It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classic Cuba DCL

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Classic Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classic Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classic Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

38 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Classic CubaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 38 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Bedford
I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and , although it was quite full on and included some long road journeys, I rarely got fed-up with the travelling. It provided a good variety of cultural, urban and rural environments and we felt that we understood the country and the people a little better. This was fascinating. No stand-out moments but many very enjoyable ones. I had read a history book on Cuba before I went which I never normally do. This was useful since I knew very little beforehand. The information provided on the trip (lots of it) slotted in nicely.
Criticisms - The airline! Why were we not put on a better airline when some of the group came via KLM and we were on a budget airline from Spain! I had looked Air Europa up and therefore came prepared with food, drink and entertainment. It was still awful on the flight out - Madrid flight offered nothing worth buying and no entertainment; on the Havana flight we were ignored for two hours (9pm - 11pm except it was late) and there were only 3 monitors in our section of the plane which we could not see. They showed 2 films, one for children and one comedy which I would not have wanted to see anyway. The route back was marginally better since the long flight had individual monitors.
Changed accommodation - the Trinidad alteration we knew about and we really enjoyed being in a Cuban home, despite the fact that we had no window to the outside world and the aircon didn't work properly. However, we were not alerted about the change at Bayamo and the Sierra Maestra was like some great holding pen! Very busy, rather basic and the dining room could only just cope in the evening. If our guide hadn't tried very hard, we would not have got any breakfast for our early start in the morning. I still think that the digestive problems that I had in the second week started here. I assume that we have not been compensated for this change.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 16 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Ripon
Provides a comprehensive insight into Cuba past and present - history and culture, town and country. We had a first class guide who was very organised, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. She really made the trip for us. The itinerary was very busy - but that is made clear in the tour notes. A lot of time is spent travelling by coach but this enabled us to get a very good overview of the countryside and towns. We did feel a little rushed at times, wanting more time to wander at will, but appreciated that this would have meant limitations on what we saw.
We would recommend only one change - more time in Las Terrazas towards the end of the holiday. An overnight stay would be welcome there so that there would be more time for walking in the beautiful countryside/exploring on foot. A night here could replace one of the nights in the all-inclusive resort or one of the final two nights in Havana.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I have just returned from Cuba with two friends and we had a fabulous time travelling Cuba.

It's quite a busy tour, with a couple of long days on the bus but lots to see as you travel through the country.

I particuary liked Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus and of course Havana!

Cayo is beautiful and provides time for a well earned rest.

I would highly recommend this tour for those looking to see a lot of the island in a short space of time. Something for everyone here!

Confirmed traveller: 03 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

John

Chaldon Herring
Overall we enjoyed the tour very much. Some of the hotels were way below standard and there was a couple of very long days on the coach. For some reason the whole group was bumped from three hotels including the National in Havana at the beginning of the trip.

A good way to get an introduction to this interesting country.
Confirmed traveller: 21 March 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Frances

Macclesfield
What an exciting time to visit Cuba before it changes.
The trip gave a very good insight into Cuba's recent past and the economic problems it's currently having - and to me this was one of the highlights of the holiday and something I'll probably remember long after the memories of buildings and monuments have faded.

Other highlights were the classic cars (I'm female and not into cars - but I couldn't help be amused at the sight of baby pink large 1950s US cars roaming the streets), the walk to Castro's mountain hideaway Comandancia de La Plata, the colonial city of Trinidad, and the 3 night stay at the all inclusive beach hotel (trying different cocktails for free was great fun!).

There's a lot of travel on the trip but most hotel stops are for more than one night which helps a lot. Only one early morning departure - for the Commandancia de La Plata walk. Hotel breakfasts were very good.


Tips: Cuba is a very poor country with a lot of state control - so don't expect things to run as smoothly as back home - hotels get changed without much notice and you'll find there's very little to buy in the shops - we for instance never saw a food shop only ration shops (yes the Cuban's are rationed). If you're used to buying fruit or snacks 'on the go' you might have problems. So just go with the flow - it's all part of the Cuban experience.

In Santiago - go on the optional trip to the fort.

You wont experience any 'see before you die sights' on this trip - but you will get the experience of a country in a time warp - where the internet isn't universally available, where oxen still plough the fields and where horses provide a lot of the public transport. Where there are no advertisement boards (only political statements), and no McDonalds and no Starbucks Where the American dollar isn't king. How many other countries still have no McDonalds or Starbucks - but for how much longer? Just go and enjoy.

We went in March and the weather was hot and sunny - the rain waited until Obama arrived a day after we had left!
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Kevin

Havant
Excellent overview of cuba. Leader was ok but could have had bit more advanced knowledge - he was surprised to get to bay of pigs museum to find it was under refurbishment - and obviously had been for some time. Also getting to trek site for walk up to castros hideout to find it had been closed 2 days earlier due to bad weather. Which was fair enough but we'd travelled over an hour by coach and had a packed lunch breakfast when we could have had proper breakfast and delayed start. If you do this trip you really get a feel for the country but be prepared for long days on the coach on some poor roads. Accommadation varied hotels excellent the casas are bit hit and miss we had one superb one, one grotty one. I suspect no one has checked them out prior to us staying in them. Flight with air europa left bit to be desired - obviously a cheap airline - new plane but no entertainment package - unless you count watching a film on a tiny screen from 10 rows back entertainment! BUT despite all this cuba is an amazing place the birdlife is amazing the towns great - especially trinidad and santiago. I would recommend this trip just be aware Cuba is not ready for the flood of tourists already hitting this amazing country.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ian

Sheffield
A most enjoyable trip made even better by an excellent group. There were many highlights but one or two disappointments. The group leader was very young and somewhat disorganised. The accomodation was good overall but we were inconvenienced by some changes. The major downside to the trip was two very long coach journeys lasting many hours on poor roads. The journey to Cuba from the UK is very long, made worse by multi stops and cheaper airlines. Direct flights would be preferable.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

George

Worcester
As this is a well establish tour I don't understand why it was allowed the Americans to snaffle the Hotel Nacional. Surely this would have been booked and in a contract.

Pressure should be put on the exchange bureau at the Havana airport to put on more staff when several passengers arrive from Europe. It might be early evening for Cubians but for the arrivals it the end of a 30+ hour day. The line for the exchange moved at a handicapped snail's velocity. The alternative hotel, Caribe, could not change currency.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gillian

Burnley
Walking in the Sierra Maestra to La Comandancia, where Fidel etc. conducted the guerrilla war from. The mountains, forest and peace were wonderful, as well as the history.
Sancti Spiritus was a great little town, didn't appear to have any other tourists while we were there either.
Be prepared for a busy trip - travel light.
Confirmed traveller: 10 January 2016
Published on: 11 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lindsey

Bergen, Norway
The itinerary was good. It was busy as described, but we got some R & R at the beach near the end, which was very welcome even for those lesser beach bums on the tour. However what makes a good tour great is the tour leader. Osaris was excellent. We were a very diverse group and she managed to pitch each suggestion and all info just right for everyone. We ate together every night which I had not expected, but given how busy the tour was it would have been difficult to find suitable eating places individually. Many of the restaurants were wonderful particularly those she guided us to in Trinidad. Maybe we were lucky, but the weather was always hot, day and night and if it rained it hardly matters at 25 C, its refreshing. I could of used the space in my case for lighter clothes. Also it was more expensive than anticipated (we used almost 450 euros per person excluding gifts and extra excursions) and credit cards were only excepted at the Iberostar at the beach (probably in Trinidad too, but we didn't try)
The Ambos Mundos in Havanna is a fab location, but your experience of the hotel is entirely dependent on which room you get. We were lucky at the beginning, but the swampy inside rooms really are the pits and absolutely everything in your case is damp when you leave (not so bad we were on our way home). In contrast the Iberostar in Trinidad is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, anywhere. A lovely small, beautiful, well serviced hotel with great breakfast. You have to ask for expresso specially at any hotel to get reliable coffee, which we didn't cotton on to until Santiago de Cuba !
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 06 January 2016