It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Southern Oasis Cycling CSO

Visiting: Morocco
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Southern Oasis Cycling

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Southern Oasis Cycling tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Southern Oasis Cycling reviews verified by Reevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Southern Oasis CyclingScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Dylan

Zürich
I did this trip December 26, 2015 to Jan 3, 2016. I loved the experience all together, the people, the biking the Explore employees, and the landscape. It felt like biking on another planet. As we were there in the winter the hotels were not always very warm in the evenings. It felt a bit like camping sometimes, if you imagine 18 sweaty people going into their rooms to have a shower all at the same time you can imagine that there was not always hot water for everyone. I still think the trip is excellent value for money even despite not always having a warm room or hot water. The food was excellent all throughout the trip, even the lunches that were prepared by the Explore employees. The hotels were clean and hadd enough bedding if you were cold. I would suggest if you are doing this tour in the winter that you bring thermal underwear to sleep in, I managed with just that, even on the one night where we camped out in the desert, that was magical! You get to see a lot of Morocco on this tour and the last day biking down the Atlas mountains is breathtaking. I found this an easy tour riding 40-50km per day in circa 2-3 hours with breaks. Ilyas the Explore leader was great under pressure (one rider needed hospital attention and one of the vans broke down) and dealt with any issues very calmly, it was barely noticed that there was an issue. I would highly recommend this tour, but with the note, if you take it in the winter you really need to bring warm clothes for the hotels.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 26 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Milton

Manchester
though the cycling was the resaon i booked ...the highlights were the fantastic views and what i learnt about the country and its history from the team leader

my tip.. it gets quite cold after dark during the winter so take some warm clothing,
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 07 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Sharon

East Grinstead
Fantastic scenery, weather during the day beautifully sunny, great group of people, visiting the Kasbah, seeing how the Moroccan people live in their villages, experiencing their café & market culture, the overnight stay in a Berber camp (bit like Glamping) with camel ride there & back through the sand dunes & the amount of cycling was about right. You do need to be reasonably fit & prepared to rough it a little particularly if you go in December as evenings are very cold & Moroccan hotels aren't heated as such although all our rooms did have a room heater & just about enough hot water once we got in to the rooms got everything switched on. Great guides, particularly Siad who was very knowledgeable. Drivers were great also & looked after us well particularly with the picnic lunches which are the best option rather than having to go out & buy your own lunch every day as pretty early starts each morning so not enough time to organise, the drivers do it whilst we are cycling or while we are having breakfast.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 26 December 2015
Published on: 03 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alexandra

London
The camel trek and night in the desert was absolutely fantastic and our guide (Khalid) was brilliant.
For someone else I would definitely recommend they take Explore's advice about taking a gel seat for the bike!!
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 21 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Timothy

Kingston Upon Thames
Cycling through the beautiful Oasises.

The tour leader Khalid needs to take more regard of health and safety. On the final day (Friday) he should have coached novice cyclists on how to set the bike for downhill and how to ride the bike while traversing rough ground. Again at the gorge near Damnet he should have advised the party of what was ahead, a high muddy narrow path, so members could have put on appropriate shoes. A fall from this path will be fatal!
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 19 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Kevin

Pershore
Todres Gorge with its towering cliffs. The narrowness of the gorge with the sunlight striking the orange coloured rocks contrasting with the shade and cool below.

Overnight desert camp with the excellent one hour camel ride there and back. Watching the sunset and rise the following morning. Something I may not experience again.

A pity that the Cascades d'Ouzoud could not be included in the trip as we were not far from them and seem to be spectacular.

Pack swimming costume / trunks to enjoy hotel swimming pools. Pack some snack bars as a reminder of food back home because the food is pretty bland.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 October 2015
Published on: 12 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Conwy
The highlight was camping in the Sahara Desert, watching the sunset and sunrise over the dramatic landscape. I also enjoyed cycling through the traditional villages, seeing the amazing architecture and the locals going about their everyday lives, and experiencing the madness and contrast of Marrakech, with its noise, souks and music. If you are considering booking this holiday, go for it! You won't regret it - it was a brilliant and unforgettable week!
Confirmed traveller: 31 October 2015
Published on: 09 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

It was all good. We weren't able to do the proposed route on the last day due to a rockfall blocking the road but Said seemed in control and unstressed about it and we did another ride instead. He was friendly, assured and assuring.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(5 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Itinerary was abandoned due to flooding making the route impassable. Instead we went South to the Anti Atlas Mountains. After 3 days cycling we had to give up due to floods. After 2 days stranded we managed to make it back to Marrakesh in time to fly home. Disappointing that we didn't make it to the Sahara or the High Atlas Mountains but it must be remembered that this was a natural disaster with considerable loss of life
Confirmed traveller: 26 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015