It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Central American Explorer CAE

Trip Duration 25 Days
 

Reviews for Central American Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Central American Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Central American Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Central American ExplorerScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Mike

Sheffield
This was a trip with so many highlights that everyone on the trip picked something different. In my case the cities of Granada, Leon and Antigua and the super cool tree frogs. My top tip is max strength insect repellent will be your best friend!
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jan

York
This was such an exciting trip and every day was an adventure. It was incredibly diverse and there was something for everyone as there was such a varied mix of activities.

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stephanie

Bishops Stortford
QThe trip gave a great overview of Central America, giving insight into where more time could be spent . Good mix of walking , beaches , sightseeing and wandering through lovely old towns. More time on Roatan would have been great ! Inevitably this meant significant time on the road and early starts - drivers were great but for our party of 17 transport could have been more spacious and comfortabl e- also no luggage racks so day packs had to be by feet or on lap.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Southampton
The trip has a lot packed in and is a good mix of cities, culture, beaches and wildlife. It provides a taster of the countries of Central America so you can decide where you'd like to return to. There is a lot of time spent on the bus which is necessary to cover the long distances but I think most people could do with a little more room.
The guides were all good and informative and dealt with the varying needs of passengers. Some of the day excursions are a little expensive for what's on offer.
Highlights for me: Bocas del Toro, Monteverde, Ometepe, paddle boarding and kayaking in lake Apoya, Roatan and Antigua, although it's all been great really.
Tips: lots of technical clothing not necessary although insect repellent is. Pack down to visit Roatan. Try all the local cuisine. Enjoy yourself you're on holiday!!
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Fiona

Barnsley
Fabulous trip but full on as described. What let it down was the optional extras which were very expensive. Some should have been included. Costa Rica is expensive. London prices. The whole trip was a lot more expensive than indicated. The accommodation was mixed. Adequate and clean. Overall brilliant.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Newcastle upon Tyne
This was an excellent introduction to Central America. We covered a lot of ground which led to some long travelling days when it would have been good to enjoy slightly more comfortable accommodation on arrival at our various destinations. The success of the trip was hugely influenced by our excellent guide, Manuel, who was a mine of interesting information as well as an all round lovely, thoughtful person who looked after us all superbly. The highlights for me were the stay in Sarapiqui where we saw a wide range of birds and wildlife and I also enjoyed our early morning walk in Cara Cancha Nature Reserve in Costa Rica where we had the place practically to ourselves and spotted a large number of birds.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2017
Published on: 08 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Liew

St. Albans
The tour experience was excellent. Much to see and enjoy. Some of the accommodation was not so good. The room in hotel in Leon was very crammed and dingy. The food in the lodge in Rincon was poor value. The hotel in Granada, Antigua and arsenal were very good. The tour leader, manuel, was excellent. Very helpful and efficient. Went out of his way to look after everyone. The drivers during the trip were also very professional, friendly and very efficient in their job.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Laura

Westcliff
One of the best Explore holidays that I have had. I did so many exciting things, visited wonderful places and learnt so much during the tour: zipwire in Costa Rica, interesting walks in the countryside with Romeo our tour guide who was very knowledgeable about wildlife, Panama Canal, Mayan site in Honduras, colonial history in Nicaragua and Guatamala are a just few highlights. Usually Explore holidays are usually full on with little time to breath, however, I had plenty of free time on this tour, with lots of options at each place that I stayed, so I was able to have a relaxing time. Hotels were also very good.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Raksha

Ashwell
Should have had 3 nights in Roatan island as per original schedule.
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jacquelynn

poole, dorset
In no particular order:
Panama Canal - actually didn't think I'd be so intrigued by it, but was
Montverde Cloud Forest - wished there had been time for zip wire as well as canopy walk.
Perfect volcanoes by the score, and one even spewed lava for us near Antigua
Monkey encounters, and general fauna
Warm Caribbean waters
General flora - bromeliads by the billion
Info and sites of Mayan culture

Tip:
Dip your toe in the Pacific Ocean when in Panama, don't get opportunity again, even though so close when in Leon.
Bring book/music for long minibus journeys, though I was happy just staring out the window at the scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2016
Published on: 20 January 2016