It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
628 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Southern Oasis Cycling CSO

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Southern Oasis Cycling

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Southern Oasis Cycling trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Southern Oasis Cycling reviews verified by Reevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Southern Oasis CyclingScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Cambridge
Excellent value. Assistant tour leader Hassan and drivers Aldi and Mohammed were excellent throughout. The tour leader, Ilyas was exceptional throughout. His attention to detail, always with the group's enjoyment in mind, made the trip such a pleasure. Lunch were provided, with agreement first from the group, by one of the drivers. These were excellent value and well worth taking advantage of.

Morocco has so much to offer - good roads, both tarmac and gravel for cycling, dramatic scenery, very tasty food and welcoming people. The first hotel in Marrakech was good and the others better. The camel ride and Berber camp was enjoyable too.

Do bring a plug for hotels. They are invariably missing!
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 13 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Siobhan

Warrington
Very exciting holiday. Well organised. Cycling with sightseeing and good food you cannot go wrong. My tip for this holiday do some training before you go.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Wayne

Dorset
Leader was brilliant, amazing countryside, great bikes. Accommodation varied, but good for the overall price of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Philip

London
The tour was as the itinerary stated, so top marks for accuracy.

The tour guide, ilyas, was excellent - funny and informative, organised and diligent, a strong communicator with impeccable manners and a constant smile on his face.

Cycling and seeing a developing country in an interesting country - much fun, though there's a bit of driving involved to get around, so don't neglect to read that part - itinerary is again accurate.

Food: it became very dull to eat the same dishes every day, as each hotel serves their speciality, tagine, and in an effort to keep people from getting sick (I guess), the meat and veg were boiled and boiled and boiled, and then every day to a new hotel, and repeat.
Breakfasts and lunch could have also been more original, with perhaps more options ... but this wasn't supposed to be a culinary tour, and so this is a minor point in the context of a very good way to see Morocco, that was low cost and a lot of fun.

Accommodation: entirely adequate, clean and comfortable but not glamorous.

Tips: I would have preferred more cycling, 2-3x the distance, but I may be alone in this category, and the tour did not under deliver - it did exactly what it said it would, I simply would have preferred more of it.
Bring a bottle of hot sauce or something to spice it up!
(Pack a bottle of spirits from Duty Free for the evenings!)
Confirmed traveller: 29 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Molly

Columbus, Ohio
Highlights - nearly all of the biking routes were scenic and safe. The berber camp is a nice change-of-pace for a day. The guides and drivers took care of everything. I especially liked the Draa Valley where we were able to bike on more remote roads, and the villages (and people) were very near to the road.

Tips - the tour begins and ends in Marrakech, but NO time is given to seeing the city. A half-day tour at the end would be a nice addition.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Annemarie

Stratford Upon Avon
The trip was a wonderful experience and the tour guide was fabulous. I personally would have liked to do more cycling. In particular in the Atlas mountains and less on the flat roads leading up to them. This would have enabled us to spend more hours on the bike and less on the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 14 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penelope

Sayed was a brilliant tour leader. The cycling highlight has to be the last day with an awesome descent through villages with a stunning backdrop.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 13 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Dylan

Zürich
I did this trip December 26, 2015 to Jan 3, 2016. I loved the experience all together, the people, the biking the Explore employees, and the landscape. It felt like biking on another planet. As we were there in the winter the hotels were not always very warm in the evenings. It felt a bit like camping sometimes, if you imagine 18 sweaty people going into their rooms to have a shower all at the same time you can imagine that there was not always hot water for everyone. I still think the trip is excellent value for money even despite not always having a warm room or hot water. The food was excellent all throughout the trip, even the lunches that were prepared by the Explore employees. The hotels were clean and hadd enough bedding if you were cold. I would suggest if you are doing this tour in the winter that you bring thermal underwear to sleep in, I managed with just that, even on the one night where we camped out in the desert, that was magical! You get to see a lot of Morocco on this tour and the last day biking down the Atlas mountains is breathtaking. I found this an easy tour riding 40-50km per day in circa 2-3 hours with breaks. Ilyas the Explore leader was great under pressure (one rider needed hospital attention and one of the vans broke down) and dealt with any issues very calmly, it was barely noticed that there was an issue. I would highly recommend this tour, but with the note, if you take it in the winter you really need to bring warm clothes for the hotels.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 26 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Milton

Manchester
though the cycling was the resaon i booked ...the highlights were the fantastic views and what i learnt about the country and its history from the team leader

my tip.. it gets quite cold after dark during the winter so take some warm clothing,
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 07 January 2016
(6 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I personally found the first 2 days of cycling quite tough, but the remaining days were easier and more enjoyable. I felt that things were a bit rushed. I assumed we would all cycle in a group and have more time to stop and take pictures. Some of the scenery on our journeys wasn't as good as I'd hoped, and there were several long straight roads that never seemed to end which made the cycling quite tedious. My favourite part of the trip was the camel ride and camping in the desert. It was a very good atmosphere and surprisingly not very cold. The last day of cycling in the Atlas Mountains was amazing. Absolutely beautiful scenery and most of it was downhill so we got to whiz down at quite a speedy pace which was very fun!
Confirmed traveller: 27 December 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016