It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search
Family Brochure 2018

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Tuscan Active Adventure FTY

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Family Tuscan Active Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Tuscan Active Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Tuscan Active Adventure reviews verified by reevooReevoo

25 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Family Tuscan Active AdventureScores 9.7 out of 10 based on 25 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Hilary

Exeter
A fantastic holiday! The itinerary was efficiently organised and very well balanced with activities that were varied and fun alongside plenty of time to relax in a beautiful setting. Rupert and his son Zach, (and all additional activity leaders where appropriate), ensured that everyone was able to enjoy all the activities safely and to the full, offering plenty of support and encouragement along the way to anyone feeling more challenged. (There was no problem if at any time anyone preferred to skip part or all of an activity, too.) Zach was great fun and interacted really well with all the teenagers in the group. He was a very capable assistant to Rupert.
Rupert and his family were wonderfully hospitable, kind and genuine and couldn't have done more to maximise everyone's enjoyment of their stay in Tuscany. The farm was well located for all the activities and Rupert was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of the area. Huge thanks to Rupert, Angela and Zach for a brilliant week!
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 15 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Judith

Malmesbury
The whole holiday was well organised, fun, with a good balance of activities. Rupert our Explore Leader and his son were a great team. Would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 07 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Aylesbury
A wonderful holiday, well thought out with an excellent leader. Rupert (the leader) was brilliant and ably supported by his son Zac and wife Angela. Rupert made everything so easy and his knowledge of the area and of the activities was comprehensive. He took us off the beaten track away from the crowds.

It is hard to give a highlight as every day was fantastic and different. We did really enjoy the canyoning and the kayaking.

The group gelled really well with the kids spending time together.

A never to be forgotten holiday and one that we would definitely recommend to families.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 05 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kate

Newbury
I cannot recommend this holiday highly enough, the venue was idyllic with good facilities, great food and wine and huge amounts of hospitality. Rupert, Angela and Zac really made us feel very welcome and were only to happy to help when needed. Rupert even went out of his way to wait with our luggage at Pisa airport on the last day so that we could enjoy the leaning tower and our last bowl of pasta, this was over and above the "call of duty". Thanks again Rupert we appreciated it!
The activities were aimed at a good level for teenagers and us "oldies"!! The views were well worth the climb on the walking day and I don't believe we have ever sped down hills so fast on bikes before! The beach day, although a long day, was really good and great to see the kids jumping off rocks with the assistance of Zac who made sure they were safe at all times. We would definitely consider doing this trip again - thanks Explore!
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2017
Published on: 01 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Bristol
As a family, we very much enjoyed the more active days (zip lining, canyoning, climbing etc); the walking/cycling was more 'normal', though appreciate that does make the week more accessible for those who are not so into the full activities. Tour guide Rupert was fantastic, as was his son who was great with all ages in the group. They both made sure everyone was included and could access the activities at whatever level suited, which was appreciated by those in the group who were less confident. Accommodation was excellent and beautifully located and we thoroughly enjoyed evenings of lovely Tuscan food and lively company. Highlights were the canyoning and zip wiring, though we felt the long day visiting Cinque Terre was a bit rushed and crazily busy after the calmer rural settings the rest of the week. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our week (and certain personal challenges!)
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 31 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sylvia

It was a great holiday! A well-paced itinerary with a knowledgable guide. Activities included a range of options so that a mixed group of people - with different comfort zones, strength, stamina and appetite to push themselves - could enjoy together. Enjoyed it all, so difficult to choose a highlight. Picturesque landscapes on the walks. Via ferrata in a magical, secluded spot on the wooded slopes of a dry canyon. Being driven up the mountain to then cycle down it the other side gave us the luxury to enjoy a wind-in-the-hair ride whilst skipping the pain of an interminable ascent impossible to anyone without Giro d'Italia thighs (although we did have a go at some short uphill sections - they alone were tough enough for me!). Kayaking, an altogether gentler activity, included time to enjoy the sun with a swim in the calm lake. Good range of levels at the high ropes course, so something to suit everyone. Canyoning was lots of fun, jumping & sliding in refreshing, sparkling water of small, shallow river. Cinque Terre was an incongruous trip after days in the countryside: chocolate-box views but Piccadilly Circus crowds made it my least favourite (Wales' Pembrokeshire Coast more my scene as a coastal walk/beach combo), but it did give me my first and only taste of basil flavoured ice cream!

The accommodation was on an arable farm in a beautiful setting with lovely views across the Garfagnana valley plus an outdoor swimming pool, table tennis and other games. The host family gave us a very warm welcome, and Angela's cooking was great. We also enjoyed a scenic walk to the local restaurant for pizza one night in the company of guide Rupert and his (impressive second-in-command) teenage son, and had a ride in to the local town another night for dinner at large semi-outdoor restaurant with great food.

The ONLY downside was that our picture postcard cottage accommodation bedecked in ripening grapevines was way too hot at night (mid-August). We could have done with a fan or mosquito nets or mosquito screens so we could have kept the windows open at night.

Thanks to our guides, hosts, and co-adventurers for a super week!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 30 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Fiona

Fabulous trip for parents with teenagers in a beautiful location. Rupert, Angela and son Zach were great hosts. Kids were well catered for with camaraderie, pool and days filled with fun activities suitable for parents too. Home cooked dinners on the terrace with local wine were a lovely end to the day.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 15 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rajinder

This is an active tour which is very well run by the local leader who also owns the property. It is a family run farm. The setting is excellent & is within easy reach of all the activities. Although very busy, there is time to relax. All activities are within everyone's capability as long as you have a reasonable level of fitness & a positive attitude. The youngsters really had a good time. Highlights: canyoning & all activities. Go prepared with plenty of after bite or deet at the peak summer time. The wasps & mosies will get you.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017