It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
628 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Central American Highlights CAQ

Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Central American Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Central American Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Central American Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

40 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Central American HighlightsScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 40 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Birmingham
An amazing journey across different landscapes and interconnected cultures and history.
A taster to return to explore in depth in the future
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Carolyn

Brighouse
Thetrip gives a wonderful overview into Central America. There is never enough time and there are several places of interest that the tour did not manage to visit such as Tikal in Guatemala and I wish there was more time in Costa Rica. The tour does as expected and gives you a flavour.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Keith

Tonbridge
Tips: some of the meals lack variety so do choose carefully. Atm's are not always available because they are for locals not international use.

Highlights- Copan ruins and volcano run near Leon.
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stuart

Ryde, Isle of Wight
This tour was terrific!.....It did what it "said on the label"!...... It was most certainly "full on", but I really love that!..... So much was packed into it; history, culture, cuisine, adventure activities.... The choice of optional excursions was well though-out, too. I recommend most highly the super zip-wire activity in the Sarapiqui rainforest. It was exhilirating! I went on a number of others, too, all of which were great. Sometimes we were really spoiled for choice, and it was tricky making a decision about which excursion to do!
I have got to hand it to the folk who do the hotel selection; always better than expected. The hotels in Grenada, Suchitoto and Antigua were charming. The others were good, too. The one in San Juan del Sur was a bit "ropey", but, hey-ho, there wasn't really much of a choice in this otherwise really fun resort.
And then, of course, there is the guide!..... Explore have a knack of appointing excellent guides, and this tour was no exception.... Miguel Vasquez was fantastic! Cheerful, helpful, enthusiastic, energetic, highly organised......and, above all, informative. What a mine of interesting information! His commentaries were interesting, fascinating, amusing....perfect!
A truly memorable tour!..... Thank you, Explore!.....Thank you Miguel!....
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 30 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Gustavo

Punta del Este
The tour has a a hectic pace with some puzzling moves, such as why get up at 4 am to go to Guatemala City, get there at 7pm to stay in the worst hotel of the whole trip only to get up at 4 am again the next day to go somewhere else and see nothing of Guatemala City.

But on the whole the places visited are delightful, like Suchitoto (and its amazing hotel), Granada, Leon and Antigua.

You should review your choice of hotel in San Jose CR (dull, in the middle of nowhere, dangerous area), San Juan del Sur (bland) and Guatemala City (terrible and in a state of disrepair. Pity I cannot attach pictures to this suvey)

The organizational skills and local knowledge of the leader Miguel Vazquez were truly extraordinary, coupled with a warm and caring attitude to all travellers.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 28 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Deryck

The Tour is described as 'full-on' in the catalogue - and it is certainly that - but with five countries to visit in fourteen days it has to be. Highlights for me, Granada and Copan, with Leon (the museum of the Revolution and real live Sandinistas) coming a close second. Be prepared for long delays at border crossings !
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 28 January 2017
(5 out of 10)

Martin

Brentwood
To much time spent on bus and feel it would be better to visit mabe less countries and in a little more depth.
Think it was 11/2 days travelling just to go to Honduras and visit a Mayan site when surely a Mayan site could have been seen in another country that we visited.
I think that some hotels left a lot to be desired and that breakfast at least should have been included every day as surely this would not have been of to much extra cost for your company.
Confirmed traveller: 06 January 2017
Published on: 01 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback Martin, although I am sorry you felt the trip to Honduras was a waste of time. Copan is one of the top three Mayan sites in the Mundo Maya and, for many, considered one of the highlights in Central America and therefore the main reason for booking this trip. We are also sorry to hear you found the standard of accommodation was poor, we generally get good reviews about the accommodation on the CAQ, please rest assured we will investigate this and look into improvements for future groups. I must also add that we don’t always include breakfast as part of the tour package as we have found from previous feedback that many of our customers prefer to explore different options, rather than be limited to what’s on offer at the hotel.

(9 out of 10)

Jack

Tallahassee
Very good overall tour of 5 Central American countries and a chance to see Copan, Honduras and to visit-drive through El Salvador. Excellent tour leader, Miguel Vasquez, who managed all the mountains of details involved with a trip like this, mostly behind the scenes, that made it mostly effortless for the tour group. Miguel always helpful, answering questions, helping with problems and providing us with stats, historical info, current country´s info, etc always with a smile and great attitude 24-7 during the whole trip.

Biggest change recommendation is that the San Jose hotel be changed to one in the center of San Jose on or near the pedestrian Central Avenue. The Villa Tournon, where we stayed the last night, is dated and a long walk from city center and really not safe to walk back at night. I was accosted while walking back to the hotel by myself at only about 6:15 pm by a homeless guy, but I was OK, nothing robbed or no injury, just momentarily scarred. I stayed two extra days-nights in San Jose and moved to prebooked Balmoral Hotel, right on Central Avenue, so it was safe to walk at night from restaurants back to my hotel. Also, I think that this tour should be extended for one day longer length, so that everyone could have time to see San Jose museums such as the Gold Museum and Jade Museum.

The hotel that we stayed at in El Salvador was wonderful, my favorite as a nice high end stay, with wonderful decor and friendly staff. Also the Antigua hotel was excellent more high end hotel to start the trip with staying at. All hotels on the trip were good with only issue being the location of San Jose hotel in relationship to city center.

The Nicaragua portion was excellent and enjoyed our stays in Leon, Granada and San Juan del Sur. Great choice to be in Granada for New Year´s Eve dinner and Event.

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to get a good overview of 5 Central American countries.
Confirmed traveller: 06 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Bridget

Fantastic journey into 5 Central American countries. Stunning scenery- including active volcanoes. Stunning wildlife - including sloths, caimans and numerous stunning birds. Comfortable travel bus, although the 15 hour travel day in the middle of the holiday was a struggle. Boat trips were good, although I felt that three was excessive, and there was limited extra activities- hot springs was off ('not enough time'). The highlight activities were zip wire OR white water rafting - both unfortunately cancelled due to hurricane Otto.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Ashwani

Hemel Hempstead, UK
My expectation was to se and experience a lot more culture and history of Central America including Mayan artefacts and heritage. The trip didn't really live up to that.

For anyone planning this trip in the future, expect to increase your budget. Many of the optional excursions were not really priced according to the local economy. They were expensive. Meals and drinks can seriously add a significant amount to your budget and only 5 breakfasts are included.

Overall, in my opinion, the trip was not really value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016

Hi Ashwani, I’m really sorry to hear that this trip wasn’t value for money for you. The prices of the optional excursions on our website are fully up to date (I did this trip myself in October 2016!), but places like Costa Rica are expensive, which can take groups by surprise. The Mayans only extended as far as El Salvador, so the main places that you visit on your trip in Guatemala and Honduras are all about Mayan culture (Lake Atitlan, Chichicastenango Market and Copan in particular). However, once you move into Nicaragua and Costa Rica the focus of the trip is more on nature, wildlife, scenery and the recent revolutionary history in Nicaragua. I’m really sorry that this didn’t fit your expectations but hope that you travel with Explore on a future trip.