It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica Canopy and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica Canopy and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest reviews verified by reevooReevoo

66 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Quetzals Of The CloudforestScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 66 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Avril

York
Just the hotel/accommodation in San Jose which was such a disappointment - obviously not been updated since opening. ? bed bugs; husband was covered in bites after one night's sleep
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Nicola

Basingstoke
Seeing the baby turtles leave their nest on Tortugera beach and make their way to the sea.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

June

MARYPORT
Thoroughly enjoyed this trip, Costa Rica is a beautiful country with amazing wildlife. Our tour leader, Leo, was brilliant, funny, caring, and amazing knowledge of wildlife. He also seemed to know everyone in Costa Rica!
Hotels were mostly brilliant, apart from the one in San Jose, which was dingy and noisy, and as it was the first and last on the trip, did not leave a great impression.
Costa Rica is not great if you want culture or history, but I did enjoy the two museums I visited in San Jose. I also felt the trip could have done without the visit to Carrerra, as we saw nothing there apart from ants, and it would have given us more time in Monteverde. And by the end of the trip some of us were 'rainforested out'. I think timing could be improved, often we visited rain forests in the middle of the day, most animals are liveliest in the early morning or late afternoon, and sleep in the heat of the day.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Rachael

Nottinghamshire
Absolutely wonderful experience! Costa Rica is the place to visit if you love wildlife, I felt like I was in a David Attenborough documentary every day it was breath taking. Our guide Juan Carlos Rodriguez was second to none, the passion and enthusiasm for his country was infectious. I will definitely be returning to Costa Rica 🤗
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Anna

Wales
I had a brilliant time on this trip, the highlights for me were: the time spent in Tortegeuro animal watching, the white water rafting and the zipline canopy tour. My tip would be to bring waterproof everything and lots of layers, especially if going in October time as I did. It is not too active so good for people who don't want to/struggle to walk longer than a couple of hours.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Joy

Suffolk
This tour is an excellent way to see some of the diverse habitats and wildlife of Costa Rica.

Highlights for me were the boat tour in Tortuguera and the night-time turtle watching there; walking in the cloud forest at Monteverde and the walk in Manuel Antonio which ended with a dip in the Pacific.

Tips (especially if going in the rainy season):

- a light plastic poncho to cover everything inc your daysac is really useful;
- consider taking 2 pairs of waterproof shoes/boots as if they get very wet they may not dry out overnight;
- don't rely on washing out clothes as the humidity increases drying times, so take plenty of changes and prefer synthetics to cotton;
- use the laundry service at La Fortuna;
- US$ seem to be accepted just about everywhere, but take some colones for small stores and markets to save them having to faff about with conversion to $;
- there isn't any hard trekking, but a walking pole is useful on some of the steeper and stepped tracks, especially if your joints aren't what they used to be;
- expect to use a full 150ml can of insect repellent.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sophie

Oxfrodshire
An incredible tour. The wildlife was amazing. Paulo, our tour leader was fantastic. I would not change a thing. Not even the scorpion I found in my suitcase
Confirmed traveller: 28 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Debra

Reading
The countryside and scenery were spectacular and despite the weather being quite wet on occasion, this did not deter us from having a fantastic time. Highlights included the heavenly cloudforests and the imposing Arenal volcano. Ziplining through the cloud forsts was an unforgettable , truly exhilerating experience that alone made the trip worthwhile. Whitewater rafting was exceptional and we did this on one of the top whitewater rivers in the world and rafted on Grade 4 water without mishap. Our tour leader was extremely well versed in all aspects of Costa Rican culture and history and he was especially well informed on environmental and wildlife which added to our enjoyment of the trip and made us feel we were not just tourists but that we had a real understanding of the country
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 23 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Brian

The trip was quite full on but necessary to see all the places on the itinerary.
Two of the hotels could do with a face lift but their locations made up for this, the staff in all the hotels were very pleasant and extremely helpful.
Our tour guide Alex was absolutely superb the best guide we have ever known. His friendly professionalism only bettered by his enthusiasm and incredible knowledge of the flora, fauna and wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Shilpi

London
This was our first trip with Explore and it was very well organised by our excellent tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016