It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica Canopy and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica Canopy and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Quetzals Of The Cloudforest reviews verified by reevooReevoo

78 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Quetzals Of The CloudforestScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 78 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Woodham
You get a good feel for the diversity, microclimates and different locations of Costa Rica on this Explore trip. You have to be prepared to move hotels every couple of days and spend some days travelling - but there are plenty of stops to break the journeys up. Rather than always going on the Explore organised trips it can pay off to research other options in each location you visit. In Monteverde we went on a sugar cane/coffee/cocoa tour at El Trapiche coffee farm which was extremely interesting and highly recommended. Another couple of tips to mention: drinking water is 99% safe in Costa Rica (apart from Tortuguero) and although mosquitos are irritating there does not seem to be any great risk of catching anything from them. Your guide would be the best person to ask for advice. There are several hikes on the trip - however with groups of people walking together sometimes you can get a little disappointed about not seeing as much wildlife as you had hoped for. My tip is to get out very early in the morning and have a look around on your own. Usually there is plenty of wildlife to see in the grounds of the hotels if you look out for it.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Christine

Really enjoyed the holiday but would have much preferred the 3 day stop on the Caribbean Coast and not in freezing and rainy Monteverde where there was little to do. Our tour leader was very knowledgeable and his English was excellent but the information we received on our itinerary was sketchy at times and we had to keep quizzing him regarding when we were next stopping and how long the journey would be. Our transfers were always excellent.
The driver was very helpful but his driving was sometimes quite scary - he did not like being behind another vehicle and had to overtake even if it meant breaking the speed limit or driving somewhat dangerously.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2017
Published on: 12 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Shirley

St Albans
Waking up to the cries of howler monkeys was brilliant. Walking through Monteverde cloud forest in the mist was everything I expected. Combined with experiencing both coasts and a couple of volcanos thrown in this was a really great introduction to Costa Rica. Our guide Mario was really knowledgeable and passionate about his country and great fun.
Overall a great trip
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2017
Published on: 06 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Carolyn

Victoria, BC
Great trip. We enjoyed the trip pace, never felt rushed and that we didn't get enough time to see all that we wanted. The bus journeys from one location to the next were broken up with walks and/or coffee lunch stops. Tortuguero was the highlight for us, lots of wildlife and a great local guide for the morning boat trip to see wildlife. Really enjoyed his stories. During the trip we saw an amazing numbers of birds, sloths and monkeys - which was one of my reasons for going to Costa Rica. On the last day our guide took those who wanted to snorkel in a small bay nearby, was fantastic. Was supposed to be a free day to do what you wanted, so we really appreciated him offering us that opportunity. Being a small group of 7 was an added bonus. Would definitely recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Exeter
If you are interested in scenery, variety and wildlife this is the tour for you. Costa Rica did not disappoint. Felipe the guide shared his passion for the country and its wildlife at every opportunity and his wealth of knowledge is astounding. He made every effort to provide us with the trip of a lifetime and did not disappoint.
Our driver Alex made light work of the steep slopes and many unsurfaced roads. We felt safe in his hands and he was very much part of the tour as he often spotted wildlife from the bus. He and Felipe made a great team.
My favourite part of the trip was Tortuguero and the river trips where we were joined by the hotel guide Tony who shared his local knowledge to enable us to see amongst many others, a family of river otters and a caiman guarding her 3 babies. I for one paid for an extra trip because it was so incredible.
A couple of notes for those who are looking to go on this trip:
There are many early starts, but these are easier than you might think as the sun has already risen. They are so worth it as the wildlife is up and about at that time of day and you miss the other tourists. In some places you also miss the heat. Embrace them.
Costa Rica has many micro-climates, I expected constant heat and humidity but spent the first trip to the Poas volcano crater in woolly hat, poncho and gloves! A poncho is ideal but you may also wish to bring a thin waterproof jacket. We went in the dry season and were very lucky with the weather so be prepared for heavy rain. Felipe says he prefers the wet season as there can be more to see and everything is in bloom.
On a couple of early starts we also needed a light fleece for a walk through the forest or canopy.
We didn't get too bitten by mossies but make sure you take decent spray with deet for certain places. I recommend Boots Soltan Dry Touch sunscreen which dries beautifully and allows the mossie spray on top.
Tips: Generally in restaurants etc the service charge is included. You will be asked to contribute to a group kitty for tipping hotel staff (like chambermaids) etc. Any extra trips like white water rafting you will be expected to tip separately.
Most things (including food) are quite expensive - on a par with London prices. I recommend taking about $600 US and about 50,000 colonnes. Don't worry if you cant get the colonnes in advance as the currencies seem to be interchangeable and you will often get colonnes in your change when you pay in dollars. There are not many ATMs around so plan wisely.
Finally, if you chose this tour enjoy the trip. It's a corker!
Helen
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Iain

Solihull
The tour encompasses the principal National Parks of Costa Rica and we observed upwards of 150 different bird species as well as an interesting variety of mammals, reptiles and invertebrates. Both the Tour Leader and Bus Driver were superb throughout; at the beginning of the tour adverse weather curtailed the programme and they went out of their way to arrange substitutes and then at the end of the tour returned to the visits cancelled at the beginning of the tour. The hotels were of a reasonable standard, the food plentiful and even the tap water was safe to drink! Make sure that your camera has a good (optical) telephoto lens to ensure you obtain good pictures of the birds.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Stroud
This was a very enjoyable tour with a group of 9, and an excellent leader and driver. It rained heavily during the first two days and high winds blew down trees. The weather prevented us visiting a couple of important sites, but the Leader improvised well with alternative activities. The weather was good for the remainder of the trip, although still cold in the Monteverde Cloud Forest. We stayed 2 or 3 nights at each location, which was good because it gave time to see the area, and it didn't feel as if we were moving on too quickly. There was a lot of emphasis on wildlife, particularly birds (124 species spotted, including the Resplendent Quetzal), about which the leader was extremely well-informed. The boat trips on the waterways around Tortoguero, with an expert local guide were a highlight. The bird-spotting often involved walking very slowly and quietly through forest, which might not be to everyone's taste, but I loved it!!!
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Dawn

Liverpool
A busy trip with plenty to see and do, highlight is Tortuguero, wildlife viewing is fantastic. The only complaint would be that 16 is too large a group for the wildlife walks as not everyone will get a chance to take a photo as the creature will have gone by the time the people at the front of the group have taken their shots, or the group will move on and leave the people at the back behind.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 05 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Manchester
Our tour was called "Costa Rica Canopy & Coast" - an excellent introduction to the country and its varied scenery, chance to experience the rain & cloudforest reserves, also to spend time on the Pacific & Caribbean coasts. A well paced trip, enjoyed spending 2 or even 3 nights, in most locations.

Our guide, Paolo was excellent - passionate about his country, knowledgeable about wildlife & good at spotting it. He worked extremely hard to look after the needs of the group, was always pleasant & seemed to enjoy our company too! A major element in making our trip such a success. Our driver, Rodrigo was reliable, safe & pleasant.

So many highlights
- the incredible wildlife in its natural habitat (sloths, monkeys, beautiful birds) & even visiting the hotel doorstep (resident coatis & iguanas!).
- staying at Mawamba Lodge in Tortuguero. Stunning setting, 1st class meals, a privilege to see turtles hatching & making their way out to sea (emotional moment !)
- opening our bedroom curtains in La Fortuna for a close up view of Arenal volcano.
- looking down on the forest canopy from the hanging bridges in Monteverde &
- whizzing along the zipwires at Selvatura Park in Monteverde. Exhilarating!!

Tips
- be prepared for rain (poncho handy). At the start we had days of heavy rain even tho it was supposed to be heading into dry season. Didn't see anything of Poas Volcano (return visit maybe?), after that it rained mainly in evening so nothing spoilt. But weather is unpredictable
- have camera always at hand - the wildlife can surprise you any time.
- Meals weren't that cheap (similar prices to UK) but big portions & good quality. Hope you like rice & beans!
- wear flipflops in the bathrooms, those glossy tiled floors are incredibly slippy when wet

A beautiful country, friendly people, proud of their natural resources & wildlife. A trip we'll recommend to all our friends. Thank you.
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Pewsey
The tour was very enjoyable, more stress needs to be made of the fact that it can be very wet on the east side of the trip and that good waterproofs are required. The Heliconia was a very nice hotel in terms of accommodation and location BUT the breakfast provision was a disgrace compared with all the others. The optional trip to Kids saving the Rainforest was dissapointing only a few monkeys and two hawks in cages available to see.
The sloths not viewable. If we had paid $45 pp we would not be at all pleased.
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2016
Published on: 16 December 2016