It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica Canopy and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica Canopy and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest reviews verified by Reevoo

60 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Quetzals Of The CloudforestScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 60 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Sophie

Oxfrodshire
An incredible tour. The wildlife was amazing. Paulo, our tour leader was fantastic. I would not change a thing. Not even the scorpion I found in my suitcase
Confirmed traveller: 28 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Debra

Reading
The countryside and scenery were spectacular and despite the weather being quite wet on occasion, this did not deter us from having a fantastic time. Highlights included the heavenly cloudforests and the imposing Arenal volcano. Ziplining through the cloud forsts was an unforgettable , truly exhilerating experience that alone made the trip worthwhile. Whitewater rafting was exceptional and we did this on one of the top whitewater rivers in the world and rafted on Grade 4 water without mishap. Our tour leader was extremely well versed in all aspects of Costa Rican culture and history and he was especially well informed on environmental and wildlife which added to our enjoyment of the trip and made us feel we were not just tourists but that we had a real understanding of the country
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 23 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

The trip was quite full on but necessary to see all the places on the itinerary.
Two of the hotels could do with a face lift but their locations made up for this, the staff in all the hotels were very pleasant and extremely helpful.
Our tour guide Alex was absolutely superb the best guide we have ever known. His friendly professionalism only bettered by his enthusiasm and incredible knowledge of the flora, fauna and wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Shilpi

London
This was our first trip with Explore and it was very well organised by our excellent tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lee and Steph

Worcester
We hit lucky with this trip for a few reasons. Firstly we only had (inc ourselves) four people on the tour which, when creeping up on animals etc, was perfect. Second, we had great weather every day, and although rain sometimes threatened, we never felt a drop. Third, we saw an abundance of animals, sloths, monkeys, Coati's, too many birds too count, it certainly lived up to expectations (and yes, a quick glimpse of the Quetzal)

But most lucky of all, our tour guide was Jose. I cannot praise this man highly enough, he went out of his way every single day to ensure we had a holiday of a lifetime. Nothing was too much for him (and to be honest he had his challenges with our small group!) and his professionalism, knowledge, obvious enthusiasm and energy made him a joy to be with. Thank you Jose, you will be long remembered :-)

Couple of the hotels were very basic and needed tlc, but offset by a couple that were brilliant (Tortuguero springs to mind, i loved that place). Itinerary could be tweaked to make it a bit better.

Our tips
Get the best pair of binoculars you can, and a good zoom camera (> 30x if poss)
Dont fly via Newark, or even via the USA come to think of it
We went in April, no real insect problems until Manuel Antonio where we got bitten to death, pack your deet
Loads of ATM's, no real need for CR Colons, just take US dollars and debit cards
Push yourselves to do the zip lines, terrifying but glad we did it (not doing it again though !)
Pack an everyday rucksack so you can carry the essentials:- lots of water, waterproofs, suncream, camera, bino's and caps which are required every day
Go for that "dry" oil suntan lotion (called Malibu i think), much better on dusty jungle trails and boats. Make sure its factor 30, and take a couple of bottles

And finally, Enjoy, its a brilliant destination :-)
Confirmed traveller: 25 April 2016
Published on: 22 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alan

Norwich
First of all I must comment that our tour leader, Herman, was outstanding and I say this with the experience of many good tour leaders. His knowledge and depth of experience was excellent and this was reinforced by the comments of many other tour leaders we encountered during our tour of Costa Rica. He was so in tune with the nature of the country and this was infectious amongst our tour group.
The itinerary of the tour was well planned and felt remarkably relaxed. We had spectacular views of the volcanoes at Poas and Arenal. We saw a huge variety of spectacular wildlife - over a hundred bird species, all four monkey species and the two iconic species I had hoped to see -Quetzals and Sloths. However, it all starts with plants and this tour opened my eyes even more to the incredible adaptations of plants in tropical environments.
My favourite parts of the itinerary were definitely Tortuguero and Monteverdi. Of the optional tours I did like the visit to the CATIE research station, the early morning and night walk in Tortuguero and the Bat Jungle in Monteverdi.
Overall the accommodation was good, although I had a feeling of isolation because of the situation of the hotel in San Jose and I would have preferred to have has less time inTurrialba.
As far a tips go - be prepared for any weather. It was remarkabley dry when we were there but it can be very wet. It can be hot and sunny and is usually humid so use high factors suncream. In the evening at high altitude Monteverdi it can be somewhat cool and something a little warmer to wear should be taken.
Overall I would highly recommend this tour. It has left me the lots of photographic images and wonderful memories of the country of Costa Rica and its peoples
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jean

Wales
Costa Rica is an environmental gem. Saw so much and in variety due to the expertise of the tour leader guide, Marco. Monteverdi and Tortuguero amazing places to stay.
Turrialba not so good for options unless white water rafting.
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

Southsea
Costa Rica offers such a range of wildlife and habitat/landscapes (forests, coast, volcanoes, waterfalls) and this trip really captures that variety. The highlights for me were Torteguero and Manuel Antonio National Park. I also really loved the volcanoes - Poas and Arenal. The nightwalk at Torteguero was great. CATIE and Guayabo were also really interesting. In fact, I enjoyed nearly all!

I'm not sure that we needed three nights at Monteverde - although the accommodation here was very comfortable. I was a bit underwhelmed by the Serpentarium at Monteverde (optional extra) and I thought the nightwalk at Monteverde (optional extra) was not very well run (e.g. noisy groups shining torches into the trees that scared off a group of howler monkeys that were trying to sleep). But overall I thought the itinerary was spot on. The beauty of Costa Rica is that it's quite a small country so, although there are a few rough roads, travel distances between places are not too long.

I saw everything I would have wished to see in terms of wildlife - sloths, all 4 types of monkey that live in Costa Rica, an anteater, toucans and plenty of other birds!

Our guide, Julio, was a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic wildlife guide, offering his expertise on all of the walks - both those on the itinerary and some optional ones.

Tip - the tour does rely on quite a lot of optional extra activities - so it helps to know what these are and how much they cost otherwise you could be left with a bit too much 'spare time' (I think was particularly a potential issue at Monteverde).

Overall, this was a fabulous holiday in a fabulous country!
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Bridget

Guildford
This was a fantastic holiday, and fully met my expectations. I particularly loved the rainforest, especially at night.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Hilary

London
A great way to discover Costa Rica. My highlight was walking the hanging bridges in the cloud forest. Seeing birds at such close quarters was amazing. A good paced tour, but you need to be fit for there is much walking on uneven, hilly ground. Jose was a magnificent tour leader, his ability to spot wildlife and his knowledge enhanced the experience, plus he knows the best places to eat at every stop. Hotels basic and clean.

My personal tips, find a direct flight and take lots of money as trip notes under estimate the costs of eating, drinking and additional excursions.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016