It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
612 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Ethiopia in Depth

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ethiopia in Depth trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ethiopia in Depth reviews verified by reevooReevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Ethiopia in DepthScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Well planned tour of cultural highlights of Ethiopia. Excellent leader and good local guides
Confirmed traveller: 26 May 2017
Published on: 17 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jane

London
What a fantastic introduction to a wonderful country! The well planned itinerary takes in all the major highlights as well as several less visited places. The fact that most travel is by road affords the opportunity to really get to see the country and meet the locals, though it can mean a few long and bumpy days! The expert guide meant that we could put all we saw in context, and I feel I have a very good understanding of Ethiopias past as well as its present now.
My only tip is, ladies make sure you take a headscarf and tops with longish sleeves for the many church visit, as modesty is preferred.
Confirmed traveller: 26 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Chris

Weston-super-Mare
I have travelled with Explore on numerous occasions and this was one of my favourite trips. The contrasts in scenery and the wonderful sites were outstanding. However, travelling by coach is essential to get an understanding of the people and their culture don't be tempted by the alternative trip by air. This holiday was made special by our exceptional guide CB. If you get a chance go on the two trips he runs annually with Explore. He was by far the best guide i have ever had. The Baboons in the highlands were wonderful for photographs as were the sunsets and people- a long lens zoom camera is a real bonus if you have one.
Confirmed traveller: 26 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Theresa

Edinburgh
An excellent trip with an extremely knowledgeable tour guide, exploring a wonderful, but little known country. From our arrival in Addis Ababa and visits to Museums and other Ethiopia Orthodox Christian Church sites at Debre Markos, a visit and walk to the source of the Blue Nile at the Tississat Falls. A visit to several Monastries on Lake Tana and a scenic drive to visit Gondar, site of a sequence of 17th Century Castles and other buildings unique to Ethiopia before a walk in the Simien Mountains to see Baboons in their natural habitat. It was great to meet local people in their cafe's, markets, shops and Hotels in Axum, Adwa where the Ethiopians defeated the Italians in 1896. Lalibela, the last stop on our whistle stop tour, where the rock cut churches, 11 in total, demonstrated the skills of the craftsmen who chiselled them from solid rock 800 years ago.
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2017
Published on: 26 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jim

Shropshire
A comprehensive tour. Highlight was the early morning candle-lit procession at Axum
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Bideford Devon
Excellent overview of the northern sections a fascinating country -brought alive by a very knowledgeable leader who presented the history/overview in an entertaining manner at a level to stimulate interest whilst ensuring a seemless running of a quite busy schedule.
Without such a knowledgable leader that went out of his way to ensure we covered as much ground as possible the trip would not have had the context that it did.
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Elaine

Darwin
One of my highlights were the churches we saw in Lake Tana with their frescoes. This was a bit unexpected. Another highlight was the day's walk in the Simian mountains where we saw the baboons. Such beautiful country.

Of course the highlight for everyone would probably be the rock cut churches. It takes a bit of scrambling to get to them, but well worth the effort.

Chris Bradley, our tour leader is very knowledgeable and can tell us a lot of history. He was also helpful in sorting out the small problems we had from time to time

Enjoyed this trip immensely
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Roger

Cardiff
A very comprehensive programme - rock carved churches the highlight - Chris the best leader we have ever had with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Hockley Essex
Great tour giving a wide and varied insight into Ethiopia enhanced by the depth of additional information provided by the Leader
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2016
Published on: 28 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Charles

Boca Grande, FL. USA
Hotels should be upgraded. This is a challenging trip and good accomodations
would make the travel easier. Charge more for the trip and upgrade the
hotels.
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2016
Published on: 18 March 2016