It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
612 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia CO

Visiting: Croatia
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Walks & Coastal Towns Of CroatiaScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Pambula Beach NSW Australia
Very good itinerary for walks in Croatia which are not easy to do independently. Excellent guides who looked after us very well and had an excellent knowledge of their country. Acomodation generally good but location in Split not convenient to central city area.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Ann

Cambridge
Damir was an excellent leader.
The walks were pretty good but the half day walk could do with a different route back rather than a road walk.
The 3 day accommodation would have been improved with somewhere to sit outside after the walks. There was a terrace but it was closed apart from mealtimes. The breakfasts at this hotel were also poor.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sylvia

Really enjoyable tour, good walks, excellent scenery and wild flowers.

Good company and a really good leader.

The highlight was the walk in the gorge.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(5 out of 10)

David

Accommodation was good in Zagreb, Plitvice and Stari Grad, disappointing in Split (location only) and Velinka Plana (isolated location, threatening signs in room, vastly overpriced food). It would be fine to request guests to be tidy at the Ranch but a warning of an extra 30 Euros charge if the room was messed up too much was not very friendly, especially as a quantitative penalty is suggested for an ill-defined transgression. I was not alone in mentioning that I ate more red meat in 2 dinners at the Ranch than I would have done in several months at home. The charge of 250 kuna for dinner at the Ranch with no choice was out of line with all my other experience in Croatia. Elsewhere I rarely spent more than half this and always had a choice.

Although I can't be sure of what is possible, we had a very early morning start from Velinka Plana and appeared to almost retrace the route of the previous evening before reaching Zavizan. Surely there must be some suitable accommodation nearer to Zavizan. I doubt Plitvice itself was any further from Zavizan than the Linden Tree Ranch and we could have stayed in Plitvice an extra night and had a longer walk in Plitvice Lakes National Park.

Clearly the lakes are a marvellous location even if somewhat spoiled by being so very busy (not that much can be done about that). The hike on the Premuziceva trail was excellent - and what a contrast to the previous day in quietness. Paklenica Gorge was perhaps not quite up to level of N Velebit but benefitted from a better local guide.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback, specifically, regarding the Linden Tree Ranch. We chose the accommodation originally due to its beautiful location and its ecological credentials, however we do appreciate that the location of this property did lead to slightly longer drives and also to a limited choice for evening meals (which were not included). With this in mind we have changed the accommodation for 2017 to somewhere that is closer to Paklenica and has more options available.

(10 out of 10)

Judith

London
This was our first "package holiday" and a great success. Nina our guide was fantastic and we enjoyed being part of a small friendly group. The mix of cities, towns and fairly remote mountain walking was perfect. We took the opportunity to book another 5 nights on the back of the trip, carrying on by catamaran to Hvar and then to Dubrovnik. A great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jane

London
It was a good mix of history and culture in Zagreb (I recommend the Museum of Naive Art), Trogir and Split, and beautiful scenery and great walks in the national parks. Also lovely to spend a couple of nights just yards from the Adriatic, providing the perfect opportunity for a much welcome swim after a long walk. Food and beer good too. As with all group holidays, it was helped by having a lovely group of people to share the week with - including a sing-song at the ranch - and a great tour leader in Nina, as well as the local guides. Shame the last night's hotel in Split wasn't a bit closer to the centre, though handy I guess for getting to the airport. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Susan

Gerrards Cross
We enjoyed the trip and walking in the parks and accept that on trip such as this not everything will be perfect . However, in the spirit of positive feedback, these would be my comments. The time in Zagreb was too long - most museums are shut on Sunday afternoon. Would have preferred to leave earlier and have time to relax at Hotel Plitvic. Also, maybe better to go into Plitvic Park at 8, not 9, as extremely crowded and take a packed lunch - big queue for food and not very exciting. Ranch great but needs more flexibility re supper as no other option and 30 euros per meal is quite expensive for Croatia. Bus journey to Premuziceva trail long- would have been better in a mini bus with more leg room! The walk in Starigrad could have been replaced with the trip to Zadar which our group chose not to go on. The hotel in Split lacked character, in an industrial park and 30 min walk out of town on busy roads. It was disappointing and did impact on the end of our holiday. I would have been happier with a smaller hotel nearer the centre.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Roz

Shrewsbury
The walks were great and I would have liked more walking and less sightseeing - something to remember if I book another Explore trip.
The hotels were of a good standard, with the hotel in Split being the worst in terms of location, rooms and breakfast. The retreat ranch was lovely, though the cost of the food should have been included in the overall trip cost as there was nowhere else to eat and we had to pay for a three course meal if we wanted to eat there. The Starigrad hotel was friendly and in a great location and we enjoyed swimming in the Adriatic.
Plitvice Lakes may have been beautiful but walking in a queue of people for much of the day was not enjoyable! The Premuziceva trail was lovely, with the guide specialising in picking wild raspberries. The guide for the Paklenica walk was much more knowledgeable and it was an interesting walk. We didn't do the walk through coastal villages - not sure why.
Our guide was pleasant and efficient but communication with her was limited. She had excellent English but her reserved character meant that she contributed little to our knowledge of Croatia or the general banter of the group.
Our group of nine adults enjoyed themselves, which is why I have given a higher score for the overall holiday than for its individual components.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Horsham
For walkers who enjoy a spot of sightseeing this was the ideal tour. Highlights for us were the Plitvice lakes and waterfalls, and hiking along the Premuziceva Trail and in the National Park. We also appreciated the opportunity to spend some time in Zagreb, Trogir and Split, enjoying Croatian cafe culture, history and architecture. Nina, our guide, was super-efficient and helpful, and we enjoyed her informative talks on Croatian history, geography, language and customs. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2016
Published on: 01 July 2016
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

newtonhill
Accommodation generally very good. Itinerary quite confusing towards the end of the week. It would have been better one night ranch and then onto the coast to save time travelling. The walk was very near the coast so additional travel not necessary . Hope this is constructive but have to say excellent holiday as had mixture of walking and towns/cities, thoroughly enjoyed it😀😀
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2016
Published on: 26 June 2016