- The airport collection was a shambles, there was no one there to meet us, most of the group managed to find each other in the end, we eventually left the airport 2 hours late and missing 2 people after help from the rep of a different company. Tour size was supposed the be 14-20 people in actual fact it turned out to be 31, although the tour leader did a good job, this is too big a group and not what you pay for. I believe it was supposed to be 2 groups, but we were never split to 2 groups and a second leader didn't materialise, unless he was supposed be be the worse than useless trainee. The activities were good, although, some like the canyoning felt rushed, think this was because the next 10 were waiting to go. We missed out on the mountain biking due to a change in the weather, I appreciate Explore can't arrange the weather, but the storms were predicted from the beginning of the week, so there should have been time to re-order the activities, different people on the trip had received different itinaries anyway, presumably because they were supposed to be in a different group. He worked very hard, but seemed to have been let down by Explores organisational skills.
Published on: 12 March 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Family Pyrénées Activity Adventure, we’re genuinely sorry that you were disappointed – especially as this is normally such a high-rated trip as confirmed by the other reviews below.
It’s true to say that we experienced some issues with our transport provider, and the Explore Leader initially assigned to your trip, and it’s clear that these had an impact on the overall enjoyment of your holiday. We’re pleased to say that we have learned from these examples and made changes to ensure there isn’t a repeat occurrence.
While combining the two groups did have a minor impact on the activities, we absolutely believe that it was the best decision to take at the time. In fact, Gregorio and a number of your group have told us that many of the children had already forged firm friendships, so it was the best solution all round. The overall feedback that we’ve received from your extended group, with the exception of Tyrone’s performance, has been excellent, so it’s a shame that this wasn’t your experience.
We had arranged a transfer to your hotel in Sort and our driver was waiting for you at the correct time to meet you from your flight. Unfortunately, he was waiting at the wrong terminal because of some confusion over the airline you were arriving on. Please be assured that we addressed with our agent and it hasn’t happened since.
The group size for this trip is indeed 14-20, and you’re absolutely correct that we combined two groups as an exception on this occasion. As you mentioned, we had a new Explore Leader, Tyrone, running one of the groups – he had passed his training course and we gave him the go-ahead to lead a trip alongside a more experienced leader. Sadly, it became apparent early on that his performance didn’t meet the high standards that we all expect, and it was Gregorio’s – our experienced leader – quick thinking to combine the two groups so that everyone had a positive experience.
We’ve noted your comment about missing out on the mountain biking because of the weather, and we’ll consider if there’s any way we can build in some flexibility to account for any changes to the itinerary. As we’re sure you can appreciate, we run the majority of our family trips during the school holidays, so all of the activities are at a premium and making last minute changes with the relevant local companies is often very difficult – especially when travelling as a group. There are two full free days, and a free morning on this trip and your Explore Leaders are always more than happy to help you plan different activities.