It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cuba Libre! CL

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Cuba Libre!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cuba Libre! trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cuba Libre! reviews verified by Reevoo

102 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cuba Libre!Scores 8.4 out of 10 based on 102 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Adrian

An excellent two week tour of Cuba, seeing both the more tourist sites as well as some of the hidden gems. Explore was superb in the planning of the trip, and were very helpful in booking our flights.

Hotel accommodation was rather good for the most part, though the two locations used for camping, are, in my opinion currently unfit for purpose. The supplied tents had broken zips and were no longer waterproof, a major issue in the rainy season. Additionally the wash room facilities at both campsites would struggle to cope with larger groups. At one location, only one gent toilet was working (apparently has been for over a year) and that had no running water.

The trip was varied and interesting, though I felt, compared to other Explore guides, that the Tour Guide used the itinerary as a rule book, and rarely added extra information compared to other Explore guides that I have experienced.
Confirmed traveller: 02 August 2016
Published on: 12 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Dunfermline
The whole tour gave us a good view of the whole of Cuba as it currently is before the trade embargoes are removed soon. The whole tour was excellent with our Tour Leader (Osmin) being great and with an amazing amount of knowledge he passed on to us and so I can not really point out anyone highlight over any other.
Tips would be to ensure that you have lightweight mosquito proof clothing for the camping as no ones insect repellant seemed to keep them away.
Also stock up on water from the cheaper places as this can end up costing quite a bit if having to keep buying from the hotels or restaurants
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Neve

Buckinghamshire
I had a great time on tour in Cuba (my first explore trip), the variety of experiences and accommodation really gives you the opportunity see many parts of Cuba and life of the Cuban people. The highlight of my trip was hiking through the Cuban mountain side staying at the Hacienda's (although one did seem to have an extrodinary number of mosquitos). We took up many oppourtunites to enjoy Cuban night life and practice our salsa dancing! I also took advantage of the snorkelling and enjoyed it greatly/

Our Tour leader Osmin was very passionate in his explaninations of life in cuba and extensive knowledge of its history, and enthusiastic in insuring we all had a great trip.

Accomodation was good throughout, Casa Particulars were great offering a B&B type service, Hotels were all of a good standard. Food is very limited and moast places offer the same foods though some are more inventive, if you want to spice up your meals then bring your own condiments eg tabasco .

Tipping is a very big part of life in Cuba, and expected for pretty much everything including the use of toliets and bands so ensure you grab and try and keep hold of some change.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeffery

Swanscombe
Genuine, knowledgeable, sincere tour guide. Improved my experience of discovering and learning about Cuba. In other locations, local tour guides should work in conjunction with excellent Explore guides who know how to present the countries they represent.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 02 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Dee

tring
A great trip if you want variety...walking in the jungle, camping, siteseeing in cities and swimming in the Caribbean, this trip has it all. You need to be physically fit for the trip as the walks are not just strolls. Highly recommend
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 02 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Kent
A really good trip - good balance of culture, exercise and relaxing. Trip notes say bring a filter bottle - not necessary, bottled water is easy to get and you will need at least 1L a day. A microfibre travel towel is a must for all the swimming opportunities and the nights at the haciendas. When the trip notes say the tour ends after breakfast it sounds like then it will be straight to the airport, but actually there is at least a half day left for more of Havana. Last Friday we had a better itinerary than the trip notes - Cueva del Indio and the walk in Vinales, lunch and then back to Havana; a second walk in Vinales would be very samey and would mean the last meal in Havana would be very late without a chance to relax/shop first. Wouldn't recommend Los Caneyes hotel in Santa Clara because of the caged animals. Osmin Gonzalez Rodriguez was a most caring and fun tour leader and loved sharing his country with us. June is very hot and humid with fabulous thunderstorms.
Confirmed traveller: 25 June 2016
Published on: 04 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Cambridge
A fantastic tour leader more than made up for the fact only two people were on the tour. Highlights were numerous and a wealth of information was given about Cuba's incredible history. Trinidad was exceptional as was Santiego, Santa Clara, Fidel's mountain camp and much
more.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Mark

London
A great trip. A perfect combination of history, culture, cities, mountains, beaches and people. Cuba is a beautiful country with an amazing sense of life. There is music everywhere and plenty of rum to go with it!
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gerald

Hampshire
The tour was good with plenty of variety and busy. As the title suggests independence and the revolution was given a fair amount of time and future customers should appreciate this point although there was time for other activities such as walking in the mountains and swimming. Downside were the flights which were average and two long coach days when over 1000km were covered.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 12 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Bracknell
The overall holiday was excellent with a good mixture of activities and locations. Some of the accommodation was a little basic but were in line with our expectations and all were clean. Some of the walks were more difficult then expected as there were quite steep uphill and very long downhill elements. If you like spicy food I suggest that you take some Tabasco with you as most is fairly bland and most times you are lucky to have pepper on the table. We particularly enjoyed the days in the mountains walking and visiting Castro's hideout. Ernesto our leader was very good and explained things clearly. Although we were told which days we could change money, many of the hotels also provide this service if asked and actually have money available. ATMs are not particularly reliable as proved in the airport when all 4 were out of action. Contrary to advice before we left from a number of sources, some banks will exchange US Dollars, although not sure whether the rates are any more competitive than Sterling or Euros.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 13 May 2016