It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
609 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Southern Oasis Cycling CSO

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Southern Oasis Cycling

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Southern Oasis Cycling trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Southern Oasis Cycling reviews verified by reevooReevoo

50 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Southern Oasis CyclingScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 50 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Vicky

Crawley
I think with Mustafa, Hamid and Abdul we really had the A team. They all worked extremely hard to make the trip run smoothly and to keep us safe. It is a delight to see how proud they are of their country and customs. Mustafa is a font of knowledge and no question is ever considered irrelevant.

The night in the desert was something I'll never forget and the accommodation there much better than I had expected. The star gazing was as incredible. The camel ride an experience!

The cycling seemed a bit tame after Vietnam and Cuba but I enjoyed it. Our day in the Atlas mountains on our way back had to be curtailed because of ice on the road but the downhill at the end was spectacular.

The bikes were good and some of them seemed new. There were no panniers and being short the small bag fixed behind the saddle didn't work for me as it dragged on the tyre. You could though store things in the bus. Some of the group didn't appreciate how cold it would be in the mountains it was literally freezing. So temperatures on the trip ranged from 0-30 degrees so people need to think about that when packing.

The hotels were fairly basic and some a bit tired. I think something better could have been found for our night in Marrakech, that was the worst.

Food varied and this was not a great culinary experience. Lunches were generally a picnic.

The trip was well planned and one really got a feel for the country. I felt very safe.






The cycling was well balanced in terms of a "moderate" grading. I think the landscape of Morocco made this hard to do: things are either flat and exposed to the sun (between 30 and 35 degrees Celsius at midday!) or uphill and generally taxing! But the organisation made ducking in and out acceptable and easy.

Generally a wonderful trip that I would highly recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

William

London
Full on trip with excellent tour leader, deputy tour leader and driver. I enjoyed the holiday a lot.
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Deirdre

Prague, Czech Republic
Mustafa and Hamid were excellent guides. They showed us many interesting sights and the overall experience was great. Only thing I'd recommend is less time in the van.
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Southampton
This trip has been an experience I will never forget.

The tour leader Mustapha and his deputy Hamid worked incredibly well as a team, making the trip run smoothly, very good fun and provided much info on local culture, customs and surroundings.

The drivers, Abdul and Hassan were an essential part if the group and were accommodating and supportive of us cutting the cycling short if we needed to.

The cycling was well balanced in terms of a "moderate" grading. I think the landscape of Morocco made this hard to do: things are either flat and exposed to the sun (between 30 and 35 degrees Celsius at midday!) or uphill and generally taxing! But the organisation made ducking in and out acceptable and easy.

Generally a wonderful trip that I would highly recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 25 March 2017
(7 out of 10)

Sarah

Solihull
Not suitable for novice cyclists, make sure you have stiff soled shoes and a water bottle. Be prepare for the camel ride and some rough surfaces including the downhill on the last day. Spectacular scenery in the mountains. Some lunches too much with dinner, some picnic very basic, very limited consistent choice on all menus. Bikes were basic and not well maintained
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 09 February 2017
(5 out of 10)

EV

London
It was generally OK. The weather was great during the day, but felt very cold in the evenings and night (around 5 degrees C) so lots of layers were needed. The scenery was great (better than being in cold damp England!), with the best scenery left for the last day. The cycling was adequate, although I would have preferred there to be slightly more cycling than there was. The off-road cycling on the final day was unexpected. We spent a few hours each day sitting on the bus getting between places, which was a big negative aspect of the trip. This, together with the early starts, made the tour very tiring. The food got a bit monotonous, as we had the same 4 options on almost every day of the tour. On the other hand, the group members were nice and friendly, the support staff were great and the tour leader did his best. The fruit (dates and bananas) provided on the breaks were also great.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 09 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback on your trip to Morocco, I’m sorry you feel that it didn’t rate very highly. We do cover a large distance in this particular itinerary to make sure that you see the most interesting parts of the region, so that can mean some long journeys by bus. That being said, most are usually happy with the amount of cycling, as we do highlight in our trip notes what distances will be covered by bike and by bus. I’m glad to hear however, that you had a great group and you were impressed with the support team and your Explore Leader.

(5 out of 10)

eileen

dorchester
sorry not as good as previous trips
felt leader did not really care about the group
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 06 February 2017

Thank you for your comments for your recent trip to Morroco, I’m sorry that it did not quite meet your expectations. Our leaders will always do their best to assist you and make sure the group are always at a comfortable pace, but if you do ever feel like some of the routes are too much, the support vehicle is never far behind to pick you up.

(8 out of 10)

Barry

Manchester
Very good trip with plenty of variety,from riding in the mountains to camel trek in the desert. Would of liked more cycling in the Atlas Mountains rather than some boring flat Tarmac runs through the desert.the itinerary was organised and quite well run by Mohamid although he could of been a bit more informative on local customs and more info. About where we were. All in all himself and his co guide Khalid did a good job. Highlight for me the decent out of the Atlas Mountains on the last day.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 08 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Alicia

Stockport
A fabulous way to spend Christmas! Such a beautiful country. A fair amount of time driving between places but worth it to see the contrast of scenery and "real" Morocco.

Great cycling with the best saved till last - the descent from the High Atlas Mountains was stunning in every sense. Our night in the desert was a comfortable and enjoyable experience.

Finally, our tour guide was exceptional. The guide and his team were friendly, informative and great fun to be with. I felt safe and looked after. They really made the trip and it was obvious how proud they were of their country.

Tips: It was cold in some of the hotels and at the beginning of some days - lots of warm clothing needed[layers!!]
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 02 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Bristol
Highlights : Camping in the dunes, cycling down the Atlas, the tour staff.
Lowlights: Some of the hotels were not as clean as one might have expected.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 01 January 2017