It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Pyrenees Activity Adventure FPY

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Family Pyrenees Activity Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Pyrenees Activity Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Family Pyrenees Activity Adventure reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Pyrenees Activity AdventureScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(4 out of 10)


You have requested feedback about our trip last week to the picturesque area of Sort for a family adventure break. Please find following my brief summary:
All of the offered excursions need to be reviewed for suitability and health and safety.
The Hydrospeed should not be offered.
The Mountain biking everyone should be given a pep talk before they commence there were unpleasant accidents as a consequence
The Canyoning should have the water tested for bacteria. So when people fall ill from accidentally drinking it you know what the problem is. Or indeed if the water is too infected the trip does not happen. The water testing kits are easily available.

The hotel was way too basic. Pool too small, rooms too small for 3 star but the holiday price was high and in Spain 3 star is usually far better (Barcello chain or Tryp Indalo). Given the activities a balcony was essential.

The location of Sort. .. dull place if there are no evening activities such as quiz night or entertainment offered then the location needs to compensate.

Could have offered more alternatives such as guided walks on the rest days into the scenic landscapes safe energising and healthy. This is what people would have been happy with. Everyone including the kids really loved the first walk on the Sunday.
It's a pity that the blind greed of making money on excursions took away any common sense of what is appropriate to offer.

The planned activities are enough. It is a holiday and there should be a balance struck.

We had to take our son to the local clinic as he was extremely ill on the Thursday right through to our return and even on Sunday in London we were in the A&E with him. When they heard what he had been upto they tested him thoroughly for bacteria. ......blood test, urine, chest x rays – all of it. This meant he missed out planned activities and a group meal.

In summary any company working for you or subcontracted by you to take your clients - need to be made to comply with basic H&S standards that are commonplace here in the UK. They should meet your due diligence expectations and know what is right for the type of clients you are sending.

Anyone who says they had a wonderful time are not lying but I think they are so utterly relieved to have walked away unscathed they are in denial also as the week progressed the level of alcohol consumed increased and I would not be surprised if this was partly attributed to their activities during the day .

There were traumatised people, scared kids, exhausted kids and bashed parents from hitting rocks on the riverbed . ..I can continue but really I think you get the picture by now. Not my idea of a relaxing family break.

I hope this will encourage you to review the excursions and how the week is run in general and potentially avoid any serious problem occurring in the future.

We are interested in the Morrocan Trip offered but are not in the frame of mind to give it a serious thought right now.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 09 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback, Anna. We’re particularly disappointed that you were unhappy with your time in Spain – especially as this trip regularly receives great reviews. I’ve looked into all the points you raised, both here and in our separate correspondence, and I am confident that we’re maintaining high levels of health and safety during this holiday.

While you felt that we shouldn’t offer Hydrospeed activity because of the potential for injury, our Explore leaders conduct a full briefing prior to all activities. Before beginning the Hydrospeed, they’re clear that it requires a reasonable amount of strength to hold on to the float while manoeuvring through the water.

Just like the Hydrospeed, Maxi gave the group a full briefing ahead of the mountain bike activity. This briefing included how to use the brakes and gears as they’re on opposite sides to the UK – as is which side of the road you use. Our Explore Leader makes sure that each member of the group is comfortable with their bike before setting off and, once again, they lead the activity. Although it’s true to say that one 15 year old fell off his bike during your trip, his injury was minor and didn’t impact his holiday.

While I sympathise that your son was ill, your UK doctor didn’t link his bug to the water. In terms of your point about checking the water for bacteria, I have to be clear that this isn’t a closed area of water. The canyoning takes place in the wild, and the water is constantly moving. Sort is an adventure sport area where we use one of the most reputable companies to arrange our trips and, between us; we don’t have any concerns about the water quality.

It’s a shame that you were also unhappy with the hotel and location. We’re clear in our overview that we stay in Sort because it’s the ideal backdrop for such an activity based holiday, and there are bars and restaurants for you to enjoy in the evening. The hotel receives good ratings, not least because of its pool, and you can also enjoy the benefit of extra space if you opt for the apartment.

I note that you only participated in the guided walk through the national park, and that you feel we should offer more, similarly paced, activities during the holiday and we’ll bear this in mind when we next review the trip.

(8 out of 10)


Isle of Man
Nice rustic hotel, we had an apartment so lots of room. Our leader was Maxi and he made the holiday so enjoyable and was great with the kids, nothing was too much trouble for him. We chose to do activities each day and really enjoyed the white water rafting. I felt the hydro speed to be more than a moderate sport but my son of 13 loved it and his favourite activity.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 31 August 2016
(9 out of 10)


Fantastic week, with lots of full on adventure. The sequence and duration of the activities gave you just enough time to recover. The core activities were all good, though the canyoning was less fun than hoped for. We did the additional canyoning, hydro speed and biking...all fantastic. The tour leaders Max and Emma were outstanding and we really appreciated their care, advice and humour :) RocRoi who did all the water activities were excellent, the equipment good and the skills of the instructors mad us feel safe yet challenged. The biking on the last day was probably the best ride we have ever done as a family. Once again the instructor and equipment was very good and safety/ fun was nicely balanced. If you do all the additional activities I would rate this as a high activity week rather than moderate. Hotel was good but did wish it had air con. If you do this in the first week of August take earplugs to sleep through the local festival...Thanks for a truly memorable week.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 15 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


Originally booked on to another tour, which had to be cancelled I wondered what I was letting myself in for ! I need not have worried as my daughters and I had an absolute ball!

The tour was well organized and the variety of experiences where great. The highlights as far as we were concerned was the whole day white water rafting, the trip through the canyon was spectacular. Our tour and rafting guides were great fun and good at pointing out items of interest. Another highlight was the extra canyoning , something I would never thought I would not take to but was brilliant and would do it again.

The downside was sometimes kit was the wrong sizes for us and the hotel did not have air conditioning. But all in all a brilliant family holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 05 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The activities were brilliant especially white water rafting and the kayaking - not your normal kayaking experience. There were lots of optional activities on offer also. Goyo was brilliant as he had an unexpectedly large group but dealt with this with professionalism and humour, whilst also being very kind and thoughtful.
Confirmed traveller: 02 September 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)


A fabulous week and really hard to pick a highlight as it was all so good. The white water rafting and kayaking were fantastic and really pleased to have completed the canyoning as most nervous about attempting that but it was a blast. The day spent mountain biking was a real standout. The week is action packed but really well organised and our whole family had a fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend it
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 27 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


really good. My son left his teddy bear in the hotel and Explore managed to return it to us in the UK.
Good customer sevice
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(4 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The airport collection was a shambles, there was no one there to meet us, most of the group managed to find each other in the end, we eventually left the airport 2 hours late and missing 2 people after help from the rep of a different company. Tour size was supposed the be 14-20 people in actual fact it turned out to be 31, although the tour leader did a good job, this is too big a group and not what you pay for. I believe it was supposed to be 2 groups, but we were never split to 2 groups and a second leader didn't materialise, unless he was supposed be be the worse than useless trainee. The activities were good, although, some like the canyoning felt rushed, think this was because the next 10 were waiting to go. We missed out on the mountain biking due to a change in the weather, I appreciate Explore can't arrange the weather, but the storms were predicted from the beginning of the week, so there should have been time to re-order the activities, different people on the trip had received different itinaries anyway, presumably because they were supposed to be in a different group. He worked very hard, but seemed to have been let down by Explores organisational skills.
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Family Pyrénées Activity Adventure, we’re genuinely sorry that you were disappointed – especially as this is normally such a high-rated trip as confirmed by the other reviews below.

It’s true to say that we experienced some issues with our transport provider, and the Explore Leader initially assigned to your trip, and it’s clear that these had an impact on the overall enjoyment of your holiday. We’re pleased to say that we have learned from these examples and made changes to ensure there isn’t a repeat occurrence.

While combining the two groups did have a minor impact on the activities, we absolutely believe that it was the best decision to take at the time. In fact, Gregorio and a number of your group have told us that many of the children had already forged firm friendships, so it was the best solution all round. The overall feedback that we’ve received from your extended group, with the exception of Tyrone’s performance, has been excellent, so it’s a shame that this wasn’t your experience.

We had arranged a transfer to your hotel in Sort and our driver was waiting for you at the correct time to meet you from your flight. Unfortunately, he was waiting at the wrong terminal because of some confusion over the airline you were arriving on. Please be assured that we addressed with our agent and it hasn’t happened since.

The group size for this trip is indeed 14-20, and you’re absolutely correct that we combined two groups as an exception on this occasion. As you mentioned, we had a new Explore Leader, Tyrone, running one of the groups – he had passed his training course and we gave him the go-ahead to lead a trip alongside a more experienced leader. Sadly, it became apparent early on that his performance didn’t meet the high standards that we all expect, and it was Gregorio’s – our experienced leader – quick thinking to combine the two groups so that everyone had a positive experience.

We’ve noted your comment about missing out on the mountain biking because of the weather, and we’ll consider if there’s any way we can build in some flexibility to account for any changes to the itinerary. As we’re sure you can appreciate, we run the majority of our family trips during the school holidays, so all of the activities are at a premium and making last minute changes with the relevant local companies is often very difficult – especially when travelling as a group. There are two full free days, and a free morning on this trip and your Explore Leaders are always more than happy to help you plan different activities.

(10 out of 10)


Well organized & plenty to do for active families. A fab solution for "blended families" like ours as everyone mixed.
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015