It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica Canopy and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica Canopy and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest reviews verified by reevooReevoo

70 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Quetzals Of The CloudforestScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 70 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Dawn

Liverpool
A busy trip with plenty to see and do, highlight is Tortuguero, wildlife viewing is fantastic. The only complaint would be that 16 is too large a group for the wildlife walks as not everyone will get a chance to take a photo as the creature will have gone by the time the people at the front of the group have taken their shots, or the group will move on and leave the people at the back behind.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 05 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Manchester
Our tour was called "Costa Rica Canopy & Coast" - an excellent introduction to the country and its varied scenery, chance to experience the rain & cloudforest reserves, also to spend time on the Pacific & Caribbean coasts. A well paced trip, enjoyed spending 2 or even 3 nights, in most locations.

Our guide, Paolo was excellent - passionate about his country, knowledgeable about wildlife & good at spotting it. He worked extremely hard to look after the needs of the group, was always pleasant & seemed to enjoy our company too! A major element in making our trip such a success. Our driver, Rodrigo was reliable, safe & pleasant.

So many highlights
- the incredible wildlife in its natural habitat (sloths, monkeys, beautiful birds) & even visiting the hotel doorstep (resident coatis & iguanas!).
- staying at Mawamba Lodge in Tortuguero. Stunning setting, 1st class meals, a privilege to see turtles hatching & making their way out to sea (emotional moment !)
- opening our bedroom curtains in La Fortuna for a close up view of Arenal volcano.
- looking down on the forest canopy from the hanging bridges in Monteverde &
- whizzing along the zipwires at Selvatura Park in Monteverde. Exhilarating!!

Tips
- be prepared for rain (poncho handy). At the start we had days of heavy rain even tho it was supposed to be heading into dry season. Didn't see anything of Poas Volcano (return visit maybe?), after that it rained mainly in evening so nothing spoilt. But weather is unpredictable
- have camera always at hand - the wildlife can surprise you any time.
- Meals weren't that cheap (similar prices to UK) but big portions & good quality. Hope you like rice & beans!
- wear flipflops in the bathrooms, those glossy tiled floors are incredibly slippy when wet

A beautiful country, friendly people, proud of their natural resources & wildlife. A trip we'll recommend to all our friends. Thank you.
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Pewsey
The tour was very enjoyable, more stress needs to be made of the fact that it can be very wet on the east side of the trip and that good waterproofs are required. The Heliconia was a very nice hotel in terms of accommodation and location BUT the breakfast provision was a disgrace compared with all the others. The optional trip to Kids saving the Rainforest was dissapointing only a few monkeys and two hawks in cages available to see.
The sloths not viewable. If we had paid $45 pp we would not be at all pleased.
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 16 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Barbara

Newcastle
Met all my expectations, mixture of wildlife, beautiful scenery, beaches and exciting activities.
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 12 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Avril

York
Just the hotel/accommodation in San Jose which was such a disappointment - obviously not been updated since opening. ? bed bugs; husband was covered in bites after one night's sleep
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Nicola

Basingstoke
Seeing the baby turtles leave their nest on Tortugera beach and make their way to the sea.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

June

MARYPORT
Thoroughly enjoyed this trip, Costa Rica is a beautiful country with amazing wildlife. Our tour leader, Leo, was brilliant, funny, caring, and amazing knowledge of wildlife. He also seemed to know everyone in Costa Rica!
Hotels were mostly brilliant, apart from the one in San Jose, which was dingy and noisy, and as it was the first and last on the trip, did not leave a great impression.
Costa Rica is not great if you want culture or history, but I did enjoy the two museums I visited in San Jose. I also felt the trip could have done without the visit to Carrerra, as we saw nothing there apart from ants, and it would have given us more time in Monteverde. And by the end of the trip some of us were 'rainforested out'. I think timing could be improved, often we visited rain forests in the middle of the day, most animals are liveliest in the early morning or late afternoon, and sleep in the heat of the day.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Rachael

Nottinghamshire
Absolutely wonderful experience! Costa Rica is the place to visit if you love wildlife, I felt like I was in a David Attenborough documentary every day it was breath taking. Our guide Juan Carlos Rodriguez was second to none, the passion and enthusiasm for his country was infectious. I will definitely be returning to Costa Rica 🤗
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Anna

Wales
I had a brilliant time on this trip, the highlights for me were: the time spent in Tortegeuro animal watching, the white water rafting and the zipline canopy tour. My tip would be to bring waterproof everything and lots of layers, especially if going in October time as I did. It is not too active so good for people who don't want to/struggle to walk longer than a couple of hours.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Joy

Suffolk
This tour is an excellent way to see some of the diverse habitats and wildlife of Costa Rica.

Highlights for me were the boat tour in Tortuguera and the night-time turtle watching there; walking in the cloud forest at Monteverde and the walk in Manuel Antonio which ended with a dip in the Pacific.

Tips (especially if going in the rainy season):

- a light plastic poncho to cover everything inc your daysac is really useful;
- consider taking 2 pairs of waterproof shoes/boots as if they get very wet they may not dry out overnight;
- don't rely on washing out clothes as the humidity increases drying times, so take plenty of changes and prefer synthetics to cotton;
- use the laundry service at La Fortuna;
- US$ seem to be accepted just about everywhere, but take some colones for small stores and markets to save them having to faff about with conversion to $;
- there isn't any hard trekking, but a walking pole is useful on some of the steeper and stepped tracks, especially if your joints aren't what they used to be;
- expect to use a full 150ml can of insect repellent.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016