It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Windward Isles and French Antilles WI

Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Windward Isles and French Antilles

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Windward Isles and French Antilles trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Windward Isles and French Antilles reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Windward Isles and French AntillesScores 7.3 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Dundee
I have already done this. Unusually, we have done many Explore trips, the organisation was clunky. I assume this is due to delegation to a local agent as our tour leader was well aware of the problems and worked very hard to sort them out. She arranged those trips our group felt to be the highlights.
I realise the fall in the pound caused problems, but some accommodation was well substandard and unsafe. Air conditioning was patchy and we never encountered mosquito nets though some of our group had them. The inter-island travel arrangements were taxing. I understood from talking to other local guides that Whitchurch was having serious financial problems, money misspent, and key members of staff "away". Hence the appropriate bookings had not been made.
Confirmed traveller: 02 February 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Harefield, West London
The trip was excellent, and the itinerary well planned. My highlights were the rainforest walks and the trip on Indian River, and being in the company of Coco, one of the best tour leaders I have met with Explore, always smiling and she would always go the extra mile. Some of the hotels left a little to be desired, but the staff were friendly and did their best to sort things out.
The walks in the rainforest, especially after rain, are short but quite strenuous, they can be very slippery in places. I would recommend robust walking shoes/boots and walking poles.
Confirmed traveller: 02 February 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(4 out of 10)

Alban

Dundee
Travel times between islands changed adversely. Karaibes and Villa des Pitons hotels poor. BBQ lunch with steel band at the latter was excellent though. Coco coped very well with these travel changes by the way! Walking poles would definitely help on the forest walks. Highlight was Champagne Beach snorkelling in Dominica.
Confirmed traveller: 02 February 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017

Thanks for your comments for the above trip, it’s a shame that you felt it rated so low. We hope that the standards in the hotels you mention will improve for our departures next year, as they will be undergoing a refurbishment during their quiet season. I’m glad to hear that there were some highlights for you however.

(8 out of 10)

Penelope

Colchester, England
Overall a wonderful trip. Good balance of activities. Thought the optional
S were sometimes expensive but realise you are competing with cruise ships for transport etc.
There were some issues with accommodation but Coco was always on the job using her business like efficiency and charm to sort things out.
My favourite hotel was definitely Villas des Pitons, Sourciere, St Lucia and I sincerely hope Explore are able to resolve their issues of concern with is accomodation enabling future travellers to enjoy the hotel's superb location the staff's friendly helpfulness.
Confirmed traveller: 02 February 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(3 out of 10)

Christel

This is a tour for middle-aged to old British couples, definitely not for young single people travelling alone. Poor accommodation and unnecessarily long travel days due to the fact that the tour both starts and ends in St. Lucia. Great tour leader though.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017

Thanks for your feedback Christel, I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Some of the hotels we use are currently undergoing refurbishment, so we are sure that the standards will improve. Unfortunately there are no international connections that work for each island, which is why the trip must start and end in St. Lucia, however, from the feedback we’ve received previously, our customers enjoy the interisland boat trips as they have time to relax and enjoy the Caribbean scenery. It's also disappointing to hear you were unhappy with your group's demographics. Clearly, we can't guarantee the makeup of any group, but we're always happy to give you an idea of it if you ask us at the time of booking.

(7 out of 10)

Catherine

Tamworth
The tour we did is about to change so there's not much point me commenting on how pretty Martinique is our how lovely the coastal walk we did there was - or how dire the accommodation there was. Instead, I shall comment on the unseasonally high rainfall which made the walks in Dominica and St Lucia rather challenging and the lack of a shower at the accom in Dominica rather unpleasant. The whole trip was a mixture of fabulous scenery, interesting sites, good walks, a disappointing lack of fruit juices and average food. For anyone planning to stay on at the end, there really isn't much to do in Soufriere.
Our leader, Coco, was amazing. She had such high levels of organisation, positivity and communication skills, I wish she was Prime Minister.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Victoria

Leicester
The biggest problem is standard of accommodation; I was lucky I always had water in the room it may not have been hot but there was water.

I shared and particularly in the final hotel Villa Des Pitons it felt that I was an after thought the room had one lovely bed with mosquito net bedside light etc and one bed (mine) that was just through into the room. It wasn't a twin room and since we have both paid an equal amount it needs more thought.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 09 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Birmingham
Some accommodation was "out of town" which whilst convenient for walks did restrict the evening alternatives.
Good varied itinerary with choice of walks.
Heather was a very good leader with good people skills.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 06 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Miranda

Bristol
My highlights were;
1. Achieving the walk to Boiling Lake even though the weather was bad - we had no views due to cloud cover. I felt proud that I had managed the walk and the lake is extraordinary.
2. I also really enjoyed spending a relaxing day at the Imperatrice Village Hotel on Dominica.
3.The Christmas day walk to Middenham falls and an afternoon on Bubble Beach resting in hot sand and witnessing village entertainment was another highlight. Not to mention dancing on New years eve in Soufriere.
Heather was a brilliant tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

this was my first explore holiday and i had an amazing time.Boiling lake walk was enjoyable,very hard.i like how i was able to choice the excursion i wanted to do
Confirmed traveller: 30 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016