It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Jordan CJP

Visiting: Jordan
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle Jordan

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Jordan trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Jordan reviews verified by reevooReevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Cycle JordanScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Catherine

London
Positives:
Weather very sunny
Scenery stunning
Some beautiful winding down-hill sections.
My bike was the only one that didn't break/have an issue (so positive for me but negative for the others).
Generally well organised.
Friendly tour staff.
Pool available in majority of hotels (although wasn't allowed to use the one in Amman because I'm female).
Great group of people on the trip!

Negatives:
Wrong joining info given - was told tour started at 6pm Saturday, to arrive and be told it was 9:30am Sunday - flights, extra annual leave and an extra nights accommodation all booked unnecessarily.
Cycling not challenging enough and lots of waiting time - have never been on a cycling tour where the level of cycling experience was so varied! Will definitely be going with a different company who do longer daily rides next time.
Pathetic pack lunches - Ramadan was the excuse.
Guide often had us wait until he needed to break his fast before we could eat so I was starving and then he wouldn't even eat with us.
We were driven back from Aqaba (where there was a beach etc) to Amman where there was very little to do and then left to our own devices by our tour guide whilst the other Explore group's guide stayed with them for a nice last night meal.
We weren't warned that the camels were in season and also not very exercised at this time of year, therefore they were very frisky. A few people were hurled off their camel including a guy who broke his hip!
Generally quite an expensive country especially when locals double the price of things cos you're a tourist - including water!!
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 22 June 2017
(4 out of 10)

Graham

Bolton
Plus points

Petra was interesting, but spending 3 days in the same area was too long.

The dead sea was a unique floating experience

The red sea destination was probably the best area to spend some time in

Minus points

Overall Jordan was quite an expensive place to visit , especially when the locals specifically doubled the price of any commodity that you wished to purchase simply because you where identified as a tourist. I found this particularly insulting.




Considering that this was a cycling trip, the bikes that we were given to use, were ancient.

It’s been a long long time since I have seen and had to use rim brakes on a mountain bike.

Furthermore some of the tyres in use on these bikes had virtually no tread on them.

The wheels in some cases were badly buckled, to the point where the whole bike was shaking at speed.

The bike maintance guy did a good job repairing the bikes in situ as the trip progressed but the majority of those bikes should have been replaced a long time ago.

I have never been on a cycling trip explore before where there was so much running maintance with punctures and chain snapping etc.

If you are expecting a bike in reasonable condition, then this is not the holiday that you should be considering.



Also was rather expecting the tour leader to be riding a mountain bike along with the rest of us pointing out the history of country as we were riding and not siting in the bus up front for the whole tour.



Finally dont go to Jordan during Ramadan as nobody eats during the hours of day light and there are very few places open to purchase food at lunchtime.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017

Hi Graham, thank you for your feedback. As Petra is a large site of great interest we do spend a few days to review this iconic site. This is normally well-received but we will take your thoughts into consideration when we review the trip. I understand that increasing prices on the basis that you are a tourist is very frustrating; however as a barter culture I always found it a great starting point for you to argue a reduction and start off the barter! In regards to the bikes, our agent confirms none are older than two years – though they do have rim breaks. They are fully maintained and checked prior to each departure. Four bikes are carried as spares as the dust and terrain can cause issues and punctures. To make sure everyone is settled and happy with the bikes we do a test ride to ensure the bikes suit and iron out any problems. The mechanic has spares for everything, so if any issues with the wheels being buckled or tyres were mentioned these could have been changed for you. On this trip we have a cycling leader and a tour leader. The tour leader remains on the bus to make all the arrangements and ensure everything runs smoothly, while you are on the move.

(8 out of 10)

Kristine

Copenhagen
My mum and I participated in the one-week biking holiday in Jordan over Easter. It was a fantastic experience! We saw, experienced and learned so much about Jordan and we wished we could have stayed much longer. Our biking group was very nice, Mo, our guide, was absolutely fantastic, and Jordan was just in itself a fantastic country to explore.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 17 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Arabella

London
The tour leader, Mo, was extremely knowledgeable, professional and kind.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Osmond

Warrenpoint Co Down
Trip more than met our expectations, made all the more memorable by a truly excellent guide and a great group of people. The guide was both knowledgeable and passionate about Jordan and it's history.
The variety of cycling was excellent. Our support team were great and carried our rucksacks which made cycling the hills a little easier. However the bicycles themselves are in need of major updating. There were too many mechanical issues throughout the group.
In general accommodation adequate. However hotels in Madaba and Petra in need of major overhaul. Also in Petra the wifi was nearly non existent for three nights.
Food great throughout.
Highlights of the trip were Mt Nebo, Petra and the Red Sea snorkelling trip. Weather conditions hampered our enjoyment of Wadi Rum.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 21 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jessica

The tour leader is the best I ever had in my life!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Gerald

Dornbirn
great tour,I really enjoyed it,maybe I would not offer the cycle trip to Little Petra because you already pass this place the day before,I would add one day of canoeing instead if possible,Mo was an excellent guide,also the 2 bike guys Ali and Khalid did a great job
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rob

Stoke On Trent
The cycling trip to Jordan was a wonderful adventure, fantastic people and very safe. It has been a place I have wanted to visit for a long time and it didn't disappoint. Awad our guide was second to none, always going the extra mile and really added to the whole experience. He was always informative, courteous and always had a smile on his face. Highlights for me were undoubtedly Petra and Wadi Rum. All in all a fantastic trip, Jordan is a country where tourist numbers have declined sharply over the years over concerns about safety. I can honestly say on this trip I couldn't have felt more at ease, all the people we met were so hospitable. I can only say if you are thinking about it then go before all the crowds return.
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

David

Guildford
Highlights were Petra and Little Petra but every day was good. The last day our leader took us to the Citadel in Amman which was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ruth

Rugby
The highlight has definitely got to be Petra. I was amazed at how large an area the site covered. We spent 7 hours in there the first day and I was glad we had the opportunity to go back the next day. I'm not sure Petra by candlelight was worth the 17 Dinar but that's a personal thing. Our tour leader Mo had so much knowledge to impart that it made the tour so much more enjoyable, there would be so much an uninformed eye would have missed.
It's graded as a moderate cycle and there are some hills involved so I would recommend that you are used to cycling the distances involved and you are used to consecutive days in the saddle. SPD pedals will not be useful as the itinerary involves walking around ruins and on the Wadi Rum days expect sand on the roads to make things interesting!
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016