It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
620 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Explore Malaysia EM

Visiting: Malaysia
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Explore Malaysia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Explore Malaysia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Explore Malaysia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Explore MalaysiaScores 5.2 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a really great trip, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Malaysia is really interesting, the people are very friendly, and the food is wonderful. The tour leader (Mazlan) and driver (Arifin) were exceptional - very informative, good fun, and really helpful and flexible. The time in Kuala Lumpur, Melaka, the Belum Rainforest and Penang was great. In those places, the balance between organised activities and free time was good. The organised activities were very enjoyable, and the tour leader gave us lots of good suggestions for things to do in our spare time/where to eat etc. But the last 3 days of the tour, in a beach resort town in Langkawi, with no organised activities, would have been really boring if the tour leader had not been so helpful in arranging visits for us. Penang and Melaka were much more interesting than Langkawi, and we didn't really have time to see everything there - so the tour would probably be better if it spent a little bit longer in Penang and Melaka, and less in Langkawi. And also better if there were some organised activities in Langkawi. But overall, it was a really great trip, and I would certainly recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Susan

Maidenhead, Berkshire
Amazing place to visit especially with a local tour guide to lead you to all the local place. Eating at local places with someone to explain things to you was great. From the busyness of Kuala Lumpur to the peace of the forest, all was interesting and exciting. If I had realised how cheap it was there then were things that I would have left to purchase there. Visiting a local traditional home and having traditional 'afternoon tea' was unique.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(4 out of 10)

Jennifer

.london
Not up to Explore standards !Leader had little empathy with group, poor organisational and social skills. Train and boat trip cancelled. A high cost for a poor trip; maybe a younger "more in touch" guide is needed ! I am still in Malaysia, travelling alone as I write this; this country has a fascinating and wide ethnic history. And there is so much to explore and experience with the right empathetic and socially aware guide! More time is needed in Penang and Malacca and possibly a visit to Opoh. Less time inBelum State Park. I would recommend any future travellers to read about the politics , ethnic mix and history before coming in order to fully get a wide and deep experience !
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 05 February 2017

Hi Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback on your trip. I am sorry you were unhappy with your leader. We have had some lovely feedback from your group who advise he was wonderful so I am really sorry this was not your experience. I can appreciate from your correspondence to us regarding this matter this may fall to a difference of opinion regarding local historical events and culture. We have taken the matter seriously and will contact you in due course regarding your concerns.

(8 out of 10)

Gillian

Worthing
Good trip. Compared to others that I have done with Explore very relaxed. No early starts. No big wow factors (although some may have been wowed by the twin towers) but did enjoy seeing some orang-utans even though not in their natural state.

Would have preferred another night in Malacca. Would have preferred a good long walk in the rainforest in Belum instead of the short half hour that we did. Question whether it is right to take sweets and biscuits to the Orang Asli children but when I asked if we could take other things we were told that they expected sweets and biscuits!

I had a few days in Singapore at the end of this holiday and really enjoyed myself there - wondered, therefore, if an add-on would be appropriate?
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(7 out of 10)

Ruth

BRISTOL
This is a very relaxed trip in that there are mostly 2 or 3 night stays, no early starts and only one longish journey. The standard of accommodation was excellent and it actually felt like a holiday.

It was a decent introduction to Malaysia with plenty included and also a lot of free time. It would help to have done some reading yourself and have plans as to what you would like to do in that time. The Belum rainforest is not particularly exciting and I would have preferred more time in Georgetown.

There was a lot of rain but it was never cold. An umbrella was essential. The food was great and no one was ill. Overall, an enjoyable trip without being a spectacular one.
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(6 out of 10)

Karen

Portsmouth
Good trip providing an insight into such a diverse country; each place so different! Nicely paced tour with plenty of free time to do your own exploring.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Denise

Bristol
A good balanced all round experience of that area of the country (Cities, countryside and coast) and it's worth noting that the areas visited are relatively well developed. Local guide very knowledgeable. Apparently the previous tour did not go very smoothly and Explore pulled out the stops to ensure that our tour did.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 08 January 2017
(4 out of 10)

Timothy

Worthing
Due to previous issues on trips we had two tour guides one local and one sent from explore to review the previous issues of other trips, The local guide was fantastic and 1st rate with lots of knowledge and a calm demeanour for handling the group and the trip, the one sent from explore was rather to eager to ensure that we were all having an exciting time and everything was going well, but being asked several times a day became ennoying , also rather than let the local guide tell us what was happening and what to expect.
Malayasia itself is rather overdeveloped tourist wise , they seem to have bypassed some of the things that other explore trips have and gone straight for the concrete corporate approach, so did not get that sense of adventure and excitement that other trips provide
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(1 out of 10)

Fiona

Warwick
This tour was poorly planned and even more poorly executed. The tour failed to follow the published itinerary, the guide was lacking in the basic skills required to lead a group of 18 exeperienced travellers and it was generally disappointing and chaotic.
What I did see of Malaysia looks interesting so if you have an inkling to go - I would. Just do it with a different tour operator!
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback Fiona. From the outset, I would like to say how sorry we are for the problems you experienced. We were deeply concerned to learn of the issues which impacted on your trip, namely, the performance of your tour leader, aspects of the itinerary and also the logistical arrangements of your holiday.

Many of your group are seasoned Explore travellers and recognise that the quality of our leaders is one of our greatest assets. We invest a significant amount of time and money in the selection, training and ongoing development of our tour leaders around the world. Rithzuan was no stranger to this process and had successfully led two Malaysian trips for us with satisfactory feedback. We are therefore as shocked and disappointed as you are to see how he performed on your trip. As a result of your feedback, he won’t be leading any future Explore trips.

In terms of your comments about the itinerary, this is the first time we have operated this particular route; however, the locations visited have been featured on Explore trips to Malaysia for many years and have always been operated satisfactorily in conjunction with our ground agent. Your group have highlighted a number of activities and locations which fell short of your expectations and these are currently under urgent review by our Product Manager.

As you are probably aware, a further departure of this trip is commencing this week. That group are being accompanied by one of our most longstanding and high performing tour leaders, Sue Guthrie. Sue is an award-winning leader who has been personally briefed in detail about this trip by senior staff here at Explore over the past few days and is tasked with ensuring that all the logistical and operational concerns you raised are addressed. She will also be carefully assessing the itinerary and other ground services and making adjustments where necessary to ensure that her group have a very positive experience throughout.

(1 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Eaglescliffe
For the first time in 17 years I was disappointed with an Explore trip. The itinerary did not live up to the description in the trip notes, so much so that we suspect the local agents were doing things 'on the cheap' and not what we nor Explore expected. The original tour leader was so bad he was replaced and the replacement was worse than useless as well. if Explore act quickly to sort it out, it could be a good trip as Malaysia does have some beautiful and interesting things to see.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip, Elizabeth. We share your disappointment that it didn’t rate highly for you and, as you were part of her group, I’ve addressed your points in our response to Fiona’s review above.