It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle The Backroads of Cuba CUC

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle The Backroads of Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle The Backroads of Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle The Backroads of Cuba reviews verified by reevooReevoo

8 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle The Backroads of CubaScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Market Drayton
Excellent trip, challenging biking in hot temperatures, very informative guide and a lovely bunch of people to share it with
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Solihull
Arrival Experience - Havanna Airport is somewhat chaotic. The Explore Rep who met us was not keen for guests to exchange money at the airport as there was a long queue. Fortunately a few guest were able to exchange money and sub other guests otherwise this would have been a problem. This could be resolved by the Tour Rep exchanging some money for guests beforehand.

Itinerary - overall, the itinerary provided an excellent way of seeing much of Cuba. It is a shame that we did not arrive at the hotels most days until after 6.00, which gave very limited "down time" for example to go to the hotel pool for a swim. The 2 night stop in Trinidad was great but the 2 night stop in Baracoa was less good - the hotel was basic and there was not much to do.

Accommodation - the quality and location of accommodation was mixed. The casa particulars where centrally located, had character and the breakfasts were good. The state run hotels were basic and the food was poor.

Transport - the coach worked well but a lot of time was wasted loading and unloading the bikes.

Tour Guide - the tour guide, mechanic and driver were excellent. However, this was the first time the tour guide had done this particular route and a couple of rides did not have a coffee / comfort stop. Fortunately, I took plenty of snacks for the rides

Highlights - the 4 best rides were Cienfuegos to Trinidad, Trinidad to Sancti Spiritus, the coast road ride to Santiago and the La Farola to Baracoa. I also enjoyed the walking tours of Trinidad and Havanna and going to the beach in Trinidad
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Bristol
A fantastic way to see the country - Trinidad and Baracoa were the highlights together with the cycle along the Sierra Maestra coastal road. The cycling was challenging but we had a brilliant supportive group and our guide Angel was fantastic - a must do trip!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Vicky

Crawley
We had a great trip and Stephan was an excellent leader and went the extra mile. Nothing was too much trouble and his knowledge of the history and culture really enhanced the trip plus he was always there supporting the weakest member. The accommodation was disappointing. I appreciate that when you are so remove that you have to have what you can get but in Havana our last night was spent in our scheduled hotel which was truly awful. On our first night we had to be relocated somewhere else and I don't know why this (if not a better hotel could not have been your hotel of choice) as it was much better. One night our hotel was overbooked (and we were told before we went if this was the case we would receive a refund). Another hotel was sourced and we trundled our luggage to that one only to be told that there was no room for us there. We had to walk back to the bus and go to a vastly inferior hotel for the night. So I expect we are entitled to a refund for that. The Casa in Trinidad was the best accommodation. I made a vide which might interest you with some of the highlights from our trip. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyVzu-gpfig
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016

Thank you for your review. As you will have seen, Cuba is suffering an explosion in tourism which, coupled with a culture that does not always recognise the benefits of good customer service – for example not honouring pre-booked and paid for hotel reservations – can make for short notice lodging changes. We try very hard to mitigate this and find like for like where possible. Our records show that, on this trip, all changes were like for like and upgrades were offered to counterbalance any disappointment. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Cuba despite this issue.

(8 out of 10)

Clair

Whitley Bay
highlight - The long ride around the coast

advice - take electrolites for drinks bottl;e and be very careful of hand hygine
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(7 out of 10)

Adam

Guisborough
You see the true Cuba where tourists do not normally go. Don't expect luxury, expect 1960 1970 styles of hotels.
All the hotels are clean. Go with an easy as it comes attitude. See lots of different places a full on trip. Really enjoyed it
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

James

Cork
Nice way to see a lot of the country. Highlights would be the relaxed cycling through the country side, seeing how people live their lives & experiencing the culture.
Tips: Some cycling before embarking on the trip may make it more enjoyable, but not too much as it is a relaxed pace, with all levels catered for.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2014
Published on: 26 September 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Being able to see Cuba from a bicycle: it really is the best way to see/smell/hear a country. Also, it might sound like a cliche, but there really is music everywhere you go in Cuba so music lovers will enjoy themselves especially in the Casas de la Trova.Jaime did a very good job of keeping everybody happy despite some classically Cuban problems along the way (restaurants losing our reservations, hotels claiming to have no record of our meal booking etc). He was very happy to share his knowledge and opinions on life in Cuba and made sure we were safe and happy at all times. Our bus driver spoke minimal English but was an excellent driver and great support during a long ride.
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015