It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Southern Oasis Cycling CSO

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Southern Oasis Cycling

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Southern Oasis Cycling trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Southern Oasis Cycling reviews verified by reevooReevoo

39 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Southern Oasis CyclingScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 39 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Bernard

Cape Town
Well organized,great cycling companions,guides knowledgeable and responsible.Scenery spectacular and each day enjoyable.Well done the Explore research team. The whole experience was a pleasure and really excellent value. Would definitely do again.
Confirmed traveller: 07 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gill

bristol
overall we really enjoyed this tour,personally we would have preferred less time in the mini bus and more time on the bikes.
we particularly enjoyed the desert experience, the food served on this evening was excellent. It was a lovely experience being in the desert for sunrise and sunset.
our guide Mustafa was brilliant he was fun to be with and paid a great deal of attention to safety, any small problems that arose were solved quickly.
The other members of staff the bus drivers and assistant guide were all really friendly and helpful.
The final days cycling in the Atlas mountains was spectacular.
We would have liked a bit more time to explore Marrakesh and wished we had booked an extra night at the end of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 05 November 2016
Published on: 12 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Yvonne

Vernon bc Canada
Camel trip, cycling thru high Atlas villages, making new cycling friends, fantastic enthusiasm and energy from iliyas our tour guide. Very positive and understanding, very willing to share his Berber culture with us.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Cambridge
Excellent value. Assistant tour leader Hassan and drivers Aldi and Mohammed were excellent throughout. The tour leader, Ilyas was exceptional throughout. His attention to detail, always with the group's enjoyment in mind, made the trip such a pleasure. Lunch were provided, with agreement first from the group, by one of the drivers. These were excellent value and well worth taking advantage of.

Morocco has so much to offer - good roads, both tarmac and gravel for cycling, dramatic scenery, very tasty food and welcoming people. The first hotel in Marrakech was good and the others better. The camel ride and Berber camp was enjoyable too.

Do bring a plug for hotels. They are invariably missing!
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 13 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Siobhan

Warrington
Very exciting holiday. Well organised. Cycling with sightseeing and good food you cannot go wrong. My tip for this holiday do some training before you go.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Wayne

Dorset
Leader was brilliant, amazing countryside, great bikes. Accommodation varied, but good for the overall price of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Philip

London
The tour was as the itinerary stated, so top marks for accuracy.

The tour guide, ilyas, was excellent - funny and informative, organised and diligent, a strong communicator with impeccable manners and a constant smile on his face.

Cycling and seeing a developing country in an interesting country - much fun, though there's a bit of driving involved to get around, so don't neglect to read that part - itinerary is again accurate.

Food: it became very dull to eat the same dishes every day, as each hotel serves their speciality, tagine, and in an effort to keep people from getting sick (I guess), the meat and veg were boiled and boiled and boiled, and then every day to a new hotel, and repeat.
Breakfasts and lunch could have also been more original, with perhaps more options ... but this wasn't supposed to be a culinary tour, and so this is a minor point in the context of a very good way to see Morocco, that was low cost and a lot of fun.

Accommodation: entirely adequate, clean and comfortable but not glamorous.

Tips: I would have preferred more cycling, 2-3x the distance, but I may be alone in this category, and the tour did not under deliver - it did exactly what it said it would, I simply would have preferred more of it.
Bring a bottle of hot sauce or something to spice it up!
(Pack a bottle of spirits from Duty Free for the evenings!)
Confirmed traveller: 29 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Molly

Columbus, Ohio
Highlights - nearly all of the biking routes were scenic and safe. The berber camp is a nice change-of-pace for a day. The guides and drivers took care of everything. I especially liked the Draa Valley where we were able to bike on more remote roads, and the villages (and people) were very near to the road.

Tips - the tour begins and ends in Marrakech, but NO time is given to seeing the city. A half-day tour at the end would be a nice addition.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 31 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Annemarie

Stratford Upon Avon
The trip was a wonderful experience and the tour guide was fabulous. I personally would have liked to do more cycling. In particular in the Atlas mountains and less on the flat roads leading up to them. This would have enabled us to spend more hours on the bike and less on the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 14 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penelope

Sayed was a brilliant tour leader. The cycling highlight has to be the last day with an awesome descent through villages with a stunning backdrop.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 13 March 2016