It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle the Dalmatian Coast CCD

Visiting: Croatia
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle the Dalmatian Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle the Dalmatian Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle the Dalmatian Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle the Dalmatian CoastScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Tania

Warwick
The trip was very enjoyable but spoilt by the bad weather. Our cycling was cut short on several occasions due to the wet conditions. On one day the temperature dropped to 7 degrees! I hadn't taken enough warm clothing so it might be a good idea to mention in the trip notes that thermals might be required...

Jakov was a great tour leader, fun and informative, giving us lots of information about the local history, culture and language. Zokran was much appreciated in the support vehicle and was always on hand to help. We were very impressed by the speed at which he could change a wheel!

I enjoyed visiting Croatia but will have to go back to appreciate it in warmer sunnier weather.
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 29 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gary

Unfortunately the weather did not co-operate on this tour and we did not get as much biking is as intended. I would recommend going mid-September to try and avoid some of the crowds but have warmer weather.
What cycling we did was fantastic. It was harder than expected but those will little experience were able to manage at their own pace.
We went back to climb the wall at Ston on our own after the tour. It would have been more convenient if that was include with the tour.
Jakov and Zoran were excellent leaders and support they made the experience great.
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ellen

NYC
should probably rate this trip as strenuous, If at possible would be better to make the rides
not straight up and straight down. The last day's was the best . Jakov and Zorin were excellent always did the right thing when it came to inclement weather and safety. Having a Croatian guide made a big difference in understanding the culture of the area
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Louise

London
Great trip with some really beautiful sights and locations - a lovely way to get a taste of Croatia. We went in the first week of October and had some days of torrential rain so some of the cycling wasn't possible, but there were also days of lovely sunshine and not too hot to be cycling up those hills!

Highlights- fantastic Tour Leader and support, Jakov and Zoran, who made sure everything went to plan, but were also very entertaining and informative and made sure we were enjoying ourselves. The bikes were in good condition and any minor issues were sorted out really quickly.

The cycling was sometimes demanding (there are long hills!) so a reasonable level of fitness is needed, although the group had a wide range of speeds and abilities and there's no rush so it can be taken at the individual's pace.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 14 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

Jakov and Zoran made an excellent double act and seamlessly had the bikes ready on time after dismantling at various points. Jakov maybe sometimes spoke more than necessary about the cycling route, sometimes causing us to end days in semi-darkness. Some explanation of the significance of Stari Grad Plain (not so visually obvious as other UNESCO sites) would have been welcome and was not given but apart from this he was very informative and helpful.

As an infrequent cyclist, I would possibly have imagined this trip to be slightly harder than moderate, given its long continuous ascents even if the total length was not very great, but I did find it manageable at a slow pace. Dalmatian scenery was really spectacular and the boat trips to and from islands were an additional attraction.

It was good to have time to explore old towns of Hvar, Korcula and Cavtat. There was not much time to explore Dubrovnik and I'm glad I allowed myself an extra day after the tour to do this.

Accommodation on Hvar seemed a bit "communist era" and had poor breakfast but did have hot showers. On Korcula, accommodation was much pleasanter but its hot water system was lacking. Dubrovnik hotel was very satisfactory in all respects. We were lucky to be moved from Dalmina to Corner in Split (I know from having stayed in Dalmina on the last night of my preceding walking tour). Nevertheless it was a surprise to have to move hotels though I accept this was outside Explore's control and entirely the fault of Dalmina Hotel. Upon arrival at Hotel Corner, I had difficulty getting reception to accept that I was staying there. They did not have my name and I did not fully understand that a Serbian agency was responsible for my second holiday in Croatia so mentioned Elite from the first walking part. Only by indicating that I was transferred from Dalmina, was I accepted as a bona fide guest.

One nuisance that Explore was responsible for was telling me that the tour began at 16.00 in hotel reception. In fact the initial meeting was at 19.30. Having gone to visit Sibenik, it would have been very helpful to know this to avoid rushing back to Split earlier than necessary. Explore should be aware of the flights being met by the tour leader and give a feasible start time, which Jakov assured me 16.00 was not, (even if it may be altered by flight delays).

Inaccuracies in the trip notes:
Tuesday: A ferry is not taken from Stari Grad but rather a hydrofoil from Hvar Town and I do not recall a cemetery on the outskirts of Lumbarda
Thursday: The third optional wine tasting described did not occur and the description of cycling from Postup is, I believe, inaccurate. The hour drive to Srd is from Ston and not from the end of the cycling as implied in the notes.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Frank

The trip should not be rated "Moderate". Long sections with gradients reaching 10% are challenging. Jacob and Zoran were excellent. We had added value with Jacob giving presentations on Croatia history and culture. Croatia itself is beautiful.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christopher

Boat of Garten, Inverness-shire
This trip provides a very good way to see the beautiful Dalmatian Coast and offshore islands. The itinerary is well thought-out, and varied, although the third day (on Hvar Island) and the 5th day (on Korcula Island) involve longer, and, in places, steeper climbs than the Tour Notes imply. The bikes provided are good, although disappointingly in our case, bad weather prevented us from doing the main off-road ride, so we were mostly on tarmac roads for which hybrid bikes might have been better. Some roads were quite busy with traffic for which overtaking a long line of cyclists was not easy.

The 'Old Town' of Split is wonderful and, in addition to the excellent guided tour, is well worth a leisurely visit on the Saturday evening of arrival, when there are musical performances in the main square and the waterfront is lively. Similarly Dubrovnik is wonderful, although very crowded. The walk round the city wall is strongly recommended. The smaller towns and villages on the islands are delightful, especially Hvar Town and Korcula Town.

The Hotel Corner (not the usual venue) in Split was excellent, but the Hotel Lavanda and its sister Hotel Arkada in Stari Grad were poor, with uninspiring 1960s/70s design and badly in need of maintenance. The Hotel Borik in Lumbarda was adequate, but is built on a sloping hillside, which, for those of us the 3rd floor, meant climbing 92 steps, with no lifts and no ramps for dragging cases, apart from the first few steps outside. The Hotel Ivka in Dubrovnik was excellent, although its location is about 2.5km from the Old Town.

Our Tour Leader Jakov was outstanding. In addition to all the usual duties, which he did extremely efficiently, he gave us three talks about the history, geography and culture of Croatia. These were very informative and added considerably to the enjoyment of the holiday. Also, the restaurants he recommended for eating-out were all very good! Technical support was provided by Zoran, who, similarly, was outstanding. In addition to driving the back-up van, he took meticulous care of our bikes and always seemed to appear from nowhere when anyone had a problem. He and Jakov are a great team.

One tip: although you'll be wearing a bike helmet for much of the time, remember to take a cap or sun hat for when you're not cycling.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 22 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Duncan

Inverness
Enjoyable trip, organised with the usual Explore efficiency. I have now been on 8 trips with you and I think your staff were the best yet.
Some problems with overbooking the hotel in Hvar, but sorted out without too much of a problem.

Perhaps the rating would be more accurately described as "moderate/challenging".
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Catherine

East Grinstead
Jacov is a fabulous tour leader. He is enthusiastic about his country and his cycling and was encouraging throughout the trip.
Hotel on Hvar was tired and the food there was not up to a very good standard even though it was only breakfast.
Everything else was amazing. Loved the 72km cycling day and the chance to sample the local food, drink and ice cream along the way.
Technical support was just amazing! Thanks for a great week in Croatia.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Anthony

Nairobi
Good company. Jacob and the back up guy Socki brilliant. Very informative talks. Great scenery. Must say sone the hills challenging bot moderate.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 20 September 2016