It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Tuscany: Chianti Classico LTY

Visiting: Italy
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Duomo of Florence
  • Picturesque Tuscan countryside
  • Leaning Tower of Pisa
  • San Gimignano
  • Siena
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Centre Based
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Easy to Moderate
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Tuscany: Chianti Classico tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 27/11/13

Name

Helen Hoyle

Tour Name

Tuscany: Chianti Classico

Tour Code

LTY

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Just walking in the beautiful Tuscany countryside on the walk to san Gimingnano. It was so incredibly peaceful with exquisite vistas at every turn. I also had a moment of overwhelming joy that brought tears to my eyes when standing in front of the masterpiece by Michelangelo, called Doni Tondo, in the Uffizi Gallery in Florence. It was so beautiful that I could hardly bear it.

Tour Leader Name

Ben

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ben was quite reserved in group situation but very friendly and knowledgeable when speaking on a one to one basis. I really liked him and his non-intrusive approach. He was available when he was needed.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't share a room. I really wanted privacy especially when I was ill from a nasty virus that I picked up.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I felt that the accommodation did not live up to expectations. It was cold, grubby and felt uninhabited. I didn't rate the food and we had to go looking for more toilet rolls when they ran out, the towels were never changed and there was only one blanket left in a cupboard for a room shared by two. I suppose I expected more comfort given the cost of the holiday. For example, when coming in after a day walking I would expect tea and nibbles. The packed lunches were also a real disappointment.

Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. It’s good to know you enjoyed the Italian countryside and culture, but we’re sorry you didn’t like the accommodation. It’s a villa rather than a hotel, so it isn’t serviced in the same way. But we’re aware that many of our customers would like a little more comfort at the end of a day’s walking, so from next year we will be using a hotel. There’s a picture of it in the 2014/15 Walking & Trekking brochure, and we hope to have some more photos of it once the season starts.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Maria

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The breathtaking views, and the walking/scrambling the Tuscan hills and valleys were my favourite bits. We ended up walking though villages and small towns on the walks, known to us as our coffee @ cake stops, and Adrienne knew a lot about everywhere we walked, so it was rewarding to here about the history of these places.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Adrienne was so lovely, with lots of energy and enthusiastism. She was very knowledgable about the history, the culture, geography, art. cuisine and wine of Tuscany, all of which she loved to share with us. She took us to a wine and olive oil vineyard and refinery, for a tasting session - all of which went down very well! What we Brits call 'a mere slip of a thing', Adrienne could run up and down the Tuscan hills, backpack bouncing away on her slim shoulders, seemingly without any effort! Plus she had a brilliant and funny sense of humour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

There is on this tour what I consider a perfect mix of walking and sightseeing. Two full days were spent in Siena and Florence, and a half day in San Gimignano. There was a bit of scrambling in a gorge - some rain had fallen the previous week and some earth and vegetation has slipped making a small area a bit tricky, and so I was very glad of my walking pole. On the whole, I think the 'moderate' description is accurate, and the walking is so very enjoyable.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I loved this tour and would happily do it again. This size of our party (16) was another aspect I appreciated - lots of lovely new people to meet!

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Marlene Reiss

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Realizing what a great group of fellow travelers were with me exploring a beautiful part of Italy.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ben had just the right amount of hands on. He directed us to excellent restaurants, encouraged us to try different foods and wine and was helpful with everything.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Comfortable and sturdy walking shoes

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"It was one of the best holidays ever. Exercise, fresh air, great food and a wonderful base to explore from. Villa Godenano was well located, comfortable, and Laura the owner was a gem."

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Juliet Wigmore

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The walk to San Giminiano was the perfect combination of walking and sightseeing. It was a gentle walk with views of the hill town from various angles, through a varied landscape of vineyards and woodland.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our leader, Adrienne Kovats, was lovely - enthusiastic and fit! She was very helpful and friendly, as well as instructing us on the wonders of the local walks and wines.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

There are opportunities to pick up a suitable walking pole in the woods, so you might not need to bring one.

 
10 Helen Lamb, 06/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It's difficult to identify just one highlight from the trip, as with Explore holidays, we managed to do so much over the course of a week.  I really appreciated the balance between having time to explore Florence and Siena; soaking up the culture in the art museums and sitting back to enjoy a hot, milky cappuccino in a quiet cafe.   On other days, ruc-sacs and walking boots ready, we set off to walk through the beautiful Tuscan countryside, winding our way through olive and vineyards whilst soaking up the sun.  And, perfectly timed, just when our thoughts began to turn to lunch, we inevitably rounded a corner to find a delicious picnic lunch all laid out for us, courtesy of our Explore guides. Our holiday truly was a taster of the 'la dolce vita'.

Read more
 
6 Karen Lane, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Loved Sienna .
The food and the gelato was fantastic!
The scenery was beautiful ."

Read more
Our Response

However, we want our tour leaders to meet the expectations of every customer, and your comment has been logged for discussion at our annual tour leader assessments.

 
10 Sue Roberts, 15/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The view from the tower in San Gimigno, the best ice cream in Tuscany... The way the itinerary was put together made the whole trip build and immensely enjoyable.

Read more
 
0 Sylvia Currie, 19/12/11
This trip excelled my expectations.  Tuscany is stunning and well worth travelling to.  The villa where we stayed was amazing. Exclusive to EXPLORE so was really imformal  as it was only us staying there.  lena is the house keeper, she was truly lovely and made the most scrummy breakfasts served on the terrace..what can be better than eating breakfast in the sun taking in the tuscan countryside..FAB!!!!! The villa also has a pool a luxury Im not quite used to with Explore :-)  The walks were well planned out and there was a nice mix of gentle walking then stopping for a piece of cake or the compusory ice cream tasting!!!!  The day trips to Floence and Siena were well worth it too. In all a really well thought out weekand   thats up there with my favourite destinations...Ive fallen in love with Italy and Im sure you will too. Oh and one last thing...The local restaurants are brilliant so expect to come back with a few pounds more around your middle...walking or not :-) (LTY - 1st May 2011)
 
0 Denise McAvinia (Explore Staff), 07/06/11
This week in Tuscany really was a touch of magic.  A perfect combination of activity, culture and relaxation, walking through picture perfect Tuscan scenery with rolling hillsides and miles of vineyards and olive groves.  The tour also takes you into some of Tuscany’s wonderful historical towns such as San Gimignano (best ice cream in the world sold here!), Siena and Florence.  Of course there is a chance to sample some of Chianti’s famous wine alongside your traditional Tuscan dinner! You really do get the best of both worlds on this trip, culture one day, walking the next, and if on another day that doesn’t appeal, well there’s always the Villa’s pool! (LTY - 28th May 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA