It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
535 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Cycling the Baltic States 4.5 out of 5 based on 8 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycling the Baltic States tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Shirley Place, 22/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This holiday exceeded my expectations. The Baltic States are fantastic places to visit and we saw so much of the countries. The capital cities were explored on foot with an excellent guide. The cycle routes offered so much variety and the tracks were great overall. If, like me, you've never done this kind of thing before - start here!!

Read more
 
5 Eden Carruthers, 12/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Wonderful balance of scenery; coastline, forest and sleepy villages, easy cycling interspersed with a variety of fascinating interludes of history, food and architecture in Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn. Well organised, well paced, sociable and relaxing. Highlights were the cormorants nests and cycling on the beach

Read more
 
5 Kath, 31/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

I thought this was a brilliant experience. It included great cycling on forest paths, quiet roads, on the beach and aruond stunning peninsulas. The cultural highlights of the 3 capital cities were great - made especially interesting by the guide and her folk tales and great incites. There were superb locations chosen for cycle stops and some unusual lunch places(recommended by the guide) made it a really memorable tour. There was even time for swims in the Baltic!

Read more
 
4.5 Paul Masters, 31/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This trip combined cycling (obviously!) which was almost traffic free and took us through unspoilt rural areas and right by the Baltic coast; fascinating insights into former Soviet countries; visits to some delightful (small)cities with much to offer; and some super meals in sometimes surprising places

Read more
 
4.5 Fiona Ferguson, 28/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

My first cycling holiday and it won't be my last.Wonderful week cycling through Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. Egle was our guide for the week and she brought a great deal of knowledge and enthusiasm with her. The cycling was on mainly flat terrain and the support bus is always on hand if you have a problem with your bike or if you don't want to cycle the full route. Cycling enables you to get off the main road and go through small towns and forested areas that you normally wouldn't see. Cycling along the beach was a highlight for me, as was the wonderful food that we sampled throughout the trip. Back home now and pondering where my next cycle tour will take me.

Read more
 
5 Angela Glendenning, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Swimming in the Baltic Sea!

Read more
 
4 , 13/09/13

Name

Karen Pretorius

Tour Code

CBS

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"Cycling a whole day on the Split in the sunshine!! Lovely spending so much time in nature. "

Tour Leader Name

Linas

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very well organised, and flexible.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Even it say easy, make sure u a fit, if you can't cycle those distances at home you will hold the rest of the group back. If you fit enough you will have a lovely time in nature!!"

 
4.5 , 15/08/13

Name

Veronica Allan

Tour Name

Cycling the Baltic States

Tour Code

CBS

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

It's hard to pick one highlight when every day held new and interesting sights and experiences. Perhaps the best day was cycling the Curonian Spit - we covered 59km that day on our bikes, the other days were shorter. I enjoy a long ride, and the scenery was varied and lovely, there was a swimming opportunity and the weather was perfect.

Tour Leader Name

Egle`

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Egle was outstanding. She has a vast knowledge of the history of the region and it was so interesting to hear about growing up under the Russian Communist regime. She had endless stories, facts at her fingertips, and even Stalin jokes to lighten up what was often heart-rending history. She was also organized and efficient. She is a gem!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Really this tour should be named "Tour of the Baltic States, with some cycling". There were long bus rides between cycling destinations - this was clearly stated in the trip notes, and some days the rides were very short; as long as you accept that, then the tour is excellent. Don't take too much stuff, there's very little room for luggage on the bus.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The bus was cramped. The tall guys had a hard time with the lack of space. They couldn't have used a bigger bus because of some of the tight places it had to go - pulling a trailer too! So just be warned, and live with it. The bikes are not the best - I would suggest a better bike supplier with bikes of higher quality and a better trailer as it was a poor design and many people suffered from wheel/brake problems - not serious enough to stop us cycling, but just a thought for the future to look for a better bike/trailer provider.

Our Response

Unfortunately on this particular tour there was a technical problem with the transportation of the bikes by trailer from Vilnius to Klaipeda and a number of bikes became damaged in transit as a result. Wheel and brake problems were resolved on tour by the driver and mechanic. The trailer was fixed to avoid similar future problems and other feedback from all tours throughout the season was positive.

 
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA