It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Quetzals Of The Cloudforest

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Quetzals Of The Cloudforest tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest reviews verified by Reevoo

25 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Quetzals Of The CloudforestScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 25 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Michael

NYC
Highlights: seeing quetzals, the tour leader was (for the most part) excellent, lots of wildlife.

Tips: definitely pack waterproofs (jacket and trousers), hiking boots are also a good idea (waterproof ones for preference), since the rain forest can most definitely love up to its name. Suggest packing clothing in water-resistant pouches in case you stay somewhere damp. Worth also checking the age-range of the group before booking - our group was very-heavily weighted towards the older traveler and couples, which is fine if that's what you're looking for but it does tend to limit extra-mural activities in terms of doing things in the evening. Be aware that Costa Rica is definitely towards the "easier" end of the spectrum of Explore trips, so you may be less likely to find the "adventurous" types in your group.

Lowlights: I'll follow up with an email on this, but having 3 accommodation changes out of 6 hotels was really unacceptable.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 13 January 2016
(7 out of 10)

Patricia

white water rafting, the zip wire and bird spotting as a non twitcher!
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 08 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Judith

Lincoln
This compact country has so much to offer. We saw so many birds but especially the QUETZAL - in fact we saw 2 close together in The Monteverde Cloud Forest. Flying Scarlet Macaws on the Pacific coast was a special moment.
The Zipwire experience was awesome especially completing the final 1km as Superwoman!
Tortuguero was a wonderful place for exploring the waterways and the Turtle Sanctuary.
Up close to Capuchin monkeys on the Pacific Coast as well as Howler Monkeys, Racoons Agouti and of course the sloth.
Perhaps the downside of this trip was the overnight stays in hotels different from those listed and not being prepared properly for a lodge with no electricity and little hot
water. Later we discovered a means of recharging our equipment in the breakfast area.
Always take waterproofs with you especially in the Central Plain area and Forest Reserves. We managed to be there when torrential rain closed some of the roads and pathways but saw 2 waterfalls when there should only be 1. Smelt the Poas volcano but swirling mist and drizzle obliterated the view inside.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 06 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sue

London
Really enjoyed the whole trip, I had no real expectations and was therefore open to everything. I do feel that the trip was made by Ollie the tour guide and Lalo our incredible driver.
Ollie had time for everyone he showed a fantastic commitment to meeting everyone's needs he was versatile, flexible, accommodating and very patient. His passion for Costa Rica especially the bird and animal life was second to none and I am very grateful for all his knowledge, experience and humor. Many Thanks Ollie
Lalo was the perfect driver, and I felt safe at all times travelling.
Nothing appeared to be too much for Ollie or Lalo who were both friendly and real gentleman throughout - Thanks to both
The extra excursions were great especially enjoyed the whitewater rafting, night walk and hotsprings all well worth the extra cost.
A great holiday filled with culture, nature, excitment, laughter and new friends.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 20 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Mark

London
This was a well balanced trip covering a good range of places. The highlights in terms of geography were Tortuguero and Monteverde; in terms of wildlife were Sloths, Macaws and Crocodiles; and generally were Herman, our fantastic tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 18 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Edinburgh
Highlights included Tortuguero National Park, Monteverde and Manuel Antonio. The wildlife was amazing.

Tips would include take a pair of binoculars, and a camera. Take plenty of cash as not everywhere takes card; American dollars were accepted everywhere we went, so Costa Rican Colon not required.
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 14 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Donald

ISLE OF MAN
pack plenty of clothes --hard to dry things

Wildlife forest,jungle walks,cloud forest,zip wire
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 27 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The trip was great from the start. We saw much more than we expected including the elusive quetzal (several times!), scarlet macaws, red eyed frogs, sloths. Hard to pick specific highlights but Monte Verde was fab - you have to do the zip wire (including superman if you feel brave enough!). Arenal is impressive if you get good weather which we did. The boat rides in Tortuguero were great for bird spotting. Swimming in a very warm sea at Manuel Antonio was very welcome as the temperatures were well into the 30´s. All the hotels were much higher quality than we expected. Great trip all round. Leo was one of the best tour leaders we have had. He was really laid back but also very organised. He went out of his way to make the trip memorable for everyone. He was always on the look out for birds & wildlife and spotted loads of things we would have missed. He clearly has a passion for nature and the environment. He had friends everywhere we went and this helps things run very smoothly.
Confirmed traveller: 26 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Anita

Eastbourne
Hard to pick out a specific high point as the whole trip was so good but probably Tortuguero and Manuel Antonio stand out. Sloths were the show stealers for me!

Tip for someone else booking is bring something warm to wear at Monteverde, otherwise just enjoy.
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Gregory

Corvallis, Or
Tortuguero was probably the highlight. The entire itinerary was great. There were only 2 things that weren't the same quality as the rest of the tour. The waterfall trip early in the tour and the night wildlife tour. These were both optional activities.
We arrived 2 days early and left a day late to expand the San Jose portion. This allowed us to visit the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum and the Jade Museum.
The information was very helpful on the rest of the tour. On our final day we visited La Paz. Our tour leader arranged this tour. Although the park was much more commercial than our tour, it really was a lovely place.
Ron, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun.
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2015
Published on: 12 October 2015