It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
637 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica: Coast To Coast DCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica: Coast To Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica: Coast To Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Costa Rica: Coast To Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Costa Rica: Coast To CoastScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Deborah

An excellent overview for anyone visiting Costa Rica for the first time. Highly recommended. Fantastic guide and driver.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Enfield
Wildlife seen was excellent.Tour leader, Jose, was outstanding and really made it a special holiday. His knowledge and enthusiasm was superb. Really enjoyed the hanging bridges and the cloudforest at Monteverde. Getting a good picture of a quetzal was particularly satisfying
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 30 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Nigel

Surrey
We went in February using the premium accommodation option.

It's a good trip. It's not as stunning as say an African safari with big animals but, if you like birds (there are plenty and they're very colourful) and if you enjoy seeing weird new animals like sloths (very cute) or bizarre frogs and lizards, then it's a fun trip.

There were also some thrills from the zip wire (go superman style at the end!), swimming by a waterfall, kayaking in the rain forest, and, for those that chose it, white-water rafting. There was good scenery, especially around the Arenal volcano. Overall there was plenty to photograph.

We had a fun group (16) and our fellow travellers were very good company - plenty of banter. We ate together most but not all evenings and our guide (Paulo) made some great restaurant choices. He proved to be very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and was well-liked. We also had a great driver (Hector). Both accommodated our requests, e.g. on the last Thursday evening to visit the bar inside a 1950s American military plane - yes we did do the dambusters theme! Note: food and drink is not cheap in Costa Rica.

The hotels were indeed above the Explore norm, particularly at Tortuego by the river and at Manuel Antonio (great pool). The San Jose hotel is a bit functional and, as another reviewer mentions, it's out of town. But, due to earthquakes, there isn't really a lot to see in San Jose aside from the museum . It's probably better to be nearer the volcano and airport. By the way, the tap water in the hotels is safe to drink. Some had irons and all but one had safes. Reasonable wi-fi.

The new BA flight from Gatwick is fine - at least we weren't going via Madrid or Miami. As it was simple to get back, we chose to extend our break by 3 nights. So instead of going home on the Saturday, we took an hour's flight south and had three nights in Panama City. It's great - a really attractive old town, some nice bars and restaurants and the opportunity to do a partial transit of the Panama Canal. We flew back to San Jose on the Tuesday morning and took the afternoon flight back to Gatwick.

So, another good trip that can be recommended. Thanks again Explore, Paulo, Hector and our fellow explorers!
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 04 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Joyce

Greensboro
It is hard to name highlights because Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful, diverse country.
Our guide, Paolo, and our driver, Hector, went out of their way to ensure that we were more than delighted with their country. We in turn were delighted with them.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Chris

Wales
An excellent tour showing many aspects of this interesting and varied country. Caribbean lowlands, rainforest, cloud forest, volcanoes and Pacific coast. The standard of accommodation was excellent throughout the tour, it would have been lovely to spend an extra few days in the Pacific beach area at the end of the tour.

Our tour leader Juan Carlos was informative and attentive, along with our excellent driver Antonio. Both really enhanced the tour with their observational skills and knowledge of Costa Rican history and the local wildlife.

The only negative was the flight with British Airways, old aircraft with TV screens and audio not functioning properly, delays and really awful choice and standard of food, perhaps Explore could look at using an alternative carrier where flights are not individually booked ?

I would highly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Doug

Nottingham
We were extremely fortunate with the weather as we had no rain and very little cloud even in the cloud forest. It's a fantastic tour for wildlife - binoculars and zoom lens for camera are musts. We saw 2 quetzals!! Leo our guide was extremely knowledgeable and took us out on unscheduled early morning birding walks in La Fortuna and Tortuguero. The landscape is spectacular. Hotels were very good on the whole. It was not always easy to find ATMs which dispensed US dollars ( La Fortuna to the left of the supermarket) so take plenty of dollars with you. Day to day expenses e.g. Meals, drinks, etc are not cheap.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Mark

London
Excellent trip on the whole. Our tour guide Leo was first class. He really made the trip.
Fabulous wildlife and a great itinerary. A couple of reservations about certain of the hotel choices though. San Jose hotel anonymous and corporate and location made independent exploring impossible. Resort luxury hotel at San Antonio was good but we were somewhat second class citizens there, obviously given the cheaper rooms.
Also tour of "highlights" of San Jose missed out the only real one; the National Theatre, which my wife and I had to do ourselves
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 09 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Derek

Warlingham
Highlights - Time in Tortuguero and bird spotting.
Not much free time in reality as travel can consume time.
Bit more expensive than expected when eating out, so many resorted to buying lunch/food from supermarket.
Hotel in San Jose away from main centre so a little bit isolated.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
An excellent and varied trip to various areas of Costa Rica. Highlight was Tortuguero. A relatively active tour with many steps to climb!
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 08 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stuart

Gosport, Hampshire
Good group of "Explorers" and well lead. Beautiful birds and scenery, walks just long enough, but not too long. Tips bring $'s low value notes they are accepted everywhere, although change is often given in local money, and the coin's can get heavy in your pocket.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017