It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Cuba! CCC

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Cycle Cuba!

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Cuba! tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Cuba! reviews verified by Reevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle Cuba!Scores 8.9 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Bristol
Highlights were the Vinales valley, visit to the island and beaches and the last few days of cycling. The varied itinerary of the trip to include beaches, swimming and cultural tours and places of interest was great. The relaxed laid back pace was good, although it would have been good to be more efficient about getting ready to set off sometimes. It often seemed that that we ended up starting off late and cycling during the hottest part of the day. It would have been good to be a bit more organised to make better use of time while it was cooler. The bikes were good and the team leading the tour were excellent. My advice to other passengers would be to take plenty of cash - working ATMs were few and far between. And don't fly with Iberia! We were without our luggage for 5 days after the airline failed to load our bags onto our connecting flight to Havana. Sorting this out took up a lot of time and expense. Our tour leader did his best to help with this but of course it wasn't a priority for him. In the end we had to miss out on a day of the tour to travel halfway across the country to Havana airport to collect the bags ourselves as the airline kept failing to deliver them. Although the lost luggage was nothing to do with Explore, this situation caused an inconvenience for everyone, and rather spoiled our enjoyment of the first half of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 19 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Avril

Huddersfield
Cuba is a place for real life, not for luxury. Loved the cycling and the itinerary means that you get up close and personal to real Cuban life, with rustic farm stop offs for lunch when cycling all day, and home stay accommodation. The accommodation was actually the best here in my opinion. Be prepared to remedy/ repair the plumbing. A really colourful country and in the main friendly. However the tide is beginning to turn and so there is also increased awareness / business sense, which at times feels a bit sharp and like you are being taken advantage of. However , we as visitors, clearly have much more than any of the locals. Lots of lovely fruit, fish etc. just felt that as meals not included, there could have been a little more lee way to go it alone if you wanted to. As tourism increased as everyone want to visit Cuba before it changes, there is pressure in out of the way places, however think in the towns you could go it alone successfully. Loved the photo opportunities, the famous cars, the rustic transport and farming options, and the music and dance.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 06 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Richard

Hinxton (nr Saffron Walden) UK
Staying with families in the casas particulares (private homes).
Seeing both the big city (Havana) as well as hinterland towns (Vinales, Trinidad) and a varied countryside, from agricultural to dense forest/jungle to mountains to rock formations/caves. (The 1940s-1950s autos in Havana, the colonial architecture in Havana and Trinidad, and horses/buggies everywhere were particularly interesting.)
Great local music.

Bring lots of cash -- ATMs are unreliable as to availability and operability. Credit cards are generally not accepted. Be prepared for queues when changing money at banks that do so. In terms of out-of-pocket expenses, lunches (typically ~ CUC 8-10) and dinners (CUC 10-14, without drinks) tend to be large -- one or the other (but not both) was usually sufficient for any given day. Drinks (beer ~ CUC 2, cocktails ~ CUC 3-4) are relatively inexpensive. (1 CUC is roughly equivalent to USD 1).
Lost luggage handling by their airline (Iberia) was awful for two couples in our group. Pack accordingly.
Take a crash course in conversational Spanish. This will be invaluable when staying in the casas particulares, as there is not much English spoken (or any other language other than Spanish, for that matter).

Be prepared for some inconvenience in lodgings (e.g., possible lukewarm bathroom water, etc.)

Cycling was relatively tame, with several notable exceptions (particularly the optional long and difficult climb to Todes de Collantes).

Leadership was superb.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alison

It was all excellent though there were some safety issues. If you are a vegetarian - take your own food!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 05 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The simple answer is there are no low points to this trip. It keeps on building, Carlos was our local guide who was exceptional on all levels. He made us all feel like friends rather than clients. He was so interesting to talk to and listen to his vast wealth of knowledge and great jokes! Super command of English humour! Cycling every day had its challenges and Cuban flats but we all coped really well. Carlos made it for us- kept the group together and always a smile and a laugh. He has exceptional advanced English (he used to be an English teacher) he is so interesting to listen to - he doesnt just spout dates and facts he makes it come alive. We all shed a tear when we had to say good-bye he made us feel like old friends.
Confirmed traveller: 21 February 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Richard

Surrey
The vibrancy of the experience was extraordinary and assaulted every sense (apart from possibly taste buds:)).

It cost a bit more in ready cash to eat than expected, but changing £ to CUC at Cadecas was pain free.

Almost no English is spoken, well worth getting some basic Spanish going before travelling.

Try and avoid the inside of Cuban hospitals, they are basic and lacking in supplies.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Caroline

Milton Keynes
All in all an excellent holiday. Don't expect 5 star accommodation and delicious cuisine - that's not what this holiday is about. But do expect fantastic scenery, an onslaught of sights and sounds (lots of music and rum!), very sweaty cycling and getting to experience the real Cuba. There is a good balance between cycling and time for sight seeing and time in the country, at the beach and in cities. We had three staff with the group of 12 - a guide, a bike mechanic and the coach driver so there is a good level of support. I would certainly recommend this trip to others (best if you have some moderate cycling experience). It is an adventure holiday and not risk free (there were two hospitalisations on our trip) so make sure you have good holiday insurance.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

David

Stirling
A fantastic group of people (both the fellow tourists and the guide/mechanic/driver). Vinales and Trinidad were the highlights for me.

Tips: plenty of suncream and a packet of imodium!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Amazing experience in an amazing country with a great group of people. Fabulous lunches in farmhouses, great cycling, immense knowledge and care from leader and guideOne of the best leaders we have travelled with. Chris had a great manner with the group. He was super efficient, had a great rapport with our guide and driver, and organised everything with care and attention to detail. Whenever there was any problem to solve he took control and dealt with the issue efficiently and calmly. We were very impressed with his experience of leading groups at such a young age. Although Chris was the leader of the group, he was very much one of the group, and we enjoyed his company throughout the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Remember this is Cuba: showers may be cold, roads may be potholed and chicken may be off the menu, but take it in your stride and Cuba will be one of the most refreshing countries in the world to visit.
Confirmed traveller: 07 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015