It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Saigon to Bangkok Explorer FQBK

Trip Duration 14 Days

Reviews for Family Saigon to Bangkok Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Saigon to Bangkok Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Family Saigon to Bangkok Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Saigon to Bangkok ExplorerScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(8 out of 10)


We are a family of 5 - 3 children aged 17, 14 and 12. We had never visited Asia before and this holiday provided the opportunity to experience some wonderful sights. We particularly enjoyed our time in Vietnam visiting the Chu Chi Tunnels and also the cycling along the Mekong Delta seeing traditional crafts in operation. The Angkor Wat temples in Cambodia were stunning and well worth a visit and the Killing Fields was both emotional and moving. The children really enjoyed going to the primary school in Cambodia and playing football with the children and also the cooking experience.
We found the holiday quite tiring with the fairly packed itinerary and also found there was a lot of travel involved between the 3 countries. We would say that the trip, whilst being aimed at families, is probably better suited to families with older children in view of the amount of travel.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


I would say this tour is an excellent way to visit Vietnam and Cambodia as a complete novice to this part of the world.

The itinerary is varied and includes activities that as independent travellers you wouldn't think of doing - such as the combined boat and cycling trip around the island. We loved the cyclo ride around the streets of Ho Chi Minh City too and felt surprisingly very safe. The visit to the Cu Chi tunnels in Vietnam was interesting. The Prison Museum and The Killing Fields of Cambodia were harrowing but we all agreed was important to see and understand more about what happened. Tarantulas, silkworms and crickets were on the menu so of course we had to try - delicious!! Cannot recommend the buffet/traditional dancing evening- the food ran out shortly after we'd ordered our drinks and what we had was cold.

The temples in Siem Reap were fabulous.

We felt the rest day after visiting the temples would have been better spent in Thailand as would the full day of travelling from Siem Reap to Bangkok. The two and a half hour queue in passport control was unpleasant! Flying into Bangkok would have been much quicker and by all accounts not expensive.

We would have enjoyed a little longer in Bangkok but the rest and relaxation at the beach hotel in Thailand was thoroughly enjoyed and a lovely way to end the holiday. We enjoyed jumping on the hotel bikes and exploring along the beach and stopping off at restaurants for lunch, dinner and massage!
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


The Family Saigon to Bangkok Explorer Adventure trip has EVERTHING, ancient monuments - where modern day classic films have been set (Ta Prohm within Angkor), through to political history in the form of the VietCong tunnels where the war was savagely waged. In addition we learned about the reign of terror that Phol Pot waged and visited the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum and Killing Fields. On a happier note we got to use our culinary hands at making rice paper in Vietnam, and cooking an entire Cambodian meal from ingredients bought at the market. Also we visited a Cambodian school to see how children learn - and had a football game with them. After that we had a relaxing 3 days on a beach in Thailand. Along the way we ate spiders, lizards, worms, crickets and cockroaches, and we travelled by bicycle, cyclo, speedboat, tuk tuk,coach and kayak, visiting floating markets, temples and night markets. No matter what, the people we met were happy and giving. What a fantastic trip, really lived up to its name.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Austin, TX
Wow, this was as great trip! All of the experiences in Vietnam and Cambodia were amazing! And our tour guide Doan (whom we had in Vietnam and Cambodia) was wonderful! We didn't really get to know our tour guide in Thailand. While I'm sure he was great, I think this was a negative of the trip as it would have been nice to have one tour guide throughout the trip.

In Vietnam, we learned so much about the Vietnam War by visiting the War Museum and the CuChi tunnels. My children really enjoyed going to the markets and seeing and trying interesting new foods, especially the insects. The floating markets we visited by boat were so enjoyable too. Biking down the Mekong Delta and making rice paper with a wonderful villager was one of the highlights for all of us. Lunch on the Mekong Delta was lovely as well!

In Cambodia, we were blown away by the many temples that we saw, such as Angkor Wat and Ta Phrom. I loved the cooking class where we made a chicken curry, spring rolls, and a banana rice pudding dessert. The Killing Fields were really, really tough to stomach, but I am so glad we had the opportunity to learn more about them.

Unfortunately the itinerary in Thailand left a lot to be desired. Starting with the long bus journey into the country and the 2 hour wait in line (with no a/c) for passport control. Then we had less than 24 hours in Bangkok, which was a shame as there is so much to see and do there. And the last few nights at the Green Beach really felt like a less than stellar representation of Thailand. Seems a shame that Explore would choose to go there instead of one of the beautiful beaches down south or the elephant sanctuaries up in Chang Mai. This to me would be way more interesting and give a better highlight of Thailand than what is currently on the Thailand itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Having not travelled with Explore before we found this particular trip to be beyond any of our expectations. This was a well organised tour with exceptional guides, being Binh and P.A who were extremely knowledgeable, friendly and most helpful. Everything to us was a highlight the only tip I can give is when we stayed at Chau Pho hotel we were given a room at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, there is a night club directly opposite which kept us awake most of the night. So please could you make sure everybody is placed at the back of the hotel.

Can I make a special mention about P.A who was our guide in Thailand. He was incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to to make sure everybody was happy. Sadly, there was one member in our group who made it especially difficult at times and the rest of the group were very distressed to hear that a complaint had been put forward to Explore. Under no circumstances did we feel this complaint was justified. P.A does not warrant this treatment in any way.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Kingston upon Thames
Fantastic introduction to Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand with an excellent guide/tour leader. Varied activities all fun - boat trips, cycling, rickshaw trips, temples, school visit, cooking course, market shopping, delicious food etc BUT there is a LOT of travelling with nearly every day an early start. Be prepared for adventure but not much rest!

Hotels were much better than I expected and having a pool ( as several did) provides a welcome cool-down as weather in April extremely hot. Highlights: unexpectedly fell in love with Vietnam which has quite a different character to other two countries... And Siem Reap temples, spectacular and other-worldly. 'Explore' is the word.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


The highlight of trip was the Mekong Delta and all the different activity options there (boating, cycling, cooking). Overall there was so much to do and see that nobody had the chance to say "I'm bored". Great experience with a lovely group of people
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 07 January 2016
(9 out of 10)


There were so many special moments it is hard to pick out just a few, but one of the highlights for us has got to be cycling in the Vietnamese countryside during a heavy downpour. Amazing scenery, got to meet local people and spend some time in their houses. Also the Tuk Tuks, meeting the schoolchildren in Phnom Penh, the sights and sounds of the local markets and of course the amazing temples in Cambodia! Be prepared for early starts and full days, this is an adventure that fits lots in and is great fun. At the end of it we could not believe that we had done so much in two weeks.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Lots of lovely memories to take back. Travelled in tuktuks, on bicyles, rickshaws, taxis, minibuses, speedboats, traditional boats with long oars, elephants. Ate fabulous meals at street food stalls, 5 star hotels, crocodile farms, restaurants which supported street children, the Foreign Correspondents Club in Phnom Penh, river boats cruising up the Mekong delta. Inhaled the frenetic pace of life in Bangkok and Saigon, and relaxed in the gentle pace of life of Thai beaches and river villages in the Mekong. Learnt to make spring rolls and Khmer curry in Cambodia, watched making of rice paper, puffed rice biscuits, beautiful scarves woven on looms. Temples at Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom amazing.Highly organised, great attention to detail, struck good balance between all families priorities, always thinking ahead, good sense of fun and kind to all the children in the group (big age range from 10 to 23).
Confirmed traveller: 05 September 2015
Published on: 11 December 2015
(8 out of 10)


Excellent overall. Would recommend changing itinerary with more time in Vietnam and Cambodia and little or no time in Thailand
Confirmed traveller: 01 September 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015