It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classical Sicily CS

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Classical Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classical Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classical Sicily reviews verified by reevooReevoo

48 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Classical SicilyScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 48 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Norwich
Too many highlights to list, but Palermo as a city and the Norman mosaics was especially awe inspiring. Sue was as fantastic as ever, and the group gelled well together.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Kathryn

Sydney
Tour leader really knew and lived Sicily and did a great job of getting us to the sites before the other tour groups.
Sicily is a very under rated destinations. There is so much history with all the major Mediterranean empires having left their mark, their ruins and their monuments .
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peter and Claire

Battle
Our leader, Sue, was exceptional in every way. Her outstanding warmth of character meant that not only did she care for us efficiently and sensitively as a group and individually, but everywhere we went children and adults alike would rush up to greet her in the street!

Our itinerary had to be altered at the last minute because of the G7 summit, but this did not in any way spoil the holiday. Sue took this completely in her stride and furthermore was not fazed by the threat of a violent anarchist demonstration. With this under her belt she was then informed that passengers leaving Sicily by BA were having their return journey disrupted. All in a day's work for Sue who made very satisfactory arrangements so that our holiday ended a day later but very enjoyably.

The three highlights of the tour for us were the Villa Romana del Casale with its amazing mosaics, the Greek temple ruins at Segesta and above all the Palatine Chapel and Monreale in Palermo accompanied by the outstanding local guide Virginia.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Northamptonshire
Very busy tour with so many amazing Greek, Roman and other remains. Pretty towns with old, narrow streets and interesting restaurants serving lovely food. Highlights for me - the mosaics at the Roman villa at Piazza Armerina and Mount Etna. Itinerary had to be amended at the end of the week due to G7 summit but alterative arrangements very well organised and therefore did not detract from the holiday greatly. Excellent tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Plymouth
All brilliant as was Sue Guthrie, inspire of G7 and BA issues 😊
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Carole

Glasgow
Excellent trip led by a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide which covers most of the major archaeological sites; some Norman churches; picturesque villages with narrow streets; an introduction to Sicily's excellent food an drink and an optional, but highly recommended trip to almost the summit of Mt Etna. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour, the superb guide helped to make it memorable and would recommend it to anyone who's reasonably mobile with an interest in ancient civilisations
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Brian

Bolton
A trip with a lot packed in.
Quite a lot of time travelling on the coach, but then that's the size of the island.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kathryn

Formby Liverpool
This was a full- on week. It seemed as if we packed 2 weeks into 1! The group got on really well. We saw the best of Sicily. The guides for the sites we visited were all very good to excellent, especially the archaeologist. The choice of sites were well chosen and gave you a great insight into the history of the island. Our tour guide was informative and had organised where to eat, if wanted to eat as a group which saved a lot of time. The visit to Etna was short but could have been visited by more of the group as no problems with altitude and it was easy to hire boots and jacket once there. An enjoyable trip. Glad I have a week off to have a bit of a rest!!😀
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Amalia

The programme overall is excellent and the visits were also timed so that we avoided the main crowds later on which was great. Lots of very useful information given by the leader as we went along and excellent recommendations for restaurants.
In a couple of places it would have been nice to be able to stay a bit longer but given all the things that we saw it is understandable that we had to move on to the next destination. The local bus driver was also very helpful. A great tour overall! Thank you
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Douglas

Stoke Goldington, Bucks
A fascinating tour of Sicilian history in a variety of locations ranging from large cities to charming hilltop towns plus an opportunity to get close to the action on Etna.

Not to be missed.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017