It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
632 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Treasures of Central India CG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Treasures of Central India

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Treasures of Central India trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Treasures of Central India reviews verified by reevooReevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Treasures of Central IndiaScores 7.8 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Malcolm

Glasgow
Very Indian off the beaten track,Europeans rare,accommodation Ok given towns visited few if any western tourist hotels available.Guide was the best I have had on 6 tours in India with different companies.A well educated man ,very informative,well organised,a credit to himself ,Explore and India.
Acts of discreet personal kindness to individuals were too many to mention
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 26 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Diana

London
Highlight Hampi wonderful site
Village stops for chai
Saw very few other tourists on trip
The trains were great as was our tour leader getting 17 of us on the right train seats
Hectic tour not for faithearted
Would recommend another day on the end in Goa
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(2 out of 10)

Michael

Sacramento, California
This is my fourth trip to India. You go there to see people, traditions, color. In this trip, I saw India through a bus window and got up close to old rocks and tombs. It was so disappointing. My highlight was being told that I could not visit (another) mosque because I was inappropriately dressed. Instead of the mosque, I got to wander around the town and interact with the people. There was no time to wander anywhere. The hotels were not in good wandering areas (especially Mumbai). The individual tour guides in Ajanta and Elorra were terrible in the sense that they gave too much detail and with their hard to understand accents, it was easy to tune them off (especially when you were tired). I got almost nothing from them.

I can't tell you how disappointed I am about this trip. It did not capture any of the charm of Kerala or Rajasthan, and was almost a turn-off on India. Anil, the tour guide, was more interested in showing us another fort instead of stopping for a religious demonstration in one of the towns. No spontaneity.
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Anne

BISHOP AUCKLAND
A VERY BUSY TRIP WITH LITTLE FREE TIME AS SO MUCH TO SEE .THE TRIP TAKES YOU TO SIGHTS OFF THE TOURIST TRAIL ,IN FACT YOU ARE OF AS MUCH INTEREST TO LOCALS AS THE PLACE IS TO US.NOT FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO RELAX HAVE LEISURELY BREAKFASTS AND SEE THE ODD TEMPLE. IF YOU PUT IN THE EFFORT YOU WILL SEE THINGS THAT ARE FANTASTIC, WELL BEYOND THE NORMAL TOURIST SIGHTS ,THE TRAIN JOURNEYS ARE TYPICAL INDIA, CHAOS, SMELLS, VENDORS AND LOTS OF HOT SWEET CHAI.FOOD WAS BOTH VEG/NON VEG WITH LOTS OF NEW THINGS, LOCAL PLACES TO EAT, BASIC BUT ALWAYS ACCEPTABLE OFTEN BRILLIANT.WOULD HAVE LIKED MORE TIME TO SEE LOCAL MARKETS DANCE MUSIC ETC BUT OFTEN WERE AWAY FROM ANYTHING FOR TOURISTS.SPENT VERY LITTLE EVEN BUYING TWO MEALS A DAY BEER WAS OFTEN NOT AVAILABLE BUT THE SWEET LASSI A YOUGURT DRINK IS GREAT. SOME HOTELS IN THE MIDDLE OF TOUR ARE JUST ABOUT ACCEPTABLE THINK BACK STREET BOARDING HOUSE BUT ALL HAD WI-FI AND HELPFUL STAFF.LAST DAY SEVERAL OF US GOT TOGETHER HIRED A MINIBUS AND DRIVER AND WENT TO CANDOLIN BEACH ATE THE MOST AMAZING TIGER PRAWNS AT BEACH SHACK RESTAURANT CALLED FISHERMANS HUT AND HAD PADDLE IN SEA VERY STRONG WAVES SO BE CAREFUL.THIS WAS OUR FIFTH TIME IN INDIA WE LOVED IT AND WOULD RECCOMMEND IT AS LONG AS YOU HAVE THE STAMINA FOR EARLY STARTS AND VERY FULL DAYS
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Shadforth
This trip did not have as many 'wow' factors as some holidays and I would not choose it as a first visit to India. It was nevertheless a fascinating insight into ordinary everyday life in parts of India that are well off the normal tourist trails.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 10 January 2017
(5 out of 10)

Michael

London
I would not recommend this trip for a newcomer to India as it lacks the dramatic sights of North India and other areas and the travel between the sights is long and slow and the accommodation occasionally a little basic. It is also a rather one track trip without the variety of activities of most other Explore trips. However, for someone who knows India already, it gives a new and different slant with the usual fascinating kaleidoscope of people, colour and action and with the benefits of being much less touristy.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 31 December 2016

Hi Michael, thank you for your feedback on this trip. I do agree with you that this trip doesn’t have the dramatic sights of North India – but I personally feel that that is the beauty of this itinerary. As you mention, it is more untravelled and lest touristy. If you are looking for the more familiar photo opportunities and highlights such as the Taj Mahal – this trip might not be the best fit. However, to get under the skin and walk on the slightly longer, but less travelled path, this might be just up your street.

(8 out of 10)

Keith

dorking surrey
itinerary and major historical sights made this tour a must do. however some hotels were below standard and food available both in hotel and nearby poor. the tour leader was vague and his accent made him difficult to understand but he dealt well with currency problem which occured. especial unexpected highlight for me was the time in badami and nearby pattadakal and aihole!
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Colin

Edinburgh
This is an excellent trip covering a large area from Mumbai across the Deccan plateau to Hyderabad and then back west and south to Goa. It was led by Sorab Jassawalla (AKA Jassa) who was one of the best leaders I've come across. He communicated well, was very friendly and looked after us with calmness and competence. Local guides were also very good.
The trip started in Mumbai which was wonderful - a complete buzz with loads of interesting things to see (the Gateway of India, the Slumdog Millionaire area) and good shopping. The caves at Ajanta and Ellora were fascinating with beautiful 5th C paintings and carvings of various eras. The amazing dome of Gol Gumbaz is the second biggest in the world and has a whispering gallery which puts St. Paul's completely in the shade.
The world heritage site of Hampi was an absolute highlight with stunning temples and beautiful carvings.
The morning visit to the caves above Badami was memorable with monkeys descending from the cliffs, a stunning view over the village and beaurtifully carved caves.
There were lots of other great sites. Highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Beverley

Gosport
This tour ,although starting with the highlights of the busy metropolis of Mumbai , including Gandhi's house and India gate ,leads away from the well worn tourist trails via train and coach.
Hyderbad is a busy city with colourful market and interesting buildings. Conversely Badami is a rural town with simple houses and market.Goa is an echo of a Portugese heritage and feels European.
This tour does include some long journeys.
On the overnight train we travelled in reserved sleeper bunks ,not as crowded or primitive as imagined, and on the day trains in reserved seats alongside Indian businessmen and families also journeying.
We saw the changing landscape from subsistance farming ,to the richer mechanised farms.From villages,to small towns and industries.
The sites we visited on the itinerary were not crowded with overseas visitors,but dotted with family groups of Indian tourists enjoying their heritage and stopping to take photos of , or with members of our group !
We had space and time to explore caves ,forts and temples ,and at each site learnt more about the history , politics and the changing paths of religion that caused the construction and in some cases abandonment or destruction.Even the incredible temple complex of Hampi is far larger than expected and comes complete with a friendly temple elephant.
The intricately carved caves were all totally amazing. These have to be seen in reality as no amount of video footage or photographs could convey the sheer complexity of the carvings and the otherwordly atmosphere of the sites.The local guides at each site were very good ,explaining the significance of recurring carvings , the particular details relating to the various religions
The forts ruins were large and impressive
The dome of Gol Gumbaz a feat of engineering well worth the climb up the steep stairs.
The hotels were a complete cross section from upmarket with doormen and a free local newspaper delivered to the room,to the more simple, generally catering for the Indian businessman or tourist. In two of the hotels we had to advise our breakfast requirement the evening before as their menu is limited,understandable , due to the lack of foreign tourists.
Our Tour Leader,Jassa,was a fountain of knowledge on any subject and happily clearly explained anything we asked about. He took us to interesting restaurants favoured by locals ,and explained each local delicacy in detail,the ingredients,how it differed in that region and how to cook it! The food is inexpensive .
It is not necessary to change a lot of money at the start as there are no additional costs involved except food and drink and no expensive"tourist traps" on route.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 13 May 2016