It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
593 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica: Coast To Coast DCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica: Coast To Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica: Coast To Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Costa Rica: Coast To Coast reviews verified by Reevoo

12 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Costa Rica: Coast To CoastScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Richard

Farnborough
Ron, our tour guide was outstanding. One example of this was when we were travelling down an unmade road. He suddenly asked the driver to stop and back up. He had seen a small Caiman in a ditch by the side of the road, which we all missed, but subsequently photographed. His knowledge and recognition of birds was excellent, he often called to particular species to try to get them to appear. Through his expertise we saw several rare species including the Resplendent Quetzel. He also added optional trips for us during free time.
My wife had a medical emergency during the trip. Again Ron was excellent in supporting us communicating with the local doctor and insurance company in England. I am also very grateful for the support I received from both Nelsie in Costa Rica and Yvonne in the UK whilst my wife was in hospital.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Norfolk
Excellent, a well organised tour. The major highlights for us were the variety of wildlife we saw, along with the diverse scenery and huge variety of plants. We were very impressed with our guide, Jose. Not only was he extremely knowledgeable, but he had a lovely manner and went out of his way to both spot and then identify all manner of birds, mammals and reptiles. We learned a great deal.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Eileen

Fantastic holiday seeing a good range of what Costa Rica has to offer. All of this helped along by our tour guide Ron and in the safe hands of our driver Macho. I think that the best tip is to '' Expect rain'' as Ron warned us every day- you'll not be disappointed though the rain is incidental to the wonders to be seen. The best day of the trip was white water rafting on the Pacuare river- grins on everyone's face despite being soaking wet!
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Adam

London
So many animals, such a lovely trip. The first half of the trip can be quite wet, so bring a poncho raincoat, you won't regret it!
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 11 January 2016
(3 out of 10)

Victoria

We saw amazing wildlife: birds, reptiles, and mammals. It was also great to spend Christmas Eve in Tortuga, watching the children's marching band with the local people (but note that this was off-itinerary and something our group decided to do). I've always had professional, knowledgeable, likable tour leaders in the past, whether with Explore or other companies. This was the first group trip I've taken where I've had an experience with a knowledgeable but entirely unprofessional and unlikable tour guide. It taught me that if your tour guide has issues, then it can negatively impact the whole tour.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 13 January 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback. While we’re delighted to read that you have returned with some positive memories of your time in Costa Rica, we were concerned to read your comments about your Explore Leader. We’d like to reassure you that our Explore Leaders receive comprehensive training either here in the UK, or locally, and are fully aware that we expect the highest levels of service and behaviour from them. Clearly this wasn’t your experience, and I am genuinely very sorry. When considering all of the points raised by various members of your group, we have taken the decision to remove this particular leader from all future Explore trips.

(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Ringwood
The highlights were the beauty of the country's natural features and the abundance of wildlife. We even saw newly hatched turtles making their first journey to the sea! The brilliant Explore Leader knew exactly where to take us to see the wildlife so we wouldn't miss a thing and we didn't.
No need to take loads of dollars - plenty of cash machines dispensing Dollars or Colones (again the experienced tour leader knew where was best.)
Take a camera - you won't be disappointed.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A beautiful country with an array of marvellous wildlife and amazing plants. The accommodation was comfortable and varied, the tour was busy but well balanced, the guide and driver were excellent and the group was great company. Ron was a great guide; cheerful and helpful, knowledgeable and thoughtful. My husband is a keen birder and Ron went out of his way to support him and ensure he had the best experience he could, without (we think!) interfering with the enjoyment of the rest of the group.
Confirmed traveller: 26 February 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015