It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica Canopy and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica Canopy and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest reviews verified by reevooReevoo

90 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Quetzals Of The CloudforestScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 90 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Stephen

Rickmansworth
Overall good value some hotels a bit basic may be one the Wagelia highlights quetzal macaws Guayabo and tortuguero however manuel Antonio too busy at 900 hrs for a tour mostly Americans going to the beach no concern for wildlife .tour leader very good as was driver very enjoyable
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Gillian

Canterbury
A fabulous tour, far exceeding all expectations. Excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable and passionate about wildlife. We saw so much, enlivened by his great sense of humour. A beautiful country.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Carole

Marlow
An amazing country and an amazing trip. Our tour guide Diego is the David Attenborough of Costa Rica - very proud and very knowledgeable about its history and wildlife. Our tour allowed us to experience the different landscapes, climates and altitudes of this country which is situated between the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. We saw a volcano crater, both 2 and 3 toed sloths, 4 different types of monkey and numerous beautifully plumed birds including the elusive quetzal bird …as well as an orange legged tarantula spider and a poisonous green pit viper whilst on a night walk. The food is excellent and locally sourced – fish and fruit are delicious. Finally, cleanliness…Costa Rica is very clean! You can drink the water, eat the salads/ice-cream and you won’t get a stomach bug. Toilets, even in the middle of a cloud forest are clean and smell free. I thoroughly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 19 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Falmouth CORNWALL
I was very pleased with my Explore trip. Efficient airport pick up and tour started right away. I must say Diego, our Tour leader was incredible. His knowledge and pride of Costa Rica and all things Costa Rican was great. He was able to steer his group through the itinerary with skill and good humour.
Flora and Fauna was very important - a good telephoto camera is best for memorable images. Diego carried a telescope and tripod most of the walks.
Quite alot of free time, enabled White water Rafting and Zip lining - both MUSTS !!
Cost of living high but group generally ate in high quality restaurants and the £ was low against the $. Do allow more money for extras than recommended,
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 14 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Bernard

Newcastle upon Tyne
This trip was a great opportunity to tour Costa Rica, staying for a few days in different locations and environments. The pace of the trip was relaxed, perhaps reflecting the country slogan “Pura Vida”. Our favourite part was the time spent in Tortuguero staying at a waterside lodge, exploring the waterways by boat and getting close to the wildlife.

Our guide Paolo was excellent, informal but organising us with a light touch, but always available to provide information and answer questions. Our driver Alex was also excellent, whose calm and smooth driving made us feel very safe at all times. They made a great team. It also helped that our group of 16 people blended well and ate out together on many occasions.

The “Free” days in the itinerary were not really free, but rather days to pursue optional activities at extra cost. These however were very enjoyable, e.g. Canopy Tours, and contributed greatly to the holiday. There were limited alternatives owing to location of hotels without coach transport.

The country is not cheap, probably because of its reputation as a stable Central American country with strong links to the U.S.A. for both business and tourism. We took US Dollars which were accepted everywhere with no need for currency exchange. Often change was given in Costa Rican Colones which proved useful for small purchases. Credit cards were widely accepted.

A note of warning – take warm clothes and good waterproofs. We were visiting in the “Dry” season and expected tropical heat; but it rained on a number of days, not necessarily hard but enough to require protection. It was colder in the mountains, particularly at night.
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2017
Published on: 28 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Colchester
Costa Rica is an amazing country and we had a phenomenal time there, thanks in no small part to the incredible knowledge and easy going charm of our tour leader, Leo. Mention should also be made of our driver, Eric, who transported us safely around the country and was also always on the lookout for things of interest.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 28 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Chris

Fleet, Hampshire
Brilliant for walking & bird watching, educational in respect of plants, birds, mammals & reptiles. Highlight for me was the Scarlet Macaws & the female Quetzal, but the ability to swim in both the caribbean & the pacific was great. Excellent add on trips available too. Costa Rica is a whole world in one country.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Janet

Farnham
An enthusiastic tour leader, proud of his country, and able to speak good English. The highlights were the number of animals, birds, butterflies that we saw. The one disappointment was not seeing a quetzal!
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 19 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Woodham
You get a good feel for the diversity, microclimates and different locations of Costa Rica on this Explore trip. You have to be prepared to move hotels every couple of days and spend some days travelling - but there are plenty of stops to break the journeys up. Rather than always going on the Explore organised trips it can pay off to research other options in each location you visit. In Monteverde we went on a sugar cane/coffee/cocoa tour at El Trapiche coffee farm which was extremely interesting and highly recommended. Another couple of tips to mention: drinking water is 99% safe in Costa Rica (apart from Tortuguero) and although mosquitos are irritating there does not seem to be any great risk of catching anything from them. Your guide would be the best person to ask for advice. There are several hikes on the trip - however with groups of people walking together sometimes you can get a little disappointed about not seeing as much wildlife as you had hoped for. My tip is to get out very early in the morning and have a look around on your own. Usually there is plenty of wildlife to see in the grounds of the hotels if you look out for it.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017