It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Canal Du Midi CCM

Visiting: France
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Canal Du Midi

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Canal Du Midi trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Canal Du Midi reviews verified by Reevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Canal Du MidiScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jim and Annette

Chester
As a tour leader Andrew is second to none i. e. he's very
well organised with a full briefing for each day and extremely well informed about the area. His maps and instructions are easy to follow when riding without him.
Also he has a great sense of humour.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole Canal du Midi experience and are now looking forward to our next Explore cycling holiday in France.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Carol

Wimborne
It was fantastic to cycle through vineyards and waterways and discover a beautiful region of France.
This was my first explore trip which was made so enjoyable by great group of people, fantastic weather and the organisational skills of our tour leader Andrew
Thank you all and hope to meet up with you again soon 😀
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 17 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

London
Fabulous tour, even though I am currently a none cyclist. Just glad that I bought a padded seat cover for any size of bike. You do need to do some exercise and be fairly fit, even though it is graded 'easy'. All the restaurants suggested had great food and were not too expensive. The group were all lovely people and we all helped each other. There were days when you didn't have to cycle if you needed a rest. There was more than enough to see and do. Fantastic scenery of canal, vineyards and medieval architecture, plus a couple of opportunities to go to the beach for a well earned swim. Andrew, our tour leader was very patient, knowledgeable and accommodating.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 15 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jean

Colwyn bay
Enjoyable holiday - first day very tiring and you couldn't really cut down or you would be lost. Did alternative days riding and sight-seeing which worked well for us. Andrew was very accommodating - we had a lift on last riding day to cut short ride to reasonable length for us. Nice friendly group and good fun. Don't overdo it on first day - more flexibility later in week, very hot. Glad we managed it and we were pleased that we did.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 15 June 2016
(7 out of 10)

Katherine

Tour provides gentle (apart from the 2 days we had excessively high winds!!) cycling amidst great scenery. There were options for more challenging routes, but I did not take these. The tour was very relaxed, with plenty of time to relax and explore Beziers, Narbonne and Carcassonne.

Lock, pump and tools were provided and the bikes were well maintained. The pannier provided was ample for carrying lunch and extra layers, which meant it was not necessary to wear a backpack.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ruth

Bristol
Good value for money. There were good rides, with some flexibility built into some of them, and a very accommodating leader who dropped us off one day part way into the ride. We were bedevilled by strong headwinds, but that's life!

Hotels comfortable and breakfasts sustaining.

Some of the canal towpaths were quite challenging: parts with narrow tracks between grass, parts surfaced with limestone chippings, parts muddy after rain, so would not be suitable for cyclists with little experience.

If you want to see the Canal du Midi lined by the iconic plane trees, go soon, as they're suffering quite badly from fungal disease and being felled in a number of places.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Margaret

Abingdon
The holiday was very well lead and organised with a variety of cycling (off road along the canal, across marsh land to the sea, up into the hills). There was also a chance for sight seeing, especially in Narbonne and Carcassonne. Only the weather was against us -very windy, rather cold and wet!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

My best memories are of cycling through the scent of hot herbs and pines to the chirruping of cicadas,cycling along the towpath in the dappled shade of the plane trees or snoozing by the fountain in the pretty village of Bages waiting for the café to reopen. Seeing Carcassonne for the first time was a highlight (especially at the end of a long day's cycling!) Also memorable was the courtesy extended to cyclists by the French drivers.Brilliant! Regular briefings and excellent map packs meant we were well prepared whether we chose to cycle as a large party or smaller groups and we had plenty of time and the relevant information to consider cycling options when available. The bikes were good too and any niggles or technical problems were quickly fixed.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015