It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Volcanoes and Galapagos GPS

Visiting: Ecuador
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Volcanoes and Galapagos

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Volcanoes and Galapagos trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Volcanoes and Galapagos reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Volcanoes and GalapagosScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Carol

Saltash
Hacienda Mantels. It was a lovely place to stay, but the price of the meal and drinks was a rip off. Also dogs barking most of the night. Pleased we only staid 1 night.

Casa Natura Ecolodge. Again a nice place to stay, but it was not very clean. Spoke to our guide, and she spoke to them. On return for our 3 nights, it was much better.

Not impress with the trip notes. Not up to date, and could have made problems for our guide. We had the same problem on our last holiday with you. You need to address this problem quickly.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017

Thanks for your feedback Carol, we will take these points up with the individual accommodation. I’m very surprised to hear about the Casa Natura Ecolodge, as this usually gets good reviews - However, we’ll make sure that this is in good shape for our next trip. In terms of the trip notes, we have made several updates over the last week, which should mean that these are all correct for the next group. We do review trip notes after every season, and make amendments based on customer and staff feedback as well as our local supplier recommendations.

(9 out of 10)

David

Hove
Our tour leader Diego added hugely to our enjoyment of the trip. Although this is the first group trip that we have been on, we have experienced guides on shorter tours and we would be surprised if there is a better guide anywhere. Truly exceptional and we will remain forever grateful to him for adding so much to this special experience.
Galapagos was the reason for the trip but we enjoyed the highlands experience very much.
Swimming with a giant turtle and, to my surprise in the lagoon, reef sharks were unforgettable experiences.
Niggles about the standard of the accommodation and elements of the itinerary are minor in comparison with the overall warm memories of the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 14 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Carolyn

Shrewton, Salisbury
Trip was all and more than we expected. Lots of early starts but worth the effort!
Accommodation was generally very good but the hotel in Quito - where were spent most nights, was very dark and a little depressing.
The itinerary provided everything, and more, the only slight niggle was that we returned to Quito more, than we felt, was necessary. A day and a half is plenty to explore the city.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 03 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Derby
This was a well planned and very enjoyable trip with an excellent Ecuadorian leader who spoke very good English and was very informative. The accommodation was fine and the itinerary well thought out. The Galapagos islands were very interesting and although we did not see all the indigenous wildlife, we saw an awful lot. Well done Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 21 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Emma

Luton
This was an amazing trip made all the more special thanks to our tour leader Diego. He was so enthusiastic about his country and eager that we saw everything we could in our time there. For me, the highlights were the equator line, the clear vistas of the volcanoes, and the wildlife on the Galapagos in particular the giant tortoises and the blue footed boobies.

Tips: You do need a good camera, not just zoom but also speed so you don't miss any shot, binoculars for bird spotting, and on this trip there was only one wet landing so plastic shoes mentioned in the trip notes were not necessary. There was chance to leave some of our luggage in the hotel in Quito which was great for leaving snorkeling and other beach stuff which wouldn't be needed on the mainland.

Finally, if you are hesitating about going; don't! Ecuador and the Galapagos are amazing!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Maria

Exeter
We enjoyed the landscape and volcanos, the walks and specially the visits to the local people,the panflute maker and his family, the weaving shop...I bought one and love it !!
Our meal at the family's house of Antonio's sister was also a treat..all those beans !
The Condor Centre was amazing too with the Dutch guy Joep.
The visit to the Equator was also most interesting and the whole first week we were lucky with the weather, blue sky every day !
The second week in the Galapagos was well organised too with many boat trips to and from the Islands.
We enjoyed Seymour the most with its stunning wildlife...the reason for our trip.
The snorkelling was fun too and so was the meal on board boat, a treat !!
The only disappointment was the lack of time we had at The Darwin Institute...it was so interesting but closed soon after we entered...we only managed to buy some souvenirs .
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Catherine

Leicester
Galapagos section of tour outstanding, mainland (Ecuador) section disappointing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Jersey
Good, varied itinerary. Isabela Island is amazing......I would have liked more time there.
Excellent guide, disappointing that he was not still with us in Guayaquil.....not sure how we would have coped on our own in the Earthquake.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016

Thank you for your review, Jane - we're delighted that you rated the trip so highly.
In terms of your time in Guayaquil, we do highlight in the trip notes that your day in Guayaquil is at your leisure, so although we do not provide a guide for this day, we do make sure that a local rep accompanies you from the airport to your hotel. We’re sorry this wasn’t clear and we will make sure to update the trip notes so we detail it accordingly. Please rest assured that we always have staff on call both locally, and in the UK, to offer any necessary support and we provide their emergency numbers in your travel documents.

(8 out of 10)

Merle

London
Last day in guayaguil was a waste of time it would be better to go back to Quito, or somehow avoid it. Would rather have gone to Seymour Norte rather than Plaza Sur.
On the whole it was an Interesting and enjoyable trip
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016