It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
651 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Cuba! CCC

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for Cycle Cuba!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Cuba! trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Cycle Cuba! reviews verified by reevooReevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle Cuba!Scores 8.8 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Leigh on Sea
I felt the whole trip was a fantastic experience and had a brilliant time. I enjoyed the experience of having meals with the locals, the caves at Vinales, Che Guevera's cave. There were so many highlights of the trip. I do feel though it was an expensive holiday for the places we were staying. Many places had brackets hanging off the wall, showers not working etc.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


East Horsley
Good tour and Brian our leader was fantastic.
Some of the accommodation was very poor and one Casa we had to leave it was so awful, I nearly boiled alive during the night, no ventilation and noisy, ineffective air conditioning.
Great bikes and some good routes.
Some of the meals were disappointing, expensive and very touristy, would have been better to have more choice. We didn't need a massive meal at lunchtime.
Cuban guide was good but maybe a little jaded, he never chatted with anyone when we were cycling, he had his music plugged in and was miles ahead of us all.
Again, we couldn't fault Brian in any way, best ever apart from Nic in Burma.
Off with you to Kerala at Christmas so hoping for another great leader.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(7 out of 10)


Brian was a smashing Team Leader and we really enjoyed the effort he put into looking after the group and ensuring we had the best time. The accommodation was a bit hit and miss - we were of the opinion that for the cost of the holiday more effort could be made by Explore to up-grade some of the hotels that we used.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


Dunfermline, Fife
Great holiday mainly due to excellent leader, guide and driver, (Isi, Manuel, Carlos) and a great bunch of fellow travellers. Be prepared to step back in time, though. Very little availability of ATM machines, wi-fi and hot water!

Cycling - distances were just about right for the holiday level but the Cuban hills can be taxing (although there is always the option of jumping on the bus!) Baggy cotton t-shirts are better for cycling in 30 degrees heat rather than standard British cycling gear which is really too warm.

Food in Cuba is not wonderful but the lunches provided in local homestays/farms were often the highlight of the day. Breakfasts were good with eggs on offer most mornings but snack/muesli bars came in handy mid-morning.

Tips - take plenty of cash (GBP's not $'s) and convert as much as you can if and when you manage to queue at an official currency exchange office. Buy an internet card (only way to occasionally get access to the www) at the first hotel you stay in as the queues at the internet offices in the towns are huge. Take a hairdryer, a travel towel, your own snorkelling gear, mosquito milk, a bar of soap for hand washing (no soap in most of the rooms in the casa particulares) and a large packet of baby wipes if you can't bear to have a cold shower! A sleeping bag liner came in handy when there were no blankets/proper sheets on the bed.

#1 tip - switch to "Cuban time" when you get there and chill. Cuba has hardly moved on since the Revolution in the 1950's and it can be frustrating. But once you have accepted that you have lost contact with the outside world and chill with several mojitos, warm to the people, enjoy the fabulous music, dance "like no-one's watching you" and enjoy the beautiful scenery, you will have a fabulous holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


Cycling in Cuba is great fun and a wonderful way to see the countryside and get an insight into this fascinating country. The Explore itinerary is excellent giving you a taste of a number of different areas and the guides excellent.
Unfortunately, tourism in Cuba has grown much faster than the infrastructure which means that, at times, the accommodation can be underwhelming. But, hey, the people, music and mojitos are all wonderful!
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 08 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


I absolutely loved this trip. I guess that is largely down to being really fortunate to share it with such a great group of people and an experienced, professional and friendly tour leader. I particularly enjoyed the Casa Particulares in Vinales and the whole stay there. I think the Casas work well there. Elsewhere less so. I know that the tour leader had problems finding accommodation for us at times given the problems in Cuba and it was very upsetting in Santa Clara for some, being driven around looking for somewhere. I spent more than I anticipated due to the shared meals at lunchtime and no real choice to opt out to eat and spend less. Our Cuban guide always made arrangements to ensure the vegetarians were catered for. For me, not being a regular cyclist, it was probably just enough cycling, maybe a bit more would have fitted well, but it was nice to have plenty of down time to relax and socialise and not have to be up super early in the morning. The team worked really hard getting the bikes on and off the bus and I was very pleased with my bike. I managed to squeeze in some horseriding (cycle helmet came in handy) and snorkelling, but the kit we hired at the beach was very poor quality and spoilt the experience to some degree.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(10 out of 10)


I really enjoyed this holiday. The cycling was great and the bikes were excellent. I felt some days we could have managed longer cycle rides though.
Our Tour Guides Victor and Raymondo were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and they were full of knowledge on Cuban life and both had lovely vibrant personalities.
Our stays in Vinnales and Trinidad with local families was a wonderful experience.
I would recommend taking your own gel saddle cover and snack bars for the longer days.
The food was more expensive than I had thought so you would need to budget for £20 - £25 per day on lunches and evening meals.
we had at least 3 opportunities to swim in the Caribbean which was fabulous and the weather was superb the whole time.
Havana was very busy but terrific. I would definitely recommend taking a taxi ride in one of the fabulous old cars. We had a ride in a pink Cadillac and it was a wonderful experience.
This was my first cycling holiday and I will definitely recommend it and will book more in the future. It was great having a back up coach and again our driver Carlos was great. He worked so hard loading and off loading the bikes and equipment the whole time. A great Tour Team to be on holiday with. Excellent Trip.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016
(9 out of 10)


Well designed and organised tour. Tour leader Victor and local assistant Raymondo were both excellent. You need to be a reasonably experienced cyclist as some of the roads are very rough, and tricky on downhill descents.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This ranged from a city hotel to resort bungalows and casas particulars.
Once you realised this is Cuba, it was possible to appreciate the positives in them all: the Hotel Plaza in Havana and the Casas Particulares in Trinidad and Vinales were situated at the heart of the action; the Villa Soroa and the Hotel Rancho La Luna had their beautiful locations; and the Mirador Hotel and Hotel Los Caneyes were welcome stopping points after a long day's cycle.
Standards seem to vary greatly from room to room at the Plaza and some of the Casa Particulares were better than others. The resort hotels were comfortable and had good facilities: pools, restaurants, etc

We ate very well. The recommended restaurants served a limited range but it was generally wholesome and cheap. The breakfasts were ample buffets in the hotels and resorts and our midday stops were generally the highlight of the day with a fantastic spread created in an unlikely out-of-the-way spot.

Cycling tour:
We covered from 15 to 40 miles a day. The roads were bumpy and pot-holed in places and there were plenty of undulations! Given the temperatures were around 30C and there was a nagging wind, some days were pretty testing even for an experienced cyclist. But there was always an option to climb in the bus for a rest or to miss out the hills all together if you wished.

Cuban hospitality:
This was an opportunity to meet real people away from the tourist hubs and resorts. Our Cuban guide, Jamie and driver, Alexis helped explain the culture and history of the island by showing us how their society works today. We visited museums, farms, historic sites and monuments. By staying in Casa Particulares we also had an in-site into domestic life and the challenges the people face everyday. Our rides in the countryside were such a joy as everyone was friendly and waved to us from the roadside.

Music and Dance:
We learnt the basic Salsa steps and had plenty of opportunities to practice in every town we visited. Bands were playing day and night in Havana, Vinales and Trinidad so music became part of the tour for us. A few Cuba Libras helped us to loosen up too!

If you like to take photographs the scenery was stunning. There were the mountains around Vinales, the streets scenes in Trinidad and Havana and the beautiful coastal regions. Blessed with good weather we also had the lovely light of sunrise and sunset to bookend the day.

There were a couple of optional day excursions on the itinerary. The trip to Cayo Levisa was an opportunity to enjoy snorkeling off a reef or lay in the sun on a white-sand beach. There was also a trip from Trinidad to the beach which you could reach by bike. The best option for us was the bike tour of Havana which took you around the city in a few hours.

Explore staff and organization:
We were very impressed by the staff and organization of the tour. Cuba is a developing nation which has some severe problems due to it's communist structure and economic woes. Even so we felt the tour was wonderful in giving us the chance to experience so much in that fortnight. Personally I would have preferred to have less of the political history of the Revolution.
Really good leader. Speaks English very well and has a great rapport with the clients. Handled the stresses of organising and conducting the tour with good humour. Worked really hard all day on the bike and marshalling group in the evening. Excellent. Cuba can be a frustrating experience if you expect it to be like home. Nothing is as it seems so you should come prepared for a culture shock. I'd advise you read up on the history and be open minded about the politics. Turn off your phone and change plenty of money on Day 1. Bring your own face mask and snorkel and leave room in your bags for cigars, coffee, rum and paintings.
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)


Highlights were the Vinales valley, visit to the island and beaches and the last few days of cycling. The varied itinerary of the trip to include beaches, swimming and cultural tours and places of interest was great. The relaxed laid back pace was good, although it would have been good to be more efficient about getting ready to set off sometimes. It often seemed that that we ended up starting off late and cycling during the hottest part of the day. It would have been good to be a bit more organised to make better use of time while it was cooler. The bikes were good and the team leading the tour were excellent. My advice to other passengers would be to take plenty of cash - working ATMs were few and far between. And don't fly with Iberia! We were without our luggage for 5 days after the airline failed to load our bags onto our connecting flight to Havana. Sorting this out took up a lot of time and expense. Our tour leader did his best to help with this but of course it wasn't a priority for him. In the end we had to miss out on a day of the tour to travel halfway across the country to Havana airport to collect the bags ourselves as the airline kept failing to deliver them. Although the lost luggage was nothing to do with Explore, this situation caused an inconvenience for everyone, and rather spoiled our enjoyment of the first half of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 19 January 2016