewers favour the highlights pre-listed in the Itinerary, they are ‘not-to-be-missed gems’ but I would like to highlight the little mentioned picnics and other self-catering aspects included as part of the trip. Our driver, Malvern had an unerring knack of finding the most idyllic shady spots in the middle of nowhere for us to offload tables and chairs whilst others assisted Lloyd our guide in preparing huge mixed-salad lunches with fresh fruit in abundance to follow. He also cooked some evening meals al-fresco too, so we never really missed the open air aspect of a camping trip and still able to welcome the air-con and comfort of a lodge suite at the end of a very full day.

Lloyd was an absolute all-rounder, good organiser, ornithologist, wildlife expert, chef/caterer and great fun too! I never once saw him phased by the demands of a full group of 16 travellers.

We had paid note of warning as to cooler evenings and did take our down-jackets and simple waterproofs but these only came out in the Cape area. Otherwise lightest possible clothing was the order of the day as we moved further north during October.

Budgeting needs care as you travel through four separate and fragile economies. We found South Africa cheaper than anticipated but spent proportionally more towards the latter part of the holiday, even though we had allowed for the optional trips. Most of the Safari lodges were surprisingly cultured and sophisticated despite most being in the middle of nowhere. You can enjoy a sundowner on the river or terrace, pre-dinner drinks, table wine and a night cap but expect a bar bill comparable with back home. The logistics of providing for guests’ every comfort are well met but at additional cost in such remote locations.

Having two very full days at Victoria Falls we chose to eat in with new travel friends at Lokuthula which is well equipped for self-catering, relaxing on our own terrace amid the wildlife which abounds the Lodge.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 16 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Shelagh

This was a very good tour , great highlights and great experiences.
The next bit is about the wrinkles...
I has a catastrophic journey out with SAA. I arrived 26 hours late without luggage for a week. Lloyd had to work really hard to get it delivered , eventually late evening in Hammerstein. I wea really irritated to discover that others had had BA flights to CapeTown thus avoiding the horrors of Jo'burg airport. I would say this really blighted the first part of the trip. I would suggest you avoid using SAA as if it could go wrong on the way out it did. even on teh way back i asked for an aisle seat and was given a middle seat. .
The accommodation on the trip was unexpectedly good and at times outstanding. It was a great shame we had little chance to really enjoy some of the experiences, on such a hectic constantly moving trip 2 nights at Etosha Lodge would have been a chance to chill, use the pool and recharge. I know the over active Explore customers get bored if they are left in one place for more than 2seconds but we were very tired of moving in our group!
Our hotel in Victoria Falls was very nice but i think we would all have liked ot be more central and not a long walk from the nearest resterant (there were all sorts of wondering animals in teh dark, very novel in daytime hot so good for the solo traveller.
Our tour leader and driver were both outstanding. I am V.i. And had great support and kindness. Melvin was the most involved and hardworking driver i think i have ever had. I question the need that they had ot prepare meals in hotels where meals could have been had. They worked hard enough already. The food they prepared was outstanding for the conditions they were coping with!

Our time in Botswana exceeded my expectations and i wish it had been more!
My printer packed up and i rang the Monday before i left on Thursday to ask for a copy to be sent of the itinerary , it did not arrive until 3.00 on Thursday, my bus to heathrow was at 4.00...
Apart from these mostly small criticisms (except for the flights) it was a great trip. It was unusual in only having 2 singles which was a pity.but i do know it is pot luck
I
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 06 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rachel

Great trip, full on though so not relaxing as there's so many miles to cover.
Good mix of scenery, people and safaris
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Claire

Exeter
This quite a tough trip as long distances have to be covered, but very rewarding in the diversity of wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hilary

Penmaenmawr
Tour leader was very knowledgable but expected to drive and cook as well, thus working 13 hours on some days. A driver and a guide should be provided.
The range of experiences was great - sand dunes, rock art as well as scenery and game parks.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016