It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia CO

Visiting: Croatia
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Walks & Coastal Towns Of Croatia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walks & Coastal Towns Of CroatiaScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(5 out of 10)


Accommodation was good in Zagreb, Plitvice and Stari Grad, disappointing in Split (location only) and Velinka Plana (isolated location, threatening signs in room, vastly overpriced food). It would be fine to request guests to be tidy at the Ranch but a warning of an extra 30 Euros charge if the room was messed up too much was not very friendly, especially as a quantitative penalty is suggested for an ill-defined transgression. I was not alone in mentioning that I ate more red meat in 2 dinners at the Ranch than I would have done in several months at home. The charge of 250 kuna for dinner at the Ranch with no choice was out of line with all my other experience in Croatia. Elsewhere I rarely spent more than half this and always had a choice.

Although I can't be sure of what is possible, we had a very early morning start from Velinka Plana and appeared to almost retrace the route of the previous evening before reaching Zavizan. Surely there must be some suitable accommodation nearer to Zavizan. I doubt Plitvice itself was any further from Zavizan than the Linden Tree Ranch and we could have stayed in Plitvice an extra night and had a longer walk in Plitvice Lakes National Park.

Clearly the lakes are a marvellous location even if somewhat spoiled by being so very busy (not that much can be done about that). The hike on the Premuziceva trail was excellent - and what a contrast to the previous day in quietness. Paklenica Gorge was perhaps not quite up to level of N Velebit but benefitted from a better local guide.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


This was our first "package holiday" and a great success. Nina our guide was fantastic and we enjoyed being part of a small friendly group. The mix of cities, towns and fairly remote mountain walking was perfect. We took the opportunity to book another 5 nights on the back of the trip, carrying on by catamaran to Hvar and then to Dubrovnik. A great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


It was a good mix of history and culture in Zagreb (I recommend the Museum of Naive Art), Trogir and Split, and beautiful scenery and great walks in the national parks. Also lovely to spend a couple of nights just yards from the Adriatic, providing the perfect opportunity for a much welcome swim after a long walk. Food and beer good too. As with all group holidays, it was helped by having a lovely group of people to share the week with - including a sing-song at the ranch - and a great tour leader in Nina, as well as the local guides. Shame the last night's hotel in Split wasn't a bit closer to the centre, though handy I guess for getting to the airport. Overall, I would highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Gerrards Cross
We enjoyed the trip and walking in the parks and accept that on trip such as this not everything will be perfect . However, in the spirit of positive feedback, these would be my comments. The time in Zagreb was too long - most museums are shut on Sunday afternoon. Would have preferred to leave earlier and have time to relax at Hotel Plitvic. Also, maybe better to go into Plitvic Park at 8, not 9, as extremely crowded and take a packed lunch - big queue for food and not very exciting. Ranch great but needs more flexibility re supper as no other option and 30 euros per meal is quite expensive for Croatia. Bus journey to Premuziceva trail long- would have been better in a mini bus with more leg room! The walk in Starigrad could have been replaced with the trip to Zadar which our group chose not to go on. The hotel in Split lacked character, in an industrial park and 30 min walk out of town on busy roads. It was disappointing and did impact on the end of our holiday. I would have been happier with a smaller hotel nearer the centre.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(7 out of 10)


The walks were great and I would have liked more walking and less sightseeing - something to remember if I book another Explore trip.
The hotels were of a good standard, with the hotel in Split being the worst in terms of location, rooms and breakfast. The retreat ranch was lovely, though the cost of the food should have been included in the overall trip cost as there was nowhere else to eat and we had to pay for a three course meal if we wanted to eat there. The Starigrad hotel was friendly and in a great location and we enjoyed swimming in the Adriatic.
Plitvice Lakes may have been beautiful but walking in a queue of people for much of the day was not enjoyable! The Premuziceva trail was lovely, with the guide specialising in picking wild raspberries. The guide for the Paklenica walk was much more knowledgeable and it was an interesting walk. We didn't do the walk through coastal villages - not sure why.
Our guide was pleasant and efficient but communication with her was limited. She had excellent English but her reserved character meant that she contributed little to our knowledge of Croatia or the general banter of the group.
Our group of nine adults enjoyed themselves, which is why I have given a higher score for the overall holiday than for its individual components.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


For walkers who enjoy a spot of sightseeing this was the ideal tour. Highlights for us were the Plitvice lakes and waterfalls, and hiking along the Premuziceva Trail and in the National Park. We also appreciated the opportunity to spend some time in Zagreb, Trogir and Split, enjoying Croatian cafe culture, history and architecture. Nina, our guide, was super-efficient and helpful, and we enjoyed her informative talks on Croatian history, geography, language and customs. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2016
Published on: 01 July 2016
(8 out of 10)


Accommodation generally very good. Itinerary quite confusing towards the end of the week. It would have been better one night ranch and then onto the coast to save time travelling. The walk was very near the coast so additional travel not necessary . Hope this is constructive but have to say excellent holiday as had mixture of walking and towns/cities, thoroughly enjoyed it😀😀
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2016
Published on: 26 June 2016
(7 out of 10)


Ripley, Derbyshire
Linden Tree Retreat and Ranch accomodation was disappointing for several reasons and too far a journey to and from the days walking on part of the Premuziceva Trail.
The various guides for the individual walks and cities were excellent.
The planned walks and city tours were wonderful and very varied. We saw some amazing and memorable views and sights.
Our Explore Leader, Nina was a lovely girl, helpful but appeared not to have a thorough knowledge of this tour with respect to timings, accomodation etc.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 06 June 2016
(7 out of 10)


Zagreb: great city of museums... many closed on Sunday! - the day we were there. That said, try museum of broken relationships: fantastic!
Lakes and waterfalls breathtaking. Loved the hotel; very 60s.
Very long drive to the Linden Tree Retreat and Ranch. The Ranch was basic but the owners were very attentive and the food and service excellent. The problem was another 2 hour bus trip in the morning and another 2.5hours in the evening. If you could just get accommodation nearer the the start of the walk it would be far better.
Paklencia was great with excellent walks on the door step. Hotel Vicko very good indeed. Simple accommodation with superb service. Staff really friendly whilst professional.
Trogir was extremely interesting and made the most of the day's travel to Split. Tour of the palace was top class. Nina our guide was superb throughout, very professional, calm and funny. Overall a great trip but with a lot of travelling which was unexpected in something advertised as a walking holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(6 out of 10)


Pleasanton, CA
The accommodations ranged from very satisfactory to unsatisfactory (tiny rooms, no mirror, no internet, shared bathroom when we had no advanced warning, lack of hot water, no window covering in first floor room, no sound proofing, no where to hang wet towels). The price should be increased to cover all meals when there were no alternatives-which was most of the time. The driving times were excessive-especially when we were told they would be shorter. We had done 2 other trips with Explore-and didn't encounter these problems.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016