It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
616 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Canal Du Midi CCM

Visiting: France
Tour Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Canal Du Midi

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Canal Du Midi tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Canal Du Midi reviews verified by Reevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Canal Du MidiScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Ruth

Bristol
Good value for money. There were good rides, with some flexibility built into some of them, and a very accommodating leader who dropped us off one day part way into the ride. We were bedevilled by strong headwinds, but that's life!

Hotels comfortable and breakfasts sustaining.

Some of the canal towpaths were quite challenging: parts with narrow tracks between grass, parts surfaced with limestone chippings, parts muddy after rain, so would not be suitable for cyclists with little experience.

If you want to see the Canal du Midi lined by the iconic plane trees, go soon, as they're suffering quite badly from fungal disease and being felled in a number of places.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Margaret

Abingdon
The holiday was very well lead and organised with a variety of cycling (off road along the canal, across marsh land to the sea, up into the hills). There was also a chance for sight seeing, especially in Narbonne and Carcassonne. Only the weather was against us -very windy, rather cold and wet!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

My best memories are of cycling through the scent of hot herbs and pines to the chirruping of cicadas,cycling along the towpath in the dappled shade of the plane trees or snoozing by the fountain in the pretty village of Bages waiting for the café to reopen. Seeing Carcassonne for the first time was a highlight (especially at the end of a long day's cycling!) Also memorable was the courtesy extended to cyclists by the French drivers.Brilliant! Regular briefings and excellent map packs meant we were well prepared whether we chose to cycle as a large party or smaller groups and we had plenty of time and the relevant information to consider cycling options when available. The bikes were good too and any niggles or technical problems were quickly fixed.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Getting to see parts of rural France I'd never have seen or even heard of otherwise; Also, exploring Carcassonne (I chose not to ride on the last day, but explored the city instead).Excellent. Knowledgeable and responsible, he has considered lots of little details in preparation for the tour to make the trip as smooth and enjoyable for us as possible. He clearly loves his job, too!
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

First class trip, pleasant hotels, cycling easy or as easy as you require An excellent tour leader. Really well planned trip, very accurate and easy maps for self guidance when necessary.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Cycling along the canal with the sunlight flooding through the trees, beautiful and relaxing. Fantasic food and wine in the evenings.Andrew understood we all had different capabilities and was understanding to our group needs. He had great local knowledge and recommendations
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Thoroughly enjoyed this cycle tour. Our guide was really great, have not been on a bike for ages but with reasonable levels of fitness this was fine...cycling the backroads and bumpy tree rooted canal was a lovely relaxing experience. Lovely subtle french villages and amazing patisseries......guilt free eating of cake. Andrew was great, I would gladly go away with him again, really helpful and extremely professional. I give him a 10/10. He was a great tour leader, really new his stuff and quite inspirational, a real pleasure to spend the week with.Thank you Andrew.
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Evelyn

Dublin
Loved the cycling if terrain a little rough/tough.Nice group of people .
Spend a day in Carcassone before /after trip so you cna maximise your cycling time on the trip
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

peter

ealing
Too many highlights to list - it was that good!

Lots more flexibility on how much you need to ride your bike than itinenary would suggest
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015