It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Golden Road To Samarkand UZ

Visiting: Uzbekistan
Tour Duration 12 Days
 
Reviews for Golden Road To Samarkand

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Golden Road To Samarkand tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Golden Road To Samarkand reviews verified by Reevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Golden Road To SamarkandScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Staying in the Yurt, see all the tortoises wandering around the camp and desert. Lots of mosques, minarets and mausoleums.Tim is a great tour leader, knows his stuff and is efficient.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(4 out of 10)

Andrew

Milton Keynes
The sights of Uzbekistan were wonderful, everything that was promised was on the itinerary. Transport was very good. The guide was excellent. dealing with the illnesses in a professional and sympathetic manner. However 16 out of 18 of our group contracted food poisoning. We spoke to people on another trip and found that 11 out of 13 of that group had also been ill. The group I was with were all experienced travellers, and took all of the precautions normally required, but we fell ill anyway. This was almost certainly caused by poor food hygiene in the kitchens. This was widespread, as we all fell ill at different times. Had I known that there was an 85% chance of falling ill on this trip, I would never have taken this trip. It should be noted that it is 8 days since I returned from Uzbekistan . I am still ill , and off work. I do not believe that it is reasonable that your customers should be put at such a high level of risk of illness
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015

We’re sorry to hear that the majority of your group fell ill during your trip. Although there have been a few previous reports of illnesses during this trip, none of them have been indicative of poor food hygiene. We do monitor this very carefully and appropriate steps have been taken to ensure there will not be a repeat occurrence.

(8 out of 10)

Gaby

Norden, Lancashire
Khiva is undoubtedly the star of the trip, a magical place when seen in the moonlight and early in the morning just before sunrise. The Orient Star hotel is so atmospheric and special; it would be worth spending one more night there to make the most of the stay and to see Khiva at a more leisurely pace. The optional excursion to the desert castles is another must.
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2015
Published on: 28 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Gillian

Nottingham
The highlights of the trip were the people and the beautiful medieval mosques. People will stop and talk to you to practice their English and are very friendly with it.

The yurt experience would only be good at a warm, not hot, time of year. If you're going in October, take thermals - seriously!

Take a torch or head torch. Make notes is you want to remember where you were and what you are seeing. The history is complex but very interesting. Khiva was very quaint , a step back in time, and you may appreciate it more by reading 'seven years on the silk road '.

Victoria was a brilliant tour leader. Nothing was too much trouble and there were no questions about the history that she couldn't tell us, with out having to look anything up.
Confirmed traveller: 14 October 2014
Published on: 09 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

John

Lechlade
We have been on many adventure holidays, and the guide in Uzbekistan was up there in the top 3. Victoria made the difference between an OK holiday and one which was exceptional.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Patricia

Glasgow
Highlight was definitely Samarkand! I have wanted to visit Samarkand for over 42 years and it was definitely worth the wait!!
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Stephanie

Blackpool
The whole trip was fantastic and we came back richer for the experiences and knowledge that we gained. Any pre-conceived ideas about the country (in view of the IS problems elsewhere) were completely allayed. Learning about the history was superb and what our tour leader didn't know about her country, and indeed others, wasn't worth knowing!

Altogether a fantastic experience - I want to go again.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 03 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Chris

Goring on Thames
The tour guide, Victoria, was excellent. One of the highlights was the night at the yurt camp but the whole trip was packed with interest.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Annie

London
Our tour was fantastically well led by Victoria; well informed, always on the ball, worked tirelessly and added extra experiences into the itinerary to give us real insight into her country. In particular, the addition of optional trips to desert castles outside Khiva and to Shakhrisabz, the home of Tamerlane, were brilliant.

Accommodation was generally fine; simple, clean, well-located. The Bukhara hotel was charming and in a convenient location, but single rooms were not a great standard.

Tips for other travellers - be prepared for airport chaos on arrival in Tashkent (lots of patience and humour needed, it's an experience!). Also, make sure you complete 2 copies of the customs declaration on arrival. Food and drink in Uzbekistan is very cheap in comparison with the UK, but there are SO many tempting things to buy, so come with enough cash (in US dollars) and ask your guide for help changing money. Uzbek people are charming, friendly and delighted that you're visiting their country. Be prepared to have your photo taken a lot

Overall, I had an amazing time, and made new friends - what more can you ask?
Confirmed traveller: 05 May 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015