It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
548 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Southern Oasis Cycling CSO

Visiting: Morocco
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Town near Tinerhir
  • Colourful souks and backstreets
  • High Atlas cycling
  • Dramatic mountain scenery
  • Checking out the local sweets in Marrakech!
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Cycling Grade: Moderate
 

Book now!

12 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Southern Oasis Cycling tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Christine Hall, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Probably the start of our cycling; stopping at a high mountain pass and being issued with our bikes, nervous anticipation as I contemplated the steep winding descent, a quick text sent to my spouse on the other side of the planet, just in case I didn't make it! What a fool! Everyone was so supportive, I needn't have worried and I really enjoyed all the conversations I had with other members of the tour group as we pedalled along, and in the bus.

Read more
 
6 , 04/01/14

Name

Carol Slater

Tour Name

southern oasis cycling

Tour Code

CSO2013

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The camel ride over the sunlit sand dunes to the traditional Berber campsite on Xmas day. Where a campfire was lit and the stars were twice as bright as I have ever seen.

Tour Leader Name

Said

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Said was a very professional tour leader and a very nice man with a good command of English. He kept us informed of places of interest on route and provided some history of the area. There were times that we felt rushed to complete a ride quickly so we could move on. There was no "down time" in the tour at all.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't expect to get into Marrakech souk area on the first morning, there was no time.We squeezed 2 hours at the end of the trip.Consider going a day before the trip begins to experience the market Take energy snacks the food is monotonous and lacking in calories and nutrition. Tasteless poor quality Tagine arranged by guide most nights. Or small skewers of meat and couscous. Very little variety.All meals cost 1000+ Dhr but were not worth it. We felt we had little choice but to pay up every night and most lunchtimes too. In winter, take lots of warm clothing- freezing in restaurants and in some bedrooms.You need it for camel camping too. DONT buy the box of Dates from the village guide. They are overpriced and quality is questionable.( 1000Dhr Gloves are essential, both cycling and warm ones. Moneywise= a creditcard can be used at ATMs to obtain cash. 99% of time Dirhams are expected to be used. Cycling was exhilarating in the mountains and rather monotonous in the desert areas. There is a visit to a carpet shop where pressure is applied to buy a carpet- a waste of time. Don't bother - unless you want one.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Although I have commented about the food standard and some other questionable practice, I did enjoy the tour, as I was among some fantastic scenery and a great group of like-minded people.

Our Response

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to spend much time exploring the souks in Marrakesh. The amount of time available to explore the souks will of course depend on what flights are booked – our new flights booking process allows us to offer much greater flexibility than before, so please do ask if you have particular preferences when booking.

In regards to your comments over the food, we are surprised by this feedback, as we have always had positive comments regarding the food provided, especially as a number of the lunches are purchased at local markets – where the quality of the produce and prices are very reasonable. 

Morocco is generally a hot country and so the accommodation is generally designed for hotter conditions. In the winter months we have asked the hotels to provide extra bedding but we do also recommend that you take a sleeping bag and warm clothes to sleep in. Whilst in the high atlas there are very strong winds so we do also recommend a wind breaker and gloves to keep you warm whilst you ride through the mountains.

We believe the tour has a great mix of flats, climbs and downhill rides which often appeal to a wide audience, which in turn makes for a great group dynamic.

 
10 Susan, 28/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Catching a camel out into the desert and camping overnight

 

Read more
 
10 Amber, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the Sahara desert from the back of a camel! Watching the sunset and rise over the dunes and seeing the amazing night sky.  Absolutely wonderful!!

Read more
 
10 Loraine Denison, 01/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"My cycling trip to morocco was the best adventure holiday I have ever had.  It had all the ingredients for me of what makes an adventure tour.  Spectacular scenery, lovely moroccan people   The other people on the tour were so much fun didn't stop laughing for a week.  Your leader back market drivers so professional and friendly also very knowledgable Mohammed and Mouhssine lovely guys and the drivers.   Hotels were very luxurious and the food delicious.  I couldn't fault the holiday and highly recommend it.  Thank you"

Read more
 
10 David, 22/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Travelling over the Atlas Mountains, Cycling through towns and villages, spending time in the markets plus the desert.

Read more
 
10 Rosemary Gamble, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Erg Chebbi dunes & the camels were amazing. As was the cycling through the Draa valley & down from the Tizi n'Fedrhate.

Read more
 
10 Susan Davie, 07/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We enjoyed the most spectacular downhill runs of my life while also having enough challenging cycling for the most determined cyclists.

Read more
 
10 Caryn Darley Waddilove (Explore Staff), 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This was the first cyling trip I had ever done with Explore - mostly I do trekking or multi-active trips. So I was slightly nervous as to what to expect. Well I neednt have been - the group, the tour leader, the itinerary, the bikes, the hotels, the food - everything was great! The tour was rated perfectly as it wasn’t an easy tour but it wasn’t a strenous tour either. It had a little bit of everything from the steep acents that burnt at your thigh muscles, to the flat long endless motorways with little traffic, to the winding roads passing thousand of date palms and kasbahs, to the sharp decents of through the High Atlas. The hotels were lovely and the staff friendly, the food was typically moroccon and wonderful. I am now looking for the next cycling tour and cannot wait!!  

 

Read more
 
8 Katarzyna Maria Swist-Szulik , 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I will never forget the sky full of stars during the night on the desert and I am already dreaming about coming back and cycling through the High Atlas Mountains again. Unforgettable and breathtaking memories. I will be forever in love with these places.Thank you for the great opportunity.

 

Read more
 
8 Keith Batchelor, 26/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The night in the Burber camp including the camel ride each way.  It was quite an memorable to suffer a rain storm on a camel in the Sahara.

Read more
 
0 RB, 11/02/11
The Southern Oasis cycling tour covered a great variety of landscapes from the High Atlas Mountains to the edge of the Sahara desert.  Our group of 16 was divided between two converted Transit vans that carried all the bikes on a roof rack.  A guide and driver accompanied each van.  The Stockli mountain bikes were good to ride and were quickly and well maintained by the team if any problems arose.  We did 3 days of relatively flat, but sustained road cycling through desert scenery which involved little traffic and perhaps got a little monotonous after a while. The shorter optional day was around kasbahs and palmeries and included some sightseeing around the markets of Rissani and a journey into the nearby stunning sand dunes either on foot or by camel for sunset.  The best day by far was in the High Atlas which involved an exhilarating sequence of descents on mostly tarmaced roads surrounded by the changing mountain scenery and Berber villages – a big reward for all our efforts and something you rarely get to do on a bike!  I was pleased to be able to cover every mile of the planned cycling route, but it was also good to know that one of the vans was always leading the way and the other was always at the back to pick us up if we wanted a break from cycling.  Several member of our group did this from time-to-time and on occasion because of upset stomachs so it’s worth being careful about hygiene when buying supplies for your packed lunch.  The hotels were comfortable, but a few had no heating which is actually needed in the coolest winter months so it’s worth packing accordingly.  All-in-all, a great value and diverse cycling tour. (CSO - 26th December 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA