It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
651 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Active Sicily FSI

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Family Active Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Active Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Family Active Sicily reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Active SicilyScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Fantastic trip and pace is perfect but it is full on! My kids thoroughly enjoyed it and happy kids means happy parents. First hotel could be improved as it was a little dated. Second hotel was much improved but food was an issue and would be better if there was a menu choice. We are out as a result which clearly added to cost. Water park and Madonie were superb!
Confirmed traveller: 24 August 2016
Published on: 11 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Welwyn Garden City
Highlights for our 11-year-old son were the high wires and sleeping in a tree tent in Madonie adventure park, also playing in the wonderful swimming pool at the second hotel of the trip. Highlights for me were snorkelling and a - too-short - look around beautiful Taormina.

Would have liked longer on Mount Etna - it felt a bit like a route march, with not enough time just to marvel at the view and the rockscape. It's a packed week, but the pace varies from day to day, ensuring fun for all different ages throughout the holiday.

Tips: the ferragosto holiday from 15 August is a week-long Italian bank holiday, so everything is extra-crowded. This meant long queues for the rides in Etnaland, and jostling for space alongside all the other visitors to see anything of the spectacular Alcantara gorge. If you've got room in your suitcase bring your own bedding roll and a thick fleece if you want to get any sleep in the overnight stay in the adventure park!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(7 out of 10)


The connecting aeroplane flights were disappointing, from Heathrow- arrived far too late! - we arrived after 11.30pm. There is a direct flight from Gatwick ! We wasted a whole day on flights on the way there and on the way back - so, 2 days wasted......
Also, the first hotel did not have a decent swimming pool, and lots of restrictions.
The itinerary showed cycling but this was not really available as no Guide was with us, so none of the group actually did any cycling. The adults went of on a trek on our own, without a Guide to explain anything or to show us where to go.
The tree tents were cold so it would be better if warm clothing was advised on this night and pillows as none were provided! We got very little sleep.
At Madonie adventure Park, the food for the vegetarians was very poor - we only got roast potatoes and cheese to eat for our main evening meal. Surely, the staff knew that there were going to be vegetarians in the group.
The park itself was great, with the high-wire challenges!
The trip to Mount Etna was really good. However, we would have liked to have gone higher in altitude which would have been possible if our group hadn't spent so much time getting our lunch, earlier!
The hotel for the last 4 nights was lovely with wonderful swimming pool.
Generally, the food for vegetarians was not as good as it should have been. The quality of the vegetarian food was poor/fair. The meat-eaters seem to have been better catered for. This has not been a problem on any of our other Explore holidays, in the past.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


This was a great tour, with a fantastic tour guide. Sue worked tirelessly to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves, she was full of interesting information, and nothing was too much trouble for her.
Our first hotel in Palermo was a little shabby, but the location was convenient for the itinerary. The Kings House Hotel near Etna had lovely rooms and pool, but the food was quite disappointing (apart from pizza night!).
Our driver Maurizio, and local guides Massimo and Marcello, were all fantastic, and kept teens and adults entertained and informed.
Highlights included making fresh pasta, supervised by chef Vincenzo and his adorable little daughter, and trekking on the slopes of Mount Etna while it gently smoked above us.
The itinerary was quite full on, with activities filling every day. A rest day or half day would be good, for the sake of the lazy adults!
Overall a fantastic tour, would definitely recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


South fleet, Kent
Absolutely brilliant. End to end action. Kids even got out of bed and learned to live without wifi during the day. Superb, knowledgeable and friendly tour guide (Sue). Highlights were Mt Etna, snorkelling, kayaking and tree tents. My only tip would be for adults to bring blowup mattresses in Majornie ( you won't sleep much otherwise as you are on hard floor). The best family adventure trip we've been on (our third).
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 23 August 2016
(8 out of 10)


York. UK.
At Madonie there appeared to be a mountain bike course. It would have been good to have this as an option for an activity.
Etnaland was the highlight for 11 year old girl. From an adults perspective the walk up Etna was spectacular and being with peers it made it seem easy for an 11 year old.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 16 August 2016
(9 out of 10)


Event packed week. We took books to read during the quiet times - but there weren't any. Great tour leader, plenty of passion ( perhaps not so good at accurate communication in precise detail ), excellent company. The night in the Tree Pods was cold ! No one really slept that night. Walk up Mount Etna was good, the guy that took us was really knowledgeable, and fun too. Sea Kayaking was enjoyable - 1st time for me in the sea! I can't swim, but they still managed to get me in with a snorkelling mask. Food was great. The kids made good friends with others.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Really difficult to choose what stood out as I loved everything. I found the Palermo tour really interesting - the city was fascinating and the pasta cooking we did there produced very tasty results. The water park was a high standard with some great rides - even compared to Florida. The zipwiring at Madonie was in beautiful surroundings - really special place and lovely staff. All Italian guides were brilliant.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Being able to visit and walk on and around Etna; watching the children on the high rope courses; the local swimming pool at the 1st venue - huge! Water park for children and adults lots of choice and not too crowded!
Plenty of shoes for different events - packing needed thinking about!!
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(8 out of 10)


The trip was extremely well organised and any small problems were immediately dealt with. We were impressed by the standard of the accommodation and our tour leader was brilliant!
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015