It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Burma In Depth BUI

Visiting: Burma
Trip Duration 21 Days
 

Reviews for Burma In Depth

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Burma In Depth trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Burma In Depth reviews verified by reevooReevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Burma In DepthScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Nigel

Exeter
A well-organised and busy itinerary which encompassed all of Burma's highlights. Our tour leader was exceptional in her planning, timing and coordination of transport and activities and her efficiency made this a truly memorable trip. I would recommend this trip to others but you have to enjoy continually being on the go as there is a lot to see and do
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Janine

London
I'm glad I chose the 3 week tour as,along with the main destinations, we went to some interesting, less touristy places. I was highly impressed by our tour leader, Koko; his depth of knowledge and passion for Myanmar really made the trip.

Tip: dollars are not required (except for the tip kitty?) as there are many ATMs available in most places visited.
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Keith

Horley
I'm glad I booked the 3 week trip over the 2 week trips Explore run in Burma as it felt less rushed even though it was full on.
The highlights of the trip were, the overnight visit to Golden Rock, the ferry and tour of Ogre Island in an old truck and the optional visit to the Burma end of the Burma/Thailand railway and the CWG cemetery.
The tour off Bagan and the sunset view across the plain from atop a crowded viewing point.
The train ride from Mandalay to the Gokteik Viaduct and return to Pyin Oo Lwin, the whole of the group decided to do this even though we had to leave the tour until we met up with our group leader at Pyin Oo Lwin.
Three days at Lake Inle, especially the optional 3rd day boat trip to the far end of the lake.
On returning to Yangon the very cheep local train 3 1/2 hour circle line ride.
Some visits to stupas temples and monasteries and reclining Buddha's of which the most interesting were the ones in ruins and the ones not caked in gold, you can can take only so much bling but its par for the corse when in this part of the world.
The transport was comfortable.
On the whole the hotel rooms were good but some of the bathrooms let them down.
The Hotel Marvel had the best bathrooms and I had inside and outside rooms on my
visits and I didn't find it to noisy, the Green Haven Hotel had the worst bathroom but the the most comfortable bed on the trip and had lots of character.
Our tour leader Jue was less hands on and in the evenings and the group tended to split up into smaller groups for dinner, some of the other Explore groups we met seemed to be more regimented, Jue was a good guide and could speak English but I think French was her first foreign language and some times there were misunderstandings especially if there was a lot of information to impart.
I was looking for a trip to Burma and I think this this ticked most of the boxes but its a pitty the rail journey has been dropped due to government advice.
Keith Woodford
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 11 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Fleetwood
Very enjoyable trip. Our guide Zar Zar was exceptional: could not fault her for her dedication, knowledge, enthusiasm and care. Long days and early starts but impossible to see as much as we did without this. Highlights for me were Maymyo, scenery and trekking at Kalow, boat trips at Inle Lake and much more besides.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sheila

Hampshire
Everything was fantastic, our tour leader was great. She did a brilliant job. The last three hotels were a bit of a let down especially Mr Charles Guest House and the last one which was over run with mosquitos.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Albrighton,
I have already given a review to this tour in response to an earlier email.
Tour is busy, any one interested in slow starts should give tour a miss, otherwise enjoy the experience, also if you do not want to visit too many temples. Tour guide very knowledgeable and informative, my only comment was that I had difficulty understanding her at times.
Burma is till a very under developed country (must be one of the last in the world) the people all smile and say hello, definitely a place to visit before it becomes developed. A highlight was stopping along the road to be invited into a village house where a wedding was taking place, having our photos taken with the bride and groom, we could have joined the wedding party for a meal, when we left, the wedding party came out on the balcony to wave us off. If you are unsure of tour because food will be too spicy, Myanmar curries are not hot or spicy if anything rather bland cheap and plentiful, no problems with eating at Hawker stalls. Spent less in three weeks in Myanmar than one week in stay over in Singapore during return. We used a variety of transport, flights, coaches, trucks, small craft, taxis, trains, they were always waiting for us no problems with having to wait, my only complaint, would be the 7 hour stopover at Singapore airport on the way out due to flight allocated, meant I arrived as briefing for tour had started.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Carolyn

Cambridge
The whole tour was most enjoyable and fast paced. Our tour leader was exceptional and insisted that we see all that Burma has to offer! Lots of highlights but I enjoyed the rural aspects and the trips on various forms of transport - buses, trains, various boats, planes, trucks, tuk tuks, horse and cart as well as finding the local people a delight. The tips in the trip notes were useful but we didn't need walking boots in Feb. Lots of variety planned into this tour but perhaps a couple too many pagoda trips at the end of the three weeks and be prepared for climbing endless steps in bare feet!
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 10 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jane

High Wycombe
Very well organised, well looked after and each day a full experience with a good itinerary. Group travel through a country which has gone through so many upheavals enabled us to experience many of the accessible areas of Myanmar which would have been very hard work independently.
The tourist industry is in its infancy and this added to our enjoyable experience, being met with smiles, graciousness and consideration. The trip provided an enlightening and thought provoking experience.
Highlights- Moulmein and an island visit, Golden Rock, Bagan, lake Inle. Myanmar is changing so best to go sooner rather than later.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 19 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Allan

Stroud UK
Balloons Over Bagan option was the definite best part followed by Lake Inle
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 03 March 2016