It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Blue Nile and Lalibela ET

Visiting: Ethiopia
Tour Duration 14 Days
 
Reviews for Blue Nile and Lalibela

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Blue Nile and Lalibela tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Blue Nile & Lalibela reviews verified by Reevoo

35 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Blue Nile & LalibelaScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 35 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Brian

Sheffield
The Highlights were the old city of Harar, walking through the Sunday market at Gondar, the Simien Mountains and walking to the Monastery above Lalibela. Be prepared for some long, not to say exhausting days. For example the first twenty four hours included a seven hour flight, transfer to Addis, museum, flight and drive to Harar. Also don't rely on changing money back at Addis Airport.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2016
Published on: 26 January 2016
(3 out of 10)

Daniel

silver spring
I felt the explorer catalogue description oversold and overstated the cultural attractions, both in quality and quantity.

The highlights were castles of Harare, Gondar, hiking the national park, Axum, and Lalaibella. A lot of the other stops seemed unnecessary.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016

We are sorry to hear you thought this trip over promised. We have reviewed all the feedback over the last two years and can see that all our customers rated this tour excellent and found Ethiopia a country of great contrasts. Due to the distances covered, there can be some extended traveling time involved with stops at places that may be of interest along the way to break up the journey. We appreciate that some of these may not suit every customer though we do try to find locations of interest or local colour.

(9 out of 10)

Jacqueline

London
The Group Leader made the success of the trip. She smoothed down all the difficulties and in Ethiopia there were many. She was very sensitive to all our demands and responded always very professionally. She was passionate about Ethiopia and helped all of us to put our selfishness behind us and see it with open mind. She was great fun to be with and lovely with everybody of all ages in the group.

The best leader I encounter in all my Explore trip.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 17 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Mark

Hertford
Walking in the beautiful Simian Mountains and having the Gelada Monkeys nonchalently feed around us was the greatest highlight but everywhere else was a highlight too - made all the better by our excellent Tour Leader who seemed to have friends all over Ethiopia and was on excellent terms with local guides, drivers and support staff.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 12 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Artur

Toronto
Ethiopia well exceeded my expectations. There are so many things to see and do that I would certainly run out of space within this review to describe them. The trek in Semien mtns and the close encounter with gelada baboons while there was definitely one of the highlights; but also visiting the stone carved churches in Lalibela had a twist of mystery and spiritual charge to it. One cannot forget the early morning boat trip on lake Tana and meeting of the local fisherman proudly showing off their catch of the day from the typical home made papyrus boats.....like I mentioned before too many fascinating experiences to list.
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2015
Published on: 28 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Elsa

Weymouth
Lots of highlights:

The intriguing old medieval city of Harar, the stunning, varied scenery on the drive from Awash back to Addis, the early morning boat ride on Lake Tana for the sunrise, huge numbers and variety of birds and fabulous church on the Zeghie peninsula.

Other highlights were the incredible views in the Simien Mountains, the scale of the 'stelae' in Axum and the hugely impressive rock cut churches in Lalibela.

People booking this trip need a sense of adventure, flexibility to cope with occasional lower standards of accommodation/unreliable supplies of electricity, water, Internet etc. and slower service.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Jan

Walking & scenery in Simien Mountains, Lalibela Churches, and Lake Tana were for me the highlights.
Our tour leader's (Sue's) great knowledge and experience of the country and her rapport with local people at each location was an immense benefit to help us understand Ethiopa.
Accommodation was fair by African standards, but beware, electricity and hot water were intermittent as one may expect in Africa. A torch is essential.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Ailsa

David our guide was outstanding - best ever Explore guide I have had.
Wonderful scenery, excellent walking and trekking.
Very interesting country with many historical sites, perfect weather and very friendly people.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 08 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Hyena man in Harar, walk in Simien mountains, and waterfall walk near blue nile source plus the breathtaking scenery and the people Excellent, made sure everything ran smoothly, very enthusiastic about Ethiopia and knowledgeable
Confirmed traveller: 24 January 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Christine

Crewkerne
The rock churches, the monastery on the island in Lake Tana and Harare
It's a hard trip in terms of travel - long bus journeys and an awful lot of hanging around airports which I know were unavoidable, but still quite wearing.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015