It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
634 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Central American Highlights CAQ

Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Central American Highlights

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Central American Highlights trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Central American Highlights reviews verified by reevooReevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Central American HighlightsScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Jack

Tallahassee
Very good overall tour of 5 Central American countries and a chance to see Copan, Honduras and to visit-drive through El Salvador. Excellent tour leader, Miguel Vasquez, who managed all the mountains of details involved with a trip like this, mostly behind the scenes, that made it mostly effortless for the tour group. Miguel always helpful, answering questions, helping with problems and providing us with stats, historical info, current country´s info, etc always with a smile and great attitude 24-7 during the whole trip.

Biggest change recommendation is that the San Jose hotel be changed to one in the center of San Jose on or near the pedestrian Central Avenue. The Villa Tournon, where we stayed the last night, is dated and a long walk from city center and really not safe to walk back at night. I was accosted while walking back to the hotel by myself at only about 6:15 pm by a homeless guy, but I was OK, nothing robbed or no injury, just momentarily scarred. I stayed two extra days-nights in San Jose and moved to prebooked Balmoral Hotel, right on Central Avenue, so it was safe to walk at night from restaurants back to my hotel. Also, I think that this tour should be extended for one day longer length, so that everyone could have time to see San Jose museums such as the Gold Museum and Jade Museum.

The hotel that we stayed at in El Salvador was wonderful, my favorite as a nice high end stay, with wonderful decor and friendly staff. Also the Antigua hotel was excellent more high end hotel to start the trip with staying at. All hotels on the trip were good with only issue being the location of San Jose hotel in relationship to city center.

The Nicaragua portion was excellent and enjoyed our stays in Leon, Granada and San Juan del Sur. Great choice to be in Granada for New Year´s Eve dinner and Event.

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to get a good overview of 5 Central American countries.
Confirmed traveller: 06 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Bridget

Fantastic journey into 5 Central American countries. Stunning scenery- including active volcanoes. Stunning wildlife - including sloths, caimans and numerous stunning birds. Comfortable travel bus, although the 15 hour travel day in the middle of the holiday was a struggle. Boat trips were good, although I felt that three was excessive, and there was limited extra activities- hot springs was off ('not enough time'). The highlight activities were zip wire OR white water rafting - both unfortunately cancelled due to hurricane Otto.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Ashwani

Hemel Hempstead, UK
My expectation was to se and experience a lot more culture and history of Central America including Mayan artefacts and heritage. The trip didn't really live up to that.

For anyone planning this trip in the future, expect to increase your budget. Many of the optional excursions were not really priced according to the local economy. They were expensive. Meals and drinks can seriously add a significant amount to your budget and only 5 breakfasts are included.

Overall, in my opinion, the trip was not really value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Brenda

Comox, BC, Canada
Miguel was a really great tour guide he handled everything with great care and concern very organized tour guide. The historical talks were very good particularly in Nicaragua which shed a new light on the civil war there with the Sandinistas and the national guard in the late 70's. Highlights were the border crossings particularly one where we watched the young horse back riders taking goods back and forth across the border, also the Mayan people in their traditional dress and the churches where people were worshiping and praying. Listening to howler monkeys at night and spotting 2 sloths on the river boat ride. The active volcanoes were a highlight as well. The only draw back for me was that there was not enough beach time but under the circumstances of trying to get through 5 countries this was understandable.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Richard

High Wycombe
Hectic itinerary with one particularly long day of travel. Spectacular scenery including a visit to an active volcano combined with interesting mixture of Mayan and Spanish colonial history. Some excellent hotels but a couple of less successful ones in Leon and Guatemala city.
Confirmed traveller: 22 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(6 out of 10)

Nancy

Birmingham
Because no meals were provided apart from 5/6 breakfasts, it was a nuisancce having to check the currency, whether you had enough local currency to pay - this was difficult enough having to deal with 5 different countries currencies, although we were informed by tour guide all the places took dollars and given a vague rough exchange rate to the dollar.( it was pointless overchanging currency if you ended with surplus which you could't use elsewhere). Other negatives was the expensive food and excursions.On the plus side, trip was good enough in that it took in 5 countries and gave an insight into them and the our mini van driver was excellent,competent,also Jose was a good tour leader. It also helped that we were a small group (6)and that some of the accomodation was centrally located. Highlight was the volcano walk despite the rather hairy walk (visually as though you were walkking down a vertical drop).
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 09 October 2016
(5 out of 10)

Kennedy

Farnborough
The itinerary was very basic, the trips were quite expensive for what they were. A lot of down time not as fast paced as expected
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2016
Published on: 13 September 2016

Hi Kennedy, many thanks for your feedback. I am the Product Manager for this trip, and I will be going out with a group in October to inspect the itinerary and look into any changes that should be made. It’s really useful to have comments like yours in mind as I do this – there is a lot of travelling within this itinerary, spending time in 5 countries over 2 weeks, so it’s a shame that the pace of the tour was still slow. Please be assured that I’ll look into it and make any improvements that I can for future tours.

(5 out of 10)

Lesley

Dorset
Too much coach time, for not a lot of reward.
There were some good parts of the holiday, but in general not a lot going on, and not much to see. Unfortunately our guide was not as helpful as other guides we've had in the past.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2016
Published on: 02 August 2016

Hi Lesley, thank you for your feedback on this trip. I am sorry that you found there was not a lot going on, which is a shame as the itinerary and the guides normally get fabulous reviews. We are looking to send one of our operational managers on this trip so we will keep your comments in mind while reviewing the trip overall. Please be assured we will see if we can maximise the experience. On this trip we visit towns and villages in five countries over two weeks, traversing lakes, mountains and volcanos, so it’ll be tough to fit extra in!

(9 out of 10)

Maggie

Kent
I was travelling on my own and I had a great time on this trip. Jose, the guide went out of his way to ensure that everyone on the trip had the experiences that they hoped for? He had amazing energy, he always had a smile and sense of humour; he made sure we had fun, at the same time being ultra professional. It was a fast paced trip and this meant that we saw many different places and hadmany different experiences.
Highlights for me were: hearing more about the the recent revolutionary history of several Central American countries, the wonderful water trips, seeing the amazing bird and wildlife, and fun nights out sampling the local beers.
Go got it! You will have a great time. My one tip is bring a pair of lightweight binoculars.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alan

NORTHAMPTON
A very good insight into the history, culture and wildlife of Central America. A lot of travelling, one day in particular was challenging. However overall it was worth it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016