It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classical Sicily CS

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Classical Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classical Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classical Sicily reviews verified by reevooReevoo

40 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Classical SicilyScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 40 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

Formby Liverpool
This was a full- on week. It seemed as if we packed 2 weeks into 1! The group got on really well. We saw the best of Sicily. The guides for the sites we visited were all very good to excellent, especially the archaeologist. The choice of sites were well chosen and gave you a great insight into the history of the island. Our tour guide was informative and had organised where to eat, if wanted to eat as a group which saved a lot of time. The visit to Etna was short but could have been visited by more of the group as no problems with altitude and it was easy to hire boots and jacket once there. An enjoyable trip. Glad I have a week off to have a bit of a rest!!😀
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Amalia

The programme overall is excellent and the visits were also timed so that we avoided the main crowds later on which was great. Lots of very useful information given by the leader as we went along and excellent recommendations for restaurants.
In a couple of places it would have been nice to be able to stay a bit longer but given all the things that we saw it is understandable that we had to move on to the next destination. The local bus driver was also very helpful. A great tour overall! Thank you
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Douglas

Stoke Goldington, Bucks
A fascinating tour of Sicilian history in a variety of locations ranging from large cities to charming hilltop towns plus an opportunity to get close to the action on Etna.

Not to be missed.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Frances

Inverness
Despite indifferent weather we had a great time. Tony was an excellent and knowledgeable leader and our coach driver was a star. As the itinerary said it was a very active trip with some long coach trips but we did get an excellent overview of the island. Highlights were Ortigia, the Roman villa at Piazza Amerina, Palermo - especially the Palatine Chapel, Taormina - very busy though, and above all the trip up Mt Etna - a memorable experience standing metres away from red hot magma and hot lava! Our group of 8 got on very well and the food (read lots of seafood) and wine were fantastic.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 10 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Martin

London Colney
Highlights - Greco/Roman sites, Norman Churches / chapel at Palermo & Montreale and the trip up Mount Etna - all must sees!

Food was great except the hotel breakfasts which were pretty basic.

Overall a great trip, our tour leader was great, it was well organized, not too tiring.

All sites are accessible to all age groups apart from Etna which could be difficult for those for elderly people or those who have difficulty walking on loose and steep surfaces. and we were all surprised how green and beautiful the island of Sicily is.

Maker sure you bring plenty of warm layers, wind & rain protection, and proper walking footwear with good grippy soles for the Mount Etna trip.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 07 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Wakefield
It was an excellent tour and leader although I think the tour needs to be a couple of days longer. It was full on but it would have been good to have more time in Marsala and Erice.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Bradford
Both my husband, who has been with Explore on several occasions, and I, as a first timer, were highly delighted with all aspects of the tour. Sue, the Tour Leader, went above and beyond; her excellent organisational & interpersonal skills, knowledge of Sicily and its inhabitants and the energy to be all things to all people made this tour a perfect experience for all the group . The local tour guides brought the fantastic sites we visited to life with their extensive knowledge and excellent communication skills. We hope to return to Sicily in the future to continue exploring this fascinating island.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kevin

Havant
Amazing packed tour. Sue the leader was brilliant, Felt like you'd been there weeks the amount you packed in. Would recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Maidstone
Superb tour of the highlights of Sicily. The Roman Villa is exceptional and I also enjoyed wandering through Erice and Cefalu.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kayleigh

Chesterfield
This tour is very fast paced you see so much in such a short space! I'm so glad I got to see so much of the beautiful country with such a great group and amazing tour leader
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016