It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Golden Road To Samarkand UZ

Visiting: Uzbekistan
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Golden Road To Samarkand

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Golden Road To Samarkand trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Golden Road To Samarkand reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Golden Road To SamarkandScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Francesca

Gloucestershire
Yurt camping was definitely the highlight! So peaceful and quiet and lying on the grassy sands watching the stars was magical. Hotels were excellent, especially in Khiva staying right in the heart of the old city walls. Our tour guide Ruslan was superb, with a wealth of knowledge. Architecture was breathtaking, a true photographers dream.
A superb trip, fantastic country, fascinating culture and I was lucky enough to be with a wonderful group.
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2017
Published on: 27 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Caroline

Wivenhoe, Colchester
This was a full on tour with each town with its sights more spectacular and jaw dropping than the last. Our guide was a ceaseless source of expertise and information about the sights, life, history and traditions of Uzbekistan plus she always ensured she attended to every aspect of our needs. Even though the guides on all the tours I have done with Explore have been excellent, Victoria was by far the best guide I have come across. None of us understood how she kept up her focus and energy. I think perhaps the only downside for some of the group was the somewhat basic night in the yurt and accompanying food although we all survived it with good grace and enjoyed the accompanying camel ride on the most beautiful and contented camels I have ever seen.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2017
Published on: 14 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Josephine

Penzance
A very enjoyable and interesting trip . Victoria our trip leader was excellent and very knowledgable and went over and above her role to make this trip special .The highlight of the trip was the beautiful Madrassas, Minarets and Mausoleums. Uzbekistan is an interesting mix of Islamic and Russian history and architecture. The hotels overall were fine especially the one in Khiva which was lovely . The hotel in Bukhara was basic and too far out of town . We opted out of the Yurt camp experience and were glad we did after hearing about it
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2017
Published on: 13 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Caroline

Budleigh Salterton
A very interesting country with wonderfully friendly people. The architecture was as amazing as I had expected and more. Did the two optional excursions which were excellent, one out to three of Ghengis Khan's forts from Khiva and the other to Timur's burial place from Samarkand. All travel arrangements were well planned with friendly drivers and the Tour Leader, Ruslam, was efficient, knowledgable and always willing to do the extra bit. I have reservations about combining folk from a previous tour as we had strong initial resistance from a couple of the people from the Kurdistan trip we stated that they had no need to get to know those joining from London as they had their own group!
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(6 out of 10)

Clive

Canberra
Downsides were: the mindless security - Tashkent airport bureaucracy in particular, continual instructions to take no photos for no rational reason, continual checking of documents, lack of vegetarian options other than salads - which made people sick, tip for the driver was too generous at US$210 (for a poor driver) (lack of work in the off-season is not a good reason for generous tipping), local maps provided were inadequate (better maps were available), there were inadequate toilet breaks and when there were, they were often in inappropriate places like in the bush at the side of the coach. Lack of armed security at the remote desert yurt encampment was a worry. Pluses were the wonderful cultural sites at Bukhara, Khiva and Samarkand. A major omission was the amazing Tashkent metro which was worth half a day; we had an hour and a half. Would have liked to have seen more art from the 20th century. Local guides were a mixed bag. Inas in Khiva was very good. Our tour guide tried hard against difficult odds - for example the audio on the bus did not work, but Shukhrat our guide tried hard to please everyone on the tour. Art galleries should be included. Disappointing by comparison with Iran. Photo restrictions were much worse than Russia, Cuba and North Korea.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Sean

Cork
July 2016, probably the hottest time of the year(38-42) degrees, but we as a small group found it bearable and had time to find nice shady spots.Plenty of factor 50 and drink plenty of water, do not eat too much especially lunch time, as it's best to leave till evening , No one got sick and standards were high, with variety.
Highlight Khiva a relaxed open air museum, nice walks around, lucky with came across a music festival.
Bukhara , a little busier, again Hotel a little further out on a slight dirt track, dry in Summer.
On our way to Samarkand we stopped off at the desert yurt campsite, lovely for the night with some Koreans and French sitting around campsite fire.
Finally Samarkand a large busy city Lovely Mausoleum in Registan Square, lovely pics can walk up to Bazaar from this area for final gifts
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2016
Published on: 02 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

David

Northampton
Fantastic leader - knowledgeable, very conscientious and organised.
Excellent itinerary with the right number of suggested optional extras and free time.
Most of the hotels were well located and had character - the exception being in Bukhara which was too far out and not good to reach on foot at night through the mud and in the rain.
A great trip, good value for money with an exceptional tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(4 out of 10)

Andrew

Milton Keynes
The sights of Uzbekistan were wonderful, everything that was promised was on the itinerary. Transport was very good. The guide was excellent. dealing with the illnesses in a professional and sympathetic manner. However 16 out of 18 of our group contracted food poisoning. We spoke to people on another trip and found that 11 out of 13 of that group had also been ill. The group I was with were all experienced travellers, and took all of the precautions normally required, but we fell ill anyway. This was almost certainly caused by poor food hygiene in the kitchens. This was widespread, as we all fell ill at different times. Had I known that there was an 85% chance of falling ill on this trip, I would never have taken this trip. It should be noted that it is 8 days since I returned from Uzbekistan . I am still ill , and off work. I do not believe that it is reasonable that your customers should be put at such a high level of risk of illness
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015

We’re sorry to hear that the majority of your group fell ill during your trip. Although there have been a few previous reports of illnesses during this trip, none of them have been indicative of poor food hygiene. We do monitor this very carefully and appropriate steps have been taken to ensure there will not be a repeat occurrence.

(8 out of 10)

Gaby

Norden, Lancashire
Khiva is undoubtedly the star of the trip, a magical place when seen in the moonlight and early in the morning just before sunrise. The Orient Star hotel is so atmospheric and special; it would be worth spending one more night there to make the most of the stay and to see Khiva at a more leisurely pace. The optional excursion to the desert castles is another must.
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2015
Published on: 28 October 2015