It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Ecuador Discovery EC

Visiting: Ecuador
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Ecuador Discovery

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ecuador Discovery trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ecuador Discovery reviews verified by Reevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Ecuador DiscoveryScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Gideon

Cape Town
A most enjoyable tour.
Highlights.The Manteles Hacienda, The Devils Nose train trip,CajasNational Park.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 03 May 2016
(7 out of 10)

John

Byfleet
A good tour, but not as good as many of the other tours I have done. A little too much shops and cities and not enough nature. A visit to Cotopaxi, Ecuador's active volcano was cancelled because it was showing signs of activity! The lodge was poor compared to other lodges I have been to. Would have been better to go to one with better trails and in primary forest. We didn't see hardly any wildlife except for some tame parrots at the lodge. Avenue of the volcanoes was also disappointing, as more of a moterway journey than a wilderness tour.
The minibus was too small for the group size, with only one spare seat. We needed a bus with bigger seats (2+3 abreast instead of 3+4) or more spare seats for our day sacks and breathing space
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Taunton
National parks, glimpses of volcanoes in Ecuador.
In Colombia we loved the landscapes, wildlife, friendly people and beautifully preserved architecture.

Visitors on the trip to Ecuador need o be prepared for some long days of travel which include extremes of temperature, altitude and humidity.
Confirmed traveller: 29 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The whole of Ecuador! Although the Galapagos was amazing, as exepected, it ws the mainland that surprised the most. A beautiful country with such amazing diversity of landscape, flora and fauna.Cotopaxi NP was beautiful as was the amazing drive along the waterfall route to Banos. Banos itself was a lovely town in the shadow of a very impressive (and often smoking) volcano which gives heat to the incredibly relaxing Banos hot springs – what a lovely way to wind down and chill out. Although the Amazon was not the wealth of wildlife people might expect, the birdlife was stunning and the micro life, fascinating. Ecuador really does have a great wealth of wildlife, astounding scenery and truly, lovely people – along with some really rather yummy food.She was brilliant. A wealth of knowledge, really organised, very friendly. Always happy to help a great leader.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Dianne

Hobart - Tasmania- Australia
scenery
meeting the locals and being entertained in home
history and old buildings
excellent guides
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jean

Wales
The tour notes do not really do justice to the variety of experiences offered. The Andes, Amazon, Equator, Inca sites, towns and cities. Scenery, culture, people were amazing as was the guide's in-depth knowledge of all of these and more topics concerning Ecuador. Should you consider booking this trip ask if the tour leader and guide is Christian Franco. A tailor madeland based trip to the Galapagos was the perfect ending.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 16 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Anne

Malta
The trip was well planned by Explore.
Highlights: I think there was a highlight every day so it is hard to pick any one place or occasion.
With regard to the weather, this maybe a highlight as we saw all the volcanoes clearly, not covered in clouds.
Being in a small group is also an advantage.
With regard to the hotels the Haccienda Manteles was stunning.
Advice: go with an open mind and a sense of humour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 12 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Northampton/England
The magnificent and awe inspiring Andes mountains are in complete contrast to the rain forest experience. Bring plenty of camera capacity and be prepared for high-altitude living.
Learn a bit of Spanish as English is not widely spoken outside the cities.

(However, Explore should check out the Finlandia Hotel in Quito, as I, and a few others, appear to have been bitten by Bed Bugs during our 2 day stay there)
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed purchaser

Slough
The trip was good but could have been better with a proper guide who knew his stuff and was not only interested in the 'young audience' of the group, leaving the rest to fend for ourselves
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2014
Published on: 27 September 2015