It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
637 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Vietnam CVN

Visiting: Vietnam
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle Vietnam

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Vietnam trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Vietnam reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Cycle VietnamScores 9.5 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Martin

This trip was graded as 'easy' which for us as reasonably fit cyclists this was the case. Our Explore leader was fantastic and made an incredibly difficult job look easy.
However there were less experienced cyclists as part of our group and they didn't have too much problem with the terrain but I believe that your tour descriptions should make it clear that we would be cycling through some very busy cities and towns and therefore they should be reasonably confident and competent when on a bike in these conditions.
Unfortunately we had one lady fall off in a busy town and she had to go to hospital and I would have put her in the 'less confident and competent group'.
But for us no complaints we had a wonderful time.
Thank you.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 24 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Glenrothes
A wonderful experience! Every day was special, with beautiful scenery, interesting visits, good food (and beer), and great company. Chuong, our guide, was friendly, helpful, patient and funny, with great enthusiasm for his country's history and culture. He, and the bike mechanics who accompanied us each time we went cycling, made sure we were always safe.

Although the temperature and humidity were high, we always had an ample supply of water and the cycling was easy. But I had not really been prepared for the quite heavy traffic in some places. Hue, in particular, was scary! I was so grateful to have the mechanic right beside me looking after me. Cycling the quieter country roads, however, was a delight, and the wonderful Vietnamese people made us feel so welcome everywhere we went.

Highlights - there are so many! I think my favourite place has to be beautiful Hoi An. I will never forget the short river trip from there, followed by cycling around the villages and seeing people at work. And the optional visit for lunch at the herb farm, followed by a foot massage, should be a "must".

I am in my seventies and by no means super fit. To anyone else in a similar position and wondering if they can do it - well, yes, you can! Do not be afraid, but do be aware that you need to be alert enough to cycle in that heavy traffic.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Cheltenham
The tour met all my requirements. I felt looked after and safe at all times.

I was able to combine cycling with a tour of the country from north to south, with all the stress taken out of having to book hotels and transport along the way. The tour guide was exceptional, and everything therefore went like clockwork.

It is difficult to pick a highlight, as there are so many things to choose from. Halong Bay is indeed a wonder not to be missed. Hoi An was a joy to wander around, especially at night. I had always wanted to visit the tunnels and the war museum in Saigon, so this was on my bucket list, however, it is very sad to be reminded of the destruction and futility of war.

On the cycling front, the 7k decent from the top of the mountain down to the sea, was an amazing experience. Swimming in the warm ocean was delightful too at the end of that day.

The cycling was indeed easy as it states in the brochure, but it would help to explain that the traffic in various places is phenomenal, and if you are not confident on busy roads, could cause you to feel anxious. You do need to be fully comfortable and fully in control on a bike, as Hanoi, and Hue would test the faint hearted, and as wonderful as I tour leader was, Chuong could not do anything about the traffic.

So to sum up. Itinary great, tour guide fantastic, food amazing, fellow cycalists a super bunch of people. Stunning scenery, sights and sounds, all topped of by the friendly nature of the Vietnamese. Go, you won't regret it.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jonathan

Newcastle
It was very busy, but the balance of the tour was just right, the other guests were great, the guide was friendly, informed and very professional. Highlights would be Halong Bay boat trip, visiting Hoi An, cycling in Hanoi, the cycling generally was good, Champa/Hindu ruins, and the standard of hotels was much better than I expected. Bear in mind in winter the temperatures in the north and south of Vietnam are very different, especially in the evenings.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lynn

The tour was amazing and more than I had hoped for. Accommodation at every stop was great, very comfortable and all hotels were really helpful.
The tour guide went out of his way to help everyone and make sure no one was uncomfortable not only with the pace or amount of cycling, but throughout the trip and the visits. Even when there was a change to itinery due to flights he accommodated everyone's wishes. The whole trip gave an excellent introduction to Vietnam, and I saw so much more than I would have been able to do on my own.
The whole group all got on well and were very sociable, and as a solo traveler this was great.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 12 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Elaine

Crawley, West Sussex
I was amazed at how much we did during this tour - out of 16 people, 14 hadn't booked with Explore before - surprisingly, we all got along really well. Although we arrived in Vietnam during their Lunar New Year our tour guide, Binh managed exceedingly well to arrange all our group dinners. He was so knowledgeable and made his country so interesting. The cycling was, indeed, easy and nobody minded when I got in last because I'd wanted to take photos! There were so many highlights - our first cycle ride through Hanoi! Coping with the organised mayhem that is the traffic system was a major boost to our moral. Cycling through the small villages and have children run after you and shout "hello", spectacular scenery! We loved the fact we went into people's houses and saw how they lived and ate and were so welcoming.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mark

Perth
Awesome trip covered a lot of Vietnam. Could not cover all of Vietnam in 2 weeks. Made new friends. And thoroughly enjoyed it.
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 16 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Doncaster
Excellent leader, very good hotels, great food. The cycling was the highlight (but the first day on the roads in Hanoi was a bit nerve racking initially). ATM's everywhere, but they charge 3-5% and you can often get a slightly better rate with cash (£ or $).
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Maureen

Burnley
All I can say it was truly amazing. I was well supported and Binh ensured everyone was safe and happy. He just couldn't do enough for the group.
For me the only problem was we were so busy there was little time to relax and when in Hoan and Ho Chi Minh there wasn't time to see the city. However trying to meet everyone's special need is difficult with a group so I do understand.
The restraurants recommended were perfect. I WILL be booking another trip with Explore. First rate.
Confirmed traveller: 10 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017