It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
534 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Cycle Burma 5 out of 5 based on 12 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Burma tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 William H, 20/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was my first explore tour and I was very impressed. So much so that I just booked another trip for later in the year. The explore tour guide and the support tam were great. The tour guide was very thoughtful, helpful and just a great personality. Because of him we truly enjoyed every day of the trip.

Read more
 
5 Annemarie Harry, 22/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The whole cycle Burma experience was a fabulous way to discover the country and see every aspect of the life there. It was made especially enjoyable by Nicholas our tor guide. Ever day was an adventure and the cycling was very well organised.

Read more
 
5 Jon Hill, 12/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The highlight of this trip is undoubtedly meeting the local people whilst cycling through rural areas. This is what made it so much better than just a cycle round the temples, which in itself would be good.

Read more
 
4.5 Caroline Hull, 12/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Bagan

Read more
 
4.5 David Lowden, 15/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Meeting the people in country villages, especially the children.

Read more
 
5 Linda, 15/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

One of the most memorable moments was on Day 2, while we were visiting a pagoda, when a monk whipped out his smartphone and asked to take a photo of me! This turned out to be a regular occurance, especially when away from the tourist hotspots, with the locals being as curious of us as we were of them and their way of life. And I'll never forget the noise from the kids at some of the schools when they realised there was a group of foreigners cycling by. Often by the time the last of our group was going past, a large group of children had gathered to watch and wave.

Read more
 
5 Alix Kroeger, 23/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The villages we visited and the people we met - including the pint-sized nuns and monks at a monastery school near Mandalay who surprised us by singing Frere Jacques. The woman in a remote village who made us chick pea fritters after a hard day's pedalling. The people, especially children, who shouted greetings and smiled from the side of the road.

Read more
 
4.5 Carol Grant, 25/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The highlight for me was cycling the village roads alongside the Irrewaddy River and being invited into a village home to see local children prepare for their ceremony to become monks. Spontaneous and warm and a chance to see the real Burma away from the tourist hotspots.

Read more
 
4.5 , 02/01/14

Name

Mike Humphreys

Tour Name

Cycle Burma

Tour Code

CBUR 24 Nov 2013

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Honestly too many to mention - Inle lake, the park in Kelaw, Mandalay, Bagan. All backed up by very enjoyable cycling.

Tour Leader Name

San Yu

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very well organised and led the tour and back up team very effectively.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Maximise your enjoyment by making sure you get cycling fit for the holiday.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The bikes were excellent in good condition and well maintained. Plus the back up crew first class, very friendly and always available at the stops with water and snacks). With prompt attention to any punctures and a bus following if anyone needed a break from the days cycling.

 
5 Richard, 11/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many memorable moments on this tour, it's difficult to select a favourite. The warm and friendly welcomes we received all through the tour will stay with me always. The children waving and "high fiving" us as we cycled through villages and towns made you feel very special.

Read more
 
5 Stuart Hope, 11/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The reaction of villagers who had clearly not encountered many tourists before. When we stopped in some villages locals would form a group to stare at us (out of  curiosity rather than hostility).  In another village, we encountered a party to mark some children's passing into a monastery/nunnery.  We were invited to join in and were the centre of attention.  The Burmese people are incredibly welcoming.  

Read more
 
5 Paul , 27/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was a continuous highlight from the awesome Shwedagon Temple in Yangon on the first day, to sharing life in the raw in rural Burma at the many local tea stops, to the incredible spectacle of sunrise over the temples at Bagan. impossible to do this tour justice in just a few words, all i can say is just do it.

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA