It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica: Coast To Coast DCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica: Coast To Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica: Coast To Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Costa Rica: Coast To Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Costa Rica: Coast To CoastScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Chris

Wales
An excellent tour showing many aspects of this interesting and varied country. Caribbean lowlands, rainforest, cloud forest, volcanoes and Pacific coast. The standard of accommodation was excellent throughout the tour, it would have been lovely to spend an extra few days in the Pacific beach area at the end of the tour.

Our tour leader Juan Carlos was informative and attentive, along with our excellent driver Antonio. Both really enhanced the tour with their observational skills and knowledge of Costa Rican history and the local wildlife.

The only negative was the flight with British Airways, old aircraft with TV screens and audio not functioning properly, delays and really awful choice and standard of food, perhaps Explore could look at using an alternative carrier where flights are not individually booked ?

I would highly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Doug

Nottingham
We were extremely fortunate with the weather as we had no rain and very little cloud even in the cloud forest. It's a fantastic tour for wildlife - binoculars and zoom lens for camera are musts. We saw 2 quetzals!! Leo our guide was extremely knowledgeable and took us out on unscheduled early morning birding walks in La Fortuna and Tortuguero. The landscape is spectacular. Hotels were very good on the whole. It was not always easy to find ATMs which dispensed US dollars ( La Fortuna to the left of the supermarket) so take plenty of dollars with you. Day to day expenses e.g. Meals, drinks, etc are not cheap.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Mark

London
Excellent trip on the whole. Our tour guide Leo was first class. He really made the trip.
Fabulous wildlife and a great itinerary. A couple of reservations about certain of the hotel choices though. San Jose hotel anonymous and corporate and location made independent exploring impossible. Resort luxury hotel at San Antonio was good but we were somewhat second class citizens there, obviously given the cheaper rooms.
Also tour of "highlights" of San Jose missed out the only real one; the National Theatre, which my wife and I had to do ourselves
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 09 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Derek

Warlingham
Highlights - Time in Tortuguero and bird spotting.
Not much free time in reality as travel can consume time.
Bit more expensive than expected when eating out, so many resorted to buying lunch/food from supermarket.
Hotel in San Jose away from main centre so a little bit isolated.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
An excellent and varied trip to various areas of Costa Rica. Highlight was Tortuguero. A relatively active tour with many steps to climb!
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 08 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stuart

Gosport, Hampshire
Good group of "Explorers" and well lead. Beautiful birds and scenery, walks just long enough, but not too long. Tips bring $'s low value notes they are accepted everywhere, although change is often given in local money, and the coin's can get heavy in your pocket.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Philip

Nottingham
The tour started badly, there was NO welcome meeting & as we arrived early we had no idea who was on our trip - also bad weather lead to first day activities being cancelled. Our tour leader initially did not eat with us in the evenings & didn't offer to take us out - as a result we didn't get to know him very well & didn't get much information about the next days events, timings, equipment required, etc. This also meant we were stuck with poor but expensive hotel restaurants.
Eventually we were told by the tour leader that he wouldn't eat with us unless specifically invited! - something I've never heard of before & something that could have been sorted if we had met for a welcome meeting on the first evening.
This trip itinerary is good but the use of 'premium' hotels does have the downside of being miles 'out of town' and expensive for food & drink - all you seem to get for the extra cost is a slightly bigger room - not necessarily clean or well equipped though! A couple of the hotels were in serious need of some maintenance - patio doors which wouldn't close or lock, missing curtains, smelly bed linen, very poor showers, etc. Also, in Turrialba where we were invited to 'relax by the pool or watch birds in the gardens' we were faced with workmen using an angle-grinder cutting metal roof panels - not very relaxing to say the least and not many birds to see!!!
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Nairn

Glasgow
Highlights - all of the extras provided by our tour guide, Jose, who was friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful.

Also - Monteverde cloud forest, zipwire, all of the wildlife we saw - especially the hummingbirds!

Tips - remember waterproofs and insect repellant
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 29 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Richard

Farnborough
Ron, our tour guide was outstanding. One example of this was when we were travelling down an unmade road. He suddenly asked the driver to stop and back up. He had seen a small Caiman in a ditch by the side of the road, which we all missed, but subsequently photographed. His knowledge and recognition of birds was excellent, he often called to particular species to try to get them to appear. Through his expertise we saw several rare species including the Resplendent Quetzel. He also added optional trips for us during free time.
My wife had a medical emergency during the trip. Again Ron was excellent in supporting us communicating with the local doctor and insurance company in England. I am also very grateful for the support I received from both Nelsie in Costa Rica and Yvonne in the UK whilst my wife was in hospital.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Norfolk
Excellent, a well organised tour. The major highlights for us were the variety of wildlife we saw, along with the diverse scenery and huge variety of plants. We were very impressed with our guide, Jose. Not only was he extremely knowledgeable, but he had a lovely manner and went out of his way to both spot and then identify all manner of birds, mammals and reptiles. We learned a great deal.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016