It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search
E-Bike available

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Mekong Delta and Angkor CVE

Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Mekong Delta and Angkor

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Mekong Delta and Angkor trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Mekong Delta and Angkor reviews verified by reevooReevoo

34 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Mekong Delta and AngkorScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Reading
Could not have been much better, Great sights, good accommodation, would not change anything. Some minor niggles but that's part of adventure travel for me.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 07 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susanne

Southend on Sea
Great trip with a fascinating insight into Vietnam and Cambodia. Highlights for me were cycling the backroads of these countries, the sunrise visit to Angkor Wat, the Chu Chi Tunnels, the floating markets and the speedboat ride on the Mekong. Great itinerary
The last hotel in Siem Reap was a disappointment and really was not up to standard in many respects, although the staff did all they could to help. The homestay was an interesting experience!
Local guides were very good but our tour leader could have had more consideration for the slower cycling members of our group and set the pace accordingly. At times it felt like we were on more like a cycling race than a holiday, particularly as the grade was classified as "easy" and none of us were novices. There were a few other niggles about the leader, but overall he got us from A to B safely, the group got on well together and we all enjoyed the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Shirley

jersey
Speedboat trip on the Mekong and visiting the floating markets,were amongst my highlights. Also the temples and cycling along the roads enjoying the scenery. My only disappointment was the horse and carriage ride as sad to see 2 of the horses were lame and all were in poor condition pulling very heavy vehicles.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Tracy

Fareham
The tour was fantastic, I wouldn't have wanted to change a thing! Binh, our guide for the 2 weeks was AMAZING! He went above and beyond and looked after us the whole way through. His English skills were fantastic, even the British sense of humour! He was knowledgeable and entertaining, he also pre-empted any problems with his experience and 'fed' us enough information each day which was manageable about the plans for the following day. Our local guides were also great. I think the balance between the amount of cycling, travelling by bus and site seeing were perfect. Sometimes the roads in Vietnam were a little busy (and long and straight!) at times but the quieter days made up for this. Seeing 2 fascinating countries by bike gave us such a special insight into life in Vietnam and Cambodia, that we felt totally spoiled - when arriving in the busier tourist areas it was a bit of a culture shock, as we had got so used to having places to ourselves!
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Adrian

Jersey
A fantastic trip made even better by Binh our Explore leader whose knowledge, expertise organisation, patience and humour made our whole trip one we will never forget.

The itinerary is busy but well organised, perhaps a little less time spent on the busier roads in Vietnam giving more time on the more rural areas could be considered.

Highlights include the floating market, boat trip up the Mekong, Angkor Wat and the many temples and the people of both countries making us feel so welcome throughout our trip.

Our only criticism would be the choice of the Claremont Angkor Hotel for the last 3 nights which was disappointing, it is not a Spa hotel as advertised, if you want a massage it is done in your hotel room by outside masseurs, there are no Spa facilities! We also had a cockroach infestation and had to move room, fridge not working, and shower not fit for purpose, and generally felt the hotel is looking tired, The Hotel Manager was helpful in dealing with our complaints but only after Binh became involved, however the owner was we felt dismissive and not forthcoming with any apology.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Wells
Last hotel was disappointing but overall a fantastic trip
Great leader, great itinerary and good group. There were a couple of times where I would have liked to have eaten lunch earlier and before the next temple , all days were early starts with early breakfast and lunch after 1 pm seemed too late.
I particularly liked the little stops we had whilst cycling to watch typical scenes and sample local delicacies.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Nottingham
Binh our guide was excellent plus guides in Cambodia ,cycling the the back roads was brilliant but we had along stretch on the third day of 22 miles on a very busy road not a pleasant experience and not what I had expected .
Hotels not bad only we seemed to draw the short straw and had 2 rooms one with no windows and another facing a brick wall and only tepid water in Siem Reap other wise locations were good .cycling in Cambodia was lovely could have done more the routes were far more interesting .
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christine

Warrington
The trip far exceeded our expectations. The itinerary was everything it claimed to be. The pace was just right for both experienced and fairly novice cyclists. Our tour guide Doan was what made the trip special by pointing out local items of interest that we would not have experienced otherwise. We would have scored a 10 but a couple of the hotels were below the standard we expected, even though we were only expecting basic accommodation. The homestay at the early part of the trip was a great way of getting the group to gel from the offset but we were expecting more interaction with the family running the homestay, as it was they just served our evening meal and breakfast and left us to our own devices. The size of the group was smaller than expected (only 9 of us) but this allowed Doan the time to make the whole trip special for everyone. We would have liked a little more private time to explore the area and have quality time as a couple rather than eating together as a group quite as often. When in Cambodia we did feel that there were too many Pagoda's and Temples to explore, adding something different to add a little more variety could only enhance the itinerary. On the whole it was a great trip and we will be looking to book a different trip with explore in the future.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding the above trip, we’re delighted to hear you had such a great time and that the trip exceeded your expectations. Although it’s a shame that the homestay did not quite live up to your expectations, especially as you expected more interaction with the family. As I’m sure you can appreciate, this can be quite difficult with the language barriers, but we do encourage the family to interact with the group as much as possible. In addition, we do ask our leaders to arrange group meals in the evening, if it is not included in the itinerary, but this is entirely optional. We also appreciate your suggestions for the itinerary to add more variety and we’ll consider these during the next review.

(9 out of 10)

Anthony

Cardiff
Fantastic experience both in Vietnam and Cambodia. The thing that impressed me most was cycling through remote villages and seeing the children,who,although so poor with none of the advantages of modern life(iPads etc) were in general happier than our children. The Angkor Wat Temple was extremely impressive but I felt a bit "templed out" as in my opinion we visited too many Temples which was very tiring in the extreme heat. Also enjoyed all the boat trips especially the floating markets and the speedboat to Cambodia. Cycling was very easy,I would have preferred slightly longer rides but admittedly it was classed as easy. The Tour leader Huan was excellent and it was clear that his main intention was to keep his customers happy.
This is the second cycling tour I have done with Explore(did Cycle the Cape in November)and I would not do another one with only 5 riders as the other man on the ride was a complete pain upsetting the girls with sexual inuendos and using foul language. In my opinion he should be black listed from future rides.
The three girls on the trip were very pleasant.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding the above Explore holiday, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your trip. We appreciate that there is a lot of culture to take in on this particular itinerary, but we try to fit in as much as possible with the limited amount of time, and this appeals to many of our customers. It’s a shame that you felt uncomfortable with the comments made by of one of your fellow members of the group – we haven’t received any other complaints or reports from your group or Explore Leader about this but, if you would like to provide us with more information, we’d be happy to investigate this further, please contact us at cr@explore.co.uk

(10 out of 10)

Simoney

Shoreham by sea
An amazing trip, off the beaten track for the most part and it feels like you are experiencing the real Vietnam and Cambodia. Binh was a wonderful guide and I will remember this holiday for a long time.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016