It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
518 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Cuba! CCC

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Cycle Cuba! 5 out of 5 based on 13 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Cuba! tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Pamela Flaherty, 22/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Amazing experience in an amazing country with a great group of people. Fabulous lunches in farmhouses, great cycling, immense knowledge and care from leader and guide

Read more
 
4.5 Caroline H, 11/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The highlights for me were the music and dancing. There was one night in particular when we went into a bar in Trinidad, and two men were just sitting with their drinks, singing and paying guitar. Their voices soared, it was so good that tears ran down my face, very moving and magical. The cycling was great too, just the right level for me. I enjoyed stopping at the farmhouses for lunch, the atmosphere and the fresh food. I enjoyed the group too, we got on well, and Jaime, Giermo and Fernando were fantastic.

Read more
 
4.5 Michael Heeley, 31/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

My wife and I feel that this trip exceeded our expectations. Our highlights included cycling along quiet roads and being greeted by smiling children. Everyone you passed replied to one's Ola. Staying in the Casa Particulares was special.

 

Read more
 
5 Katie Gowing, 28/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was wonderful. It was my first holiday both on my own and with Explore, and it was one of my best holidays. I would highly recommend it. It was a very well organised tour with a good balance of cycling and relaxing. A couple of my memorable moments include getting tipsy on mojitos on the bus on the way to Cienfuegos, partying in Trinidad and cycling up Topes de Collantes.

Read more
 
5 Rebecca, 07/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cycling from Topes de Collantes through beautiful scenery to one of the best lunch stops ever!

Read more
 
5 Cathy Barton, 24/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

My First Cycle Trip ever... The Cuban people are amazing and the diverse coutryside you cycle through is beautiful. The cycling is challenging but so enjoyable. The group got on extremely well and I made some good friends. We stopped off in the Local's Casa's for lunch, the food we had was delicious. A fantastic way to see & explore Cuba.

Read more
 
5 Kate Thomas, 21/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The simple answer is there are no low points to this trip. It keeps on building, Carlos was our local guide who was exceptional on all levels. He made us all feel like friends rather than clients. He was so interesting to talk to and listen to his vast wealth of knowledge and great jokes! Super command of English humour! Cycling every day had its challenges and Cuban flats but we all coped really well.

Read more
 
5 , 15/09/13

Name

Louise Hosmer

Tour Name

Cycle Cuba

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Too many to mention-the Cuban people whose generosity and kindness left me humbled and ashamed of our greedy western ways, the breath-taking scenery, challenging cycle routes,cycling through villages where children come out to wave and spur you on, eating a meal prepared by local farmers worthy of a 5 * Mitchel in rating, the Mojitos, the dancing and the sheer belly laughs enjoyed between the group...I could go on and on as it was a new adventure every day..The best thing I have ever done-literally

Tour Leader Name

Tobias

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Tobias was excellent despite this being his first Explore and didn't even mind us taking the mickey out of him now and again!Jaime our Cuban guide was lovely and shared his knowledge of his beautiful country with us at every opportunity-enriching our experience. Our driver was brilliant too-a real cool dude! and never complained of our constant need for water top ups-nothing was ever a chore and together they made a great team.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't be put off initially if the group is not what you expect-I felt I would have nothing in common with any of the people I met on the welcome day-we were such a diverse bunch. However this is what made it all the more enriching as we were all so different but we all bonded during the course of the 2 weeks and I made surprising friendships and shared the best laughs I've ever had. The oldest guy had his 70th birthday when we were there and he was one of the best cyclists there- so do not make assumptions!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Go!-go NOW before everything changes-and it will (and not for the better I fear) The cycling can be at times challenging-novice cyclists would struggle but there is always the option of going on the "bus of shame"..! For those more proficient cyclists there are options within this tour to really challenge even the fittest!

 
5 Tom, 13/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Many - the scenery, the feeling of how Cuba is well-designed for cycling, the well-deserved end of ride beers, the live music, dancing and cocktails, and the beach time during the UK spring!

Read more
 
5 Tom Broughton, 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Oh yes. The most memorable event. It occurs when your tour leader apologies as the sea front hotel cabaret is fully booked! As a consolation we'll just have to go to a downtown bar, eat the set meal (lobster) and the Buena Vista Social club will play a 2 hour set running through the music of their album with Ry Cooder -  Hard to bear really
My thanks to the entire team (including the other group members) for making it such a great holiday."It might have been the cooked whole pig for lunch on the way down from Tropes De Collantes, Or then maybe the first night meal with Issy the tour leader at a Catalan restaurant in Havana. Could have been the swim in the river at Las Terrazas or the swim in the Soroa Hotel pool when we got back; or the music and dancing in Trinidad bars. The hotel, caves and cigar rolling expert at Vinales might get the prize (look out for the souvenir carvings of birds at the caves - this is the only place in Cuba to find them and they are remarkable). There's always Che's eastern command centre and views and landscapes as breathtaking as they are geologically interesting but its none of these!  

Read more
 
0 RIH, 28/02/11
Best trip ever.  Well organised, well planned, well enjoyed.  I would do it all again. (CCC - 3rd January 2011)
 
0 Margaret Pell, 11/02/11
This was a much enjoyed trip in a fabulous and interesting culture. I had been nervous about my level of fitness for the cycling but infact was very average and comfortable with my performance. Padded underwear and my own saddle helped with the comfort stakes. Food while simple and lacking variety was excellent. My only explore trip without tummy upset! (CCC - 9th January 2011)
 
0 Stuart W. Harling, 31/12/10
Having been on four previous EXPLORE cycling tours, I can confirm this was the one where the group, the guides, the cycling, the country and people all gelled !! I have enjoyed all the previous trips immensely but this was exceptional. The highlight was the many contacts with Cubans through meals enjoyed with local farmers. The two guides really understood the needs and interests of cyclists and made the trip exceptional: Stefan was wonderful in keeping everyone content and involved: Manuel gave us fascinating insights into the Cuban way of life. The party got on extremely well and many friendships were made which will last for a long time. We all felt we had learned much, enjoyed many new experiences and benefitted from the tour into a country so different from our own. I would unreservedly recommend the tour to anyone with an interest in cycling and a joy for new experiences. (CCC - 14th November 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA