It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Egyptian Adventure FNF

Visiting: Egypt
Tour Duration 10 Days
Reviews for Family Egyptian Adventure 5 out of 5 based on 9 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Egyptian Adventure tour available at present.

Please select a date:

5 Marie-Anne Lee, 02/09/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The whole holiday exceeded our expectations both culturally, and in terms of our adventure. The highlights were of course the pyramids, the felucca ride and the Red Sea Trip. However I particularly enjoyed learning about the Islamic side of Cairo and Egypt.

Read more
4.5 Emma, 30/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

For me, it was how looked after I felt throughout the whole process. I was nervous about arriving in a strange country at 4am and having to navigate visa, transfer and booking into a hotel, but we were met and taken care right from the start - really important with tired kids. This care was continued throughout the whole holiday. Tour highlights were Kom Ombo temple, getting a boat through the nature reserve at Aswan, snorkelling in the Red Sea and the optional trip to the lesser-visited pyramids at Saqqara and Dahshur. And St Simeon's monastery by camel. And the lunch-stops with beautiful, simple food. And the awesome knowledge and passion of our guide. And the overnight train ride. Just loads really!

Read more
5 Diane Walker, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many! We all loved the pyramids, the Sphinx, Valley of the Kings and Karnak Temple but for our 11 year old son the highlights were probably the camel trek, the Nubian Dinner, snorkelling in the Red Sea and overnight on the Felucca with dancing and singing round the beach campfire.

Read more
5 , 15/08/13



Tour Code


What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

What a brilliant holiday we had in Egypt. The tour was packed with wonderful and memorable experiences from beginning to end. Going inside one of the Great Pyramids, Camel trekking in Aswan, Being guests in a Nubian house, Sailing down the Nile in a Felucca- jumping off it to swim in the Nile, dancing round a campfire with the felucca's skipper, sleeping under the stars, watching Egyptian life go by whilst sailing...Amazing memories!

Tour Leader Name


How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Taso was great. Very knowledgeable, open and fun. The children loved burying him in the sand and quizzing him about Egyptian life. He was very organised and made the tour run smoothly from beginning to end.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Take a torch...Climbing across a felucca's gang plank in the pitch black is not fun! Good job my daughter packed one. Change all money in Egypt. Even Cairo airport offered a masively better exchange rate (UK 9.2 Egyptian:£1, Cairo 10.4 Egyptian:£1 rate correct-April 2013) Be prepared for the tour to be busy in the first 48 hours. Ask your tour leader what a good price for items are before venturing into the souks. It's quite an experience!"

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

A fabulous holiday with wonderful company from the other families. What an amazing and fascinating country!

0 Chris Sugars, 17/05/11
A whirlwind tour of everything great about Egypt brilliantly conducted by a very interesting and able tour leader. Made even more exciting with the backdrop of a recent revolution, we saw everything at its best and quietest it will probably be for a very long time. The people we met and the others on the tour made the experience even more enjoyable. Aswan, Luxor and Cairo were vibrant, colourful and engaging for adults and children alike with the hotels top quality which was reassuring when travelling with Children of all ages. Could not fault the guides and organisation of the trips, Egypt is open for business and now is a great time to go and enjoy the country. (FNF - 10th April 2011)
0 Alice, 17/05/11
This was an absolutely brilliant holiday, and the tour guide Mohammad was what made it especially great for me. My favourite part was probably the donkey ride (or the camel ride) which were both great! All us children got on great, and the adults too. You are looked after so well, you always feel safe. (FNF - 15th April 2011)
0 HS, 17/05/11
Just returned from a fantastic trip around Egypt.  We saw so much in the 10 days.  The pyramids were magnificent and no one was there, which was a shame for the Egyptians.  We felt completely safe throughout our holiday and would recommend everyone to visit this fascinating country.  The children loved the multitude of modes of transport that we used.  Their favourites were the overnight train and the felucca.  It was an unforgettable experience for them and us.  We finished the tour with a visit to the Egyptian Museum, where we admired King Tutankamun's gold death mask. (FNF - 10th April 2011)
0 Amy S, 16/05/11
This holiday in Egypt was by far the best trip I've ever been on. There was such a great mix of culture, wildlife and activities, highlights being the Egyptian museum and the Pyramids in Cairo, the Nubian dinner and camel riding in Aswan, the Nile voyage on the felucca to Luxor, the hot air balloon ride (where in the box next to mine someone proposed!), the Valley of the Kings and the snorkelling in the Red Sea... So basically everything. Really nice people in the group and a great tour leader called Nadar who was both funny and informative. If you want the experience of a lifetime, book this trip NOW!!! (FNF - 24th August 2010)
0 Peter Crane (Explore staff), 31/12/10
A great group and a fantastic leader, Marwa, who organised everything brilliantly and was just amazing with the kids. What a star! Everything in Egypt is so different from home and the kids just love that! The itinerary worked well: a busy start in Cairo but everyone relaxed around the lovely hotel pool in Aswan and then on the feluccas. There were som many highlights but tops for the kids were the camel and donkey rides, haggling in the souqs and snorkelling in the Red Sea (plus the balloon flight over Luxor on our daughters' 12th birthday!) (FNF- 28th March 2010)
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA