It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast CC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Costa Rica Canopy and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Costa Rica Canopy and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Costa Rica Canopy and Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

110 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Costa Rica Canopy and CoastScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 110 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Susan

London
Excellent leader and fantastic wildlife and scenery. Too many 'highlights' to single out just one.
Confirmed traveller: 03 September 2017
Published on: 14 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Liz & Jeff

Derby
We had the most amazing holiday: the best guide and driver (José and Alan) and the nicest, friendliest group you could wish for (nine of us, ranging from 30s to 70). Although it was the rainy season we were fortunate to get soaked only twice - but bear in mind that when it does rain it’s dramatic!

José’s planning, communication, command of English and depth of knowledge were exceptional. He was also very good company. The itinerary was just right for us: we were up early and outside for most of the day, walking in rain forests, cloud forests and volcano national parks, spotting many exotic birds and animals and learning about the geography, ecology and history of Costa Rica. On ‘free’ days José suggested and accompanied us to many authentic and interesting places. He arranged several enjoyable group meals at varying locations, including a family-run finca to give us a taste of real rural Costa Rica.

You may never go to Costa Rica again so make the most of it - take plenty of US dollars (plus credit cards, which are accepted practically anywhere), and go on all the optional trips: white-water rafting, kayaking, zip lining, night walks, hanging bridges, hot springs, rainforest renewal projects, sea turtle conservation trust....

This truly was one of our best holidays ever.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 01 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mark

Bristol
We were very lucky to have such an excellent guide in Jose, and such an excellent driver in Alan. Both of them went way beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had a great trip. I don't think I've ever known a more knowledgeable guide than Jose, and he does it all in a very friendly, open, relaxed style. Alan was a very good, safe and thoughtful driver and also a very funny and likeable man. The planning and organisation were superb and when the unexpected occurred there was always a very good plan B. I had a wonderful time, and I recommend the tour to anyone with an interest in the remarkably diverse wildlife, vegetation and climate of Costa Rica. It was a very busy two weeks but I enjoyed every moment.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 01 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Laura

Nottingham
Fantastic trip giving a taste of the different parts of Costa Rica. So much wildlife spotting, magical rainforests and cloudforests. Good mix of nature watching and activities. White water rafting and zip lining great adrenaline rushes. Watching a green turtle lay her eggs and then head back off in to the oceanin the moonlight a truly magicalexperience. Definitely take binoculars, and waterproofs/umbrella.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 22 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sue

Birmingham
So many amazing things to see on this tour ! We were so lucky with what we saw, from baby armadillos to an anteater, an otter, humming birds, toucans,monkeys, snakes and sloths this tour proved a wildlife paradise. A great range of things to do, including white water rafting, walking through stunning scenary and beautiful beaches are just a few highlights to take away. This was all added to by an amazing guide, Jose, whose knowledge and helpfulness made the tour even better.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jon

Bingley (West Yorkshire)
Too many highlights to mention. This is a great trip for those that like wildlife viewing combined with moderate hikes (or wildlife walks) with the odd adrenaline rush thrown in for good measure. Be prepared to go on optional tours as many of these, including hanging bridges, zip line and white water rafting were the real highlights. We also benefited from having one of the best Explore tour leaders (Jose) I have personally experienced on one of these trips. He was easy going, enthusiastic, environmentally aware and very knowledgeable (wildlife and local history). This is a tour that I would highly recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Bryan

Aylesbury
Great overview of Costa Rica with a knowledgeable and enthusiastic leader.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 31 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Patricia

Leeds
Overall the tour was really good. Everything ran to time and as it should, however there were a couple of the hotels that really let it down. Also, the number of extras or options, that were not really options put some people in the group in a difficult situation. Turrialba was a prime example of this. The hotel was situated in an extremely noisy town without anything interesting to see or do, not even anywhere suitable to eat. A free day was scheduled but with nothing to see and nowhere to event to spend a day relaxing there was no alternative to pay extra for one of the 'options'. Our group would have much preferred such options to have been included up front to help budget for the holiday (or alternatively a more suitable hotel used!). In another hotel, the room facilities were far from acceptable, dirty sheets and towels and unclean old beds. Fortunately, hotel facilities improved as we journeyed on and the amazing scenery and wildlife provided more than what we had anticipated and expected to see, so all in all a trip well worth taking. I hope that Explore will review the hotels on the trip in order to make it an amazing holiday for other travelers.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 07 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jill

Thame
The variety of wildlife was excellent.
The pace of it was a bit slower than I expected and I was disappointed that there was no option to try to see leatherback turtles. Apart from that, good trip.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Derwyn

Ottawa Canada
Overall, very good.
Some closer research would have determined that the National Museum is closed on Easter. We went there but could not get in. Similarly, a reservoir near Turrialba was closed on Tuesdays, which might have been researched before we went there on a Tuesday.
Most days, good tours and timetable.

But the final day itinerary needs to be restructured. We had an aimless Friday morning in Manuel Antonio Park, with no particular activities identified. We left for San Jose at 11:30 am, which meant that we stopped late for lunch (1:00pm) and fought Friday rush hour traffic to get into the city. Then we had only 1/2 hour to see the National Museum before it closed. Clearly, if we had left Manuel Antonio at 9:30 am, we would have stopped for lunch at a convenient 12:00 noon and got into San Jose in time so spend much more time at the National Museum -- and maybe the Gold Museum too. The day was essentially lost.

Tickets and tours were well handled by the guide, who also was adept at spotting wildlife in forests.

Transfers were all good. The driver was terrific, on the available roads.

Accommodation varied a bit, but was all comfortable. Tortuguera was particularly good.

Group size was 11 - a good number, but probably 12 is a maximum
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017