It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Kruger, Kwazulu and Coast FZK

Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Family Kruger, Kwazulu and Coast

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Kruger, Kwazulu and Coast trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Kruger, Kwazulu and Coast reviews verified by reevooReevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Family Kruger, Kwazulu and CoastScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Manchester
Excellent tour with numerous opportunities to see fantastic wildlife, it was like being part of a David Attenborough documentary. Safari in Kruger and Swaziland were stand out highlights.

Would have enjoyed more access to traditional culinary delights. It felt like we did an excessive amount of travelling during the first few days as we double back on ourselves - I understand that this may have been due to excursion booking limitations.

Our tour guide Grant was superb, incredibly knowledgeable about wildlife and local history and very welcoming. His calm manner was reassuring and enabled us to fully relax and get the most out of this holiday of a lifetime
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2017
Published on: 03 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Alex

Woking
The first nights accommodation could be nicer. It is a location at altitude and potentially cold in August, so it would be good for the first night to be staying in a nicer location. After a night flight you are looking forward to the first night of the holiday in a nice hotel. It was comfortable but the heating did not work very well and felt a bit dismal. The game drive in Kruger was a long day after the previous long travelling day. It would have been nice to stay near the Crocodile River, as this was the best part of the game drive. But we drove all morning to get there and then drove back again, not spending that long there. This was the part of the drive where we saw most wildlife. The accommodation in Kruger was nice but not ensuite, which was a bit of a disappointment. Plus the place to eat onsite was a Wimpy, ok but could have been a nice restaurant.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 25 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Essex
A well balanced trip which catered for the family age range 12to 70!It was varied and interesting......the 12year olds highlight was seeing a horned rhino close up the 15year old enjoyed walking with a cheetah and 2teenage boys enjoyed the snorkelling and the scenery especially the ''pot holes''.But it was all so memorable it is difficult to choose.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017
(7 out of 10)

Sally

Ardon, Switzerland
I was very disappointed with the change in itinerary in the kruger park. We were supposed to go to skukuza tented camp and pretoriuskop rest camp. We ended up - due to an error of booking?? in olifants rest camp. This added a huge amount of kilometeres which meant that we arrived at 18h00 and left at 06h00. The children found two days of 12 hours a day in the truck too much. This mistake spoilt our Holiday. In addition when I took my decision to Not take preventative malaria medicin, it was based on the facts given about the itinerary (not too far to the north, not near the border of Mozambique, not near a marsh / river area. We ended up in exactly this kind of location, which worried me a lot, as I had not counted on this, given our itinerary. My question is WHY did we end up there and is there compensation for the extra milage and worry!!?? The rest was ok, except the Zulu village was much too touristy, I thought it would be more authentic. In general the tour tried to pack in too much which meant thet we didnt have time to enjoy the good spots. We went twice to the beach where we were allowed 1 hour!! Absolutely Zero down time. Where the itinerary says, "you have the afternoon free to enjoy...." , we always arrived after 16h00, so, no time to enjoy the camps, etc.
You should include the prices(approx.) of the optional activities and that it is required in cash) as we ran out of cash.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 26 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Erica

Cardiff
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour in South Africa and Swaziland. Sydney, our guide, and Roy, our driver were absolutely fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were both extremely knowledgeable and really fun to be with.

There were so many highlights - each and every day was incredible.......
Day 1 : stopping off at a service station for lunch which overlooked an enclosure of animals. Our first experience of African wildlife and a taster of what was to come!
Day 2 : the incredible beauty of Blyde River Canyon.
Day 3/4 : the amazing family-run Tshukudu Bush Camp with the resident cheetah and bush baby.
Day 4/5 : Kruger park where we were lucky enough to see a large herd of elephants, complete with youngsters, cross the road in front of our vehicle. We were also extremely fortunate to see a pack of wild dogs - as there are less than 500 in the whole of Kruger that was a huge privilege.
Day 6/7 : the beautiful Mlilwane wildlife sanctuary in Swaziland where we shared our evening fire with a family of warthogs and slept in the amazing beehive huts.
Day 8/9 : Kosi Bay where we walked over the dunes and spent a tranquil day on the beach.
Day 10/11 : St Lucia where we saw hippos and crocodiles on our amazing sunset cruise and swam in the Indian Ocean. Also we were all very excited when we spotted a hippo wandering down the street while we were eating our evening meal!!

Tips:
* Don't hesitate to book this amazing holiday!
* Make sure you book on the extra option of the game drive and lunch at Cape Vidal in St Lucia as it was a fantastic day.
* Also make sure that you have the correct documentation for entering South Africa as sadly one family didn't, wasn't allowed to board the plane, and so missed out on the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 14 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Owen

Bristol
A truly amazing trip all round - what a country South Africa is! The holiday was made very special by our superb leader, Mike Miles, who was hugely knowledgeable and inspirational in equal measures. We saw so much, did so much, and experienced so much, it is difficult to summarise the highlights! Top tip - bring your alarm clock because there are lots of early starts.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Clare

Oxford
The tour leader was excellent. Even when things didn't work perfectly he found answers. Our son has lots of food intolerances but the tour leader always ensured there was something available he could eat. He was very knowledgeable and great at spotting wildlife. He always went the extra mile.

We were very disappointed that for 4 nights the sleeping accommodation was only big enough for 2 people, which meant our family was split into 2 buildings. We are aware that larger accommodation could have been booked.

The Zambia add on was very badly organised and our half day trip to the Victoria Falls was 2 hours including travelling!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Dimos

London
Perfect way to see a country through an 'off the beaten track' approach but with comfort
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015