It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Ecuador Discovery

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ecuador Discovery trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ecuador Discovery reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Ecuador DiscoveryScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sarah

Swindon
This trip gives a fascinating insight into a less well known country. It is a country of contrasts; we experienced mountains, the coast, the jungle, volcanos, rain, sun and snow (really!). Our leader Myriam was simply fabulous - so knowledgeable and clearly rightly proud of her country. She promised magic and didn't let us down, providing a daily surprise and keeping her smile despite suffering from a heavy cold. In return we introduced her to the delights of a snowball fight on Chimborazo at 4600m! Our driver Carlos was young but dealt maturely with some challenging situations (not least driving in snow for the first time).

Only 3 slightly negative points. First, the weather. This trip spends much time in the Highlands and as such the weather is unpredictable, and we were unlucky on a few days. Don't underestimate the number of days you'll need long trousers! Second, the hotel in Riobamba is pretty poor. It felt grubby and served up the 2 poorest meals of the trip, though the staff were lovely. This stop is a tactical one to position you for the train the next morning and is only for one night, but use of this hotel could do with a rethink. Third, the flight home from Guayaquil to Madrid, though booked as Iberia, was actually operated by Latam. Very uncomfortable seats, staff who couldn't care less (not even an attempt at cleaning the toilets in an 11 hour flight) and the 2 most meagre meals I've ever been served on a flight. And as for the safety issues....I'll be contacting Explore with the details and will make enquiries in the future in order to do everything possible to avoid flying with this airline again, and I recommend others do too.

But none of that spoiled the trip. We saw wonderful views, had some excellent meals (including breakfast with parrots!) and wine and enjoyed the genuine hospitality of the Ecuadorians. You don't need to go to Peru if you want the Andes, the Inca Trail and the Amazon - you can get all that, and more, in Ecuador. Oh, and a genuine Panama hat!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Liam

Peterborough
An excellent trip. Great tour leader. We really got a good feel for the country and its culture. You will experience a wide range of climates - so make sure you have some warm clothes and waterproofs!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jennifer

Vancouver
Overall the tour was great. Our tour leader's knowledge was excellent. It was a shame I couldn't find a Galapagos tour that could have been added so I had to do that through another company.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ian

Brassington, Matlock
The tour was very enjoyable and covered a range of geographical areas including Andes, rain forest and coast. The roads were spectacular in the Andes with amazing views.
As there were only 3 of us on the tour, we had the close attention of the guide.
The accommodation was very good except in Riobamba where the hotel was poor and the service lousy. We had an early start and were promised coffee before we left. It didn't appear and the sandwiches provided were disappointing. There was also a problem finding our companion's valuables which were left for safe keeping!
The Hacienda was excellent and in a beautiful position but the evening meal was expensive by Ecuadorian standards. Because of its remote location there was no alternative. Perhaps it would be better if the meal was included in the package as it was during the stay in the rain forest.
Initially our driver seemed to think he was in a rally, even in the mist crossing the mountains on one occasion. After a word with the guide, he did slow down to a more acceptable speed which allowed us to concentrate on the scenery.
Cristian our guide was very good and we really enjoyed the walks in mountains - Antisana and Chimborazo. Although the stay in the rain forest was excellent and the tame birds and monkey in the hotel were entertaining, the walks were a little disappointing. As they were in secondary forest, the wildlife was restricted to insects and frogs. Having been in the rain forest in Bolivia we were hoping to see some mammals and more birds.
Overall a good introduction to Ecuador.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Rosie

London
Some of my favourites included the old town area of Quito, the caldera lake near Cotacachi, Chimborazo volcano, Otovalo market and the treks through the rain forest. Not so impressed by Guayaquil but by then we'd seen so many stunning sights it didn't seem to matter. Different indigenous dress of the local people was fascinating to see too. Very knowledgeable guide but at times he 'shaved' certain scheduled trips off the itinerary or didn't take part in some activities. Particularly disappointed that the condor visit on the Tuesday was closed. Take some very warm gear for Antisana and Chimborazo - both were freezing! A terrific experience.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gideon

Cape Town
A most enjoyable tour.
Highlights.The Manteles Hacienda, The Devils Nose train trip,CajasNational Park.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 03 May 2016
(7 out of 10)

John

Byfleet
A good tour, but not as good as many of the other tours I have done. A little too much shops and cities and not enough nature. A visit to Cotopaxi, Ecuador's active volcano was cancelled because it was showing signs of activity! The lodge was poor compared to other lodges I have been to. Would have been better to go to one with better trails and in primary forest. We didn't see hardly any wildlife except for some tame parrots at the lodge. Avenue of the volcanoes was also disappointing, as more of a moterway journey than a wilderness tour.
The minibus was too small for the group size, with only one spare seat. We needed a bus with bigger seats (2+3 abreast instead of 3+4) or more spare seats for our day sacks and breathing space
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Taunton
National parks, glimpses of volcanoes in Ecuador.
In Colombia we loved the landscapes, wildlife, friendly people and beautifully preserved architecture.

Visitors on the trip to Ecuador need o be prepared for some long days of travel which include extremes of temperature, altitude and humidity.
Confirmed traveller: 29 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Dianne

Hobart - Tasmania- Australia
scenery
meeting the locals and being entertained in home
history and old buildings
excellent guides
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jean

Wales
The tour notes do not really do justice to the variety of experiences offered. The Andes, Amazon, Equator, Inca sites, towns and cities. Scenery, culture, people were amazing as was the guide's in-depth knowledge of all of these and more topics concerning Ecuador. Should you consider booking this trip ask if the tour leader and guide is Christian Franco. A tailor madeland based trip to the Galapagos was the perfect ending.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 16 October 2015