It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia CO

Visiting: Croatia
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Walks & Coastal Towns Of CroatiaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Christine

The trip was fabulous. Well run and expertly led. Some of the walls were a little scary! The hotel in split was awful and should be removed. It wactoo far out in an industrial estate. Horrible. Only bad bit of the holiday
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2017
Published on: 25 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Milton Keynes
The trip was good combination of site seeing and walking in some magnificent scenery. I especially enjoyed the Plitvicka lakes (despite the crowds), the scenery of the Paklenica gorge (even though we didn't do the full walk) and Trogir and Zadar. Our guide Nina was great, very helpful, organised and friendly.

My one issue with the trip was the classification of easy to moderate. I would count 2 of the 4 walks as easy, but the Premuziceva Trail walk, measured at 18k by several fitbits, on rough stony paths, with almost constant ups and downs was pretty tough and in my opinion a harder walk than I expected from your definition of moderate. However the definitions are rather vague and perhaps too open to misinterpretation.

It didn't help that the additional guide we had for this walk (Ilya) was dreadful - he turned up with 3 additional young women, spent his time talking to them almost exclusively, didn't offer any information about the walk to those of us trailing behind - setting off again as we caught up, and didnt allow sufficient breaks to enjoy the scenery. Nina though was very helpful at the back helping us along. Consequently three of us opted out of the last Paklenica Gorge walk fearing it would be too hard, and instead taking an easier option suggested by Nina.

(Btw, the information about the length and time of the walks in the Trip Notes was contradictory. The 'daily distances chart' didn't match the detailed itinerary notes, although the latter were reasonably accurate if optimistic)

Overall hotels and food were good. Hotel Grabovac had a nice pool which we enjoyed after a day's walking; Vicko was in a lovely location close to a beach, although I wouldn't recommend dinner there. Other meals were great; good choices all round from Nina. And the group were good company too; overall a great trip again from Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 24 June 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Catherine

London
I throughly enjoyed my recent trip to Croatia.
I went to Croatia 12 years ago, also with explore, that is why I went back.
The only problem I have is that the trip should be called moderate rather than easy/moderate. The first and last walk were both easy as they were sigh seeing walks in Zagreb and Split. But the walks in between we're definitely moderate.
No other problems, I love Croatia! ❤️
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 29 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Pambula Beach NSW Australia
Very good itinerary for walks in Croatia which are not easy to do independently. Excellent guides who looked after us very well and had an excellent knowledge of their country. Acomodation generally good but location in Split not convenient to central city area.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Ann

Cambridge
Damir was an excellent leader.
The walks were pretty good but the half day walk could do with a different route back rather than a road walk.
The 3 day accommodation would have been improved with somewhere to sit outside after the walks. There was a terrace but it was closed apart from mealtimes. The breakfasts at this hotel were also poor.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sylvia

Really enjoyable tour, good walks, excellent scenery and wild flowers.

Good company and a really good leader.

The highlight was the walk in the gorge.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(5 out of 10)

David

Accommodation was good in Zagreb, Plitvice and Stari Grad, disappointing in Split (location only) and Velinka Plana (isolated location, threatening signs in room, vastly overpriced food). It would be fine to request guests to be tidy at the Ranch but a warning of an extra 30 Euros charge if the room was messed up too much was not very friendly, especially as a quantitative penalty is suggested for an ill-defined transgression. I was not alone in mentioning that I ate more red meat in 2 dinners at the Ranch than I would have done in several months at home. The charge of 250 kuna for dinner at the Ranch with no choice was out of line with all my other experience in Croatia. Elsewhere I rarely spent more than half this and always had a choice.

Although I can't be sure of what is possible, we had a very early morning start from Velinka Plana and appeared to almost retrace the route of the previous evening before reaching Zavizan. Surely there must be some suitable accommodation nearer to Zavizan. I doubt Plitvice itself was any further from Zavizan than the Linden Tree Ranch and we could have stayed in Plitvice an extra night and had a longer walk in Plitvice Lakes National Park.

Clearly the lakes are a marvellous location even if somewhat spoiled by being so very busy (not that much can be done about that). The hike on the Premuziceva trail was excellent - and what a contrast to the previous day in quietness. Paklenica Gorge was perhaps not quite up to level of N Velebit but benefitted from a better local guide.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback, specifically, regarding the Linden Tree Ranch. We chose the accommodation originally due to its beautiful location and its ecological credentials, however we do appreciate that the location of this property did lead to slightly longer drives and also to a limited choice for evening meals (which were not included). With this in mind we have changed the accommodation for 2017 to somewhere that is closer to Paklenica and has more options available.

(9 out of 10)

Nigel

Newport (City of Newport)
Walks and Coastal Towns of Croatia:

I joined this trip in September 2016. The number of clients was small (5 plus the leader). The itinerary for me was perfect; a mixture of trekking and visiting Croatia's historic and beautiful cities.

The trip started with a visit to the capital city Zagreb with a local guide. We saw many historic houses and watched the pageantry of the changing of the guard at parliament square. It was a warm pleasant day and the interesting, informative tour and free time to explore further sites and relax in the cafes and restaurants gave a great introduction to Croatia.

The second day was a Tourist walk' along the boardwalks of Plitvice National Park. Unfortunately the heavens opened on this day and we started the walk in torrential rain. The views, despite the weather were stunning; numerous cascades of water flowing down verdant slopes; a series of lakes, waterfalls, greenery and the most striking combination of greens and blues I have ever witnessed. Despite us getting extremely wet the group voted to complete the tour, sharing rain gear and encouraging everyone to persevere. What a place!

The next days' walking was a part of Croatia's long distance path network. It was incredibly scenic and varied, quite undulating. It was a shame we had to rush the walk a little as there were threats of further storms which luckily did not materialise.

The accommodation for 2 nights on the ranch was an awesome experience. There were excellent views from our cabins with the chance to lie in a hammock and take in the great mountain scenery. The food at the ranch was also of a superb quality.

Unfortunately a nasty cold started spreading around the group with myself and Nina the tour leader the first to suffer. I decided to miss the following walk as the cold had gone to my chest but the rest of the group enjoyed it; however 2 others had now caught the cold!

The walk up the gorge to the cave system was short but scenic, watching climbers at various levels of ability on the rock faces above us.

The afternoon's optional excursion to Zadar I would highly recommend. It was a real gem with the sea organ, Roman buildings and its many squares with street cafes amongst the museums and churches.

The visits to Trogir and Split were also superb and I would recommend taking the walk to the hill above Split to the monument for its scenic views over the port and coast. It is also well worth seeing some of the museums and I particularly enjoyed the 3D experience meeting the Roman Emperor Diocletian.

All in all, a superb itinerary, good and varied accommodation, really good food both at the ranch and at Nina's recommended restaurants.

Nina as a guide was a very organised and efficient young lady who did open up to the (much older) clients towards the end of the trip. She persevered running the trip efficiently despite suffering from the nasty cold herself.

The main area for improvement was I would have liked more information about Croatian history, culture, current affairs, wildlife indeed anything Croatian on the coach journeys and after the meals.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 11 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Judith

London
This was our first "package holiday" and a great success. Nina our guide was fantastic and we enjoyed being part of a small friendly group. The mix of cities, towns and fairly remote mountain walking was perfect. We took the opportunity to book another 5 nights on the back of the trip, carrying on by catamaran to Hvar and then to Dubrovnik. A great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jane

London
It was a good mix of history and culture in Zagreb (I recommend the Museum of Naive Art), Trogir and Split, and beautiful scenery and great walks in the national parks. Also lovely to spend a couple of nights just yards from the Adriatic, providing the perfect opportunity for a much welcome swim after a long walk. Food and beer good too. As with all group holidays, it was helped by having a lovely group of people to share the week with - including a sing-song at the ranch - and a great tour leader in Nina, as well as the local guides. Shame the last night's hotel in Split wasn't a bit closer to the centre, though handy I guess for getting to the airport. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016