It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Explore Malaysia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Explore Malaysia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Explore Malaysia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

8 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Explore MalaysiaScores 3.9 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Karen

Portsmouth
Good trip providing an insight into such a diverse country; each place so different! Nicely paced tour with plenty of free time to do your own exploring.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 09 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Denise

Bristol
A good balanced all round experience of that area of the country (Cities, countryside and coast) and it's worth noting that the areas visited are relatively well developed. Local guide very knowledgeable. Apparently the previous tour did not go very smoothly and Explore pulled out the stops to ensure that our tour did.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 08 January 2017
(4 out of 10)

Timothy

Worthing
Due to previous issues on trips we had two tour guides one local and one sent from explore to review the previous issues of other trips, The local guide was fantastic and 1st rate with lots of knowledge and a calm demeanour for handling the group and the trip, the one sent from explore was rather to eager to ensure that we were all having an exciting time and everything was going well, but being asked several times a day became ennoying , also rather than let the local guide tell us what was happening and what to expect.
Malayasia itself is rather overdeveloped tourist wise , they seem to have bypassed some of the things that other explore trips have and gone straight for the concrete corporate approach, so did not get that sense of adventure and excitement that other trips provide
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(1 out of 10)

Fiona

Warwick
This tour was poorly planned and even more poorly executed. The tour failed to follow the published itinerary, the guide was lacking in the basic skills required to lead a group of 18 exeperienced travellers and it was generally disappointing and chaotic.
What I did see of Malaysia looks interesting so if you have an inkling to go - I would. Just do it with a different tour operator!
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2016
Published on: 09 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback Fiona. From the outset, I would like to say how sorry we are for the problems you experienced. We were deeply concerned to learn of the issues which impacted on your trip, namely, the performance of your tour leader, aspects of the itinerary and also the logistical arrangements of your holiday.

Many of your group are seasoned Explore travellers and recognise that the quality of our leaders is one of our greatest assets. We invest a significant amount of time and money in the selection, training and ongoing development of our tour leaders around the world. Rithzuan was no stranger to this process and had successfully led two Malaysian trips for us with satisfactory feedback. We are therefore as shocked and disappointed as you are to see how he performed on your trip. As a result of your feedback, he won’t be leading any future Explore trips.

In terms of your comments about the itinerary, this is the first time we have operated this particular route; however, the locations visited have been featured on Explore trips to Malaysia for many years and have always been operated satisfactorily in conjunction with our ground agent. Your group have highlighted a number of activities and locations which fell short of your expectations and these are currently under urgent review by our Product Manager.

As you are probably aware, a further departure of this trip is commencing this week. That group are being accompanied by one of our most longstanding and high performing tour leaders, Sue Guthrie. Sue is an award-winning leader who has been personally briefed in detail about this trip by senior staff here at Explore over the past few days and is tasked with ensuring that all the logistical and operational concerns you raised are addressed. She will also be carefully assessing the itinerary and other ground services and making adjustments where necessary to ensure that her group have a very positive experience throughout.

(1 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Eaglescliffe
For the first time in 17 years I was disappointed with an Explore trip. The itinerary did not live up to the description in the trip notes, so much so that we suspect the local agents were doing things 'on the cheap' and not what we nor Explore expected. The original tour leader was so bad he was replaced and the replacement was worse than useless as well. if Explore act quickly to sort it out, it could be a good trip as Malaysia does have some beautiful and interesting things to see.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip, Elizabeth. We share your disappointment that it didn’t rate highly for you and, as you were part of her group, I’ve addressed your points in our response to Fiona’s review above.

(2 out of 10)

Stephen

Eastleigh
I'm sure there is a good Tour to Malaysia, this was not it. Problems from start to finish with the leadership, administration, day drip content and timings. Tour leader was replaced part way through. The replacement was no better ! The Highlight was the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumper, not part of the tour itinerary ! All 18 people in the group were left dissatisfied to some extent. I hope things are sorted before the next tour runs? Have travelled with Explore for 22 years. Most trips have been fantastic. This was the worst by some distance.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip, Stephen. We share your disappointment that it didn’t rate highly for you and, as you were part of her group, I’ve addressed your points in our response to Fiona’s review above.