It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Volcanoes and Galapagos GPS

Visiting: Ecuador
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Volcanoes and Galapagos

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Volcanoes and Galapagos trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Volcanoes and Galapagos reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Volcanoes and GalapagosScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Derby
This was a well planned and very enjoyable trip with an excellent Ecuadorian leader who spoke very good English and was very informative. The accommodation was fine and the itinerary well thought out. The Galapagos islands were very interesting and although we did not see all the indigenous wildlife, we saw an awful lot. Well done Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 21 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Emma

Luton
This was an amazing trip made all the more special thanks to our tour leader Diego. He was so enthusiastic about his country and eager that we saw everything we could in our time there. For me, the highlights were the equator line, the clear vistas of the volcanoes, and the wildlife on the Galapagos in particular the giant tortoises and the blue footed boobies.

Tips: You do need a good camera, not just zoom but also speed so you don't miss any shot, binoculars for bird spotting, and on this trip there was only one wet landing so plastic shoes mentioned in the trip notes were not necessary. There was chance to leave some of our luggage in the hotel in Quito which was great for leaving snorkeling and other beach stuff which wouldn't be needed on the mainland.

Finally, if you are hesitating about going; don't! Ecuador and the Galapagos are amazing!
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Maria

Exeter
We enjoyed the landscape and volcanos, the walks and specially the visits to the local people,the panflute maker and his family, the weaving shop...I bought one and love it !!
Our meal at the family's house of Antonio's sister was also a treat..all those beans !
The Condor Centre was amazing too with the Dutch guy Joep.
The visit to the Equator was also most interesting and the whole first week we were lucky with the weather, blue sky every day !
The second week in the Galapagos was well organised too with many boat trips to and from the Islands.
We enjoyed Seymour the most with its stunning wildlife...the reason for our trip.
The snorkelling was fun too and so was the meal on board boat, a treat !!
The only disappointment was the lack of time we had at The Darwin Institute...it was so interesting but closed soon after we entered...we only managed to buy some souvenirs .
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Catherine

Leicester
Galapagos section of tour outstanding, mainland (Ecuador) section disappointing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Jersey
Good, varied itinerary. Isabela Island is amazing......I would have liked more time there.
Excellent guide, disappointing that he was not still with us in Guayaquil.....not sure how we would have coped on our own in the Earthquake.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016

Thank you for your review, Jane - we're delighted that you rated the trip so highly.
In terms of your time in Guayaquil, we do highlight in the trip notes that your day in Guayaquil is at your leisure, so although we do not provide a guide for this day, we do make sure that a local rep accompanies you from the airport to your hotel. We’re sorry this wasn’t clear and we will make sure to update the trip notes so we detail it accordingly. Please rest assured that we always have staff on call both locally, and in the UK, to offer any necessary support and we provide their emergency numbers in your travel documents.

(8 out of 10)

Merle

London
Last day in guayaguil was a waste of time it would be better to go back to Quito, or somehow avoid it. Would rather have gone to Seymour Norte rather than Plaza Sur.
On the whole it was an Interesting and enjoyable trip
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jayn

Jersey
The places visited and tour leader were excellent and gave a real incite to the country. Encountering animals that had no fear of people was an amazing experience.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 05 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Really interesting tour lead by the a great tour leader/guide. Mainland Ecuador every bit as interesting and diverse as Galápagos. This trip has been a real holiday highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 05 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

Stratford-upon-Avon
Mainland Equador was big surprise, much more enjoyable and interesting than I expected, not just the volcanoes the whole trip. The flora and fauna on Galapagos was unique as expected, Isabella island in particular was my favorite and I could happily stayed there a long time. Tips, with hindsight a boat based tour would save a lot of luggage moving which did become tedious
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2015
Published on: 14 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour is a great mix of mainland Ecuador cities/towns and countryside with the wildlife of the Galapagos islands and more. Fantastic to see volcanoes smoking away, historic Quito, colourful Otavalo, dramatic countryside and rural life. The wildlife on the Galapagos was so interesting and to follow in the thoughts of Charles Darwin was a great experience. We swam with seals, turtles, iguanas, white tipped reef sharks, pelicans and blue footed boobies, bought crayfish inexpensively from the fish market and had cocktails as the sun went down. Diego, our tour leader, was relaxed, so knowledgeable and helpful to all - highly recommended. Hotels were not top notch but all were fine and some excellent for style and location.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016