It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Canal Du Midi CCM

Visiting: France
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Canal Du Midi

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Canal Du Midi tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Canal Du Midi reviews verified by Reevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Canal Du MidiScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

My best memories are of cycling through the scent of hot herbs and pines to the chirruping of cicadas,cycling along the towpath in the dappled shade of the plane trees or snoozing by the fountain in the pretty village of Bages waiting for the café to reopen. Seeing Carcassonne for the first time was a highlight (especially at the end of a long day's cycling!) Also memorable was the courtesy extended to cyclists by the French drivers.Brilliant! Regular briefings and excellent map packs meant we were well prepared whether we chose to cycle as a large party or smaller groups and we had plenty of time and the relevant information to consider cycling options when available. The bikes were good too and any niggles or technical problems were quickly fixed.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Getting to see parts of rural France I'd never have seen or even heard of otherwise; Also, exploring Carcassonne (I chose not to ride on the last day, but explored the city instead).Excellent. Knowledgeable and responsible, he has considered lots of little details in preparation for the tour to make the trip as smooth and enjoyable for us as possible. He clearly loves his job, too!
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

First class trip, pleasant hotels, cycling easy or as easy as you require An excellent tour leader. Really well planned trip, very accurate and easy maps for self guidance when necessary.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Cycling along the canal with the sunlight flooding through the trees, beautiful and relaxing. Fantasic food and wine in the evenings.Andrew understood we all had different capabilities and was understanding to our group needs. He had great local knowledge and recommendations
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Thoroughly enjoyed this cycle tour. Our guide was really great, have not been on a bike for ages but with reasonable levels of fitness this was fine...cycling the backroads and bumpy tree rooted canal was a lovely relaxing experience. Lovely subtle french villages and amazing patisseries......guilt free eating of cake. Andrew was great, I would gladly go away with him again, really helpful and extremely professional. I give him a 10/10. He was a great tour leader, really new his stuff and quite inspirational, a real pleasure to spend the week with.Thank you Andrew.
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Evelyn

Dublin
Loved the cycling if terrain a little rough/tough.Nice group of people .
Spend a day in Carcassone before /after trip so you cna maximise your cycling time on the trip
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

peter

ealing
Too many highlights to list - it was that good!

Lots more flexibility on how much you need to ride your bike than itinenary would suggest
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Lynne

London
Just loved the stretches along the canal which were tranquil and beautiful. The itinerary was well thought out and put together, staying in very pleasant and convenient locations at the 3 big historic centres. The highlights were actually the optional rides into the hills (didn't do the one to the Abbey) but the other hilly options were well worth doing for magnificent views over the area, especially the last day from Carcassonne up to the viewpoint over the old forts. Our leader, Andrew, looked after us very well and was very knowledgeable about the whole area. I felt quite sad saying goodbye to my bike at the end and the group of people on the tour were great.
My tips would be to be prepared for some diversions off the canal path, as it is closed in places for tree felling - there may be a fairly busy road or two involved for a short distance. Also just be aware that the canal path requires a fair degree of competence in bike handling and concentration in places, negotiating tree roots and gravel patches etc.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Shelley

Lightwater
Highlights include cycling across the bridge into Carcassonne after a long day's cycle along the Canal du midi. Also the beautiful city of Narbonne. I was surprised by how much of this holiday was self-guided as our guide, who was brilliant, was juggling many balls, transporting luggage and fixing bikes. We were very much encouraged to go it alone and there were a couple of occasions when we "lost" people and therefore made sure I cycled with the better map readers. I had expected there to be more back up. Fortunately when my bike broke down along the canal we were able to telephone our guide and walk the bike to a main road to be replaced. Had it happened any later, then our guide would have been out on his bike and we would have been stranded for a long time.
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015