It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
637 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Treasures of Central India CG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Treasures of Central India

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Treasures of Central India trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Treasures of Central India reviews verified by reevooReevoo

31 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Treasures of Central IndiaScores 8.0 out of 10 based on 31 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Colin

Isle of Man
This was one of the best tours I have undertaken, the tour leader Satish went out of his way to make it special. On a section of the tour we came up against the indian elections, and all alcohol outlets were closed but thanks to his efforts we were able to obtain a limited supply of beer, very welcome when the temperature exceeded 35c. I think the highlight of the tour was the visit to Hampi, I didn't know it even existed but I would now put it alongside Ankor Wat as one of the greatest sites to see. My only complaint was the hotel supplied in Hydrabad, it was a dry vegetarian hotel, I cannot believe that there was no other suitable hotel in a city of ten million people without such restrictions. One tip I would give to travellers is to expect some basic hotels in the middle of this trip as this is the only way to see the wonders of central India. Once again I would like to say that Satish was instrumental in making this trip special.
Confirmed traveller: 03 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Janet

St Albans
It was an excellent tour exploring the less visited areas of India. This did mean however that some of the accommodation was more basic. To fully appreciate some of the sites, climbing a large number of steps is necessary. Some of our group were unable to do this and therefore missed out. At most of the sites we were the only non-Indians and we enjoyed the interest shown in us by the locals. Most of the sites we visited are outstanding, especially Ajanta caves, Golconda Fort, Gol Gumbaz with its whispering gallery and Hampi. It was also interesting to visit the slum area of Mumbai. There are two long daytime train journeys and you need to buy food for these before getting to the station. The hotel in Goa is five kilometers from the nearest beach and if you want to enjoy the beaches you need to add extra days to the tour. The food throughout the tour was delicious.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

Derbyshire
An excellent tour with a packed itinerary. Probably too packed leaving very little free time to wander or pursue an individual special interest. All of the 17 people in our group had visited India before and appreciated the cultural heritage that is quite sensational but not normally part of a showcase tour of India. Saw very few westerners and had interesting conversations with locals as a result of our novelty status.
Food was beautiful especially for vegetarians because the majority of the restaurant were vegetarian. Good hotels, some quite exotic, excellent wifi and interesting transport mix
Top quality leader who was very talented and made everything easy and enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joseph

Savannah
I really enjoyed this tour. I thought the Explore leader, Satesh was excellent. I followed this tour with another Explore tour in Raghistan and while that Explore leader was good, it made me appreciate all of Satesh efforts that much more. There were 3 single night accomodations starting in Bitar which were plain awful. Many of the group complained and were looking for alternate accomodations. In Badami they were successful and did not remain with the Explore hotel. I would say these 3 single night accomodations were less than a 1 Star rate. I have actually never stayed in such poor accomodation in my life. Overall, though, I did enjoy the tour. We saw so many wonderful sights and I enjoyed the group. We spent a lot of time together because there weren't so many opportunities for people to wonder off on their own. I personally enjoyed the time in Mumbai, Arrangabad was a huge surprise though the caves were as expected magnificent. The UNESCO sight outside of Badami was very special, and I enjoyed the time in Goa. And of course, Hempi was everything one would have hoped and the sight there was truly magnificent. Again, I can not say enough about our tour leader, Satesh. His level of care toward the group made a great deal of difference with the 3 train experience and having our group all over the place on the trains, and making certain that people were not getting ill with the food. We actually had less of that problem with Satesh than I did in the following tour in Raghistan which you would not really expect.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Dunblane
This trip will stay with the Explorer a long time: there's so much to see and take it that digesting it all won't be easy. The cave temples of Ajanta and Ellora are extraordinary, testaments to a civilisation that dates back to when the British went around painted blue and knocking lumps off each other. Forts, citadels, temples come and go on the itinerary only to be replaced by others at least as dazzling. Of all the sites and sights Hampi was the biggest and best...and saved almost till last. Some of our hotels were a bit basic but the last, at Goa, the Panjim Inn, was a delight. Train travel was an experience but quite a pleasant one. All in all, if you're interested in History and Culture and can manage a whole two weeks without a cloud in the sky this is the kind of tour for you. Oh, and remember to take a pair of thick socks because there's an amount of shoe-less walking to be done and the ground can be rough...and hot.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Malcolm

Glasgow
Very Indian off the beaten track,Europeans rare,accommodation Ok given towns visited few if any western tourist hotels available.Guide was the best I have had on 6 tours in India with different companies.A well educated man ,very informative,well organised,a credit to himself ,Explore and India.
Acts of discreet personal kindness to individuals were too many to mention
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 26 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Diana

London
Highlight Hampi wonderful site
Village stops for chai
Saw very few other tourists on trip
The trains were great as was our tour leader getting 17 of us on the right train seats
Hectic tour not for faithearted
Would recommend another day on the end in Goa
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(2 out of 10)

Michael

Sacramento, California
This is my fourth trip to India. You go there to see people, traditions, color. In this trip, I saw India through a bus window and got up close to old rocks and tombs. It was so disappointing. My highlight was being told that I could not visit (another) mosque because I was inappropriately dressed. Instead of the mosque, I got to wander around the town and interact with the people. There was no time to wander anywhere. The hotels were not in good wandering areas (especially Mumbai). The individual tour guides in Ajanta and Elorra were terrible in the sense that they gave too much detail and with their hard to understand accents, it was easy to tune them off (especially when you were tired). I got almost nothing from them.

I can't tell you how disappointed I am about this trip. It did not capture any of the charm of Kerala or Rajasthan, and was almost a turn-off on India. Anil, the tour guide, was more interested in showing us another fort instead of stopping for a religious demonstration in one of the towns. No spontaneity.
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017

Hi Michael, thanks for your review. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your trip through Central India. I’ve recently returned from completing the Hyderabad to Goa section of this trip and found it a really interesting region to explore. As you mention it is very different to the more well-known states of Kerala and Rajasthan and I found this meant the locals were a lot more interested in interacting with our group. The sites are typically more spread out and, as such, there’s a lot of driving during the trip which is hard to avoid but we do encourage our Explore leaders to stop along the way to get an experience of local life – as well as all of the planned inclusions.
The accommodation in some places is limited, especially in Bidar, Bijapur and Badami so we look for clean, simple accommodation which is sometimes easier to find on the outskirts of these cities. We try and balance this with more centrally located accommodation in Mumbai, Hyderabad and Goa where there are many more choices.
Local guides in India are required at many sites and can sometimes want to tell groups every last detail! It’s a difficult balance as some people want a lot of detail, others less, but we would always recommend talking to your Explore Leader if you are having trouble understanding or aren’t enjoying the talks.

(10 out of 10)

Anne

BISHOP AUCKLAND
A VERY BUSY TRIP WITH LITTLE FREE TIME AS SO MUCH TO SEE .THE TRIP TAKES YOU TO SIGHTS OFF THE TOURIST TRAIL ,IN FACT YOU ARE OF AS MUCH INTEREST TO LOCALS AS THE PLACE IS TO US.NOT FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO RELAX HAVE LEISURELY BREAKFASTS AND SEE THE ODD TEMPLE. IF YOU PUT IN THE EFFORT YOU WILL SEE THINGS THAT ARE FANTASTIC, WELL BEYOND THE NORMAL TOURIST SIGHTS ,THE TRAIN JOURNEYS ARE TYPICAL INDIA, CHAOS, SMELLS, VENDORS AND LOTS OF HOT SWEET CHAI.FOOD WAS BOTH VEG/NON VEG WITH LOTS OF NEW THINGS, LOCAL PLACES TO EAT, BASIC BUT ALWAYS ACCEPTABLE OFTEN BRILLIANT.WOULD HAVE LIKED MORE TIME TO SEE LOCAL MARKETS DANCE MUSIC ETC BUT OFTEN WERE AWAY FROM ANYTHING FOR TOURISTS.SPENT VERY LITTLE EVEN BUYING TWO MEALS A DAY BEER WAS OFTEN NOT AVAILABLE BUT THE SWEET LASSI A YOUGURT DRINK IS GREAT. SOME HOTELS IN THE MIDDLE OF TOUR ARE JUST ABOUT ACCEPTABLE THINK BACK STREET BOARDING HOUSE BUT ALL HAD WI-FI AND HELPFUL STAFF.LAST DAY SEVERAL OF US GOT TOGETHER HIRED A MINIBUS AND DRIVER AND WENT TO CANDOLIN BEACH ATE THE MOST AMAZING TIGER PRAWNS AT BEACH SHACK RESTAURANT CALLED FISHERMANS HUT AND HAD PADDLE IN SEA VERY STRONG WAVES SO BE CAREFUL.THIS WAS OUR FIFTH TIME IN INDIA WE LOVED IT AND WOULD RECCOMMEND IT AS LONG AS YOU HAVE THE STAMINA FOR EARLY STARTS AND VERY FULL DAYS
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Shadforth
This trip did not have as many 'wow' factors as some holidays and I would not choose it as a first visit to India. It was nevertheless a fascinating insight into ordinary everyday life in parts of India that are well off the normal tourist trails.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 10 January 2017