It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
587 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Volcanoes and Galapagos GPS

Visiting: Ecuador
Tour Duration 15 Days
Reviews for Volcanoes and Galapagos 4.5 out of 5 based on 7 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Volcanoes and Galapagos tour available at present.

Please select a date:

4 Phil Jones, 30/10/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The tour is a great mix of mainland Ecuador cities/towns and countryside with the wildlife of the Galapagos islands and more. Fantastic to see volcanoes smoking away, historic Quito, colourful Otavalo, dramatic countryside and rural life. The wildlife on the Galapagos was so interesting and to follow in the thoughts of Charles Darwin was a great experience. We swam with seals, turtles, iguanas, white tipped reef sharks, pelicans and blue footed boobies, bought crayfish inexpensively from the fish market and had cocktails as the sun went down. Diego, our tour leader, was relaxed, so knowledgeable and helpful to all - highly recommended. Hotels were not top notch but all were fine and some excellent for style and location.

Read more
5 Gordon Goodall, 08/09/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

I wondered what Ecuador would be like, as like most people I signed up for the Galapagos experience. I found Ecuador fascinating, particularly the volcanos, Cotopaxi in particular,and all those waterfalls ! Seeing all the wildlife in The Galapagos, so near ! They didn't seem to have any fear of homo sapiens, sea lions,blue footed boobies,tortoises,frigate birds, all with their young, iguanas ahhhh! Speed boat trips between islands, fantastic ! Just a shame about Iberias flights, poor food, ancient entertainment set up, they need new planes !

Read more
5 Denise Clinker, 05/09/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This is a fantastic trip. You get such contrast with the landscapes and Volcanos of Ecuador, to the beautiful Galapagos Islands. How lucky we were to also see the mighty Cota Paxi with ash plumes!! And despite the fact the Galapagos is a land based trip, my goodness me the wildlife you get to see is superb. Close up encounters with bird life, tortoise, sea-lions, iguanas, sharks, turtles, the list goes on). I especially loved Isabella Island with it's remoteness and by the sea hotel location. A fantastic trip that I thoroughly recommend.

Read more
5 Deborah, 19/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

There are new things around every corner of this trip. We expected the Galapagos to be great but the mainland was just as good, if not better. The volcanoes are stunning and the town of Otavalo is charming. Ecuador is a fabulous contry

Read more
4 Jo Laws, 02/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

When I was lying in a hammock on the beach with a sea lion sleeping at my feet.

Read more
5 Mike Giles, 19/12/11

Perhaps we took a chance booking early for the last tour of the season, the only one not shown as guaranteed to run, but we were to be rewarded for our patience. The weather remained fine and the skies were mostly clear for the whole of this November trip. On arrival our small group (5) was met by award-winning Tour Leader Diego Garzon and conducted on a bespoke journey though Ecuador and to its far off isles. The modesty of this man belies his professional organizational skills as he so willingly shares knowledge of his country and of its flora and fauna and becomes an enthusiastic group member. 

For anyone researching this holiday for the benefit of a land-based trip to Galapagos, go ahead, the accommodation there is great and you will not pass up on the marine spectacles. However, be prepared to fall in love with Ecuador first. It is an easy going country, the people are hard-working and friendly and the scenery is stunning. 

Yes, we felt the altitude a little in the highlands but an easy period in Quito at the start helped acclimatization and the whole group, including pensioners, readily participated in the organized walks which often gained height for spectacular views. It's not easy to choose a highlight of Ecuador as even this small group’s views were diverse, but I know we were all in total awe when Diego decided that conditions were right to detour high above Banos and look across its lava strewn plateau to the close majesty of Tungurahua (5000+ metres) jetting steam from its frozen crater into an otherwise clear blue sky. 

Perhaps I had read more of the Galapagos as not to be too surprised, for it was everything  we had imagined. I had not however expected the 20 knot cruiser trips between Santa Cruz and Isabela Islands which were highlights in themselves, and not just for the sheer fun of speed travel. On the outward trip we spotted dolphins that then privileged us with their playful company for part of the passage, riding the bow wave and breaking surface.

Our numbers swelled to seven on the islands with the addition of local guide Marlon to whom we related immediately. I have never persevered with snorkeling and at age 68 was prepared to give it a miss but with his and Diego’s encouragement, equipped with hired wetsuit and buoyancy aid, I joined structured opportunities to develop and to view a very different world. The ultimate thrill was when the now accomplished group was snorkeling in the open sea and a 2-metre whitetip shark lazed by. Harmless we were told, but hey! Still a bit special!   

Altitude in Ecuador mitigates the tropical heat but personally I did not find the highlands as cold as expected and did not use my outer fleece once out of Heathrow. We found lighter layered clothing useful, especially in the evening. However it is always worth remembering the sun is fiercest at the Equator and to heed warnings to cream up and cover up. Loose fitting long-sleeved tops are useful with longer pants that also repel insect bites from the undergrowth. Skimpy tops and shorts may seem sexy on the beach but the lobster-chested, spotty-ankled tourist is also endemic to the islands. We did not spend as much as expected on food or drink being happy with local fare and, as no mains water is potable, most establishments provided water and delicious fruit drinks as part of the service. One of our more expensive adventure trips but well worth the money. (GPS - 12th November 2011)

5 Mike Conway, 15/04/11

I imagine most people book such tours to see the Galapagos Islands, and it is tempting to see mainland Ecuador as the 'warm up' to the main event, when in fact this part of the holiday was just as fascinating and enjoyable.  The first week of this trip is spent in Quito and the Andes, with its distinct Highland culture. Unlike Peru (from memories) volcanoes dominate the landscape, seeing a smoking   volcano from my bed was a stunning sight, and the after effects of eruptions are a reminder of nature's power. This part of the trip is at altitude, so expect to be short of breath and more tired than you would expect! Ecuador is on the equator though, so wear lots of sun cream, even though the temperature up here at altitude is surprisingly cool. 

From here you fly to the Galapagos, definitely a must visit destination for wildlife lovers. This trip is hotel based, staying on two islands, then relatively touristy Santa Cruz and the very quiet Isabela; the former is more geared to tourism (a decent choice of places to eat and drink) while on the latter you feel much more off the beaten track. Being land based you see fewer different islands, but can explore these two in more depth. The boat based trips tend to spend more time swimming and snokeling than this trip, there were 3 opportunities to snorkel, but one snorkel (where I saw a turtle!) was enough for most of us. I managed to hire prescription snorkel equipment, but was probably lucky. I won't go through all the wildlife you'll see, but suffice to say you'll see most of what you'd hope to see...giant tortoises, iguanas, finches, boobys etc  The final day is spent back the mainland, but down at sea level, in the 2nd city Guayaquil.   This city to me had a more Latin feel to it than Quito and the highlands, with that exciting blend of liveliness and slight hint of danger... 

Overall, an excellent trip, and expertly led by our guide the award winning Diego Torres -   search this site for details on his prize! Everyone on the trip had an excellent time, and I'd definitely recommend Ecuador as a holiday destination and this Explore tour.(GPS 12th February 2011)

Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA