It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classic Cuba DCL

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Classic Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classic Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classic Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

39 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Classic CubaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 39 reviews
(9 out of 10)

David

Richmond (N. Yorks)
Very thorough tour, the highlights being Trinidad and the Iberostar Hotel, and the Hotel del Rijo in Sancti Spiritus
Our Tour Leader Ernesto Calderon was so obviously proud of his country, and very knowledgeable about it's history and also the birds, animals and flora. He has a wicked sense of humour and made the tour so very enjoyable.
Tips: avoid the Italian restaurant at the Iberostar Ensenachos; poor service and even poorer food. Otherwise the food on the tour was acceptable, but do not expect exceptional food.
Take pounds sterling or Euros; do not rely on ATMs. Cash is easy to change at the hotels. Credit cards can be used at most of the hotels, but otherwise not generally.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 13 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Patricia

Newcastle
Great tour leader. Lots to see and do and a great insight into the culture of the various parts of cuba. Xx
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 30 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Bedford
I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and , although it was quite full on and included some long road journeys, I rarely got fed-up with the travelling. It provided a good variety of cultural, urban and rural environments and we felt that we understood the country and the people a little better. This was fascinating. No stand-out moments but many very enjoyable ones. I had read a history book on Cuba before I went which I never normally do. This was useful since I knew very little beforehand. The information provided on the trip (lots of it) slotted in nicely.
Criticisms - The airline! Why were we not put on a better airline when some of the group came via KLM and we were on a budget airline from Spain! I had looked Air Europa up and therefore came prepared with food, drink and entertainment. It was still awful on the flight out - Madrid flight offered nothing worth buying and no entertainment; on the Havana flight we were ignored for two hours (9pm - 11pm except it was late) and there were only 3 monitors in our section of the plane which we could not see. They showed 2 films, one for children and one comedy which I would not have wanted to see anyway. The route back was marginally better since the long flight had individual monitors.
Changed accommodation - the Trinidad alteration we knew about and we really enjoyed being in a Cuban home, despite the fact that we had no window to the outside world and the aircon didn't work properly. However, we were not alerted about the change at Bayamo and the Sierra Maestra was like some great holding pen! Very busy, rather basic and the dining room could only just cope in the evening. If our guide hadn't tried very hard, we would not have got any breakfast for our early start in the morning. I still think that the digestive problems that I had in the second week started here. I assume that we have not been compensated for this change.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 16 May 2016

Hi Elizabeth, it’s great to hear that you got so much out of your stay. I would definitely recommend to any traveller to read something about Cuba’s history before they go, as you did, because it can really enhance your stay. Regarding your Air Europa flight, it’s quite normal for London-Madrid sectors of major airlines not to have entertainment, but I’m sorry that the service on your long-haul sector was poor. At the time of booking we offer flights that fit in with the budget for the trip, so the most likely reason that you weren’t booked on KLM is because the fares were higher, whereas there may have been a sale or other promotion when your fellow travellers booked. Alternatively they may have paid a supplement to travel on KLM. As for the change in accommodation, this has been a common theme in Cuba recently. We’re finding that hotels are bumping clients at short notice, sometimes even on tour itself, despite us having booked the right number of rooms there. I believe you were compensated for the on tour change at Bayamo, which was sent to you on 5th May.

(10 out of 10)

Alison

Ripon
Provides a comprehensive insight into Cuba past and present - history and culture, town and country. We had a first class guide who was very organised, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. She really made the trip for us. The itinerary was very busy - but that is made clear in the tour notes. A lot of time is spent travelling by coach but this enabled us to get a very good overview of the countryside and towns. We did feel a little rushed at times, wanting more time to wander at will, but appreciated that this would have meant limitations on what we saw.
We would recommend only one change - more time in Las Terrazas towards the end of the holiday. An overnight stay would be welcome there so that there would be more time for walking in the beautiful countryside/exploring on foot. A night here could replace one of the nights in the all-inclusive resort or one of the final two nights in Havana.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I have just returned from Cuba with two friends and we had a fabulous time travelling Cuba.

It's quite a busy tour, with a couple of long days on the bus but lots to see as you travel through the country.

I particuary liked Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus and of course Havana!

Cayo is beautiful and provides time for a well earned rest.

I would highly recommend this tour for those looking to see a lot of the island in a short space of time. Something for everyone here!

Confirmed traveller: 03 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

John

Chaldon Herring
Overall we enjoyed the tour very much. Some of the hotels were way below standard and there was a couple of very long days on the coach. For some reason the whole group was bumped from three hotels including the National in Havana at the beginning of the trip.

A good way to get an introduction to this interesting country.
Confirmed traveller: 21 March 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016

Hi John, my name is Carmel and I am the Product Manager for our Cuba tours. I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in Cuba, and I’m sorry that this was marred by the hotel changes that you experienced while on tour. At the moment, tour operators all over the UK are experiencing difficulties with Cuban accommodation, as their administrative systems are not coping with the increased demand. We’re finding that hotels are bumping clients at short notice, sometimes even on tour itself, despite us having booked the right number of rooms there. I have put as much information about this as possible on our trip notes, which I hope helps to manage expectations and to encourage people to visit Cuba for it’s fascinating history, culture and scenery rather than for its tourist services – which can sometimes be hit and miss!

(9 out of 10)

Frances

Macclesfield
What an exciting time to visit Cuba before it changes.
The trip gave a very good insight into Cuba's recent past and the economic problems it's currently having - and to me this was one of the highlights of the holiday and something I'll probably remember long after the memories of buildings and monuments have faded.

Other highlights were the classic cars (I'm female and not into cars - but I couldn't help be amused at the sight of baby pink large 1950s US cars roaming the streets), the walk to Castro's mountain hideaway Comandancia de La Plata, the colonial city of Trinidad, and the 3 night stay at the all inclusive beach hotel (trying different cocktails for free was great fun!).

There's a lot of travel on the trip but most hotel stops are for more than one night which helps a lot. Only one early morning departure - for the Commandancia de La Plata walk. Hotel breakfasts were very good.


Tips: Cuba is a very poor country with a lot of state control - so don't expect things to run as smoothly as back home - hotels get changed without much notice and you'll find there's very little to buy in the shops - we for instance never saw a food shop only ration shops (yes the Cuban's are rationed). If you're used to buying fruit or snacks 'on the go' you might have problems. So just go with the flow - it's all part of the Cuban experience.

In Santiago - go on the optional trip to the fort.

You wont experience any 'see before you die sights' on this trip - but you will get the experience of a country in a time warp - where the internet isn't universally available, where oxen still plough the fields and where horses provide a lot of the public transport. Where there are no advertisement boards (only political statements), and no McDonalds and no Starbucks Where the American dollar isn't king. How many other countries still have no McDonalds or Starbucks - but for how much longer? Just go and enjoy.

We went in March and the weather was hot and sunny - the rain waited until Obama arrived a day after we had left!
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Kevin

Havant
Excellent overview of cuba. Leader was ok but could have had bit more advanced knowledge - he was surprised to get to bay of pigs museum to find it was under refurbishment - and obviously had been for some time. Also getting to trek site for walk up to castros hideout to find it had been closed 2 days earlier due to bad weather. Which was fair enough but we'd travelled over an hour by coach and had a packed lunch breakfast when we could have had proper breakfast and delayed start. If you do this trip you really get a feel for the country but be prepared for long days on the coach on some poor roads. Accommadation varied hotels excellent the casas are bit hit and miss we had one superb one, one grotty one. I suspect no one has checked them out prior to us staying in them. Flight with air europa left bit to be desired - obviously a cheap airline - new plane but no entertainment package - unless you count watching a film on a tiny screen from 10 rows back entertainment! BUT despite all this cuba is an amazing place the birdlife is amazing the towns great - especially trinidad and santiago. I would recommend this trip just be aware Cuba is not ready for the flood of tourists already hitting this amazing country.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ian

Sheffield
A most enjoyable trip made even better by an excellent group. There were many highlights but one or two disappointments. The group leader was very young and somewhat disorganised. The accomodation was good overall but we were inconvenienced by some changes. The major downside to the trip was two very long coach journeys lasting many hours on poor roads. The journey to Cuba from the UK is very long, made worse by multi stops and cheaper airlines. Direct flights would be preferable.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

George

Worcester
As this is a well establish tour I don't understand why it was allowed the Americans to snaffle the Hotel Nacional. Surely this would have been booked and in a contract.

Pressure should be put on the exchange bureau at the Havana airport to put on more staff when several passengers arrive from Europe. It might be early evening for Cubians but for the arrivals it the end of a 30+ hour day. The line for the exchange moved at a handicapped snail's velocity. The alternative hotel, Caribe, could not change currency.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016