It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classical Sicily CS

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Classical Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classical Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classical Sicily reviews verified by reevooReevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Classical SicilyScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Wakefield
It was an excellent tour and leader although I think the tour needs to be a couple of days longer. It was full on but it would have been good to have more time in Marsala and Erice.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Bradford
Both my husband, who has been with Explore on several occasions, and I, as a first timer, were highly delighted with all aspects of the tour. Sue, the Tour Leader, went above and beyond; her excellent organisational & interpersonal skills, knowledge of Sicily and its inhabitants and the energy to be all things to all people made this tour a perfect experience for all the group . The local tour guides brought the fantastic sites we visited to life with their extensive knowledge and excellent communication skills. We hope to return to Sicily in the future to continue exploring this fascinating island.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kevin

Havant
Amazing packed tour. Sue the leader was brilliant, Felt like you'd been there weeks the amount you packed in. Would recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Maidstone
Superb tour of the highlights of Sicily. The Roman Villa is exceptional and I also enjoyed wandering through Erice and Cefalu.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kayleigh

Chesterfield
This tour is very fast paced you see so much in such a short space! I'm so glad I got to see so much of the beautiful country with such a great group and amazing tour leader
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Oxford
A fantastic trip, with a helpful, kind, friendly, knowledgeable and very well-prepared tour leader who made the tour a pleasure from beginning to end.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Devizes
Sue obviously loves her job and her enthusiasm for the role, for Sicily and its people comes through to the tour group, creating a great holiday. The itinerary inevitably has to be packed to see so much in such a short period and has to be squeezed even further to accommodate the bus driver's hours but even so there was free time to just relax on some days and watch the world go by. There are numerous highlights- the history of Sicily is extraordinary providing for astonishing mosaics, architecture and interesting churches- but there is also wonderful scenery both coastal and mountain and of course there is Etna. The food and gelato's are pretty good too.

The hotels were comfortable and well located, although other than the La Viva for the last two days they are not particularly interesting. I have trouble sleeping at the best of times but I found it difficult on the trip due to noise from lifts, doors slamming and loud voices. as walls are very thin. Nevertheless this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Simon

Uxbridge
Great itinerary and very enthusiastic & knowledgeable guide, beautiful scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 17 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jeff

Hillsboro, Oregon USA
Overall a wonderful trip and Sue Gutherie was invaluable, she really made the trip special! The only negative comment would be about the accommodations - an upgrade would be appreciated. The Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel in Siracusa was very disappointing and I wouldn't stay there again. A city that wasn't on the tour but should be is Modica - it was wonderful!
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

London
A great way to see Sicily in a week - highlights were Agrigento and Palermo, the wonderful spring flowers and the excellent guides, not to mention a great tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016