It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Central American Explorer CAE

Trip Duration 25 Days
 

Reviews for Central American Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Central American Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Central American Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Central American ExplorerScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Anita

Wimbledon, London
A super introduction to Central America. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip, thanks to our most enthusiastic and very knowledgeable tour leader Tomas. So many special days - snorkelling in Bocas del Toro and Roatan. Visiting the Masaya volcano in the dark was an awesome experience as we looked down into a red, hot crater. I loved Rincon de la Vieja, staying there as well as the superb walks searching for wildlife and looking into pools of boiling mud. Watching the ships on the Panama Canal was fascinating. Granada and Antigua are lovely towns to potter round. We had a superb time at Copan Ruinas. Gosh! everyday was fun.
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2017
Published on: 01 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Brian

North Vancouver
Tour was excellent, with lots of varied options in interesting locations. Travel was pleasant. One day had problems: Leon to Tegucigalpa to catch a plane. Border crossing issues, police stops & custruction delays caused our plane to be missed. Perhaps attempting to drive through Honduras at this time is not the best idea. A flight from Leon to Roatan would eliminate this. We did get to spend the night in one of the most dangerous cities in the world even though we were told not not leave the hotel.
Our guide was amazing, eager to share the Cental American experience with us. We were his family on the road.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 30 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

James

Tralee
A thoroughly enjoyable trip covering a lot of ground through what was for me terra incognita.

Highlights- The Zip Line in Mounteverde, Costa Rica - Snorkeling in Boca Del Tora, Panama - Easter Week Carpets ,Antigua, Guatemala-Copan Ruinas, Honduras-Ometepe Island, Nicaragua.

Downlights -A lot of time on the bus but Central America is not as small as it appears on the map so that can't be helped.

Pluses. Some really nice accommodation and Tomas was a great guide
Minuses. None as such though the wildlife was a little shy..
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mike

Sheffield
This was a trip with so many highlights that everyone on the trip picked something different. In my case the cities of Granada, Leon and Antigua and the super cool tree frogs. My top tip is max strength insect repellent will be your best friend!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jan

York
This was such an exciting trip and every day was an adventure. It was incredibly diverse and there was something for everyone as there was such a varied mix of activities.

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stephanie

Bishops Stortford
QThe trip gave a great overview of Central America, giving insight into where more time could be spent . Good mix of walking , beaches , sightseeing and wandering through lovely old towns. More time on Roatan would have been great ! Inevitably this meant significant time on the road and early starts - drivers were great but for our party of 17 transport could have been more spacious and comfortabl e- also no luggage racks so day packs had to be by feet or on lap.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Southampton
The trip has a lot packed in and is a good mix of cities, culture, beaches and wildlife. It provides a taster of the countries of Central America so you can decide where you'd like to return to. There is a lot of time spent on the bus which is necessary to cover the long distances but I think most people could do with a little more room.
The guides were all good and informative and dealt with the varying needs of passengers. Some of the day excursions are a little expensive for what's on offer.
Highlights for me: Bocas del Toro, Monteverde, Ometepe, paddle boarding and kayaking in lake Apoya, Roatan and Antigua, although it's all been great really.
Tips: lots of technical clothing not necessary although insect repellent is. Pack down to visit Roatan. Try all the local cuisine. Enjoy yourself you're on holiday!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Fiona

Barnsley
Fabulous trip but full on as described. What let it down was the optional extras which were very expensive. Some should have been included. Costa Rica is expensive. London prices. The whole trip was a lot more expensive than indicated. The accommodation was mixed. Adequate and clean. Overall brilliant.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Newcastle upon Tyne
This was an excellent introduction to Central America. We covered a lot of ground which led to some long travelling days when it would have been good to enjoy slightly more comfortable accommodation on arrival at our various destinations. The success of the trip was hugely influenced by our excellent guide, Manuel, who was a mine of interesting information as well as an all round lovely, thoughtful person who looked after us all superbly. The highlights for me were the stay in Sarapiqui where we saw a wide range of birds and wildlife and I also enjoyed our early morning walk in Cara Cancha Nature Reserve in Costa Rica where we had the place practically to ourselves and spotted a large number of birds.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2017
Published on: 08 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Liew

St. Albans
The tour experience was excellent. Much to see and enjoy. Some of the accommodation was not so good. The room in hotel in Leon was very crammed and dingy. The food in the lodge in Rincon was poor value. The hotel in Granada, Antigua and arsenal were very good. The tour leader, manuel, was excellent. Very helpful and efficient. Went out of his way to look after everyone. The drivers during the trip were also very professional, friendly and very efficient in their job.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017