It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search
Family Brochure 2018

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Active Sicily FSI

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Family Active Sicily

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Active Sicily trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Active Sicily reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Family Active SicilyScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Amanda

Just so many activities, highlights are the high ropes, climbing Etna, waterpark, snorkeling. Fab holiday
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Steve

Newbury
There’s an excellent variety of included activities (we particularly enjoyed the cooking lesson, and eating our creations afterwards). There was good interest for adults too – we came away with the feeling that we had really got to know the island, with its complex history, friendly people, and of course its hugely influential volcano.

Our tour leader, Sue, was excellent. She was sensitive to what the children were enjoying and what they were finding dull, and made adjustments accordingly. She also has lots of local friends in every place we visited, which helped to make sure that we were welcomed and treated well.

Some previous reviewers have complained about cold, uncomfortable nights at Madone Adventure Park. When we went, they had some new tents for the adults – suspended from trees, so with no hard base, and not far above ground so easy to get in and out. We weren’t cold at all.

The hotels were comfortable. Dinner was included every evening, because half board in Sicily doesn’t cost much more than B&B; that kept costs down, although it reduced the choice and variety of food a bit.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 12 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Anna

Southwell
Fantastic trip and pace is perfect but it is full on! My kids thoroughly enjoyed it and happy kids means happy parents. First hotel could be improved as it was a little dated. Second hotel was much improved but food was an issue and would be better if there was a menu choice. We are out as a result which clearly added to cost. Water park and Madonie were superb!
Confirmed traveller: 24 August 2016
Published on: 11 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kathryn

Lancashire
Great trip all round, nice pace and plenty of variety. Loved the hotel we stayed at for most of the holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 05 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Fiona

Welwyn Garden City
Highlights for our 11-year-old son were the high wires and sleeping in a tree tent in Madonie adventure park, also playing in the wonderful swimming pool at the second hotel of the trip. Highlights for me were snorkelling and a - too-short - look around beautiful Taormina.

Would have liked longer on Mount Etna - it felt a bit like a route march, with not enough time just to marvel at the view and the rockscape. It's a packed week, but the pace varies from day to day, ensuring fun for all different ages throughout the holiday.

Tips: the ferragosto holiday from 15 August is a week-long Italian bank holiday, so everything is extra-crowded. This meant long queues for the rides in Etnaland, and jostling for space alongside all the other visitors to see anything of the spectacular Alcantara gorge. If you've got room in your suitcase bring your own bedding roll and a thick fleece if you want to get any sleep in the overnight stay in the adventure park!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Indu

Huddersfield
The connecting aeroplane flights were disappointing, from Heathrow- arrived far too late! - we arrived after 11.30pm. There is a direct flight from Gatwick ! We wasted a whole day on flights on the way there and on the way back - so, 2 days wasted......
Also, the first hotel did not have a decent swimming pool, and lots of restrictions.
The itinerary showed cycling but this was not really available as no Guide was with us, so none of the group actually did any cycling. The adults went of on a trek on our own, without a Guide to explain anything or to show us where to go.
The tree tents were cold so it would be better if warm clothing was advised on this night and pillows as none were provided! We got very little sleep.
At Madonie adventure Park, the food for the vegetarians was very poor - we only got roast potatoes and cheese to eat for our main evening meal. Surely, the staff knew that there were going to be vegetarians in the group.
The park itself was great, with the high-wire challenges!
The trip to Mount Etna was really good. However, we would have liked to have gone higher in altitude which would have been possible if our group hadn't spent so much time getting our lunch, earlier!
The hotel for the last 4 nights was lovely with wonderful swimming pool.
Generally, the food for vegetarians was not as good as it should have been. The quality of the vegetarian food was poor/fair. The meat-eaters seem to have been better catered for. This has not been a problem on any of our other Explore holidays, in the past.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Astrid

Warrington
This was a great tour, with a fantastic tour guide. Sue worked tirelessly to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves, she was full of interesting information, and nothing was too much trouble for her.
Our first hotel in Palermo was a little shabby, but the location was convenient for the itinerary. The Kings House Hotel near Etna had lovely rooms and pool, but the food was quite disappointing (apart from pizza night!).
Our driver Maurizio, and local guides Massimo and Marcello, were all fantastic, and kept teens and adults entertained and informed.
Highlights included making fresh pasta, supervised by chef Vincenzo and his adorable little daughter, and trekking on the slopes of Mount Etna while it gently smoked above us.
The itinerary was quite full on, with activities filling every day. A rest day or half day would be good, for the sake of the lazy adults!
Overall a fantastic tour, would definitely recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Tony

South fleet, Kent
Absolutely brilliant. End to end action. Kids even got out of bed and learned to live without wifi during the day. Superb, knowledgeable and friendly tour guide (Sue). Highlights were Mt Etna, snorkelling, kayaking and tree tents. My only tip would be for adults to bring blowup mattresses in Majornie ( you won't sleep much otherwise as you are on hard floor). The best family adventure trip we've been on (our third).
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 23 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Mary

York. UK.
At Madonie there appeared to be a mountain bike course. It would have been good to have this as an option for an activity.
Etnaland was the highlight for 11 year old girl. From an adults perspective the walk up Etna was spectacular and being with peers it made it seem easy for an 11 year old.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 16 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Redditch
Event packed week. We took books to read during the quiet times - but there weren't any. Great tour leader, plenty of passion ( perhaps not so good at accurate communication in precise detail ), excellent company. The night in the Tree Pods was cold ! No one really slept that night. Walk up Mount Etna was good, the guy that took us was really knowledgeable, and fun too. Sea Kayaking was enjoyable - 1st time for me in the sea! I can't swim, but they still managed to get me in with a snorkelling mask. Food was great. The kids made good friends with others.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 04 August 2016