It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Jordan CJP

Visiting: Jordan
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle Jordan

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Jordan trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Jordan reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle JordanScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(9 out of 10)

David

Guildford
Highlights were Petra and Little Petra but every day was good. The last day our leader took us to the Citadel in Amman which was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ruth

Rugby
The highlight has definitely got to be Petra. I was amazed at how large an area the site covered. We spent 7 hours in there the first day and I was glad we had the opportunity to go back the next day. I'm not sure Petra by candlelight was worth the 17 Dinar but that's a personal thing. Our tour leader Mo had so much knowledge to impart that it made the tour so much more enjoyable, there would be so much an uninformed eye would have missed.
It's graded as a moderate cycle and there are some hills involved so I would recommend that you are used to cycling the distances involved and you are used to consecutive days in the saddle. SPD pedals will not be useful as the itinerary involves walking around ruins and on the Wadi Rum days expect sand on the roads to make things interesting!
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Terence

Norwich
Petra is the obvious highlight … there is just so much wonderful stuff to see. I had no idea it was so big. But Madaba's mosaics, floating in the Dead Sea, Crusader castles, Wadi Rum's stars and snorkelling in the Red Sea are all worthwhile sites in their own right … and then there's the joy of cycling between them (mainly downhill?) in such varied and spectacular scenery. The whole trip was really well organised and all held together on the ground by our guide Mohamed who had a wealth of local knowledge and a seemingly perpetual smile, whatever problems the group threw at him. He arranged and checked a lot of things day by day to ensure things ran smoothly, but it was all done in the background with no fuss, leaving us to just enjoy the ride.
Talking of that, I think the bikes had reached the end of their useful lives … a tad time expired, but any mechanical problems were instantly sorted by Habib and Ah'med our friendly riding guides, giving us a few extra minutes to admire the scenery.
As a vegetarian, some of the hotel food was a bit uninspiring but the street food we had was great. All in all a great trip, but don't forget clothing for those cold sunny mornings.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 08 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Shirley

Newcastle
This was my first trip as a solo traveler and I was always made welcome by the rest of the group, I liked that evening meals were together and I was given the offer of joining other group members during free time.

Our guide, Mohammed was excellent in terms of knowledge and approachability. All questions and issues were managed quickly and efficiently. Mohammed had a good sense of humour which always helps to make people feel at ease....
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julie

Huntingdon
Highlights were definitely Petra and Wadi Rum - both places are amazing and were as good second time around as when I first experienced them 6 years ago.

Mohammad is an excellent guide - he can't do enough to help you and has a wealth of information stored away to share with you.

The only tip I can give is to take your own saddle!
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Glenn

Southampton
All perfect except the weather then you can't do anything.
Thanks
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Annett

London
The highlight was definitely visiting Petra. Absolutely brilliant and a must see. We spent 2 days in Petra, which was certainly needed. A must do is climbing up almost 900 steps to the Monastery, which offers stunning views especially at sunset. Another highlight was the night spent in Wadi Rum in the stunning Jordanian desert. Tip: it can get very, very cold during the night in the desert, so definitely take a nice warm sweater and long trousers with you. I also have to praise the incredible tour leader Mohammed, who was fantastic (very helpful and knowledgable). He made the tour special.
The bikes we used were mountain bikes. Not the newest bikes (they've been certainly used a lot), but they did the job quite well. The bikes come with bottle cages, but no panniers.
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 14 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Andrea

HINCKLEY
ALL the sights were a highlight .. different in their own way.
Tips ... be prepared for cool mornings if going later in the year (travelled in November)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Anushka

Maidenhead
Exploring Petra, a vast site, we walked 23Km to cover it all, bring good trainers, can be slippery when it rains.

Dead Sea IS very salty, follow the instructions given and enjoy.

Bicycle crew were really helpful and great support. You'll need to carry very little, it's all there .

Road conditions can be hazardous, watch out for pot holes and large drains, although the crew will give advance warning of such obstacles.
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 23 November 2015