It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
5 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Mekong Delta and Angkor CVE

Trip Duration 13 Days

Reviews for Mekong Delta and Angkor

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Mekong Delta and Angkor trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Mekong Delta and Angkor reviews verified by reevooReevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Mekong Delta and AngkorScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(8 out of 10)


The trip far exceeded our expectations. The itinerary was everything it claimed to be. The pace was just right for both experienced and fairly novice cyclists. Our tour guide Doan was what made the trip special by pointing out local items of interest that we would not have experienced otherwise. We would have scored a 10 but a couple of the hotels were below the standard we expected, even though we were only expecting basic accommodation. The homestay at the early part of the trip was a great way of getting the group to gel from the offset but we were expecting more interaction with the family running the homestay, as it was they just served our evening meal and breakfast and left us to our own devices. The size of the group was smaller than expected (only 9 of us) but this allowed Doan the time to make the whole trip special for everyone. We would have liked a little more private time to explore the area and have quality time as a couple rather than eating together as a group quite as often. When in Cambodia we did feel that there were too many Pagoda's and Temples to explore, adding something different to add a little more variety could only enhance the itinerary. On the whole it was a great trip and we will be looking to book a different trip with explore in the future.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding the above trip, we’re delighted to hear you had such a great time and that the trip exceeded your expectations. Although it’s a shame that the homestay did not quite live up to your expectations, especially as you expected more interaction with the family. As I’m sure you can appreciate, this can be quite difficult with the language barriers, but we do encourage the family to interact with the group as much as possible. In addition, we do ask our leaders to arrange group meals in the evening, if it is not included in the itinerary, but this is entirely optional. We also appreciate your suggestions for the itinerary to add more variety and we’ll consider these during the next review.

(9 out of 10)


Fantastic experience both in Vietnam and Cambodia. The thing that impressed me most was cycling through remote villages and seeing the children,who,although so poor with none of the advantages of modern life(iPads etc) were in general happier than our children. The Angkor Wat Temple was extremely impressive but I felt a bit "templed out" as in my opinion we visited too many Temples which was very tiring in the extreme heat. Also enjoyed all the boat trips especially the floating markets and the speedboat to Cambodia. Cycling was very easy,I would have preferred slightly longer rides but admittedly it was classed as easy. The Tour leader Huan was excellent and it was clear that his main intention was to keep his customers happy.
This is the second cycling tour I have done with Explore(did Cycle the Cape in November)and I would not do another one with only 5 riders as the other man on the ride was a complete pain upsetting the girls with sexual inuendos and using foul language. In my opinion he should be black listed from future rides.
The three girls on the trip were very pleasant.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding the above Explore holiday, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your trip. We appreciate that there is a lot of culture to take in on this particular itinerary, but we try to fit in as much as possible with the limited amount of time, and this appeals to many of our customers. It’s a shame that you felt uncomfortable with the comments made by of one of your fellow members of the group – we haven’t received any other complaints or reports from your group or Explore Leader about this but, if you would like to provide us with more information, we’d be happy to investigate this further, please contact us at

(10 out of 10)


Shoreham by sea
An amazing trip, off the beaten track for the most part and it feels like you are experiencing the real Vietnam and Cambodia. Binh was a wonderful guide and I will remember this holiday for a long time.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(9 out of 10)


Lutterworth, Leicestershire
The tour was great and just as I expected, the cycling was very easy, I actually expected it to be harder. The hotels generally were really good.

My only observation was the bikes, I was expecting to have use a hybrid bike, an email the week before the holiday advised that we would be using mountain bikes. These bikes were fine for Cambodia, but on flat straight roads in Vietenam mountain bikes are hard work and the surface for in excess of 90% of the trip are better suited to hybrids.
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding the above trip, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Vietnam and Cambodia. However, we’re sorry that you were unhappy with the type of bikes provided as you felt Hybrids would have been better suited to the itinerary. We now use mountain bikes as some sections of the route are off-road and on uneven canal paths would be unsuitable for Hybrid bikes. We do appreciate your feedback however, and we will continue to monitor this.

(10 out of 10)


Cycling around Vietnam and Cambodia was an amazing experience bringing you up close and personal with the local people. Everyone was so friendly and everywhere we went the children ran out to greet us and shout 'hello'. It was great to stop by the roadside to explore local markets, taste local produce or to visit homesteads and small holdings. We watched silk-weaving, rice wine distilling and herbal tea brewing. The pace was full on, with never a dull moment and there were so many highlights it is difficult to single any out: the school visits, the fried tarantula treats at the insect market, the luscious countryside, the delicious food (especially amok) and fruits, the many methods of transport we tried, the number of scooters in Ho Chi Min city and the apparently chaotic highway code that really does seem to work. The terrain is all flat so cycling long distances was easy, but I am glad I took my own saddle. The destination is fascinating in itself, but seeing it all from a bicycle added an unforgettable dimension. Simply amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 05 February 2016
Published on: 12 February 2016
(9 out of 10)


See places and people off the beaten track. Having a local tour guide who is personable. challenging yourself on the bike. Meeting like minded people, yet from very different walks of life. Take a gel seat and insect repellent. Also some energy bars and wipes!
Confirmed traveller: 06 January 2016
Published on: 14 January 2016
(9 out of 10)


I enjoyed all of this trip. The cycling was good, our ride through the Mekong Delta was
lovely, stopping to talk to school children who were in the play ground. The homestay
was great. All the people were really friendly. All the places we visited in Cambodia were really interesting and amazing. I particularly enjoyed watching the sun rise over
Angkor Wat. Altogether a brilliant holiday. Binh - our guide was great too. Providing
loads of information as well as being extremely patient as we all asked the same questions repeatedly.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2015
Published on: 20 January 2016
(10 out of 10)


The highlights for me, were being able to get close the countries we visited. On a bike you can stop at a moment's notice and see the people and their daily life. We meandered though small villages, large markets, weddings at the side of a road and even helped a tut tut driver get his vehicle back on the road! We were able to cycle into Angkor Thom via a quieter gate, away from the coaches and taxis.
Any tips? I would say drink water at every opportunity when cycling and make sure you are reasonably confident on a bike as there is a variety of traffic on the roads with you, scooters, bikes, lorries, tut tuts!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(9 out of 10)


The highlight for me was cycling in the rural areas of Cambodia. The people were so friendly and the quiet rural ways of life were enchanting.
Confirmed traveller: 20 November 2015
Published on: 27 November 2015
(9 out of 10)


I found this trip a fantastic insight into two incredible and fairly diverse countries. Cycling through the countryside brought us right into local communities who were so welcoming, with children running out, waving and shouting hello as we cycled past. Seeing this and experiencing general village life on the banks of the huge Mekong River was to me the biggest highlight of this trip, together with visiting the bustling Vietnamese towns and stunning Cambodian Temples. A real must do extra is the Sam Mountain excursion to try out a rickshaw ride, visit fishing homes and a have boat trip up the Mekong to the temples. I can highly recommend this tour as it really gets you off the beaten track to experience the real country, not just the touristy parts.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 18 December 2015