It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Treasures of Central India CG

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 14 Days
 
Reviews for Treasures of Central India

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Treasures of Central India tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Treasures of Central India reviews verified by Reevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Treasures of Central IndiaScores 7.2 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Lyn

York
Sites of Ellora, Ajanta, Hampi - People and Food

a lot of travelling over roads that do not allow a stop or a walk through a village or a photo stop.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(4 out of 10)

Wendy

Preston
Our tour leader (Sam) came across as very inexperienced, badly trained and unprepared for this trip. Despite having run at least one previous tour he seemed clueless. Every day we struggled to get consistent appropriate information about the most basic of information such as what time to have luggage ready for loading.

I would recommend finding out who the tour leader will be before booking. Other older reviews speak so highly of the leader I think we really lost out.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 15 December 2015

Thank you for your review.

We know that all great Explore leaders need to learn and start somewhere, and each one will have had to undertake a trip for the first time. Sam passed his training with flying colours and completed a shadow tour prior to your departure (where he undertook a trip in conjunction with an experienced Explore leader). As such we had every confidence in his ability to lead your tour successfully. Unfortunately your feedback has highlighted issues, and we have taken the step of withdrawing him from any future departures.

(9 out of 10)

Michael

Malmesbury
Ajanta, Ellora and Hampi have got to be the highlights but the village of Badami at dusk and dawn were a wonderful surprise. Be prepared to be photographed, absolutely anywhere and everywhere!
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015
(6 out of 10)

Karin

London
I booked the trip because I wanted to see the Caves of Ajanta and Ellora and Hampi, however, the Caves of Badami which are far less known were also a real highlight. All in all the trip exceeded my expectations, however, there were many things Explore could have far better organised. Of Hyderabad we saw very little and it is a fascinating place (e.g. we saw nothing of the Nizam buildings) and it would have been the easiest thing in the world if one had flown instead of wasting so much time on a lengthy train journey, especially since there were 3 long train journeys in any case. Too many stays of one night only and tearing around for no reason at all - forget Bidar and stay another night in Hyderabad since the sights we saw in Bidar were viewed much better elsewhere.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Fabulous tour overall and fantastic to be off-the-tourist trail but visiting some incredible places.Sorab was just amazing as a tour leader in every possible way.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(6 out of 10)

Sylvia

London
The highlights included all the amazing places we were taken too. I was very happy with the accommodation and feel Explore had done a good job in finding appropriate,comfortable places. I felt the tour leader didn't really have his heart and soul in the trip. He was also difficult to understand but then most of the local guides were. Therefore less information may have been better. I would have liked more about the culture, lives and traditions of the places we went through such as in Mumbai. I liked the hotels we stayed in for Xmas and New Year where it felt we were more with local people. U
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Jill

London
A very interesting cultural trip visiting some areas that are difficult to get to without the benefit of a tour bus. Best for someone who has already visited India.

Fantastic cultural sights - from Ellora and Ajanta caves through numerous Mogul forts and tombs to astonishing rock carvings in Badami and wonderful temples in the Hampi area.

Lots to see with quite a lot of time on a bus - but you do get to visit some towns and villages off the main tourist routes. An insight into real India?
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Eric

S. Croydon
Despite an excellent trip, I felt that there were too many people for the logistics involved. The highlights of the trip were Ajanta and Elllora caves, Hyderabad, Badami and Hampi. A trip full of surprises that will open the eyes of other travelers to an unknown part of India.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Nicola

Nottingham
Fantastic trip. Off the main tourist track, so many wonderful experiences. Our guide was superb.
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2014
Published on: 02 October 2015
(2 out of 10)

David

Watford
We now tend to use Exodus more as they offer far better accommodation. Never had a bad hotel with Exodus where as with Explore they range from Excellent to poor. Exodus take you to more authentic restaurants where as Explore use 'safe' tourist restaurants which are very bland. Exodus always seem to have excellent guides where as Explore guides can be very good but can also be poor. The guide on this India was awful whereas the guide on my two previous trips to India with Explore was very good.
If Explore don't address the hotels guides and food options they will ultimately completely lose us as a customer.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided – we haven’t received any previous complaints regarding the hotels and the feedback we have received has generally been very positive. That said, we have made sure to pass your feedback on to our Operations Manager, along with your comments regarding your Explore leader.