It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
628 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Dalmatian Island Cruise DC

Visiting: Croatia
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Dalmatian Island Cruise

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Dalmatian Island Cruise trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Dalmatian Island Cruise reviews verified by Reevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Dalmatian Island CruiseScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Bristol
Advance warning - this is a glowing review! This is a wonderful relaxing tour,but still with enough activity so you know you are on an Explore trip.
The boat is lovely; it was attracting admirers whenever we docked. The accommodation is compact yet still comfortable. The crew kept the boat very clean and produced wonderful food.
Our Tour Leader, Damir, was friendly and very knowledgeable.
The scenery is beautiful; the locals mostly speak English and there is no hassle as you walk around.
In summary I would highly recommend this tour; and I would love to see more of Croatia.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 25 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Anne

Corralejo, Spain
Beautiful scenery and so pleasant to be sailing on the Adriatic Sea with frequent stops of activities such as swimming/snorkeling; windsurfing; sea kayaking; and biking. I liked the fact that I could pick and choose my activities, no compulsion to join in - although the activities are included in the price I neither expected nor asked for a refund.
The boat and crew were wonderful - they were highly attentive, great fun, took care of us even after our trip had finished( finding safe storage for our cases and coordinating with our transfers). The food was amazing, such tasty home made soups and fresh fish all lovingly crafted in such a tiny kitchen. Be warned, the main meal of the day is lunch so you'll get three courses!
One wonderful evening was spent after returning to the boat to find the crew singing Croatian folk songs and us joining in with Eagles and Simon& Garfunkel and others.
Highlights in terms of places visited - Korcula, Pucisca, and the wine tasting and light snack.
Damir as tour leader was perfect. He attended to all requests and ideas, retained a sense of humour, answered our questions about the history of the places visited and Croatia in general and is obviously proud of his country without being obsessed by it. He would go and get maps of the places for us before we went off exploring and would often suggest some places to eat when we were dining ashore.
Tips:1. there are few sandy beaches so beach shoes are strongly recommended - especially as there are sea urchins lurking in some of the rocks. 2. There is wifi aboard. 3. ATMs are plentiful at all ports so just use your usual debit or currency cards to obtain Cash. 4. Storage and hanging space is restricted so pack sparsely - many days you'll only be in swimming costumes and T-shirts on deck 5. There are drinking fountains in most ports so take a bottle that you can refill whilst out.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 25 September 2016
(5 out of 10)

Jane

Gloucestershire
Very relaxing, unfortunately we had 2 days of rain and cold, which dampened the mood a bit. One of the staff members was a bit of a challenge, but overall it was a wonderful holiday and opportunity to experience Croatia.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 23 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Southampton
It was a great trip...good company and friendly crew. Plenty of food and great swimming. The scheduled itinerary looks impossibly busy...we had some rain and missed both Hvar and Vis..and the kayaking.. and still had a good trip! I just wish we'd had longer on the cruise.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Joy

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Highlights: just cruising along on the boat, dropping anchor and staying overnight in a bay, cycling inland through the vineyards and visiting Jelse, the crew (captain, sailor and cook), Hvar island overall.

Tips: if you've time to spare at Trogir and you've done everything you want to there, jump into a boat and head round the bay to camp seget. Only 20k each way and you can spend time on the beach there.

See the itinerary provided as more of a sample one and just have faith in the crew to give you a memorable holiday. They're not out to trick their guests, yet understand the weather and conditions. Just relax and enjoy the experience and don't get too hung up on sticking to the schedule. Believe me, you'll love the trip!
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(7 out of 10)

Margaret

Matlock
The boat was characterful and an enjoyable experience. However cabin space and sound insulation [snoring !] are minimal, the latter can be particularly difficult.

It may be worth stressing that weather can affect the itinerary to considerable loss. While one understands that weather conditions will vary, on our trip we lost out on a key island visit. Our guide made some efforts to compensate for this, but I felt he was constrained by Elite travel in substituting alternatives - ie no other kayaking venue could be used and no attempt was made to reach Vis later. I wondered why the itinerary could not have just been reversed. I sensed a certain weariness of organization at the end of the week, the last days seemed to lack any particular focus or interest.
That said, it was enjoyable overall.

One small but irritating point: it would be helpful to have a notice or person on the quayside at Trogir on the arrival day if the boat is stacked behind several other craft and thus out of sight. We waited for 2 hours wondering if anyone from Explore was around and where the boat was !
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015

We’re glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday in Croatia, but we’re sorry to hear that the weather conditions meant that you missed one of your island visits. We note on our Trip Notes that while our intention is always to adhere to the day-to-day route printed, a degree of flexibility is needed. Overnight stops and even islands visited, may vary due to weather, sea conditions and the availability of mooring space in harbours. We have however changed the route for this trip for 2016 to try and limit the impact the sea conditions and weather have, and in order to maximise our chances of being able to stick to the advertised itinerary, and for all sights and activities to take place as planned.

(7 out of 10)

Lindsey

Woking
The islands are gorgeous so relaxed and uncrowded. The crew and their food on the boat are great. I liked eating off the boat in the evenings which otherwise could mean you'd come back the size of a small house! (The onboard lunches are huge!). Loved the cycling on Hvar and the whole relaxing vibe of the trip. Our group was great which was a huge plus. Not particularly culturally stimulating but with a real shortage of relaxing holidays that single people can take alone, this was perfect for me. Only downside is the births have the floor space of a loo (which for 2 is cosy) and getting on and off is a nightmare unless you follow the pack light advice and what girl does?
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 18 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Stopping off on various islands.Martina was a delightful leader and always happy to help in every way.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015