It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Central American Highlights CAQ

Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Central American Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Central American Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Central American Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

32 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Central American HighlightsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 32 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Bridget

Fantastic journey into 5 Central American countries. Stunning scenery- including active volcanoes. Stunning wildlife - including sloths, caimans and numerous stunning birds. Comfortable travel bus, although the 15 hour travel day in the middle of the holiday was a struggle. Boat trips were good, although I felt that three was excessive, and there was limited extra activities- hot springs was off ('not enough time'). The highlight activities were zip wire OR white water rafting - both unfortunately cancelled due to hurricane Otto.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Ashwani

Hemel Hempstead, UK
My expectation was to se and experience a lot more culture and history of Central America including Mayan artefacts and heritage. The trip didn't really live up to that.

For anyone planning this trip in the future, expect to increase your budget. Many of the optional excursions were not really priced according to the local economy. They were expensive. Meals and drinks can seriously add a significant amount to your budget and only 5 breakfasts are included.

Overall, in my opinion, the trip was not really value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Brenda

Comox, BC, Canada
Miguel was a really great tour guide he handled everything with great care and concern very organized tour guide. The historical talks were very good particularly in Nicaragua which shed a new light on the civil war there with the Sandinistas and the national guard in the late 70's. Highlights were the border crossings particularly one where we watched the young horse back riders taking goods back and forth across the border, also the Mayan people in their traditional dress and the churches where people were worshiping and praying. Listening to howler monkeys at night and spotting 2 sloths on the river boat ride. The active volcanoes were a highlight as well. The only draw back for me was that there was not enough beach time but under the circumstances of trying to get through 5 countries this was understandable.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Richard

High Wycombe
Hectic itinerary with one particularly long day of travel. Spectacular scenery including a visit to an active volcano combined with interesting mixture of Mayan and Spanish colonial history. Some excellent hotels but a couple of less successful ones in Leon and Guatemala city.
Confirmed traveller: 22 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Nancy

Birmingham
Because no meals were provided apart from 5/6 breakfasts, it was a nuisancce having to check the currency, whether you had enough local currency to pay - this was difficult enough having to deal with 5 different countries currencies, although we were informed by tour guide all the places took dollars and given a vague rough exchange rate to the dollar.( it was pointless overchanging currency if you ended with surplus which you could't use elsewhere). Other negatives was the expensive food and excursions.On the plus side, trip was good enough in that it took in 5 countries and gave an insight into them and the our mini van driver was excellent,competent,also Jose was a good tour leader. It also helped that we were a small group (6)and that some of the accomodation was centrally located. Highlight was the volcano walk despite the rather hairy walk (visually as though you were walkking down a vertical drop).
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 09 October 2016
(5 out of 10)

Kennedy

Farnborough
The itinerary was very basic, the trips were quite expensive for what they were. A lot of down time not as fast paced as expected
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2016
Published on: 13 September 2016

Hi Kennedy, many thanks for your feedback. I am the Product Manager for this trip, and I will be going out with a group in October to inspect the itinerary and look into any changes that should be made. It’s really useful to have comments like yours in mind as I do this – there is a lot of travelling within this itinerary, spending time in 5 countries over 2 weeks, so it’s a shame that the pace of the tour was still slow. Please be assured that I’ll look into it and make any improvements that I can for future tours.

(5 out of 10)

Lesley

Dorset
Too much coach time, for not a lot of reward.
There were some good parts of the holiday, but in general not a lot going on, and not much to see. Unfortunately our guide was not as helpful as other guides we've had in the past.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2016
Published on: 02 August 2016

Hi Lesley, thank you for your feedback on this trip. I am sorry that you found there was not a lot going on, which is a shame as the itinerary and the guides normally get fabulous reviews. We are looking to send one of our operational managers on this trip so we will keep your comments in mind while reviewing the trip overall. Please be assured we will see if we can maximise the experience. On this trip we visit towns and villages in five countries over two weeks, traversing lakes, mountains and volcanos, so it’ll be tough to fit extra in!

(9 out of 10)

Maggie

Kent
I was travelling on my own and I had a great time on this trip. Jose, the guide went out of his way to ensure that everyone on the trip had the experiences that they hoped for? He had amazing energy, he always had a smile and sense of humour; he made sure we had fun, at the same time being ultra professional. It was a fast paced trip and this meant that we saw many different places and hadmany different experiences.
Highlights for me were: hearing more about the the recent revolutionary history of several Central American countries, the wonderful water trips, seeing the amazing bird and wildlife, and fun nights out sampling the local beers.
Go got it! You will have a great time. My one tip is bring a pair of lightweight binoculars.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alan

NORTHAMPTON
A very good insight into the history, culture and wildlife of Central America. A lot of travelling, one day in particular was challenging. However overall it was worth it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

We went over the Xmas / New Year period, so a few things were shut and had to be altered, but it didn't affect the enjoyment at all.

The largest group (18) I have ever been with on an Explore holiday, but they were a great bunch and everyone got on well which added to the enjoyment.

Where do I start?

A full on holiday - early starts, lots of travelling, but worth it.

Nicaragua was probably (unexpectedly) the country highlight for me. Friendly people, lovely old colonial buildings, and volcanoes?! Walk up one and get driven up one.

Interesting wildlife - saw a sloth?! Good for bird lovers also.

Zip lining was fun after the night camping (in en-suite tent) in the rain forest.

So much good stuff?!

Only (very minor) criticism was that it took a long time to get meals with such a large group (service is slow in this part of the world, 1.5 hours or more not unusual to wait)and some group members insisted on having lunch each day (as well as breakfast and dinner), which meant a late arrival at the next stop, usually after dark. I'd have preferred 'picnic' or 'on the run/bus' lunches to give more sightseeing time.

All in all - a great trip! Brilliant!

Jose's learning the foibles and humour subtleties of the Brits quickly. Organised meals and other things when asked and generally came out with us and became one of the team and was good fun.

Imparted much knowledge.

Armed us with alcohol to see the new year in?!

Helped me greatly (and with good humour) with an immigration stamp issue which involved a lot of taxiing about to various border crossings and long discussions with officials.

Would be more than happy to have Jose as a tour leader again! Avoid Nicaraguan rum for breakfast - things can go horribly wrong?!

Check your passport stamps at every border crossing (there's lots - as you criss cross?!)

Persuade the group to skip lunches.

If in season try to get to see the turtles breeding at San Juan del Sur (book at Cosa Ora hostel for the best trip, if not yet offered by Explore)

Enjoy!
Confirmed traveller: 14 January 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016