It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle the Dalmatian Coast CCD

Visiting: Croatia
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle the Dalmatian Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle the Dalmatian Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle the Dalmatian Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Cycle the Dalmatian CoastScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Kitty

Leeds
This was a wonderful holiday! The tour leaders, Milan and Zoran, were great. They were both very experienced and knowledgable about the country and the technical aspects of cycling. The itinerary was perfect with just the right amount of cycling and free time. It was great spending two nights in each of the locations - it therefore never felt rushed or that we were wasting time packing & being transported being locations. Croatia is a beautiful country and I got to see a lot of it on this tour. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

I have read other reviews and seen negative comments about cycling up a big hill and about it being challenging. I do not have much cycling experience but have a high level of fitness but would not say this tour was overall 'challenging'. It was perfectly paced with the option to ride in the support van if needed. You could even take a 'day off' if you wanted to not ride out with the group.

Would thing I would say generally about these sort of tours/holidays is to check who is travelling before you book it. As a solo traveller I would prefer there to be other solo travellers on the tours. Couples who join these tours tend to have a habit of going off together and excluding the solo travellers!
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Becky

Ventura California
Our guides were the best ever! A beautiful country with fantastic scenery- loving people and amazing wine. Lucky and blessed to ride there.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Lorraine

Waterlooville
Great country, lovely people and the tour leader was perfect. The cycles were well maintained too. Highlights were reaching the top of the climbs for amazing views and the beautiful scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ed

Kailua, Hawaii
This was our 5th Explore cycling tour, and one of the best. Croatian coast and islands are beautiful. Biking was wonderful. Challenging a couple of days, but doable. Tour leaders were great, as were all fellow bikers. We stayed an extra day to spend in Dubrovnik as there is limited time to see it otherwise. Highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Pat

Shropshire
Excellent trip highlighting a beautiful coastline, combining cycling with island hopping and great support team.


- what's not to like!
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Tania

Warwick
The trip was very enjoyable but spoilt by the bad weather. Our cycling was cut short on several occasions due to the wet conditions. On one day the temperature dropped to 7 degrees! I hadn't taken enough warm clothing so it might be a good idea to mention in the trip notes that thermals might be required...

Jakov was a great tour leader, fun and informative, giving us lots of information about the local history, culture and language. Zokran was much appreciated in the support vehicle and was always on hand to help. We were very impressed by the speed at which he could change a wheel!

I enjoyed visiting Croatia but will have to go back to appreciate it in warmer sunnier weather.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 29 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gary

Unfortunately the weather did not co-operate on this tour and we did not get as much biking is as intended. I would recommend going mid-September to try and avoid some of the crowds but have warmer weather.
What cycling we did was fantastic. It was harder than expected but those will little experience were able to manage at their own pace.
We went back to climb the wall at Ston on our own after the tour. It would have been more convenient if that was include with the tour.
Jakov and Zoran were excellent leaders and support they made the experience great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ellen

NYC
should probably rate this trip as strenuous, If at possible would be better to make the rides
not straight up and straight down. The last day's was the best . Jakov and Zorin were excellent always did the right thing when it came to inclement weather and safety. Having a Croatian guide made a big difference in understanding the culture of the area
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Louise

London
Great trip with some really beautiful sights and locations - a lovely way to get a taste of Croatia. We went in the first week of October and had some days of torrential rain so some of the cycling wasn't possible, but there were also days of lovely sunshine and not too hot to be cycling up those hills!

Highlights- fantastic Tour Leader and support, Jakov and Zoran, who made sure everything went to plan, but were also very entertaining and informative and made sure we were enjoying ourselves. The bikes were in good condition and any minor issues were sorted out really quickly.

The cycling was sometimes demanding (there are long hills!) so a reasonable level of fitness is needed, although the group had a wide range of speeds and abilities and there's no rush so it can be taken at the individual's pace.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 14 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

Jakov and Zoran made an excellent double act and seamlessly had the bikes ready on time after dismantling at various points. Jakov maybe sometimes spoke more than necessary about the cycling route, sometimes causing us to end days in semi-darkness. Some explanation of the significance of Stari Grad Plain (not so visually obvious as other UNESCO sites) would have been welcome and was not given but apart from this he was very informative and helpful.

As an infrequent cyclist, I would possibly have imagined this trip to be slightly harder than moderate, given its long continuous ascents even if the total length was not very great, but I did find it manageable at a slow pace. Dalmatian scenery was really spectacular and the boat trips to and from islands were an additional attraction.

It was good to have time to explore old towns of Hvar, Korcula and Cavtat. There was not much time to explore Dubrovnik and I'm glad I allowed myself an extra day after the tour to do this.

Accommodation on Hvar seemed a bit "communist era" and had poor breakfast but did have hot showers. On Korcula, accommodation was much pleasanter but its hot water system was lacking. Dubrovnik hotel was very satisfactory in all respects. We were lucky to be moved from Dalmina to Corner in Split (I know from having stayed in Dalmina on the last night of my preceding walking tour). Nevertheless it was a surprise to have to move hotels though I accept this was outside Explore's control and entirely the fault of Dalmina Hotel. Upon arrival at Hotel Corner, I had difficulty getting reception to accept that I was staying there. They did not have my name and I did not fully understand that a Serbian agency was responsible for my second holiday in Croatia so mentioned Elite from the first walking part. Only by indicating that I was transferred from Dalmina, was I accepted as a bona fide guest.

One nuisance that Explore was responsible for was telling me that the tour began at 16.00 in hotel reception. In fact the initial meeting was at 19.30. Having gone to visit Sibenik, it would have been very helpful to know this to avoid rushing back to Split earlier than necessary. Explore should be aware of the flights being met by the tour leader and give a feasible start time, which Jakov assured me 16.00 was not, (even if it may be altered by flight delays).

Inaccuracies in the trip notes:
Tuesday: A ferry is not taken from Stari Grad but rather a hydrofoil from Hvar Town and I do not recall a cemetery on the outskirts of Lumbarda
Thursday: The third optional wine tasting described did not occur and the description of cycling from Postup is, I believe, inaccurate. The hour drive to Srd is from Ston and not from the end of the cycling as implied in the notes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016