It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
541 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

East African Explorer EA

Tour Duration 13 Days
  • Watchful Leopard
  • Colourful Ngorongoro Crater Lake
  • Serengeti Lions
  • Ngorongoro Game Drive
  • Game drive
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Basic
 

Book now!

10 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the East African Explorer tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 04/10/13

Name

Philippa

Tour Code

EA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

We were such a lucky group we had memorable moments nearly every day: sighting a rare black rhino; seeing all the Big Five within 3 days! then finding lions drinking at the campsite when we arrived and watching them being shooed away by the team. Then they came back to fetch their kill and we watched them as we had dinner! On the last day 4 huge bull elephants came to say goodbye and we watched from less than 100 metres.

Tour Leader Name

Sam

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Sam was special. He was knowledgeable about culture, wildlife, birds, and all aspects of the tour, as well as being very efficient. His tact was wonderful. We were watching some tourists taking photos of hippos and getting right down to the edge of the bank. When we asked what he would do he said "I would prefer it if they got behind the rocks!" He also made sure that we were aware of local etiquette so that we did not offend people, for example by taking photos without their permission. He had a good sense of humour and looked after his crew so they were an excellent team.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take plenty of camera batteries, although you can charge them in the truck if you have an adaptor. Change memory cards at regular intervals - one of mine got corrupted. Mattresses are provided but you might like to take a pillow - I had to buy one locally as I could not sleep without one.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Excellent value for money, one of the best holidays I have had. But do remember this is Africa - if there is no water or no electricity at the place you stop please be patient [this is after all listed as a basic tour]. The problem will be solved. Go with an open mind and enjoy the difference.

 
10 , 04/10/13

Name

Philippa

Tour Code

EA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

We were such a lucky group we had memorable moments nearly every day: sighting a rare black rhino; seeing all the Big Five within 3 days! then finding lions drinking at the campsite when we arrived and watching them being shooed away by the team. Then they came back to fetch their kill and we watched them as we had dinner! On the last day 4 huge bull elephants came to say goodbye and we watched from less than 100 metres.

Tour Leader Name

Sam

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Sam was special. He was knowledgeable about culture, wildlife, birds, and all aspects of the tour, as well as being very efficient. His tact was wonderful. We were watching some tourists taking photos of hippos and getting right down to the edge of the bank. When we asked what he would do he said "I would prefer it if they got behind the rocks!" He also made sure that we were aware of local etiquette so that we did not offend people, for example by taking photos without their permission. He had a good sense of humour and looked after his crew so they were an excellent team.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take plenty of camera batteries, although you can charge them in the truck if you have an adaptor. Change memory cards at regular intervals - one of mine got corrupted. Mattresses are provided but you might like to take a pillow - I had to buy one locally as I could not sleep without one.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Excellent value for money, one of the best holidays I have had. But do remember this is Africa - if there is no water or no electricity at the place you stop please be patient [this is after all listed as a basic tour]. The problem will be solved. Go with an open mind and enjoy the difference.

 
10 Sarah Harrison, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Touring such a beautiful island with our amazing guide and team and a great group of people. Seeing such varied scenery, experiencing the true Sri Lanka and best of all, the elephants!

Read more
 
0 Russell Baker (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
This rugged overland tour is a great introduction to Kenya and Tanzania. You visit a few towns and cities for good measure but the highlights have to be the wildlife, stunning scenery and being on safari. To add to the adventure, there’s a boat trip on Lake Naivasha and a walking with the animals in Crescent Island reserve which are both great fun, plus you’re camping. On this tour because of the time of year, the Maasai Mara was packed with wildlife and was the best park.  You meet the local Maasai and Datoga tribes along with Hadzabi bushmen. (EA - 24th July 2010)
 
0 Julia Rouse, 17/11/10
This holiday was full on from the moment we arrived in Nairobi, we were straight off in the truck with everybody which was our home. The people and staff were lovely. There are too many highlights to think of: lioncubs, rhino a cheetah kill, the most beautiful sunrise and sunsets ever. I feel like i experienced the true Kenya with all the sights sounds and smells that you get from camping. I couldn't have wished for anything more apart from a leopard. This was the best thing i have ever done. People in the future go with the flow the unexpected things make it more memorable. (EA -2nd October 2010)
 
0 Suzanne & Peter Brazier, 12/11/10
There were so many highlights on this trip, the whole experience was amazing - the local people, the animals, our driver and not to mention our cook who managed to get the kettles on as soon as we arrived anywhere for tea and coffee!  He also produced very good meals (the soup was excellent and not from a packet!) on no more than a gas ring or charcoal fire. Expect long journeys but they are never boring as there is always something to see.  We were very lucky to see the start of the migration in the Mara - lines of Wildebeest as far as the eye could see - awesome.  Also saw a cheetah make a kill in the Serengeti.  Oh - and lions - we never imagined we would see so many lions!   Amboseli for the elephants.  Camp sites are basic but all part of the experience and it is expected if you read the dossier beforehand!!!  Thoroughly recommended. (EA- September 4th 2010)
 
0 Elaine Edmondson, 18/10/10
East Africa Explorer was one of the most enjoyable Explore trips I have done. The wildlife was astonishingly rich and varied, including everything from birds and mammals to insects and reptiles. The highlights for me were seeing my first wild cheetah who had 4 cubs with her, the stunningly beautiful Ngorongoro Crater and the wide expanses of the Serengeti. Be prepared for basic camping, there is nothing luxurious about this trip, but by sacrificing a few home comforts you get to experience the real Africa, bugs and all. The tents are good quality and spacious, take a thermarest inflatable mattress if you want extra comfort at night and plenty of clothes to layer up, the temperature changes across the trip are quite dramatic due to altitude. It was freezing at the Ngorongoro crater but very warm at Lake Victoria. Be also prepared for some very long drives on terrible dirt track roads full of pot holes. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable trip and one I would consider doing again at a different time of year to see other wildlife. (EA - 4th July 2009)
 
0 Denise Bates, 22/09/10
Before I went on this trip I found it hard to imagine what it would be like. What would I get from the experience? What sights would I see? As soon as we set off from the hotel in Nairobi in our game viewing truck, which would become a sort of second home to us for the two weeks, our adventure started. In the Maasai Mara we were spoiled by the sheer number of animals we saw. Every day would bring a new excitement. All trips are different apparently and you cannot guarantee what you are going to see. The Serengeti was equally awesome. The sheer scale of this park is incredible. This is very clearly a camping trip so you should not expect any luxuries. Everyone is responsible for putting up and taking down their own tents. Sometimes the campsites have hot water, sometimes not. The toilets are all very basic and very often are drop toilets which are no more than a hole in the ground. This should not put anyone off though because you do get strangely used to it all and everyone is in the same boat. None of us were prepared for how cold it would be travelling on the game viewing truck though. We didn't have the usual truck because Tanzania had started not allowing Kenya registered vehicles into Tanzania so we had to use a Tanzanian registered truck. This one had open sides and so it was very, very windy and cold while travelling from place to place. The trip from Kenya into Tanzania is around 10 hours more or less solid travelling and the same in reverse. My advice to people is to ensure they take along appropriate warm clothing for this element of the trip. You need something to wear on your head. Ideally a woolly hat, beeny hat or similar or a scarf. You also need a warm fleece. Most of us ended up buying Maasai blankets to wrap up in. It's all part of the fun of course and a shared experience with your fellow travellers. Personally, my highlights were watching the elephants on the edge of our camp in the Ngorongoro Crater, the walking tour on Crescent Island, walking amongst the giraffes was simply awesome (who'd have thought you could do such a thing), visiting the Maasai tribesmen in their own homes, the patience of our brilliant driver when we wanted to take yet another photograph of an awesome sunset (with the just the right Acacia tree in the foreground to add depth of course!!). This was a brilliant trip and an experience I will never forget. Obviously, each tour can have different experiences, but one thing is for sure, you will fall in love with Africa. (EA- 7th August 2010)
 
0 Susanne Charlesworth, 21/09/10
This was not just your average go-on-holiday-and-forget-it-after-3-days-back-at-work. This was a total life experience, to be savoured over and over again. Don't expect luxury, don't expect mod cons, what you will get is a professionally run tour, the company of some great people, stunning, stunning scenery, more animals than you can shake a whole forest of sticks at and to meet genuine, friendly, welcoming African people. I can say in all honesty, this was my best holiday. Ever. (14th July 2010)
 
0 Jessica, 20/09/10
Kenya and Tanzania are two amazing countries with spectacular scenery. I wanted to do an overland trip in which i saw a lot of different scenery and landscapes in a short space of time, and also one which allowed me to fully absorb the culture of the countries we passed through. I didn't know what to expect from the trip, so didn't really have any expectations beforehand. However i was blown away by the amount of animals we saw on our game drives. Highlights for me include watching a kill, seeing lion cubs and seeing the hundreds of wilderbeast in the Maasai Mara. We were lucky on our trip to have some of the campsites to ourselves which was unexpected, as our Tour leader had said they were really busy on the previous trip. The weather was also good. A couple of rain showers, but they didn't impact on our trip. Some advice for future travellers wanting to do this trip:  Even though i have travelled and camped in Africa before, i wasn't really prepared for how different Kenya and Tanzania would be. Facilities at campsites are pretty basic so expect cold showers and squat toliets for about half of the trip. Take toilet roll - enough for 2 weeks, as most campsites and toilets you stop at don't have any. If you want snacks and chocolate while you are away - take it with you from the UK. There are plenty of opportunities to buy soft and alcoholic drinks in both countries, but things like chocolate isn't as widely available and can be expensive. Take sweets to hand out to children when you pass through villages. If you visit the orphanage in Tanzania, take clothes rather than stationery for the children there. If travelling in August take a warm fleece and some other warm layers. It was cold on the early morning game drives we did. Take some travel wash with you to do washing over there - clothes seem to get dirty quickly as its quite dusty everywhere. Take flip flops for the showers. Be prepared for a couple of long and bumpy journeys - there aren't many tarmac roads in both countries. Most importantly, relax and don't take things too seriously. Things in Africa run on their own time schedule and always work out in the end. (EA- 21st August 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA