It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classic Cuba DCL

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Classic Cuba

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classic Cuba tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classic Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Classic CubaScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Lindsey

Bergen, Norway
The itinerary was good. It was busy as described, but we got some R & R at the beach near the end, which was very welcome even for those lesser beach bums on the tour. However what makes a good tour great is the tour leader. Osaris was excellent. We were a very diverse group and she managed to pitch each suggestion and all info just right for everyone. We ate together every night which I had not expected, but given how busy the tour was it would have been difficult to find suitable eating places individually. Many of the restaurants were wonderful particularly those she guided us to in Trinidad. Maybe we were lucky, but the weather was always hot, day and night and if it rained it hardly matters at 25 C, its refreshing. I could of used the space in my case for lighter clothes. Also it was more expensive than anticipated (we used almost 450 euros per person excluding gifts and extra excursions) and credit cards were only excepted at the Iberostar at the beach (probably in Trinidad too, but we didn't try)
The Ambos Mundos in Havanna is a fab location, but your experience of the hotel is entirely dependent on which room you get. We were lucky at the beginning, but the swampy inside rooms really are the pits and absolutely everything in your case is damp when you leave (not so bad we were on our way home). In contrast the Iberostar in Trinidad is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, anywhere. A lovely small, beautiful, well serviced hotel with great breakfast. You have to ask for expresso specially at any hotel to get reliable coffee, which we didn't cotton on to until Santiago de Cuba !
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 06 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Weston super mare
Trek to Sierra maestra - although it would have been useful for some participants to know length of trek and difficulty. (4 hours).
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Sian

London
The highlights were Trinidad, Ensenachos beach, Tropicana show and riding in classic 50's cars.

Tips are: the hideaway mountain trek is 4hrs and hard. No even path, trekking on rocks and very slippery mud. Hiking boots and sticks needed. Not advisable if not fit.
Always wear mosquito repellent as they bite during day as well as night especially at beach.
Take plenty of sterling as cards are not always accepted to draw cash from at hotel cashier desks and cash points are very rare.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Eileen

Northallerton
Havana and its restoration. Contrast between that and non restored.Taxi ride in convertible American car. Trip into the Sierra Maestra.
Having knowledgeable and charming guide.
Safe and pleasant drivers.
Statues and history of Independence and the Revolution.
Landscapes and seascapes.Birdlife

Be prepared for long coach journeys. Take plenty currency to exchange at hotels.Euros ,dollars,sterling.
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 22 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Nicholas

Swindon
Trinidad is lovely a real Cuban town with salsa at its core. The 3 days at a 5 star all inclusive were superb a great hotel with great beaches
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2015
Published on: 18 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Scarborough
The accommodation was variable, some excellent, some not so good. The trips were interesting, the walk to Castros hut was gruelling and not for people who aren't fit, particularly in the heat. The diet is largely meat based and there isn't much variety for vegetarians. Trinidad was fantastic, go up the steps and watch the dancers, or join in, we had a salsa lesson, it was great fun. The three days on the beach was a welcome break after a hectic first week though there are plenty of activities there if you don't want to be indolent. The guide was excellent, very informative and made some excellent suggestions as to where to eat. He persuaded a restaurant at the castle on the outskirts of Santiago,where we went to watch a cannon being fired at sunset, to open specially for us. He was in interesting man who knew his stuff. His name is Marlon and if you get him as your guide, you're in for a good time
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Wyndham

Cheltenham
Visit to Castro's hide out when he was planning the revolution and the other revolution squares etc. Old buildings and way of life. Cuba is so poor and far behind the rest of the world it reminded of when I lived in Ethiopia 60 years ago!! I have not seen oxen used to plough and horse drawn transport for many years and I am widely travelled. I worked and lived in China and I think Cuba is even poorer that them!!
Make sure individuals take enough cash and give them a guideline of the amount needed. About £450 per person
Pay more attention to details like booking seats
Last two days could have easily been covered in one day.
Try and break up two very long days on the coach
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Gillian

Paignton
Trinidad Salsa dancing (and I am not usually a dancer). The days at the beach were a lovely break from travelling.
The guide was exceptional, very interesting and informative about the country and its history.
Just enjoy the Cuban experience.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Thornbury
The music I heard and the dancing I saw! I appreciated the historical information too. Overall there was a nice mix of activities.
The downside was the busyness of this trip although your information did say it was a busy but driving in the transport for hours on end for a couple of days was more than expected.
It was my first time with Explore so was unsure how I would find it......more on board than I am used to but the other 15 were friendly.
Thanks!
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 08 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

David

Woking
The only minus point was the walk to Castros hide away.
Actually takes 4 hours not 3, is 6km not 3km (3 there 3 back) and is very rough especially when slippy.
Some gave up half way.

Other wise excellent excursions.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015