It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 450 adventures for you to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

Mekong Delta and Angkor CVE

Tour Duration 13 Days
 

Book now!

Reviews for Mekong Delta and Angkor 5 out of 5 based on 6 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Mekong Delta and Angkor tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Ali, 01/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Every part of it - from the great group of fellow cyclists, to cycling through the wonderful villages of Vietnam and Cambodia, to the experiences of modern history from the Vietnam War to Cambodian Killing Fields. Great experience

Read more
 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

David

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"I really enjoyed all the cycling. It was easy paced and the flat roads meant the rides were not tiring. The people we met were very friendly and if you did not want to buy something you were not hassled. The Angkor temples were amazing, but for me the best bit was seeing everyday life from the saddle of a bike."

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Binh was an excellent Tour Leader. He was very well organized and made sure all arrangements were in place and his phone was always handy for confirmations. He was very safety conscious and gave us good advise wherever we went.His English is good and his local knowledge excellent. I have been ON 19 Explore trips and I rate him very highly as a leader.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"We went in April, the hottest month. Be vigilant with suncream and drink plenty. Whilst cycling we stopped every few kilometers and the bike lorry was there to top up our water bottles. Gel saddles and gloves were useful to have. In Cambodia we were always in need of low denomination dollar notes. Keep a good supply of one ,five and ten dollar bills."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The group flight involved a connection in Kuala Lumpur which made the travel times very long (especially as we missed the connection and the first day's itinerary as a result). Some of the party took direct flights and arrived a day earlier and if I was doing the trip again I would look into doing the same.

 
5 GKD, 11/01/12

Easy cycling, good group, super scenery, Angkor Wat is absolutely stunning, friendly people, comfortable hotels, some lovely restaurants, interesting guides, especially hearing about the Cambodian experiences under the Kymer Rouge. An interesting relaxing holiday, highly recommend.

 
5 Chris Ellis (Explore Staff), 31/12/10

For me, there are two things that make a trip. There are the wow moments you expect – in this case Angkor Wat, the Mekong Delta homestay and the stunning landscapes, all of which are plentiful on this tour. But there are also the unexpected wow moments that makes it for me - children running from their homes to greet us as we cycle, crossing the border in style in a speedboat, and donating Huxley the Hippo (our Explore mascot) to a 5 year old child with tatty clothes and broken flip flops, tied together with a piece of string. For me, these are the moments that make a trip, and this tour had them by the bucket load.  I believe that travel opens your eyes, it gives you perspective. It allows you to see what life is really about, it allows you to experience a totally different, more humble (and perhaps happier) way of life. It often gives you the perspective you need when you've had a bad day here in the UK. This tour delivered all of this by being a series of contrasts; rich and modern Saigon to poor Cambodian villages. Pure tarmic roads, dodging tuk-tuks and rickshaws, and quiet, dirt tracks through rice fields. Modern, happy Vietnam and Cambodia, and it's darker, more troubled past. Cylcing, sightseeing, local interaction, this tour really has it all and allows you to immerse and indulge yourself in the Indo-China lifestyle. Throw into this mix the skills of a caring, friendly and organized tour leader, and you've got yourself the holiday of a lifetime! (CVE- 3rd December 2010)

 
5 Paul Dobson, 31/12/10

Brilliant itinerary to include varied sights and experiences of the region. Highlights were tunnels, killing fields, floating markets, boat trips, local cuisine and, of course, temples. (CVE - 27th November 2010)

 
5 John Saunders, 21/09/10

My first cycling holiday. Apprehensions were quickly dispelled by being in a happy and fun-loving group and having a totally efficient, reliable and informative tour guide. Cycling at a sensible pace and using a variety of other transport across the two countries enabled sightseeing, cultural experience and the warmth and friendship offered everywhere. Many ingredients made this tour interesting and special. The truth and sights of the past atrocities in Vietnam and Cambodia etch deeply as does future optimism, exampled in the joy of a visit to a rural primary school. The wow factor occurs so many times – the floating market, palaces, temples, especially Angkor Watt. This was the ideal adventure – accommodation, food and creature comforts were all there but I was able explore myself – never before had I indulged in posing for a photo with a snake around my neck or a huge spider on my chest; to eat meats that would normally not be on the menu; to luxuriate in a pool of fish massaging my feet! My advice to others? If you are easy-going and can be part of a group, have a basic fitness level, enjoy sights and meeting people then don’t stay at home. Get on your bike and really explore this trip. (CVE- 6th February 2010)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)(*)
    Please enter the tour code of your trip.
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA